Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

At the end of the day is it really all about how someone looks..

• 11-08-2010 1:46am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 712 ✭✭✭

For women.

Now i'm not saying every woman in ireland is like this. But if you see guys with women they are dating you never surprised to see a good looking male with a overweight girl or a less attractive woman. Now when's the last time you saw a Good looking woman with a overweight guy or less attractive man. Its rare.

so at the end of the day are Irish women picky when it comes to looks?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,730 ✭✭✭✭entropi

People will be picky in any country in the world, seriously! Not everyone goes for looks but 99% of the time it will happen. You can't judge who a person is by purely looking at them, but sight and smell are the first senses that come into play when seeing out a mate so looks will always be the first thing anyone notices about another person, chemistry and biology renders any other argument invalid.

Regarding your thread title, it's at the start of the day when its about how someone looks, at the end of it however, chemistry can win.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 272 ✭✭angelxx

People will be picky in any country in the world, seriously! Not everyone goes for looks but 99% of the time it will happen. You can't judge who a person is by purely looking at them, but sight and smell are the first senses that come into play when seeing out a mate so looks will always be the first thing anyone notices about another person, chemistry and biology renders any other argument invalid.

Regarding your thread title, it's at the start of the day when its about how someone looks, at the end of it however, chemistry can win.
    I agree with this, It's impossible too judge people purely based on looks although
    physical attraction does play a huge part regarding initial contact, There is quite a lot
    of snobbery with some girls and some guys in relation to looks,
    Yes good looking guys get it easier but a sense of humour or excellent personality are
    just as important. For me they would be vital when seeing someone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,639 ✭✭✭PeakOutput

it has nothing to do with how you look

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,730 ✭✭✭✭entropi

PeakOutput wrote: »
    But sadly it does...

If you look like you are having a good time, people will want to be around you and enjoy what you are enjoying, if you look like you dont really care and dont wanna be there, people will think "jaysus...non buzzer there dont even bother trying...you'll get no fun outta that one" and you'll meet no-one that way.

Even simple things like that in social situations can be a major thing, a smile can work wonders.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,639 ✭✭✭PeakOutput

But sadly it does...

If you look like you are having a good time, people will want to be around you and enjoy what you are enjoying, if you look like you dont really care and dont wanna be there, people will think "jaysus...non buzzer there dont even bother trying...you'll get no fun outta that one" and you'll meet no-one that way.

Even simple things like that in social situations can be a major thing, a smile can work wonders.

thats not the same thing as the op is refering to, attitude is everything and that shows but as far as being typically good looking or not it really dosnt matter that much

a good looking dry ****e will get more chicks then an ugly dry ****e but the ugly life and sole of the party super cool guy who everyone wants to be around will sweep the floor with the both, if your like the latter guy and happen to be good looking too more power to you

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,914 ✭✭✭✭tbh

are Irish women .....

here's a tip - you could put anything you like in place of those dots there and the answer would be the same.

some are, some aren't.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,390 ✭✭✭The Big Red Button

Now i'm not saying every woman in ireland is like this. But if you see guys with women they are dating you never surprised to see a good looking male with a overweight girl or a less attractive woman. Now when's the last time you saw a Good looking woman with a overweight guy or less attractive man. Its rare.

No one is going to go out with someone that they're not physically attracted to. Sure, other things are more important than looks, but you need to actually "fancy" the person too! And no one should be made feel bad about that.

Also, you may see a couple walking by and think that one "half" is less attractive ... but to their partner, they could be an absolute stunner! :) It's very subjective.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,352 ✭✭✭daveyboy_1ie

Well I remember a group of girls I went to college with and at lunchtime they would inevitably talk about blokes. They felt comfortable around us guys as we all had oartners I presume. I remember one conversation vividly and was astonished at the double standards displayed.

One of the girls (we will call her Girl A) was getting some unwanted attention from a bloke she drunkenly kissed the year before at some party and could not shake him off. Another of the girls (Girl B) was for all intents and purposes being stalked around campus by some bloke she was introduced to the week before, a sort of friend of a friend. His behaviour was much more aggressive and worrying, waiting outside toilets for her etc.

