Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What is the best advice you can give someone for the working world?

• 11-08-2010 8:53pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2,957 ✭✭✭

I read a fantastic post here recently (must find it) with excellent advice in it, and it has inspired me to post this thread.
    What is the best advice you can give to someone for the workplace?

Mine would be:

1. Always be on time for work- and preferably 5 minutes early. Nothing says "I don't want to be here" like coming in late every day.

2. Always, always read and proof-read an email if it contains anything bad about any named person. They are on your mind while you are writing it, and it is all to easy to add them to the recipient list without even thinking.

3. Avoid getting involved in other people's drama. Keep your head down and your nose clean. There's a difference between networking, and sticking your nose into office politics. Never forget that pecking orders can change.

Anyone else?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,951 ✭✭✭✭Ace2007

don't hand in your notice and then ask to come back cause "better" job didn't work out:rolleyes:

On a serious note just get on with those around you and do your work and that of others if you have the chance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,367 ✭✭✭Quandary

Try to keep a positive attitude even when things are going badly - it not only helps you deal with difficult situations more easily but it also rubs off on co-workers which leads to a more pleasant work environment!

This is coming from a reformed pessimist :) - negativity will fester!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,556 ✭✭✭Nolanger

Come in every working day as it pisses off the people who are trying to get you sacked.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,390 ✭✭✭The Big Red Button

• If you're not busy, always always look for work to do. Even if it's stuff that's not your "job". In fact, especially if not. You'll get better experience and you'll get to know more people.
    • Ask for feedback, as much as possible and as often as possible. And act on it.
    • Rather than just doing the job you're told to do, analyse it and see if there's a better/faster way you could be doing it. There often is, and your colleagues will be well impressed if you can spot it!
    • Remember how enthusiastic you were in the interview? Just maintain that attitude. You wanted it so bad then ... don't let yourself down.
    • Don't be afraid of those "higher up" than you. This is a silly mistake that I've made in the past! :o They're only normal people, and they want to chat about the same things as anyone else.

I applied these "rules" to the very first "real" job I had (doing wash-up in a restaurant kitchen) and to every job since. I got a good reference from that first job, which got me my next job (waitressing), which got me my next job (shop assistant), and so on and so forth, until last year (several jobs later) I managed to get offered a very good position in one of the top graduate recruiters in Ireland. And I love what I'm doing, and still work the same way.

Oh. One more tip. Never walk away from a photocopier that you've jammed. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,834 ✭✭✭Welease

Realise that 99% of people get promoted and paid more (or get better jobs) because they work harder/smarter than those who don't...

If you want to get on, then YOU need to be the one to give the company a reason to want to keep you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,289 ✭✭✭✭Mrs OBumble

I agree with all the above.

But also remember - life isn't fair. There will be times when you do all the above but still the universe ****s on you (miss out on promotion, don't get notice, get made redundant, etc).

Sometimes you just need to accept that life isn't fair, and move on anyway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,339 ✭✭✭tenchi-fan

Don't mouth off on a work night out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

Be positive. If you're negative and knock every new proposal or procedure pretty soon you'll be depressed and see the fault in everything and the value in nothing.
    If you're positive it will be reflected on people around you. :)

Only write in an email what you would be prepared to somebody's face. So don't be that office gossip or mother hen type, every office has one.

Not to be a grammer nazi but too/two/to and you're/your, etc are important and if you can't be bothered to proof read an email, people won't be impressed.
    Everyone makes the odd error, don't sweat over perfection but yeah, make an effort here

When an internal position is advertised, realy the boss already knows who is going to get it. They judge you everyday so be that person who so good they have no option to be see you as that candidate.
    But even then, give an interview a try. Even if you fail you showed an interest and learned something from the process, you'll get feedback

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,333 ✭✭✭Zambia

I dont look in here much but I'm impressed with this thread and replies.

I have a few

* I second never be late. If you are apologise dont just assume someone understands or everyone does it.

* Admit your f**k ups never try and lie your way out of them, people forgive mistakes but not lies.

Zambia

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,288 ✭✭✭pow wow

Remember no matter how friendly you are with your colleagues, they are work colleagues first.

