Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Couldn't believe my eyes

• 11-08-2010 9:26pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 756 ✭✭✭

Heading up the N11 on a bus today and was shocked to see this coming past. Bus stopped at the lights so managed to get a pic before she drove off.

Idiot2.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,537 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

liger wrote: »
    Heading up the N11 on a bus today and was shocked to see this coming past. Bus stopped at the lights so managed to get a pic before she drove off.

WTF?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,025 ✭✭✭Ham'nd'egger

Nothing on the roads shocks me anymore but by God that one is manic:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,152 ✭✭✭dazberry

Should of had a bike on board sticker...

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 24,789 Mod ✭✭✭✭KoolKid

Unbelieveable?
    Was there someone in the back?
    It would have been safer to put the back seat down & leave the boot open a bit.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,222 ✭✭✭robbie_998

and people say micras are great :rolleyes:

should be arrested for this crap to be honest

Report them OP, you have reg and the photo

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,222 ✭✭✭robbie_998

ya can let them know that they have no back wiper and a fairly noticeable dent in the back of the car.

the "baby on board" sign doesn't make everything safe either.

shouldnt be on the fecking roads with a child.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 69 ✭✭Tryst

seriously wtf!?! how did they not get a ticket!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,035 ✭✭✭✭-Chris-

I'd be worried about the wind catching the door and putting the handlebar through the window, or braking hard and breaking the checkstrap.

There's so many things wrong with that photo it's not even funny (although really it is)...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 756 ✭✭✭liger

koolkid wrote: »
    Unbelieveable?
    Was there someone in the back?
    It would have been safer to put the back seat down & leave the boot open a bit.

I didn't see anyone but as there is a baby on board sticker in the window I wouldn't be surprised.

I also forgot to mention only the brake light in the back window was working. Maybe thats why she didnt have the boot open.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,129 ✭✭✭coolbeans

Why'd you blank the reg?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 25,234 ✭✭✭✭Sponge Bob

The Baby was evidently driving the shaggin thing :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,378 ✭✭✭✭jimmycrackcorm

What do you expect its a micra

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,120 ✭✭✭justshane

I've seen it all now!:eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,035 ✭✭✭✭-Chris-

What do you expect its a micra

How so?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,737 ✭✭✭MidlandsM

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,882 ✭✭✭johndoe99

report them, or re-edit the photo with the licence showing and someone will do it for you

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,129 ✭✭✭coolbeans

Yes, do that. Why protect the anonymity of dangerous idiots?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,009 ✭✭✭✭Run_to_da_hills

Gardai would have footage of this from traffic CCTV and it would no doubt be used in court.

The driver could be had up for dangerous driving.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,699 ✭✭✭ronaneire

Clearly they shouldn't be allowed to drive a car let alone ride a push bike.

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 24,789 Mod ✭✭✭✭KoolKid

coolbeans wrote: »
    Why'd you blank the reg?

I wouldn't have.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,373 ✭✭✭✭foggy_lad

liger wrote: »

Idiot2.jpg

Is there even a light or bell on the bike?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,304 ✭✭✭Oliver1985

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,733 ✭✭✭✭corktina

if that had been in India or the far east somewhere I wouldn't have tyrned a hair but to drive like that in Ireland is astonishing. What are the odds that the car had tax and test?

foggy_lad wrote: »
    Is there even a light or bell on the bike?

what the **** has that got to do with anything?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,092 ✭✭✭celticbest

corktina wrote: »
    if that had been in India or the far east somewhere I wouldn't have tyrned a hair but to drive like that in Ireland is astonishing. What are the odds that the car had tax and test?

I'm sure if you send that picture on to the Guards they will be able check if the car has tax, insurance & a valid NCT test.

I'm think they would like to do that driver for everything possible as that is one of the most stupid if not the most stupid driving related picture I've ever seen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 992 ✭✭✭MrDerp

Not that surprising really.

I once, near liffey valley shopping centre, saw an estate car with 6 small kids inside - 2 in the front and 4 in the back. The boot was open and a washing machine hung precariously half inside, half outside the back, with just a bit of old blue rope 'holding it in'.

The car itself looked like it had been in a massive crash, with damage all down one side, and beaten out into something resembling a car shape again. The two passenger side doors and the rear passenger side panels had the look of the re-used tin foil I sometimes had on my sandwiches in primary school. The pillar between the two doors had an obvious warp in it.

Come to think of it, the L plate must have been the only thing on the car that wasn't crumpled.

Wish I'd taken a photo now :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 665 ✭✭✭Alt_Grrr

-Chris- wrote: »
    I'd be worried about the wind catching the door and putting the handlebar through the window, or braking hard and breaking the checkstrap.

There's so many things wrong with that photo it's not even funny (although really it is)...

And the fact that driving a car at any sort of speed with the door wedged open will effect the handling. not the mention the danger that your putting your fellow road users in...

This is why insurance is so expensive in Ireland, because idiots like this are allowed to drive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,826 ✭✭✭phill106

Pfft those cyclists! Obviously was zipping in and out of traffic and drove right into a micra, and became lodged.

Yep...Thats it...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 788 ✭✭✭useless

Is that a Garda speed camera van on the left of the photo?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,812 ✭✭✭mailforkev

Come on OP, do the right thing and report that idiot.

useless wrote: »
    Is that a Garda speed camera van on the left of the photo?

no, its a works van with a mesh trailer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 224 ✭✭Colzed

It could have been alot worse.......... The micra coould have been on the bar of the bike!!!!:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,859 ✭✭✭bmaxi

celticbest wrote: »
    I'm sure if you send that picture on to the Guards they will be able check if the car has tax, insurance & a valid NCT test.

I'm think they would like to do that driver for everything possible as that is one of the most stupid if not the most stupid driving related picture I've ever seen.

No, if it doesn't register on a speed camera, a breathalyser or or a windscreen check, apparently it is not an offence.
    This vehicle has just driven through the leafy suburbs of either Stillorgan, Foxrock or Cabinteely. You'd have to try hard to miss Garda patrols in that area.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,080 ✭✭✭✭Random

i really hope you reported them!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,346 ✭✭✭✭homerjay2005

shocking. i would love to set up some sort of idiot driver forum where people can post pics like that, unedited and name and shame these people that we all see threatening innocenents peoples lives day in day out.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,290 ✭✭✭mickydoomsux

That picture doesn't surprise me in the slightest.

People are monumentally dumb. The older i get, the more i realise this.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,473 ✭✭✭✭Our man in Havana

Totally outrageous behaviour. :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,878 ✭✭✭whyulittle

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 912 ✭✭✭Hungerford

Noone else appears to have noticed this but it looks like the driver has had a collison with something in the past judging by the dent in the bumper.

Hungerford wrote: »
    Noone else appears to have noticed this but it looks like the driver has had a collison with something in the past judging by the dent in the bumper.

that has "reversed into a lamppost" written all over it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,372 ✭✭✭steamengine

Could it be that Mr Bean is on holiday over here ? ;)

mr-bean-mini.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 216 ✭✭Highly Salami

Ah shur it Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 216 ✭✭Highly Salami

Tourists love this sort of thing!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,241 ✭✭✭baalthor

Is it one of those new-fangled "hybrid vehicles" ? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 969 ✭✭✭murrayp4

OP, did you report them??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

oh my sweet devine

:eek::eek::eek:

feck them and their car getting damaged, its the least they deserve. i'd be more concerned if i was sharing the road with that and i was driving my car or cycling my bike and being side swiped by it, or being a pedestrain and being hit as they took a corner, fecking hell, i have got a racing bike into a micra before with nothing left open.

:mad::mad::mad: