Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Sunday Game panel - Public Servants only (well mostly) ??

• 10-08-2010 10:37am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,260 ✭✭✭

One thing I noticed myself is the makeup of the panel on the Sunday Game, Kevin McStay ( Officer in army), Tony Davis ( Guard ), Colm O'Rourke (teacher), Pat Spillane (teacher). Thing is, their all Govt employees !!!! :D

Ok, this may sound trival and more to do with the economics forum, but to me doesn't it just say it all about how things are ran in this state :( And does it say something about how 'hard working' our public servants are. I'm sure they cann't find many from the private sector able to give us analysis. Like no brickie, bus driver, bank clerk, engineer or post man could be a suitable candidate ?? :rolleyes:

( And their's Joe Brolly who's a barrister, so he works indirectly for the state in the courts.)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,487 ✭✭✭aDeener

One thing I noticed myself is the makeup of the panel on the Sunday Game, Kevin McStay ( Officer in army), Tony Davis ( Guard ), Colm O'Rourke (teacher), Pat Spillane (teacher). Thing is, their all Govt employees !!!! :D

Ok, this may sound trival and more to do with the economics forum, but to me doesn't it just say it all about how things are ran in this state :( And does it say something about how 'hard working' our public servants are. I'm sure they cann't find many from the private sector able to give us analysis. Like no brickie, bus driver, bank clerk, engineer or post man could be a suitable candidate ?? :rolleyes:

( And their's Joe Brolly who's a barrister, so he works indirectly for the state in the courts.)

jaysus

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,241 ✭✭✭baalthor

They're all former players so it's not surprising. It's almost impossible to play at intercounty level and hold down a regular private sector job unless your employer can use you to promote their company.
    Most private sector IC GAA players are self employed.
    Teacher OTOH is an ideal profession as the hours and work year match up well with the playing season. Also you can coach as part of your job.
    A lot of managers though are (or were) wealthy businessmen.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,260 ✭✭✭PatsytheNazi

baalthor wrote: »
    They're all former players so it's not surprising. It's almost impossible to play at intercounty level and hold down a regular private sector job unless your employer can use you to promote their company.
    Most private sector IC GAA players are self employed.
    Teacher OTOH is an ideal profession as the hours and work year match up well with the playing season. Also you can coach as part of your job.
    A lot of managers though are (or were) wealthy businessmen.
    Are you a Govt employee BTW ?? :D

Well, firstly, their's plenty of electrician's, carpenters etc out of work and as far as I could see and would be worthy of a break in these times and well able to a panelist. Some of them probably have some experience on local radio anyway, but ofcourse getting a little number from the state is another thing isn't it !! And besides, a bank clerk or postman would be available and Saturday or Sunday. And many's a hard working self employed brickie or lorry driver would have swopped a day's hard graft for a cosy and I'm sure well paid few hours on the Sunday Game.

Ah yes, like everything else in the wee crony state, throw it at the public parsites....I mean public servants :rolleyes:

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 3,807 ✭✭✭castie

Every barrister in the country works for the state?

News to me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 420 ✭✭KrazeeEyezKilla

And besides, a bank clerk or postman would be available and Saturday or Sunday. And many's a hard working self employed brickie or lorry driver would have swopped a day's hard graft for a cosy and I'm sure well paid few hours on the Sunday Game.

Ah yes, like everything else in the wee crony state, throw it at the public parsites....I mean public servants :rolleyes:

Aren't postmen not public servants? The pundits are hired for what they've done on the pitch in the past not because they're teachers or in the Army.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,438 ✭✭✭megadodge

castie wrote: »

News to me.

