Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Young boy struck by Garda patrol car in Limerick city

• 09-08-2010 3:49pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 937 ✭✭✭

http://www.limerickleader.ie/news/Young-boy-struck-by-Garda.6464986.jp

Published Date: 09 August 2010
    By Petula Martyn
    A 12-year-old boy was injured on O'Connell Street this Monday afternoon when he was struck by a garda patrol car.
    The Garda Ombudsman Commission has been informed by garda management at Henry Street Garda Station, and an independent investigation will be carried out in line with standard operating procedures.

It is understood that the boy was crossing the city's main street - from the Penney's side to the Cruises Street side - on his way to his father who had walked across the road before him.

The windscreen of the garda patrol was smashed during the collision which happened at 1.20pm. The 12-year-old was brought by ambulance to the Mid-Western Regional Hospital. His injuries are not believed to be life threatening.

The two gardai who were in the patrol car at the time are said to be in a state of shock.

Part of O'Connell Street was closed to traffic so that the scene could be technically examined this afternoon.

===============================================
    http://www.live95fm.ie/news/news-item/traffic-delays-in-city-centre-following-patrol-car-incident/50beee7f-ec7e-4544-9689-f6790b67d54d

TRAFFIC DELAYS IN CITY CENTRE FOLLOWING PATROL CAR INCIDENT

09 August 2010
    Motorists have been experiencing lengthy delays across the city as investigations continue into the incident on O'Connell Street.
    A section of the road where the 12 year old was hit by the patrol car has been closed to traffic since lunchtime.
    Traffic is being diverted via Denmark Street with other diversions around Bank Place, Charlotte Quay and Clare Street.
    Gardai expect to re-open the road to traffic shortly.

===============================================
    hopefully the kid will be ok

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,968 ✭✭✭✭phog

Hope the young guy is okay, it must be a drivers worst nightmare to knock down a young person.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,338 ✭✭✭✭Busi_Girl08

Jaysus, I was wondering what happened, I saw the car with the crack on the windshield and the Garda tape and knew some thing bad happened :(

I hope the poor kid's ok.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,267 ✭✭✭concussion

The area will be closed to traffic until the incident investigation team arrive, this will be at least another hour according to Gardaí at the scene.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 967 ✭✭✭Jigga

Chaos in town earlier after the accident. The kid is ok fortunately, hopefully he gets a nice bit of compensation.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,943 ✭✭✭smcgiff

Jigga wrote: »
    Chaos in town earlier after the accident. The kid is ok fortunately, hopefully he gets a nice bit of compensation.

or a clip around the ear if he ran out in front of the car

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,211 ✭✭✭dave 27

the garda car was probably going slowly but iv seen some of the squad cars absolutely flying it for no reason, also cought them txting too..i think they need to be more careful when they are driving

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,381 ✭✭✭Doom

Hope the young lad is OK, but you have to admit Limerick is the j-walking capitol of Ireland, I have nearly hit a few people on that road myself.....

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,229 ✭✭✭sesna

Not referring to the specific case which we have insufficient detail of, but I wonder how much complanency sets in to garda drivers when they are exempt from some major aspects of road traffic law. Obviously this is necessary for them to their jobs effectively.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 923 ✭✭✭coolmoose

None of you here knows what happened at that scene today, and you can all be assured the facts will become known when it is investigated.

As of this moment I feel that those of you that are jumping the gun with regards to the Garda's actions whilst driving are fabricating stories from rumours/previous feelings/idle gossip and you are doing this particular Garda a great disservice.

This is a case of a young boy being knocked down by a motorist, plain and simple. It's unfortunate, and terrible, but it happens. Thankfully he's ok. Don't be so quick to attack the Gardai in the car who are extremely distressed and upset at what happened today.

Off topic: as regards phone use/speed limits/red lights Gardai are exempt from those whilst on duty. ES vehicles do not have to have sirens and/or lights on when responding to a call, most of all the Gardai who may be responding covertly to a scene.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 369 ✭✭Nockz

Mighty shame what happened today. My dad, who was a guard for most of his life was telling me that chances are, the Garda Ombudsman will inspect the case, the Garda driving the car will be nowhere near the wheel until the investigation is over and a claim will be made against the State.

It was an accident dudes. Sadly, a child was hit in the process. If ye want to discuss bad Garda habits I'd take it elsewhere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,811 ✭✭✭✭billy the squid

coolmoose wrote: »
    None of you here knows what happened at that scene today, and you can all be assured the facts will become known when it is investigated.