Girl A's bloke was short and overweight; Girl B's dude was tall and relatively attractive. Listening to the difference in the way the group described the two guys, who were behaving identically was a real insight into the hypocrisy of women when dealing with men and their looks (yes men do it too but are rightly criticised for it). The bottom line is, if you are going to be a stalker, make sure you are attractive, otherwise you will be in trouble. Girl A's bloke was a 'pervert' who could not take a hint. Girl B's guy was described as 'like a big puppy following you around'.

And guess which one of the lads had a complaint made about him? :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,048 ✭✭✭✭Snowie

Irish women picky when it comes to looks?

Are English women any different? Or french women?
    Italian women?

there all more or less the same all women are they like one thing

Confidence, You can be the ugliest beast to walk the planet but if your confident with in who you are as a person throw a bit of humor in there and your all good... Tho also helps if your on the same wave length :)

I recon yes looks do help but I dont think there essential... They can help at the start of it...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,639 ✭✭✭✭OldGoat

For women.

What a curiously naive post. Seems to me that you are the one making judgments of people based on their looks. You are making assumptions of why couples are together simply because you (arbitrarily) don't think of them as attractive.

I'm older than Minecraft goats.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,905 ✭✭✭✭Handsome Bob

Here's a tip OP, don't overthink these things, you'll drive yourself up the wall. One should just try to be the best they can be and whatever happens, happens. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,404 ✭✭✭✭Pembily

Now when's the last time you saw a Good looking woman with a overweight guy or less attractive man. Its rare.

I have seen a good few very hot guys with "overweight" girls!!!! Said overweight girls were still stunners IMO!!!

We are all picky about certain things, there is a "do you have a list" thread in tLL!!! At the end of the day if I get chatting to Brad Pitt and I don't get butterflies I won't be going home with him... It is also about confidence, if a guy apporaches me and is a bit cheeky and there is a spark looks can be over looked (being a bitch to a point)!!!!

We all have different things that we like, each to their own!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

The looks thing is important in the sense you have to be some way attracted to the other person, lets be honest nobody looks across a pub, sees someone they find in no way attractive and thinks "i'll go chat them up anyway, they might be nice" doesnt work like that, you're obviously going to go for people you find appealing first. I know theres plenty of women who wouldnt find me attractive, but theres (hopefully) plenty that do as well, you cant berate someone because they arent attracted to your looks, someone else will probably think you're gorgeous, its all relative.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,207 ✭✭✭hightower1

PeakOutput wrote: »

Incorrect, ... lets break this down....

Firstly ..... Can you please tell me which of these is (a) An adult themed book.... and (b) A childrens book buy simply judging their covers?

BookPic.jpg

a_painted_house.jpg

I belive you can, now you cant tell word for word what the respective books will read as but you get a very good idea of them BY.... judging them by their covers! :eek:

Now lets expand the idea....

Can you tell me which of these people are more likely to be convicted of theift and which is more likely to be well spoken?

scumbag.jpg

302_suit.jpg

Well.... I think you have just judged a book by its cover or as folks call it.... making an educated guess.

So looks have quiet a lot to do with it, you cannot judge everything by apperences but you certainly can tell the vast majority of what someone is about from them. Likewise in attractions terms looks has a huge amount to play, you cannot date someone your not attracted to nr would you approach them if you were not. You cannot have a physical relationship based purely on personality... you can however have one based stictly on looks (all be it a short lived relationship surely) but never the less a relationship. This indicates that looks are in fact a more major part of compatability stakes.

Initial and short term needs looks... long term needs personality.
    If one factor can exist without the other for ANY period of time then it is more important.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,499 ✭✭✭Sabre0001

hightower1 wrote: »

Now lets expand the idea....

Can you tell me which of these people are more likely to be convicted of theift and which is more likely to be well spoken?

scumbag.jpg

302_suit.jpg

Well.... I think you have just judged a book by its cover or as folks call it.... making an educated guess.

So looks have quiet a lot to do with it, you cannot judge everything by apperences but you certainly can tell the vast majority of what someone is about from them

Theft and well-spoken are two completely different things rather than the first example of books which are opposites. Anyways, the second example, clearly the suit will be convicted (embezzlement) rather than the first crowd...Especially if it's the Irish court system we're dealing with :D (I do get your point though).

🤪

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,217 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

For women.

Ehhh Ive seen way more good looking women with less physically attractive men than the other way around.

