Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Castrating calves

• 07-08-2010 9:49pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32

just after castrating 40 dairy bull calves (fr & aa) today, born since jan,feb, mar, just wonder wat time of year do most of ye castrate bulls both suckler lads and dairy lads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11 newfarmer2012

thats a good question bealaha, i have to start thinking about the same... some lads i spoke to use the bands.... not sure about em though... did you use em or get the vet?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,410 ✭✭✭bbam

We're planning to band some ourselves.
    Haven't done it before nor have the bander yet.

yeah... ive been looking on the net etc.... there is a burdizzo here, but i could do more damage than good with that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,488 ✭✭✭✭mahoney_j

Casterated calves once and never again,Thrive dose suffer a bit.I leave them till early to mid october and then round up the da and a neighbour and the burdizzo.On another note dehorned 60 calves today,Been putting it off every week since mid feb

did the de-horning a week ago.... i have a young lad helping me out on Saturdays, hes pretty knowledgable actually.... im learning a few things from him. have the gas de-horner... works pretty good.

Are many banding, and at what age?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,556 ✭✭✭simx

bbam wrote: »
    Are many banding, and at what age?

Am going to try a few of the calves later on, never before but a neighbour does it and said he would never.go back, was asking the vet and he said about 2 days old is when you do it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,428 ✭✭✭epfff

could rings for lambs tails be used for banding?
    they work the same way

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,556 ✭✭✭simx

epfff wrote: »
    they work the same way

Think so

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,326 ✭✭✭Farmer Pudsey

they work the same way

Yes the can up to about 3 month approx I think. As long as you can get them over the scrotum and have the stones below the band they will work away. Some farmers do it to suckler calves while young and under the cow and think that calves will not go back that nuck.

However bulls will thrive better and should out preform bullocks. Buth the older they are the harder the casteration is on them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,428 ✭✭✭epfff

have my bulls picked and going casrterating rest today.
    considering lambs rings as i have them here rather than burdzzo as i think the whole stones rotting is not good?
    whats the oldest lambs rings can being used or is it just a size thing?
    can bands be bought in any vet supplies?
    how long untill bag falls off with ring?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 144 ✭✭fredweena

In the UK it's illegal to castrate with a ring after 1 week old, not sure what's the story here.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 179 ✭✭Massey10

they work the same way
    I use to use the rubber rings find the very handy .I would do them in the first week or two and it seemed to have no effect on the calf.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 155 ✭✭weekendfarmer

We used to do use lamb rings on all the calves when we were keeping them for the 30 months. (years ago)

Hummm..
    The bander I had been looking at said up to 3-4 months old..

Do lads give a tetnus shot to calves being banded ??
    I read somewhere it was recommended..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,217 ✭✭✭Viewtodiefor

mahoney_j wrote: »
    Casterated calves once and never again,Thrive dose suffer a bit.I leave them till early to mid october and then round up the da and a neighbour and the burdizzo.On another note dehorned 60 calves today,Been putting it off every week since mid feb

I'm wit u on this one leave them till late as possible in my opinion, but depends what u want. Have lots to dehorn but puttin it off as they are scouring etc wit awhile waiting for them to settle. Jaysus ill have a pain in my arm after them they r growing by the minute!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 451 ✭✭mikeoh

URL: http://pages.ebay.com/link/?nav=item.view&id=140896619608

Alt URL: http://www.ebay.ie/itm/Burdizzo-Castrator-18-Emasculator-Veterinary-castration-bull-/1408966196
    I just saw this new 19' burdizzo on eBay for €52 + p+p .........good value or a gimmick??..........(hope I attached file correctly) what is normal length of one?
    B.l