As of this moment I feel that those of you that are jumping the gun with regards to the Garda's actions whilst driving are fabricating stories from rumours/previous feelings/idle gossip and you are doing this particular Garda a great disservice.

This is a case of a young boy being knocked down by a motorist, plain and simple. It's unfortunate, and terrible, but it happens. Thankfully he's ok. Don't be so quick to attack the Gardai in the car who are extremely distressed and upset at what happened today.

Off topic: as regards phone use/speed limits/red lights Gardai are exempt from those whilst on duty. ES vehicles do not have to have sirens and/or lights on when responding to a call, most of all the Gardai who may be responding covertly to a scene.

The above is pretty much why I have pruned two pages from this thread.

Stick to what are the official facts people, speculative, hearsay along with the line of discussion which followed have been removed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,916 ✭✭✭RonMexico

The independent are reporting that CCTV footage shows the Garda car travelling at a normal speed.
    "According to a garda spokesman, the patrol car was on duty but it did not have its siren going at the time and it was not responding to any emergency situation.

It is understood CCTV footage taken from the scene shows that the garda vehicle was travelling at a normal speed at the time of the accident.

A spokesman for the Garda Ombudsman Commission confirmed the incident had been referred to it shortly after lunchtime yesterday and investigators were sent to the scene.

Motorists experienced lengthy delays across Limerick city yesterday afternoon as investigations continued into the incident.

A section of O'Connell Street where the collision occurred had to be closed for a number of hours and traffic was diverted via Denmark Street, with other diversions put in place around Bank Place, Charlotte Quay and Clare Street."

http://www.independent.ie/national-news/garda-probe-after-boy-knocked-down-by-patrol-car-2290609.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,584 ✭✭✭PCPhoto

apologies for taking this slightly off topic.

but why is a garda able to accept a call or make a call while driving - I mean at the end of the day "statistics" show that drivers are not able to concentrate on 2 things at the same time and more likely to crash while doing this.... if there are two gardai in the car - the passenger should deal with phone telecommunications....if there is only one Garda ... a decent quality speakerphone should do the job.

in respect to the accident in Limerick - it could be any number of things which happened...kid ran out without looking (or intentionally doing it looking for compo), gardai not driving at the appropriate speed or due care and attention.... the investigation will more than likely find the truth.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,811 ✭✭✭✭billy the squid

Your apsolutely right

It is off topic and has nothing to do with this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,366 ✭✭✭campo

Hope the young lad is Ok I can only talk about my own experience driving on that road and it is a nightmare people constantly just run across in front of you you really have to be very carefull

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,719 ✭✭✭LB6

If you look tho, those giant flower pots are very close together and right up against the edge of the right lane going towards the lights. Not only would a pedestrian not have a chance - but the drivers wouldn't get to see them at the last minute either.

Limerick City Council should move them back from the edge.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 771 ✭✭✭munstergirl

The boy ok out of hospital with leg injury.

That street has 2 pedesterian crossings 1 min apart.

I would be the 1st to cross the street outside pennys to cruises st. Think everyone does.

I would guess boy didn't look. Remember safe cross code.

I'm sure this happens a lot but only made news because of gardai car.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,560 ✭✭✭✭Kess73

LB6 wrote: »
    If you look tho, those giant flower pots are very close together and right up against the edge of the right lane going towards the lights. Not only would a pedestrian not have a chance - but the drivers wouldn't get to see them at the last minute either.

Limerick City Council should move them back from the edge.

I would expect that they will be moved back now, but you are right about how poorly positioned they are. When on foot you can generally see the traffic when you are behind one, but the oncoming traffic cannot see you.

The strolling across the road when the lights are green attitude that is shown by many needs to be clamped down upon as well though, as it is done far too often and is far too dangerous.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,214 ✭✭✭wylo

Kess73 wrote: »

The strolling across the road when the lights are green attitude that is shown by many needs to be clamped down upon as well though, as it is done far too often and is far too dangerous.
    This is true, speeding on those roads also needs to be clamped down on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,033 ✭✭✭Limerick_Lass

I always wondered why there wasn't a pedistrian crossing there outside pennys to cross over to Cruises Street, a huge amount of people jay walk here. And I agree about those large flower pots, I took particular notice of them today. Read today the young lad is out of hospital.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 369 ✭✭Nockz