Oh, and anywhere that has the internet has the ability to monitor what you're doing on it so save the facebooking and online dating for when you come home :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,036 ✭✭✭murphym7

1). Always walk quickly everywhere you go.
    2). Always have an expression like you are in deep thought - like figuring out a massive problem. a frown works well here.
    3). Always have something in your hand - eg paper, folder etc - while walking quickly (see point 1.)
    4). Always get upset about the same work issues your boss does - nodding is an effective gesture to use here, also worth considering using a frown (see point 2)

:D:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,518 ✭✭✭✭dudara

Don't get messy on a work night out (seriously, it's amazing how many people forget this and do something stupid, or are late the next morning).

Don't ever say something about a person (orally or in writing) that you wouldn't say to their face

Remember, email is a form of written communication. Treat it as such with proper structure and grammar. Always review before pressing send.

Have integrity. When you are honest and have integrity, it is noticed. (for the most part :))

If you break the photocopier, walk away and deny it was you. ;)

Don't be one of these mother hen types who organizes collections for birthdays and other non events.
    Yeah, retirements, weddings and new babies are ok, just about.
    People will certainly not thank you for putting a card and collection envelope in front of them every week. You'll be unpopular.

However, if you bake regularly and want to bring in cakes on Fridays we'll love you forever :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,410 ✭✭✭bbam

Magenta wrote: »
    2. Always, always read and proof-read an email if it contains anything bad about any named person. They are on your mind while you are writing it, and it is all to easy to add them to the recipient list without even thinking.

Think long and hard before you compose any email which contains anything negative about another person in work... E-mails have a tendancy to be forwarded round the office and then bite you in the ass.. Countless times I've sat folks down to warnings over stupid e-mails they wrote..

Understand what your boss really expects/values, when your manager changes (and they will) make sure you re-evaluate what they really expect, there is no point being busy if the boss doesn't value what your doing...

I would say the posts about "always looking busy" are only borderline good advice.. The last thing you want is to be asked "what are you working on there"... answering "nothing important" won't look good..
    If you genuinely have nothing to do... go and ask what needs doing next, it will be more value added to the company and improve your standing there.

Try to get the balance right..
    You work for the company and the pay you, do what's asked and do it well..
    But
    Don't be walked on either.. if someone is continually being a tool, call it out and stand up for your self..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,362 ✭✭✭Sergeant

The importance of good grammer, punctuation and spelling cannot be over overemphasised.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,819 ✭✭✭✭peasant

Sergeant wrote: »
    The importance of good grammer, punctuation and spelling cannot be over overemphasised.
    grammar :D

On that note ...if you have to use jargon and/or big words, make doubly sure that you actually know what they mean/what you are talking about

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,333 ✭✭✭Zambia

If you break the photocopier, walk away and deny it was you. ;)

We had a guy do this , he was at a clients office and f**ked the clients photocopier.

He said nothing , the client rang us and asked us why our drivers driving licence was on fifteen screwed up pages stuck in the machine..:o

Same bloke denied smoking in the truck. till we showed him a pic of him smoking in trhe truck. Imagine what his word is worth?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,362 ✭✭✭Sergeant

peasant wrote: »
    grammar :D

On that note ...if you have to use jargon and/or big words, make doubly sure that you actually know what they mean/what you are talking about

Kick to the spuds right there! :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,957 ✭✭✭Magenta

Don't be one of these mother hen types who organizes collections for birthdays and other non events.
    Yeah, retirements, weddings and new babies are ok, just about.
    People will certainly not thank you for putting a card and collection envelope in front of them every week. You'll be unpopular

This this this this... There's always one, isn't there!

I second the person who said, always remember your colleagues are your colleagues first and foremost.
    Get along with them, go for a pint with them, but never let yourself forget that when promotion time rolls around, they will be your competition.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,367 ✭✭✭Quandary

Dont use management speak terms like synergy, slam dunk, ducks in a row etc etc...

When writing emails; if you can say something in one sentence then do it - so many people waffle on in an effort to sound more articulate when its really not necessary. Managers really appreciate this!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 51 ✭✭lly

very good thread...

