Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Moving on from the track suit issue --> shoes!

• 09-08-2010 4:54pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭

I have a good friend who's family runs a chain of shoe shops.
    As such the son and dad are always pointing out to me that you can tell a class of person by the shoes they are wearing, the state that they are in and how often they change them.
    They tell me that for some females, its one of the first things they look at, to judge a chap when out socialising and when they see him for the first time.
    (Is this true ladies?)

Is there method in their madness or are they (or people generally) just daft to be using shoes as a yard stick to measure someone up? :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,911 ✭✭✭Zombienosh

I like shoes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,228 ✭✭✭bluto63

I like to wear Pennys shoes which cost a fiver. Why pay more for shoes when you can pay that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,554 ✭✭✭✭alwaysadub

Nope,shoes are way down the list of things i look at when i'm looking at someone!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,442 ✭✭✭MickShamrock

I can see it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,737 ✭✭✭✭kylith

I don't think I've ever judged a man by his shoes. I would think less of someone if I found that they judged me on what was on my feet instead of what was in my head.

I tend to live in my Converse (except in work when I live in sandals) until they fall apart.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 10,974 Mod ✭✭✭✭artanevilla

bluto63 wrote: »
    I like to wear Pennys shoes which cost a fiver. Why pay more for shoes when you can pay that?

There's two things in life you should splash out on a get a good one. A bed and shoes, because if you're not in one, you're in the other.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

The general gist that they told me was that (in a club/bar) if the foot attire was clean and respectful, they gave off the impression that one was aware of their looks, took time for personal grooming, weren't a lazy person and liked to create a good impression generally in life.

The ones that came in wearing something that looked like had been dragged through a hedge backwards with dirt and all, they tended to shy away from.

It could be all nonsense to be honest, probably is - but I'm just throwing out there to hear what others think.
    Is there any method in their madness?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,378 ✭✭✭mojesius

Biggins wrote: »
    As such the son and dad are always pointing out to me that you can tell a class of person by the shoes they are wearing, the state that they are in and how often they change them.
    They tell me that for some females, its one of the first things they look at, to judge a chap when out socialising and when they see him for the first time.
    (Is this true ladies?)

Is there method in their madness or are they (or people generally) just daft to be using shoes as a yard stick to measure someone up? :confused:

Your friend and his Dad have it all wrong. Girls aren't looking at a man's shoes, we're checking out the size of his feet ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,228 ✭✭✭bluto63

(Is this true ladies?)

They were probably just trying to get you to spend more money on their shoes.

LOL This could be true! :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,723 ✭✭✭Cheap Thrills!

The general gist that they told me was that (in a club/bar) if the foot attire was clean and respectful, they gave off the impression that one was aware of their looks, took time for personal grooming, weren't a lazy person and liked to create a good impression generally in life.

Mad, I'd go completely the opposite. Don't like formal/clean cut officy looking men. So I'd automatically eliminate the bloke if he was wearing, for example, those pointy toed high fashion shoes fellas are all wearing now.
    Reason? It shows vanity and self consciousness of their looks which is an undesirable trait in a man imo. Yes, a man needs to be clean and good looking but not pristine, to me that just is not masculine. Too metro.
    The ones that came in wearing something that looked like had been dragged through a hedge backwards with dirt and all, they tended to shy away from.

Yeh of course, dirty, smelly shoes, clothes, teeth or anything is also an automatic disqualification. However a well worn in pair of leather boots are sexy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,378 ✭✭✭mojesius

Mad, I'd go completely the opposite. Don't like formal/clean cut officy looking men. So I'd automatically eliminate the bloke if he was wearing, for example, those pointy toed high fashion shoes fellas are all wearing now.
    Reason? It shows vanity and self consciousness of their looks which is an undesirable trait in a man imo. Yes, a man needs to be clean and good looking but not pristine, to me that just is not masculine. Too metro.

I completely agree. They should be banned.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,349 ✭✭✭✭starlit

mojesius wrote: »
    Your friend and his Dad have it all wrong. Girls aren't looking at a man's shoes, we're checking out the size of his feet ;)

That is actually quiet true!;)

I don't really care what shoe guys wear as long as they look cool and confortable! As along as they aren't too dirty and stinky!

...I'd automatically eliminate the bloke if he was wearing, for example, those pointy toed high fashion shoes fellas are all wearing now...

True, can't stand sight of the things myself.
    ...Yeh of course, dirty, smelly shoes, clothes, teeth or anything is also an automatic disqualification. However a well worn in pair of leather boots are sexy.

So it is an alternative (good?) way of sizing someone up then in general? :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,349 ✭✭✭✭starlit

kind of ya!;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 532 ✭✭✭King Felix

Birds judging you on your plumage?

It'll never happen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,723 ✭✭✭Cheap Thrills!

So it is an alternative (good?) way of sizing someone up then in general? :)

Hmm, in general I suppose but I wouldn't rely on visual 'inspection' of someone as a good/reliable way to pick a partner! Looks can be deceiving!! (which negates my previous post)

Hmmm....it's a headscratcher so it is! :cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,783 ✭✭✭Hank_Jones

(Is this true ladies?)

