Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

CAR BREAK IN-TELL INSURANCE?

• 10-08-2010 10:04am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25

Hi all, just wondering if anyone has had any experience with a similar problem or if anyone has any advice on this! My car was broken into yesterday during the day while I was at work. The door was prised open and my radio face was stolen. They unscrewed the cover underneath and above the steering wheel but weren't clever enough to actually hotwire it. So the car is not damaged really (apart from the cover), my boyfriend managed to push the door back into place and I can still lock and more importantly drive it. The radio face was the only thing stolen, it's a '91 car.

Is there any need to inform my insurance company? I will most likely be changing my car in October. I'm informing the guards in case the lil runt/s can be caught but I wasn't going to tell my insurance company as it's an old car and I thought it might just put the cost of my insurance up or affect my no claims bonus. A co-worker suggested today though that maybe I should tell my insurance company-does anyone know what's the best thing to do?

Thanks!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,208 ✭✭✭keithclancy

Loriharton wrote: »
    Is there any need to inform my insurance company? I will most likely be changing my car in October. I'm informing the guards in case the lil runt/s can be caught but I wasn't going to tell my insurance company as it's an old car and I thought it might just put the cost of my insurance up or affect my no claims bonus. A co-worker suggested today though that maybe I should tell my insurance company-does anyone know what's the best thing to do?
    Thanks!

I don't think it matter unless you make a claim, which for a 91 car wouldn't be worth it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,237 ✭✭✭✭djimi

In this situation only inform your insurance company if you plan on making a claim. No need to otherwise I shouldnt think.

Even if you do wish to inform them, unless you actually follow thru with the claim and they pay you any money then it wont affect your premium or NCB.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,219 ✭✭✭✭biko

I wouldn't but that's me. The cost of fixing the door and replacing covers and get a new radio is probably not that much. And if you're changing car anyway it won't matter as you can still drive it.
    What are your plans for the current car? To sell on or scrap?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25 Loriharton

Thanks all-I'll probably scrap it eventually (although I hate the thoughts of it being scrapped! even though it's a '91 car it's still flying! Toyota :o) but I doubt I'd be able to sell it. I don't think I'll bother saying anything to insurance, might be more hassle than it's worth-is there any advantage to telling them when it wasn't actually stolen?

I can still drive it, although just about at the moment, as the cover underneath the wheel keeps falling down (grr!) but I'm hoping I'll be able to get that fixed and then it'll be grand.

It's mad, I've had a car in Dublin a few years now and this is by far what I would have considered the safest place to park my car (in an estate full of houses and flats with parking space literally outside my window) and it's the first time it's broken into-in broad daylight! It's time like this I wish I had neighbours who knew me!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,437 ✭✭✭kasper

when you are finished using your current car put it in an advert on done deal for a couple of hundred some one will buy it , they might have one like yours in better condition and are looking for spare parts , the ad only costs 3 euro , just dont over price it or sell it to young lads

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25 Loriharton

kasper wrote: »
    when you are finished using your current car put it in an advert on done deal for a couple of hundred some one will buy it , they might have one like yours in better condition and are looking for spare parts , the ad only costs 3 euro , just dont over price it or sell it to young lads

Thanks Kasper! Would love to see it sold instead of scrapped! Pity the radio was stolen, it was a good one and hooked up to new boom box like speakers (i'm really not a girl racer the speakers came with the radio and I didn't realise they were so big!) so that might have helped sell it but anyway! Radios don't seem to be too expensive anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,883 ✭✭✭pa990

find out how much to will cost to repair, also check how much excess you have on your policy.. and whether or not it will affect your NCB.

Do the math.. it might not be economical to make a claim

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,153 ✭✭✭✭Del2005

pa990 wrote: »
    find out how much to will cost to repair, also check how much excess you have on your policy.. and whether or not it will affect your NCB.

Do the math.. it might not be economical to make a claim

The car is worth less then insurance repair costs, they use new OEM parts and main dealer labour rates, it'll be written off if she claims. The car may even be worth less then her excess.

OP see if you can find the steering wheel cowl in a breakers or if not just wrap in in black duct tape.

Then buy a Big F**k Off change, bolt it to the floor and then wrap it around the steering wheel every time you leave the car. Unfortunately because modern cars can't be taken without the keys while your car can, it'll always be a target for scum.