However I would say that I have noticed in Ireland more of the type you describe. While out on the lash in a nightclub in Dublin with a bunch of Italians a while back the guys were commenting quite a lot along the lines of "what is he doing with her, he could do so much better". I've rarely heard that from Irish men(or women for that matter).

For all the AH stylee talk of looks IMHO we're actually not as judgemental about it as other cultures can be. On either gender.

But yea looks matter. Of course they do. You'll even hear men with faces like a bulldog chewing a wasp complaining about this, yet in the next breath say "I wouldnt touch her with yours, shes a munter". If you're considered good looking or above average then life will go easier for you. Ditto is you're taller as a man. Sexual attraction is triggered by these attributes and since that's up there as a yardstick of value judgement at a very deep level its gonna have an effect.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,160 ✭✭✭✭banshee_bones

Pembily wrote: »
    At the end of the day if I get chatting to Brad Pitt and I don't get butterflies I won't be going home with him... It is also about confidence, if a guy apporaches me and is a bit cheeky and there is a spark looks can be over looked

I think strictly in a nightclub scenario when people are out 'on the pull' yeah its going to come down to looks, lets face it your not going to get much of a chance to assess their personality in that situation!

However, outside of this Pembily is right, the chemistry, the butterflies and confidence can outweigh alot of things. Recently I was with a bunch of girls from my class and on the subject, I think nearly every single one of them held personality over looks, myself included.

My 2c anyway :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,551 ✭✭✭panda100

Wibbs wrote: »
    Ehhh Ive seen way more good looking women with less physically attractive men than the other way around.

The times I have seen a good looking guy with a less physically attractive girl have been far and few between. In my opinion,men are a lot more critical of looks that women are, because womens looks can be so readily criticised,but thats just my opinion.

One thing I would say to guys on here is really do not get hung up on looks. Appearances mean nothing at the end of the day, anyone who bases their attraction solely on the physical will have an unhappy relationship.
    I've gone out with guys who were a lot less physically attractive then I was and it only became an issue when they made it an issue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,055 ✭✭✭Emme

No, we can't afford to be!:D

Only messing.

A tourist (French male) said to me recently that Irish women were in general well dressed and attractive (ok, he was staying in a posh part of town) but Irish men weren't as fastidious about their appearance. He said that these guys wouldn't get a second glance anywhere else and that Irish women could do better than hang out with these losers whose jeans didn't fit properly.

I said to him that Irish men were in demand all over the world and Irish women were glad to date these guys if they were nice and had a good personality.

If there's a spark of some sort looks aren't a huge issue for women.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 788 ✭✭✭Sound Bite

Initially, its all about how someone looks, because before you getting talking to them that's pretty much all you've got to go on, unless they're a friend or someone you kinda know already.

But overall looks are irrelevant, if there's chemistry, if the personal can make you laugh etc, then it doesn't matter one iota what they look like.

IMO, the more chemistry or the more you feel for someone the more attractive they become in your eyes. An average looking person because gorgeous the more you fall for them.

Have you very gone out with someone you considered gorgeous at the time, only to realise afterword when you've no longer got any feelings for them, they are simply average.

There's a guy I used to know about 10 years ago, would have always got on ok but never considered him good looking at all. Fast forward 10 years met him again, definte attraction, good fun etc, I think he's know gorgeous. Really I do. My friends think I'm mental, say he hasn't changed abit & can't really see it.

The difference is I fancy him & they don't.

Everyone see things differently. I'd happily go out with Shrek if the chemistry was right, but I'd turn down Brad Pitt if it wasn't. Most women are the same.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,217 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Sound Bite wrote: »
    Everyone see things differently. I'd happily go out with Shrek if the chemistry was right, but I'd turn down Brad Pitt if it wasn't. Most women are the same.
    I would agree that women are much more like how you describe. A lot of men are too, but less. There are more shallow men. Well maybe shallow is a value judgement, maybe just different in what they look for.

I'd be more on the shallow end if I'm being honest. Say, I dunno, I met a woman online, chatted to her on the phone etc and got on really well. She made me laugh etc If I then met her and didnt feel physically attracted then game over. Put in friendzone. No matter how her personality was, it wouldnt change that. My "chemistry" would be more biology so to speak. I've only ever had chemistry with women I've found physically attractive. Certainly for anything like long term. Even when a relationship has split up, I might think of them as a complete PITA, but I'd still see them as physically attractive(unless that had changed in the interim). Obviously what I see as physically attractive is gonna vary compared to someone elses take, but I'd need that outa the box TBH.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,925 ✭✭✭Otis Driftwood

I would agree that women are much more like how you describe. A lot of men are too, but less. There are more shallow men. Well maybe shallow is a value judgement, maybe just different in what they look for.