I would think this is the sort of thing someone who sells shoes would say to people, as opposed to it being overly true.
    If a woman is overly conscious, before anything else, about what kind of shoes a man is wearing, what kind of woman is that?

You should buy this massive 70 inch widescreen television, the first thing a woman does when walking into someone's house is to check out their tv...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,811 ✭✭✭xoxyx

There's two things in life you should splash out on a get a good one. A bed and shoes, because if you're not in one, you're in the other.

I like it!!!

I wouldn't take my first impression of a guy from his shoes, but the suit and runner look is a real turn off. As is runners laced really tight with a bow on the top! There's one part of me that will never leave the schoolyard and those well laced trainers just scream "geek" to me!!!

Don't like loafers either or those slip on things.

I do think the pointy toed Italian ones can be sexy on the right guy, but mostly the square toed ones look way better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,814 ✭✭✭Nemanja91

The part of clothing I care about most is my shoes!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,819 ✭✭✭✭peasant

Just remove yourself from competitiveness, be comfy instead, buy these:

http://www.theshoespoint.com/wp-content/uploads/2009/01/birkenstock_clog_shoes1.jpg

Don't worry ...beeee happy now :D

Nemanja91 wrote: »
    The part of clothing I care about most is my shoes!
    Can I ask why?
    Just out of curiousness. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,814 ✭✭✭Nemanja91

Can I ask why?
    Just out of curiousness. :)

I don't know really, I just like my shoes and I try keep them in good condition. Thats it really I suppose! And they are more expensive than other pieces of clothing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,971 ✭✭✭we'llallhavetea_old

well i pay more because penneys shoes cut the feet off me and fall apart.

when looking at a blokes shoes, i don't want to see pristine shoes, i wanna see comfy half battered runners. the more wrecked, the better i say! i like a bit o'rough ye see :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

peasant wrote: »

http://www.theshoespoint.com/wp-content/uploads/2009/01/birkenstock_clog_shoes1.jpg

Bleedin' hippies.
    Although I suppose there's a market for the wearers amongst first year female college students. :)

With women you can't really win.
    They tell you to be yourself, but then try to change you, and then give out because you've changed too much. How the **** are you supposed to deal with that?

Women, know your men.
    We're a simple to please gender.
    All we want is the occasional bj, the occasional steak, the occasional night out with the lads and a lack of bitching.
    If a man spends more money on clothes than you do, then you're just going to be pissed off at all the attention he gets from shallow chicks.
    Low maintenance does not equal laziness, lack of self esteem or any other negative trait. It's just the way most men are (see how I took the time to type out the word "Equal", rather than use the = sign?).

Now don't start whining about this post. As I pointed out above, men don't want to hear that crap.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,688 ✭✭✭Kasabian

well i pay more because penneys shoes cut the feet off me and fall apart.

when looking at a blokes shoes, i don't want to see pristine shoes, i wanna see comfy half battered runners. the more wrecked, the better i say! i like a bit o'rough ye see :p

Well hello . My runners are at that cool stage and I am rough :pac:

peasant wrote: »

I had a pair when in US , couldn't feckin' keep them on

Kasabian wrote: »
    Well hello . My runners are at that cool stage and I am rough :pac:

i'll need photographic evidence or you will most unfortunately have to vacate this thread.

%^&$£*%$£%$ :mad:

/ heads off mumbling that I must rob a camera :pac:

%^&$£*%$£%$ :mad:

/ heads off mumbling that I must rob a camera :pac:

yes you must, or never darken this thread again young man.

/ bet they're feckin gleaming clean.. :cool:

/ peeks around corner

Is the crazy cat lady gone ?

/ peeks around corner

Is the crazy cat lady gone ?

*lambastes kasabian over the head with a frying pan*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,198 ✭✭✭strokemyclover

When I meet someone for the first time I usually see how their jib is cut. A man or woman with a badly cut jib is not worth my time IMO

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

When I meet someone for the first time I usually see how their jib is cut. A man or woman with a badly cut jib is not worth my time IMO
    What the hell is a jib?

LMAO :D

i likes the cut of your jib!

*lambastes kasabian over the head with a frying pan*

* wakes up , runners gone :(:mad: ......again :P

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,493 ✭✭✭Fulton Crown

Terry wrote: »
    What the hell is a jib?

Its a chaps "bits" isn't it...his todger ..more specifically the end of his todger aka the bell end.

The cut of his jib refers to the "rake" of his foreskin across the bell end.

Some ladies like it fully covered..the hoodie position.

Some like a little bit of purple showing..the "casual" look as it were.

Others like it completely drawn back or "au natural".

Apparently you can tell a lot about a chap by observing in this area...much more that relying on his shoes.

Anythin else ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,198 ✭✭✭strokemyclover

Terry wrote: »
    What the hell is a jib?

T'is a sail and I be a pirate me laddy!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 355 ✭✭Princess Zelda

My mum back when she was in charge of hiring people often said it is the first part of a persons attire she checks when she is assessing them. Don't know why, but something about it is the last thing that people think of to keep in good nick

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 153 ✭✭Sonz