Yes, including those (like Brolly) who work in Belfast !! :rolleyes:

Aren't postmen not public servants? The pundits are hired for what they've done on the pitch in the past not because they're teachers or in the Army.
    True enough regarding postie's. So, what players from the private sector have done on the pitch in the past isn't up there as the govt paid sector :rolleyes:

More like RTE being a Govt run agency picks Govt employees, it's called cronyism and it's the way the Gombeen republic works :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,612 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

i laughed when i saw crimecall one night and davis was on that panel too!!
    He can do the work of two men!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,461 ✭✭✭popebenny16

True enough regarding postie's. So, what players from the private sector have done on the pitch in the past isn't up there as the govt paid sector :rolleyes:

More like RTE being a Govt run agency picks Govt employees, it's called cronyism and it's the way the Gombeen republic works :rolleyes:

where,s that unthanks button when you need it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,252 ✭✭✭deisedevil

I think your reading waaaaay too much into this. Do you like documentaries on conspiracy theories by any chance?

deisedevil wrote: »
    I think your reading waaaaay too much into this. Do you like documentaries on conspiracy theories by any chance?
    So it's a conspiracy theory that the state in general and by extension RTE is run by cronyism ?

No. That's not what I said. Don't twist things.

deisedevil wrote: »
    No. That's not what I said. Don't twist things.
    Your implying it's a conspiracy theory. Don't twist things ;)

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 3,807 ✭✭✭castie

Hes asking you if thats what you think.

Big difference

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,241 ✭✭✭baalthor

Are you a Govt employee BTW ?? :D
    No, which is why I can see the difficulty that someone working for say a multinational would have with playing IC /high level football or hurling. It was the same with rugby or LOI before professionalism - a sympathetic employer was a big help.
    Anyway, could you give an example of someone who is being unfairly kept off the Sunday Game couch?

I'm saying you are blowing things out of all proportion. I didn't twist anything. ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,238 ✭✭✭✭Diabhal Beag

Tony Davis always comes across as the stereotypical Guard. Seems like the kinda fella that'd take pride in taking drink off people in town.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,461 ✭✭✭popebenny16

thats a conspiracy theory right there, you are saying that some state folk are conspiring to use only other state folk, by the method of cronyism.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,096 ✭✭✭An Citeog

This really isn't the place for a public v private sector debate. If that's what you're looking for, then take it to the politics forum.

If you want to discuss the merits of particular Sunday Game panelists or suggest former players that you'd like to see being given a chance, then go ahead. Any more of the crap above and I'll lock the thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,742 ✭✭✭blackbelt

Wow,I'm sure RTE asked these guys what their occupation is before taking them on to do the Sunday Game.

Pat Spillane - All Ireland winner with Kerry in the 70s and 80s.
    Colm O Rourke - 2 All Ireland Titles with Meath (87 & 88)
    Joe Brolly - 1993 All Ireland with Derry
    Tony Davis - 1989 and 1990 All Irelands with Cork.
    Kevin McStay - ok we won't go there its Mayo ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,028 ✭✭✭Trampas

I just wish Michael Lester would get a haircut

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,174 ✭✭✭hardybuck

Whoever they are working for, the current football panel could do with scrapping. The performance this afternoon was bordering on embarassing.

There is obviously serious tension between Brolly and Spillane, and O'Rourke looked pretty fed up stuck in the middle of them. Its clear they are totally fed up of each other, and have all probably been there too long.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 852 ✭✭✭moonpurple

if kevin mcstay is an army officer, I pray to God we are not invaded by the faroes
    or iceland..

get the white flag ready:eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,921 ✭✭✭Gophur

It's time RTE got some newer, fresher, analysts.

1. The opinion of any of the panellists doesn't really matter.

2. Just because they were good players does not mean they know a hell of a lot more than anyone else.

2. They are becoming parodies of themselves. Time for Brolly, Spillane and O'Rourke to be moved aside.

Likewise, I had to laugh at the advertisements for the Sundo Indo extolling people to buy the Paper to hear why Paudi O'Shea and O'Rourke thought Dublin would win the game. Who cares? The only thing that matters is the result of the game, not what any of these people think about it.

As for analysis, the only ones to listen are those who can pinpoint actual significant events in games, not the speculative claptrap we hear 99% of the time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 997 ✭✭✭Colm R

I got text messages during the game that Brolly was having a right go at Cork. To be honest I was not suprised. Watched the Sunday game last night, and I was in utter shock by it. He said a few comments about Cork, and his attitude and lack respect to the other two pundits was awful. You could sense Dara, Tony and Des were a bit uncomfortable.