I'd be more on the shallow end if I'm being honest. Say, I dunno, I met a woman online, chatted to her on the phone etc and got on really well. She made me laugh etc If I then met her and didnt feel physically attracted then game over. Put in friendzone. No matter how her personality was, it wouldnt change that. My "chemistry" would be more biology so to speak. I've only ever had chemistry with women I've found physically attractive. Certainly for anything like long term. Even when a relationship has split up, I might think of them as a complete PITA, but I'd still see them as physically attractive(unless that had changed in the interim). Obviously what I see as physically attractive is gonna vary compared to someone elses take, but I'd need that outa the box TBH.

Jeebus I wouldnt consider that to be in the realm of shallowness,there has to be the va va voom factor otherwise whats the point?

Some would think it shallow though. I've gotten it from some women before; "but my mate is really lovely you get on well and she's gorgeous". The first two may be correct, but the last one may not be(for me) and I have to make some excuses at that point.

I suppose I mean that more women will find a man physically attractive the more they find his personality attractive. Like what Sound Bite described. That's not happened for me. I will like them more as people, but as romantic partners no. Doesnt really matter what her personality is on that score TBH. Indeed looking back Ive gone out with women who were physically attractive whose personalities were ok but not that great. I wouldnt go out with a woman whose personality was great but who wasn't physically attractive(again for me).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,884 ✭✭✭Eve_Dublin

Some would think it shallow though. I've gotten it from some women before; "but my mate is really lovely you get on well and she's gorgeous". The first two may be correct, but the last one may not be(for me) and I have to make some excuses at that point.

I suppose I mean that more women will find a man physically attractive the more they find his personality attractive. Like what Sound Bite described. That's not happened for me. I will like them more as people, but as romantic partners no. Doesnt really matter what her personality is on that score TBH. Indeed looking back Ive gone out with women who were physically attractive whose personalities were ok but not that great. I wouldnt go out with a woman whose personality was great but who wasn't physically attractive(again for me).

I dunno, I've met plenty of men with sparkling personalities who I wouldn't touch with a barge pole because I couldn't find them physically attractive no matter how cool I thought they were. Perhaps men don't need to be as a drop dead WOW gorgeous as us women but certain physical criteria have to be in place for me to fancy a man. He needs to be taller than me (even by a centimetre), he can't have very blonde hair, he can't have a beer belly but he also can't be scrawny and he can't have a small willy. I haven't drawn up a list but all the men I've ever gone out with or fancied have met these criteria. It's just what I'm attracted to. That's just my personal taste.

What I'm saying is that some men believe that women will fancy a guy who doesn't bother taking care of himself just cos he's sound and it's not true. Women are "superficial" too, we have criteria but perhaps what we find physically attractive about men isn't as obvious.

Edit: A man has usually become more attractive after I slept with them and realised they're good in bed. I think a lot of women are the same. I've gone out with guys with average personalities, who've met the criteria I mentioned above but were good in the sack. That's pretty shallow on my part but there you go. The "relationships" didn't last long though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,264 ✭✭✭mood

Sound Bite wrote: »
    Initially, its all about how someone looks, because before you getting talking to them that's pretty much all you've got to go on, unless they're a friend or someone you kinda know already.

But overall looks are irrelevant, if there's chemistry, if the personal can make you laugh etc, then it doesn't matter one iota what they look like.

IMO, the more chemistry or the more you feel for someone the more attractive they become in your eyes. An average looking person because gorgeous the more you fall for them.

Have you very gone out with someone you considered gorgeous at the time, only to realise afterword when you've no longer got any feelings for them, they are simply average.

There's a guy I used to know about 10 years ago, would have always got on ok but never considered him good looking at all. Fast forward 10 years met him again, definte attraction, good fun etc, I think he's know gorgeous. Really I do. My friends think I'm mental, say he hasn't changed abit & can't really see it.

The difference is I fancy him & they don't.

I agree and think men are far more fussy when it comes to looks than women.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 788 ✭✭✭Sound Bite

I think a women can consider a man attractive (because of his personality, his confidence, etc) without him being good looking whereas men need to consider a woman to be good looking in order to find her attractive.

