Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Last Rhino in South African reserve killed in the name of a bigger cock

• 09-08-2010 12:35pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 3,619 ✭✭✭fontanalis

I hope the [EMAIL="bast@rds"]bast@rds[/EMAIL] dick falls off
    http://www.thestar.com/news/world/article/844335--south-african-reserve-s-last-rhino-butchered-for-her-horn?bn=1

Poachers have butchered the last adult rhinoceros at a South African game reserve, cutting off her horn and letting her bleed to death, the chief game ranger says.

“We’ve had rhinos here for 20 years,” Japie Mostert told the Star on Thursday from the Krugersdorp Game Reserve, 60 kilometres northwest of Johannesburg. “She was the last one.”

The nine-year-old rhino at the 1,400-hectare reserve was likely attacked by poachers who hovered in a helicopter, shot her with a tranquillizer dart then leapt out and sliced her horn off with a chainsaw, Mostert said.

“The whole operation would take seven to 10 minutes.”

The animal’s female calf had been killed by poachers in January; her nine-month-old male calf was taken to a different reserve for sanctuary after the killing on July 14, he said.

It would take “a guard working day and night” to protect the rhinoceroses, which are being slaughtered at a record rate across South Africa, he said.

Rhino horn has been used for centuries in Traditional Chinese Medicine, although tests reported by National Geographic have shown that it has no special properties and is similar to a fingernail.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

Brussel sprouts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 832 ✭✭✭Eddie Ere

Picture says it all really. Horrible stuff.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,015 ✭✭✭CreepingDeath

fontanalis wrote: »
    Lat Rhino in South African reserve killed in the name of a bigger cock

That'll be a tricky transplant operation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,182 ✭✭✭Genghiz Cohen

Misleading title is misleading.

Rhino cock in your face.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 180 ✭✭dilapidating

I actually thought i was gonna see a latino rhino.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,619 ✭✭✭fontanalis

Misleading title is misleading.

In the title Lat should be Last (can't edit that part), the point is that Rhinos are being killed because some moron thinks his langer will get bigger or have more stamina.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

In the title Lat should be Last (can't edit that part),

You can if you double-click beside the title.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

Nothing wrong with someone pulling the horn off you :P

• now i just feel :mad::mad::mad::mad::mad::mad::mad::mad::( love rhinos

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,349 ✭✭✭✭starlit

Ah the poor crature. what a horrible way to end. those spine-less poachers! :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,567 ✭✭✭daveharnett

What I can't understand is why people go to the trouble of getting actual rhino horn to sell to these morons. Why not just sell them ground viagra/coke/cornstarch and call it rhino horn?

Or Wino horn? Great business idea by the way!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,077 ✭✭✭✭bnt

So the horn from a female rhino is going to increase male potency? Well, I suppose that's about as logical as equating an animal horn with male "horniness".

What's next? Taking a substance that causes certain symptoms, diluting it in water 30 times until there's none of the original substance left, then using that water to treat those kinds of symptoms? Um ...

You are the type of what the age is searching for, and what it is afraid it has found. I am so glad that you have never done anything, never carved a statue, or painted a picture, or produced anything outside of yourself! Life has been your art. You have set yourself to music. Your days are your sonnets.

―Oscar Wilde predicting Social Media, in The Picture of Dorian Gray

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,241 ✭✭✭Sanjuro

The human race sucks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,688 ✭✭✭Kasabian

kfallon wrote: »
    Nothing wrong with someone pulling the horn off you :P

Do you ever let up :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,477 ✭✭✭Riddle101

Sick f*cks. I mean what's the point of tranquilising the Rhino if they're going to kill it. Not that i'm condoning such a horrible act because Rhino's are an endagered species. There's only 500 or so left in the world.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,305 ✭✭✭Chuchoter

:(:(

Could they not have sawed off the horn and not killed it? I mean they're going to do it no matter what anyone says, why kill the rhino in the process?

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,741 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

If the reserve had sawn off the horn then it might not have been killed. Ridiculous and tragic situation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,586 ✭✭✭sock puppet

Well if some quack with no medical qualifications says it works, who are we to argue?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,835 ✭✭✭✭nullzero
    °°°°°

Sick people, really deplorable behaviour.
    Does nothing to dispell the idea that Chinese lads are all packing cocktail sticks does it?

Glazers Out!

bnt wrote: »
    So the horn from a female rhino is going to increase male potency? Well, I suppose that's about as logical as equating an animal horn with male "horniness".

What's next? Taking a substance that causes certain symptoms, diluting it in water 30 times until there's none of the original substance left, then using that water to treat those kinds of symptoms? Um ...

Only 30 times?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,111 ✭✭✭Jesus Juice

I hate the human race ffs :/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,838 ✭✭✭Nulty

Thats a pretty upsetting picture. Really brings the story home to you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,564 ✭✭✭✭steddyeddy

well actually theres a scheme being implemented to inject poison into th rhinos horn in small doses so as the rhino wont die but consumers will, this is intresting because usually its the poachers themselves who are shot rather than the often rich consumers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 804 ✭✭✭round tower huntsman

personally i'd have no problem killing a rhino if it ment i have an extra inch or two...there's not a man alive that wouldnt like an extra inch or 2.
    if it added girth i'd say women would be the ones doing the killing:o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,564 ✭✭✭✭steddyeddy

personally i'd have no problem killing a rhino if it ment i have an extra inch or two...there's not a man alive that wouldnt like an extra inch or 2.

wish i had the problem of needing a extra inch or two

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,900 ✭✭✭InTheTrees

Thank a lot China.