However, (I'm not a Dub), but I was absolutely sickened by his comment about O'Gara during the decision on MOTM. Dara listed out the 3 nominees, and Brolly butts in with a "O'Gara should get it....Ha ha ha".

O'Gara did not play well, and probably should expect some proffessional comments last night and today. But to make a joke about an amature player in such a manner is sick.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,971 ✭✭✭teednab-el

I like O Cinnede, Davis and Spillane as analysts. Even O Rourke is ok.They always give credit where its due. I think Brolly is a Di%k. Always having a go at Cork. I just hope he eats his words some day. He knows nothing about football. Always going on about Tyrones good style of defence. Nonsense.

teednab-el wrote: »
    ............... I think Brolly is a Di%k............

You should hear what he thinks about you?

............... Always having a go at Cork.............

1. He's not.
    2. Why does it (the perceived opinion) upset you so much?

.............. He knows nothing about football..............

Ridiculous. He knows as much as anyone and a hell of a lot more than most.

................... Always going on about Tyrones good style of defence. .......

Eh, again, you're wrong.

.......................... Nonsense.

You got that right, though, not about Joe Brolly!

Are you this way about everyone whose opinion you disagree with?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,659 ✭✭✭unknown13

I don't know why you care about the occupations of the Sunday game analysts. Its none of my business what professions they are outside of the Sunday game.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 64 ✭✭tomdadude

Gophur wrote: »

Eh, again, you're wrong.

You must be having a laugh.He's always talking about Tyrone.Saying how great they are.

He seems to forget they have just 3 All Irelands.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,575 ✭✭✭✭FlutterinBantam

All you guys seem to forget that the criterium surely would be the ability to talk coherently about the game?

That would rule out a large number of people and by default those better educated will get those panelists jobs.

I would think Dara O'Shea is head and shoulders over the rest,who are not bad except for Brolly who is a right pain in the hole.

All ruled by Cahill who has about as much street cred. as a wet haddock on the quay after a storm.

O'Shea speaks sense, and if I may not agree always, he is far and away the most convincing.

Get rid of Cahill and get someone in there not afraid to express an opinion, without worrying about what's coming down the road.

I would think Dara O'Shea is head and shoulders over the rest,who are not bad except for Brolly who is a right pain in the hole.

All ruled by Cahill who has about as much street cred. as a wet haddock on the quay after a storm.

Get rid of Cahill and get someone in there not afraid to express an opinion, without worrying about what's coming down the road.

I don't get the antipathy towards Brolly. He's very intelligent and very passionate, two characteristics which seem to rule him out, in a lot of people's eyes.

As for Cahill? What a plonker! Guffaw, guffaw.......... He's like the village idiot, commenting on a Junior B game after a feed of pints. He brings no intelligence to the discussion and seems to think people want to hear his opinion.

Gophur wrote: »
    I don't get the antipathy towards Brolly. He's very intelligent and very passionate, two characteristics which seem to rule him out, in a lot of people's eyes.

As for Cahill? What a plonker! Guffaw, guffaw.......... He's like the village idiot, commenting on a Junior B game after a feed of pints. He brings no intelligence to the discussion and seems to think people want to hear his opinion.

Brolly has an air of superiority about him, way too smug, expansive, and dismissive of the alternate view. You don't get the same reaction about Davis or O'Shea.

Ever ask yourself why?

Totally agree about Cahill.... disasterville.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,477 ✭✭✭grenache

Dara O Cinnéide is the best football pundit on The Sunday Game, always gives a thorough and fair analysis, picking out small things others don't see. Its just a pity he's hardly ever gets a slot on the evening highlights programme.

:o

Shoooite.... I meant Dara O Cinnéide.

Sorry folks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 677 ✭✭✭phkk

The best hurling analyst is michael Duignan,very honest,not afraid to make a judgement and shows great respect for all the hurlers(Banker by profession btw!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,256 ✭✭✭LeoB

Ja Fallon is a Postie, (so am I) :). Dont know about Ja but I am available

The annual Sunday game debate.......

