Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Stupid question; Is this definitely a Mouse not a Rat?

Options
  • 11-08-2010 5:31pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 31

Caught this in my kitchen earlier. Im nearly sure its just a mouse but i want to be 100% sure. Its small enough (about the size of a packet of cigarettes) so i assumed it was a mouse at first but its tail is very big for a mouse and its face is really long and 'rattish' looking. Hopefully it is a mouse and not a small or baby rat

Can anyone here confirm? Thanks

Comments

• Registered Users Posts: 2,100 ✭✭✭eightyfish

I'm no expert but that's a mouse.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,700 ✭✭✭tricky D

Probably a mouse. Stick a coin beside it to give an idea of size.

Bad News:

Mice rarely come in single instances, so be prepared to get a few mousetraps. The snap ones are the best, forget poison and sound deterrents as they have significant disadvantages. (There's already a few threads on this is you use the search).

They trail urine everywhere so get the disinfectant out and give the kitchen a good clean, especially the nooks and crannies and the areas where horizontal and vertical surfaces meet as that's where they like to have their runs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31 Grupouva

tricky D wrote: »
    Probably a mouse. Stick a coin beside it to give an idea of size.

Bad News:

Mice rarely come in single instances, so be prepared to get a few mousetraps. The snap ones are the best, forget poison and sound deterrents as they have significant disadvantages. (There's already a few threads on this is you use the search).