Land of the little dicks.

:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,378 ✭✭✭✭jimmycrackcorm

OMG I saw this star trek film where mankind was doomed because the last rhino was killed and the enterprise had to go back in time to bring one back to the 23rd century.

IO just don't get why south africa was under the ocean....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 804 ✭✭✭round tower huntsman

that was whales they saved i think. what a shxt film.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 93,604 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

Then get some weights / get an operation

Only 30 times?
    Well, at least that shows you're not into homoeopathy, which is where they use 30 times (30C) dilution. Why did I make that connection? Because rhino horns and homoeopathy are examples of "sympathetic magic", the belief that "like follows like", that shapes matter, that similarities in causes correspond to similarities in solutions. Or that eating a bit of something gives you the qualities of that something, e.g. "holy communion" in the Catholic Church.

You are the type of what the age is searching for, and what it is afraid it has found. I am so glad that you have never done anything, never carved a statue, or painted a picture, or produced anything outside of yourself! Life has been your art. You have set yourself to music. Your days are your sonnets.

Well, at least that shows you're not into homoeopathy, which is where they use 30 times (30C) dilution. Why did I make that connection? Because rhino horns and homoeopathy are examples of "sympathetic magic", the belief that "like follows like", that shapes matter, that similarities in causes correspond to similarities in solutions. Or that eating a bit of something gives you the qualities of that something, e.g. "holy communion" in the Catholic Church.

I may be misunderstanding some terminology but I thought the woo compounds are diluted so much that there is literally no trace.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,752 ✭✭✭pablomakaveli

I was reading an article about a reserve in India that has rhinos and problems with poachers. Apperently one rhino horn can fetch 30,000 on the black market. As long as people are willing to pay that kind of money the problem will persist.

Given rhino horn probably has zero effect on a persons libido i don't understand why they don't give people a placebo instead.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,737 ✭✭✭✭kylith

I may be misunderstanding some terminology but I thought the woo compounds are diluted so much that there is literally no trace.
    Anything up to about 200C.

100C is, as James Randi put it, like putting one drop of 10C (that's 1 part in 10000000000) in a sphere of water the diameter of the solar system, then repeating that a billion times.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

that was whales they saved i think. what a shxt film.
    It couldn't be they don't have whales in Africa.

That's right - a "C" is a 10x dilution, and for a 30C dilution is that done 30 times, so the original compound is diluted by a factor of 10^30 (1 followed by 30 zeros). If you compare that to the number of molecules of water in the small containers they use, there's probably not a single molecule left. (Yes, probably - this is a probabilistic deal.) So they have the hypothesis that the water itself does the work because it has a memory: it's been "imprinted" with the shape of the molecules of the active substance: sympathetic magic again. :rolleyes:
    I was reading an article about a reserve in India that has rhinos and problems with poachers. Apperently one rhino horn can fetch 30,000 on the black market. As long as people are willing to pay that kind of money the problem will persist.
    And then, when all the rhinos are extinct, will there still be poverty, do you think? File under Tragedy of the Commons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,055 ✭✭✭conorhal

Given rhino horn probably has zero effect on a persons libido i don't understand why they don't give people a placebo instead.

Bloody Asians, it's like Viagra was never invented!
    They must have heard of the stuff, god knows my inbox is jammed with spam from the feckers trying to flog me some Asian knock off. But will they take a little blue pill for a 100% guaranteed stalker that will last for hours? Fcuk no, they'd rather chew on a desiccated tiger's penis, backward muppets....:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,382 ✭✭✭Motley Crue

Anyone who does this deserves to be killed themselves. I just think this is incredibly horrible and on the same level with murdering a human being.

That's right - a "C" is a 10x dilution, and for a 30C dilution is that done 30 times, so the original compound is diluted by a factor of 10^30 (1 followed by 30 zeros). If you compare that to the number of molecules of water in the small containers they use, there's probably not a single molecule left. (Yes, probably - this is a probabilistic deal.) So they have the hypothesis that the water itself does the work because it has a memory: it's been "imprinted" with the shape of the molecules of the active substance: sympathetic magic again. :rolleyes:

And then, when all the rhinos are extinct, will there still be poverty, do you think? File under Tragedy of the Commons.

Thanks, I took your original post as diluted so it gives thirty times water to the woo. Now regarding the memory of water. Doesn't water flow through metal pipes? What happens to the metal imprint? Don't get me satrted on unfiltered water that would have had urine and faeces in it!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,975 ✭✭✭W.Shakes-Beer

Terrible news to be honest.

Wish the rhino had gored the poacher because thats all he would have deserved.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,737 ✭✭✭✭kylith

Thanks, I took your original post as diluted so it gives thirty times water to the woo. Now regarding the memory of water. Doesn't water flow through metal pipes? What happens to the metal imprint? Don't get me satrted on unfiltered water that would have had urine and faeces in it!
    Homeopaths claim that the shaking done to mix the solution 'beats the impurities out'. Of course how the water knows it's supposed to forget the fish poo and flouride, but remember the drop of digitalis is anyone's guess. Homeopaths ascribe such good memory and understanding to water that I'd feel quite bad about drinking it if I weren't 99.99999% sure that they're talking 100% rubbish.