For women attractive and good looking are too totally seperate things, but for men there's little or no difference between them.

For example, the lead singer in a band, a talented hurler, they may not be the best looking guy in the world, but we find them attractive because of their passion, charisma, confidence etc

Well, IMO anyway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 63 ✭✭Bella_purple

feromones are important, the smell.

somebody can look very attractive but withought having the right feromones for me.

feromones are important, the smell.

somebody can look very attractive but withought having the right feromones for me.

But that is subconscious. It's not like you meet someone, don't fancy them or click with them and know it's because of feromones! It could well be that you don't like their attitude or poor manners or whatever. Not ever thing can be explained but that doesn't make it shallow or mean it's looks based.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,481 ✭✭✭Fremen

Incorrect, ... lets break this down....

Firstly ..... Can you please tell me which of these is (a) An adult themed book.... and (b) A childrens book buy simply judging their covers?

BookPic.jpg

a_painted_house.jpg

I belive you can, now you cant tell word for word what the respective books will read as but you get a very good idea of them BY.... judging them by their covers! :eek:

I dunno, John Grisham's hardly an intellectual heavyweight, and that kid looks like he's doing something unspeakable to that dog.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,889 ✭✭✭evercloserunion

Sabre0001 wrote: »
    Theft and well-spoken are two completely different things rather than the first example of books which are opposites. Anyways, the second example, clearly the suit will be convicted (embezzlement) rather than the first crowd...Especially if it's the Irish court system we're dealing with :D (I do get your point though).
    Yeah, my first thought that was if anyone was more likely to be convicted of theft, it was the guy in the suit!

(Goes to show that although judging a book by its cover can be useful, different people interpret covers in different ways!)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,376 ✭✭✭metrovelvet

I think its part of it. But I could put up with visual imperfection more than aural.

Some voices could get me to do anything, like Ian McCulloghs. Others, I have to get off the phone with very very quickly. Its tone, inflection, a variety of things.

I cant listen to you if you sound bad.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 202 ✭✭girvtheswerve

Looks are obviously a factor but not the be all and end all.

If you dont have any self confidence and feel ugly then thats a way bigger negative factor than how you actually look.

Cant go wrong if you're comfortable in your shoes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 341 ✭✭Yourself

Physical attraction is definitely part of the formula but its not the complete solution. If all the other boxes are ticked but you're not physically/sexually attracted to the person then they are most likely to be friendship material. Whether or not you find someone attractive is a subconscious primal instinct, to find a healthy mate with the genes you wish you off-spring to have.
    One of the girls (we will call her Girl A) was getting some unwanted attention from a bloke she drunkenly kissed the year before at some party and could not shake him off. Another of the girls (Girl B) was for all intents and purposes being stalked around campus by some bloke she was introduced to the week before, a sort of friend of a friend. His behaviour was much more aggressive and worrying, waiting outside toilets for her etc.

Girl A's bloke was short and overweight; Girl B's dude was tall and relatively attractive. Listening to the difference in the way the group described the two guys, who were behaving identically was a real insight into the hypocrisy of women when dealing with men and their looks (yes men do it too but are rightly criticised for it). The bottom line is, if you are going to be a stalker, make sure you are attractive, otherwise you will be in trouble. Girl A's bloke was a 'pervert' who could not take a hint. Girl B's guy was described as 'like a big puppy following you around'.
    And guess which one of the lads had a complaint made about him? :rolleyes:

Okay Girl A's guy deserved to be reported if he'd been following her around for a year! Girl B's guy was probably just getting the wrong signals. There's no way I'd call someone a 'puppy' if I was not attracted to them and felt their attention was not appreciated. Perhaps you got the wrong end of the stick.

scumbag.jpg

302_suit.jpg

Yeah, my first thought that was if anyone was more likely to be convicted of theft, it was the guy in the suit!

(Goes to show that although judging a book by its cover can be useful, different people interpret covers in different ways!)

This is turning out to be an instalment of cluedo! I thought it was the person who was wearing the red jumper that was well-spoken!