I always wondered why there wasn't a pedistrian crossing there outside pennys to cross over to Cruises Street, a huge amount of people jay walk here. And I agree about those large flower pots, I took particular notice of them today. Read today the young lad is out of hospital.
    The near endless stream of people would cause far more traffic imo :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,106 ✭✭✭✭TestTransmission

And the fact there is 2 sets of traffic lights on either side of Penneys perfectly good for people wanting to cross the street

• Closed Accounts Posts: 937 ✭✭✭Icky Thump

And the fact there is 2 sets of traffic lights on either side of Penneys perfectly good for people wanting to cross the street
    so you dont jaywalk yourself???:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,106 ✭✭✭✭TestTransmission

Icky Thump wrote: »
    so you dont jaywalk yourself???:)

I am neither 12 or ever left in charge of a child so it is irrevelant how I live my life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,015 ✭✭✭✭Mc Love

Isnt it time they brought the safe cross code back??

wylo wrote: »
    This is true, speeding on those roads also needs to be clamped down on.

True, speeding is a big issue as well, and not just in that stretch.

I was commenting on the way many people simply stroll across at that point though, when, with two sets of traffic lights right beside it, there is no excuse for people to be putting their own lives at risk by wandering in front of a car whose driver may not see them in time/be speeding/unable to swerve to avoid them without hitting another person etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,606 ✭✭✭Jumpy

Mc Love wrote: »
    Isnt it time they brought the safe cross code back??

They cant. He died saving Luke from the Emperor.

well i personally think jaywalking is grand as long as you use commen sense...................... ie. if a car is coming then hurry the **** up:D if a car is too close then dont walk on front of it and if the traffic is stopped then cross as you will

its quite obvious really:D

well i personally think jaywalking is grand as long as you use commen sense...................... ie. if a car is coming then hurry the **** up:D if a car is too close then dont walk on front of it and if the traffic is stopped then cross as you will

Would not disagree with what you said, but the problem is that in this country there are plenty of motorists and plenty of pedestrians lacking in common sense.:D

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators Posts: 17,858 Mod ✭✭✭✭Henry Ford III

Ever been to Singapore?

no but i have been to Paris and its mental:D but im sure its nowhere as bad as signapore

but my rules stay they same. if there is a car too close then dont walk on front of it:D

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators Posts: 17,858 Mod ✭✭✭✭Henry Ford III

no but i have been to Paris and its mental:D but im sure its nowhere as bad as signapore

but my rules stay they same. if there is a car too close then dont walk on front of it:D

You'd get arrested for jaywalking in Singapore! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,501 ✭✭✭Delphi91

And in Germany!

I remember being there a few years ago and watching locals at a traffic lights waiting for the pedestrian signal to turn green. There were no cars coming at all, but nobody moved until the signal changed.

It wouldn't happen over here!!!

actually arrested though??? wow

you get fined in australia. stops alot of jaywalking in the city center but doesnt rule it all out:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,033 ✭✭✭thebullkf

Your apsolutely right

It is off topic and has nothing to do with this.

obviously voicing an opinion is 'off-topic'.

cheers Billy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,608 ✭✭✭✭sceptre

Two pedestrian crossings on the road less than ten metres away on either side. Anyone with copon knows that it can be a dodgy place to cross from and that you just have to keep your eyes wide open if you're tempted by a quick dash across to Cruises Street from the Penny's side.

Driving around Limerick city has all the characteristics of an obstacle course of pedestrians - if it wouldn't cause a public outcry, a TV company would already have taken the initiative to get Richard Hammond to present a GTA-style competitive show with a camera in the back of a reasonably priced car piloted by Joe Soap to see how many late dashers and buggies they can miss (miss, not hit, it's harder to miss them lot of the time). And I'm saying that as a pedestrian.

I've some sympathy for the young lad, though at 12 someone should have taught him the safe cross code. I'm very glad and relieved that he's OK. Less sympathy for the father who by accounts went across the road leaving the son to dash after him. More sympathy for the driver (hey, any driver) who has to play unexpected chicken tag with people who don't bother looking before crossing. Especially on a street with two designated crossings in quick succession.

Hey, lots of us do it. I often cross at that particular point or close enough to it. But I generally retain the copon to remember to look in the one direction cars can be coming from there. Heaven help the lad when he starts crossing in bi-directional traffic, that'll really put the plop in his pants.