One principle I have always stuck to in work is... Never take credit for anyone elses idea. Always be honest and let the boss know who's idea or who's hard work should get credit for an idea.
    If you dont then
    1. you will look like a fool if you get caught (At the delight of your colleagues)
    2. If you do get caught your boss will never trust if future ideas are really yours
    3. Your colleagues will think you are an idiot and also never share any ideas with you and wont trust you
    4. If you do give credit, people are always so pleased to hear that they got the credit and the praise... Its a great motivator

On the other hand, if the sh*t hits the fan and you are the most senior, then you take it on behalf of everyone else.

You can pass on credit but if it goes wrong the buck should stop with you (unless its really really bad and you know it means a disciplinary or worse...! and then you have to deal with that person.....!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,810 ✭✭✭ergonomics

Don't engage in bitching about your job. If you don't like it or a colleague, keep it to yourself. Your negativity will only spread and make for a horrible work environment.

In the same vein don't go along with a colleague if they're giving out about work. You can stop the negativity spreading that way. Also, if they have a moan with you once they'll always be looking to complain at you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,344 ✭✭✭Thoie

• No matter how you're feeling, smile and say hello/good morning to your colleagues - most will smile back. Don't let the first thing you say be "Something terrible has just happened", particularly if your definition of terrible is that the bus was a bit full.
    • If you empty the coffee pot/water cooler/printer paper, refill it.
    • Keep your personal opinions to yourself for the first few weeks/months until you know who's who and what's what - don't start mouthing off that your man looks like an alcoholic, or your one looks like a bitch.
    • Never lie to anyone.
    • Keep nearly every single email you send or receive, and make regular backups if your IT department doesn't. Teach yourself how to archive emails to disk to avoid constantly filling your mailbox. You don't need to keep the emails asking who's going for lunch.
    • Keep your word. If you say you'll have something ready by 10, have it ready by 10. If something happens to affect that, let people know in good time that it will be late, and when you expect to deliver.
    • It's none of your business if the guy next to you spends 5 hours a day on Facebook. Get on with your own work. If you feel you're having to do his work as well, let your boss know that you have too much on your plate, but let her figure out for herself why that is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,029 ✭✭✭shoegirl

Zambia232 wrote: »

* I second never be late. If you are apologise dont just assume someone understands or everyone does it.

* Admit your f**k ups never try and lie your way out of them, people forgive mistakes but not lies.

Zambia

Good advice.

I would say "always be professional" - on time, on budget, don't make excuses and be "smart" about work - coming in on time, smartly dressed is an excellent start
    Secondly, be honest and upfront - be somebody you can trust and rely on
    Respect your colleagues, especially their time, you never know when they might be able to help you - especially junior colleagues
    Lastly, work hard on expanding your skills, both in and out of work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,047 ✭✭✭trellheim

enjoy it. makes a huge difference.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 102 ✭✭prionnsias

Try and be mates with your boss and the people you work with, it makes things alot easier.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,819 ✭✭✭dan_d

A shut mouth catches no flies.

Never think you know everything. There is always somebody who knows more than you do.

People react towards you the way you behave towards them. Treat them as you'd expect to be treated.

Learn to be discreet....don't share everything with everyone.

Don't threaten anything, unless you know you can deliver on that threat. If you find yourself shouting and screaming at people all day long, then the problem is you, and not the other people. You're doing something wrong.

Check your spelling in emails. Nobody says it, but everybody notices bad spelling/grammar, and it looks really bad, regardless of what your occupation is. It takes nothing to keep a dictionary/thesaurus in your office if you're not sure - some of the best managers I know do this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,493 ✭✭✭RedXIV

Best Advice I was ever given was the head of Activision Ireland.

"Always take responsibility. Don't be afraid to admit you were wrong"

Served me well countless times

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 15,788 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tabnabs

The one pearl of wisdom that was given to me in my college days that has stuck firmly in my mind and I've seen it on many occasions (especially now)

Always be nice to people when you're on the way up, because you never know when you may need them on the way down.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 64 ✭✭mykro28

Do what you say, and say what you do!

Make sure you do what you have committed to do and don't be afraid to tell people what you are doing. Nothing worse than someone doing lots of hard work and not getting recognized because nobody knew about it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,288 ✭✭✭✭ntlbell

Don't bitch.

Don't whine.