First impressions are what people make judgements on (so suit up :cool:), you cant give everyone the benefit of the doubt and making a call on who you think you can trust basically keeps us safe, everyone generalises. You just have to be open-minded and not presume you have the definitive list of who's hot and who's not!
    Have you ever seen a photograph of yourself and thought that you looked awful only for your friend to look at the same photo and say that you look great?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,599 ✭✭✭BumbleB

From my own POV .I like women with imperfections ,people strive to be too perfect nowadays and copy what they're seeing in the media which anyway is pure hype and pretentiousness.

Trying to emulate something doesn't really exist seems like pure madness to me.

The average girl on the pull nowadays is preened better than 90% of the so called sex symbols of the 60's.Many of these so called sex symbols werent exactly perfect.

I'm not really that into real good looking girls to tell the truth.I've often banjaxed my interactions with them on purpose and (sometimes not on purpose).

I often find that a girl that looks just ok ,becomes irresistable when she opens her mouth.Some girls have that aura about them .For that reason I usually would not rule out most girls.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 218 ✭✭2manyconditions

TBH if I saw a good looking woman with an ugly guy, I'd think she was after his money (esp in this day and age). Which has not been mentioned here at all.

Guys are mostly about looks and sometimes I think, they look for someone that might actually give them a hard time. i.e. that slightly 'wears the trousers' so to speak sometimes in the very mildest sense tho'

Looks aren't hugely important to me, someone with that 'theres something about them'. Attractiveness is absolutely key. Someone with a slightly similar sense of humour (sarcastic) and dare I say it financially independent. Someone that I wouldn't swear in front of - thats something I only noticed lately.

so any takers :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,884 ✭✭✭Eve_Dublin

TBH if I saw a good looking woman with an ugly guy, I'd think she was after his money (esp in this day and age). Which has not been mentioned here at all.

In this day and age when women are earning their own money and don't need a man to support them you mean?

As I said before, you see a good looking woman and an ugly man...tenner bets he's a demon on the bedroom and is hung like a horse.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 218 ✭✭2manyconditions

No in a recession, mind it could start getting the other way round now - with all them morgages the builders have to pay off

I was thinking about this and what you class as attractive in your own sex and what you find attractive in the opposite sex...Isn't it closed minded to presume that when you consider a person from each sex 'attractive' that they too will agree and consider each other attractive?!

Most women I know wouldn't even accept a man's financial support if it was offered and rightly so. I dont know any who would begin a relationship purely for financial gain, but then again I dont know any hookers!

I doubt I know any men that would be with a woman purely for financial reasons, I think most would find it emasculating.
    No in a recession, mind it could start getting the other way round now - with all them morgages the builders have to pay off

I think you're clutching at straws here going on about recession changing the face of new love interests!

hating-stuff-to-make-yourself-look-interesting-is-not-interesting.jpg

Yourself wrote: »
    I was thinking about this and what you class as attractive in your own sex and what you find attractive in the opposite sex...Isn't it closed minded to presume that when you consider a person from each sex 'attractive' that they too will agree and consider each other attractive?!
    You would think, but it seems that's precisely what tends to happen. This experiment has been run many times. Get say ten couples. Separate them into a line up of men and women. Get other men and women to rate both on physical attractiveness, gather the results and stick their number rating on their backs and match up couples based on that. What tends to happen in the majority of cases is that "5"s end up with other "5"s and "9"s with other "9"s. Of course you do get exceptions to the rule, but in general that's how it tends to pan out and that's just on the pysical. On the 3 guy with the 9 gal, other things are in play, including financial success, but its not just that. It's social success more than anything and money can be just one facet. So say an amateur, but successful plain looking GAA player with a crappy job, will usually trump a better looking accountant with more money. Where this will get interesting in the future(and today) with more and more women being successful and higher profile with more financial security than many men, how will this change things? I suspect they'll be similar to the men like that. Maybe the "cougar" trend is part of that?

Guys are mostly about looks and sometimes I think, they look for someone that might actually give them a hard time. i.e. that slightly 'wears the trousers' so to speak sometimes in the very mildest sense tho'

Looks aren't hugely important to me, someone with that 'theres something about them'. Attractiveness is absolutely key. Someone with a slightly similar sense of humour (sarcastic) and dare I say it financially independent. Someone that I wouldn't swear in front of - thats something I only noticed lately.

so any takers :pac:

In most young couples I know (between the ages of 28 and 48) the woman has the more professional job and is the main bread winner in the household.

Thankfully the type of person would would be with someone because of their salary are few and far between IMO.