Dara O'Cinneide is superb, well spoken, respectful and very knowlegable. Colm O'Rourke is good, Spillane can be entertaining:D

Joe Brolly is just pathetic. I used to like him but some of his comments about teams and players are just crazy, last Sunday it was his snide comments about O'Gara. Usually its his blowing up of Tyrone and the wonderful skill of the Ulster players. You have guessed I dont like him.

McStay, Tohill and Davis are just boring.

Hurling is better. Michael Duignan is good, Declan Ruth was good on the programme doing his bit on pointing out skills. Loughnane is like Spillane entertaining. I think Cyril Farrell can be a bit of a hypocrite, he lashes players from weaker counties if there is any dust up saying they have to sort out discipiline yet if players from top counties have a dust up "its in the heat of battle".
    Tomas Mulcahy is fair but like Michael Lyster needs a visit to barber;)
    Donal O'Grady I find boring.

So who would you have?
    Dara O'Cinneide would be my main man for football with 1 of, Spillane, O'Rourke, Tommy Carr, Tommy Lyons, Billy Morgan or Sean Boylan all of whom are well up on things. I have heard Carr and Morgan on a few occasions and they will call a spade a spade

Hurling, Michael Duignan with 2 of Loughnane, Declan Ruth, Joe Connolly, Pat Fleury, Nicky English and Tomas Mulcahy.

Who would you have as presenter? I would have rugby commentator Michael Corcoran or Damien O'Reilly and of course I would make space for Joanne Cantwell, Siobhan Madigan and and and ??? Hurley (not Liz)

I would have Brolly and Farrell working as lockhards in R.T.E. carpark

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 795 ✭✭✭Fandango

castie wrote: »

News to me.
    indeed, my bro is a barrister and has never worked for the state. As far as i know, 99% of barristers havent either so point gone right there :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 723 ✭✭✭Ian_K

Spillane - Brilliant, controversial as always, vital to the whole thing
    O'Rourke - Starting to look old and fed up of it, time to go
    Brolly - Really annoying but a good shít-stirrer is always needed
    Tohill - Very good, should get more air time
    Davis - Again very good, tells it like it is
    McStay - Cant stand him, genuinely doesnt know the rules of the game
    Ó Cinnéide - A bit boring but very knowledgeable
    Cahill - Useless, Spillane should still be hosting it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,174 ✭✭✭hardybuck

Spillane as a presenter was a total disaster, as is his attempt to pronounce Meath, or as he calls them 'Meat'.

O'Cinnéide should be the next presenter of the Sunday game-if he wants it. I'd also like to see people like Collie Moran and Declan Browne introduced. Both quite polished and able to express themselves.

The hurling panel are fairly safe bets. The live game panel all cut across each other all the time, but at least they get on well. Becoming fed up of Tomas Mulcahy as his blatant support of everything Cork is borderline obnoxious.

I dislike O'Grady who comes across as a complete 'know it all'. Duignan is very hard to understand-needs to slow it way down. Ruth is fairly basic, as is Pete Finnerty. I think Fergal Hartley would be very good, Paul Flynn has improved a lot, and people like Joe Deane, Seanie McGrath and Ollie Canning would all be good additions.

O'Cinneide would get my vote.

Spillane's 'Meat and Lout' were annoying definitely.

hardybuck wrote: »
    I think Fergal Hartley would be very good, Paul Flynn has improved a lot

Your right there, Hartley would do well with it.

Paul Flynn has surprised me lately. When he started off I thought he was a bit of a disaster and seemed like he was just clamming up with nerves, he got over that and he's doing alright now.

I dislike O'Grady who comes across as a complete 'know it all'................

:D:D:D
    You got that right!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 997 ✭✭✭Colm R

I dislike O'Grady who comes across as a complete 'know it all'.

A lot of lads from Blarney and the Mon would agree with you there!! ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 377 ✭✭djScarey

As far as match analyses go, I love the sound of a boiling kettle. It makes a lot of sense, I tell you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,487 ✭✭✭aDeener

i would prefer if they had analysts who didnt analyse their own counties matches, it would make for much less bias.

anthony tohill i'm looking at you