Leave work in work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,088 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

Never burn your bridges when you leave a job, as you never know when you'll run into the same people again (I can't count the amount of former colleagues I've met who are in other companies that I've since dealt with).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,077 ✭✭✭3DataModem

Ask for feedback, as much as possible and as often as possible.

I was going to post this, but saw it was up already.

This is the BEST advice on the thread.

Leave work in work.
    If you're coming home stressed or struggling with issues, then talk to someone, even a GP.
    It's good to talk.
    This affects a lot more people then you think and they turn to vices like drinking wine every evening. I bet there is someone in your office who does this right now.

If you make a mistake and you need to escalate it, do so immediately!
    Tell your boss about an issue and it generally can be fixed.
    If you keep quiet about it and they discover it, you're fecked. That's when written warnings happen.

Making mistakes happens but lying or covering up must never happen.
    If you do make a mistake, accept the feedback, promise not to repeat it and mean it. Then learn from it.

If there are professional exams you can do then look into it. Lots of people have degrees so you need to push on some more.

Ah for gods sake SMILE :)
    Every office has moaners and you'd want to slit your wrists after spending five minutes with them.
    Some people find the negative in every situation, don't be them

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,386 ✭✭✭monkeypants

Be on time. Always. For everything.

Avoid email as much as possible.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,095 ✭✭✭✭looksee

Remember you do not have to like everyone you work with, but you can be civil to everyone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 432 ✭✭eire2009

Get to know the state benifits well. In some situations or future situations your actually better off financialy not working :rolleyes:

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 21,693 Mod ✭✭✭✭helimachoptor

RedXIV wrote: »
    Best Advice I was ever given was the head of Activision Ireland.

"Always take responsibility. Don't be afraid to admit you were wrong"

Served me well countless times

Yep I have this attitude, everyone fcuks up sometimes big sometimes small. Best to own up to it and move on, nothing is worse than someone lying to cover their tracks then getting caught.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,088 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

eire2009 wrote: »
    Get to know the state benifits well. In some situations or future situations your actually better off financialy not working :rolleyes:

Sad but true - not to mention they make it as hard as possible to qualify for anything that might help you get back to work (training etc).

Do they still cut you off from when you tell them you've gotten a job?
    That's fair enough I suppose unless your new employer pays you monthly (as most do) and you've to survive for 4 weeks on nothing! (then in the final ironic twist, get stuck paying Emergency tax to a state that hasn't done much for you as well)

No doubt all the "dole is too high" types will weigh in now, but it's not if you're trying to pay your bills and job seek as well. Too many people confuse those who don't WANT to work, with the rest of us who have been made redundant through no fault of our own.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,410 ✭✭✭bbam

E-mail is OK if used properly..
    Actually I'd recommend E-mail as there is a trace on communications, something to fall back on when the brown sticky stuff hits the large rotating thing..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,518 ✭✭✭matrim

I'd say the opposite. If you use email there is a "paper" trail, because there is always someone out there who will try to say something didn't happen \ wasn't said and try to screw you over and make you the bad guy. Have an email to back you up and they can't.

Also, don't sweat the small stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,566 ✭✭✭GrumPy

Packed Lunches.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,598 ✭✭✭aligator_am

pow wow wrote: »
    Remember no matter how friendly you are with your colleagues, they are work colleagues first.

Oh, and anywhere that has the internet has the ability to monitor what you're doing on it so save the facebooking and online dating for when you come home :P

This is genuinely good advice, if you have web access in work then only use it at break time or if it's very quiet, there was a girl that worked in my previous office who was an amazing worker but would check bebo all the time (she'd still get all her work done) but was spotted by the managing director and got web access blocked for all of us :(

I'd say the best advice is to get all the work done, and help others if you can, you'd be surprised how much that gets spotted by management, it's not too hard to do and I've found that when you help the others around you then it comes back on you as there will be times where you may need help with something that your colleagues are expert in :)

GrumPy wrote: »
    Packed Lunches.

If you added up the cost of buying coffees, pastries, sandwiches and lunches every day, it is thousands and thousands a year.

Don't be a martyr, treat yourself, you deserve it.
    But if you want to cut back on spending, packed lunches are great for this