Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Posioned lands

• 10-08-2010 9:10pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 420 ✭✭

I saw a sign up while walking in the country saying "Land posioned" ... what does this mean?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,786 ✭✭✭✭whelan1

what it says i would guess

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 474 ✭✭Casinoking

It means there's poison laid on the lands, so if your dog goes off wandering and comes back dead it's your own fault for letting him loose in the first place

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,717 ✭✭✭LostCovey

I saw a sign up while walking in the country saying "Land posioned" ... what does this mean?

Hi NoseyMike,

I think there are two possibilities:

- it is a bluff. Someone has sheep or other vulnerable livestock and is worried about dogs chasing their stock

or

- it is as the others have said and there really is poison laid. If there is poison laid, it is illegal unless the local gardai have been notified.

Worth mentioning to your local Garda Station.

As far as I know meat-based baits have been banned, so the main threat to dogs is from illegally-laid poison.

LostCovey

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,871 ✭✭✭Corsendonk

I don't think its just dogs that should worry, a number of birds of pray have died from poison in the last year.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,271 ✭✭✭✭johngalway

LostCovey wrote: »
    As far as I know meat-based baits have been banned

For birds only I thought?

johngalway wrote: »
    For birds only I thought?

Sorry John, I don't understand what you mean by "for birds only"

LostCovey

Sorry John, I don't understand what you mean by "for birds only"

LostCovey

That grain based substances were still allowed for use against crows and such, but that meat based substances were now disallowed.

Yes, agreed, and that is what I meant. But you don't need a sign to protect dogs from grain and crows can't read. So one might suspect that a place with signs up MIGHT be using meat baits.

That's all i was suggesting

LC

As far as I know meat-based baits have been banned, so the main threat to dogs is from illegally-laid poison.

LostCovey

Err no, cos meat based poisons haven't been banned for foxes, AFAIK, and you didn't specify ;)

Clear as mud :)

Err no, cos meat based poisons haven't been banned for foxes, AFAIK, and you didn't specify ;)

Clear as mud :)

Hi John,

You may well be correct - you are certainly correct when you say it is clear as mud!

What (realistically) is the difference between a meat bait for a crow and a meat bait for a fox?

If we just jump over that pot-hole (because I really cannot see how one can in any meaningful sense be illegal and the other illegal), we come to a bigger legal minefield.

What poison can legally be used to control foxes?

LostCovey

What poison can legally be used to control foxes?

LostCovey

I don't have the answer to that as I don't poison anything, I prefer copper jacketed lead travelling very very fast.

But, as we both know from other threads, it is legal to poison foxes once signs are erected on the land and the Gardai notified beforehand.

Now, as for crows, Gormless did ban meat based poisons for crows etc in the not so distant past if memory serves me correctly. So in effect, meat based poisons aren't illegal, and are illegal, depending on the target species.

But, as we both know from other threads, it is legal to poison foxes once signs are erected on the land and the Gardai notified beforehand.

You may know this John, but I don't. If there is a substance that may legally be used to poison foxes in Ireland, what is it?

I do not believe there is. I have asked this question before, and nobody has ever named what poison can legally be used. Or if they have, they have just plucked a name out of the air, they have not stated what legal basis there is for any of this poisoning.
    Now, as for crows, Gormless did ban meat based poisons for crows etc in the not so distant past if memory serves me correctly.

Hopefully he's not too Gormless to finish the job and ban them entirely.

LostCovey

I do not believe there is. I have asked this question before.

Not being smart with you here but perhaps ask those giving the permission, the Gardai.

The Gardai are giving nobody permission to lay poison.

The Gardai are being notified that poison has been laid.

They may be making the same assumption that you are making John.

It is a reasonable one. Some one lays a bait containing a poisonous chemical in their land to kill wild things, puts up a big dirty sign that says 'Poison Laid', and drives into town, tells the Guards he has done it, and gets his name put in a book. If I was a young Guard, I would assume it must be legal. If I was an old Guard I would remember when strychnine was freely available and legal.

If I shoot a fox or a crow I can show you the piece of legislation that allows me to do that.

All I am asking is what poison can I legally lay to kill foxes?

Everyone is assuming this must all be grand, I think it is no harm to question that.

LostCovey

All I am asking is what poison can I legally lay to kill foxes?

LostCovey

Eight days of silence on this.

Exactly the response I expected.

LostCovey

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,807 ✭✭✭Birdnuts

T If I was an old Guard I would remember when strychnine was freely available and legal.

I

LostCovey

Thankfully strychnine has been banned for over 20 years. Pretty much every other "poison" such as paraquat has been banned too and Irish legislation is coming down the line soon via the EU to ban the use of all types of uncovered poison bait as is the case across the rest of the EU. Should have been done decades ago to prevent ongoing damage to Irelands "green" image on which so much of our food exports tourism depends on!! - better late then never I suppose:rolleyes:

Eight days of silence on this.

Exactly the response I expected.

LostCovey

And the Gardai told you? :rolleyes:

I didn't trouble them.

LC