Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Best Scrappage Supermini Deal

• 07-08-2010 6:24pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5

My Mum's is looking buy a supermini on the scrappage deal -5dr - Howw about the Hyundai i20, Fiesta, Mazda 2, or Polo- any recommendations and what kind of net price could I get to ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,723 ✭✭✭kmb

Fiat panda From €6,995 incl. Scrappage

http://www.fiat.ie/cgi-bin/pbrand.dll/FIAT_IRELAND/showroom/showroomModel.jsp?modelKey=169

Size/Capacity
    Compact on the outside, larger than life on the inside; don’t let its small-but-perfectly-formed curves deceive you. Despite its city-friendly proportions at 3.54cm long, it has ample space for five adults. There are five doors so the kids, the mother-in-law, the dog, or whoever you’re travelling with, has easy access to the spacious back seats.

MPV-like practicality and functionality
    New Panda’s style reflects its MPV-like practicality. Vertically stacked tail lights flank the wide opening tailgate; smart and functional, like the whole car, designed to match the hectic pace and varied demands of modern life.
    Exhaustively wind tunnel tested and built around a chassis with exceptional strength, the ride is always stable and safe. Refined, fuel efficient, and pure good fun, the New Panda meets your needs on any kind of journey. You won’t want to go anywhere without it.

SkyDome
    It takes just seven seconds to let the sun shine in. One touch of the ceiling mounted switch and SkyDome will open, making the New Panda brighter and fresher than ever. A tempered, tinted glass panel slides smoothly back on aluminium rails over the fixed rear glass panel, so there’s nothing above you but open sky.

Awards
    The Panda was crowned:
    Best Budget Car at the Diesel Car of the Year Awards
    The 1.3 16v MultiJet picked up the Best Engine accolade at the Fleet World Awards.
    The Panda was selected as the 1.0-1.4litre winner by the International Engine of the Year jury (56 of the world’s most respected motoring journalists)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,479 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

Panda is grand if you want a small city car but it is getting a bit long in the tooth now and needs an update.

Fiesta, Polo, Clio, etc are all bigger and offer more practicality while still being versitile around town. My vote would be for the Fiesta followed second by the Polo. Recently looked at buying a new Fiesta for my sister and was getting one for €12500 including delivery charges and metalic paint with the scrappage scheme.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 558 ✭✭✭rcdk1

Do you work for Fiat KMB?;)

The Panda wouldn't be my first choice, due to its looks rather than any technical reason, but you can't argue with €7k for a brand new car.

I'm sure one of the lads at work told me he was looking at a base model Clio for €8k with the scrappage deal. Although I like the Fiesta, it does seem expensive compared to those two.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,374 ✭✭✭Saab Ed

OP dont forget that all advertsied prices will exclude delivery and metallic paint. Nothing can actually be bought for the price in the ad.;)

Clio is the best value out there at the moment at €8990 plus delivery and met paint. You'll buy one for 10 grand all in.

PM me if you want to know more :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5 Chuck Drifter

Thanks guys, forgot to mention the Yaris -any views ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,723 ✭✭✭kmb

rcdk1 wrote: »
    Do you work for Fiat KMB?;)

The Panda wouldn't be my first choice, due to its looks rather than any technical reason, but you can't argue with €7k for a brand new car.

I'm sure one of the lads at work told me he was looking at a base model Clio for €8k with the scrappage deal. Although I like the Fiesta, it does seem expensive compared to those two.
    No i dont work for them but always buy them and it amazes me how people overlook them and go for renaults and skodas though!!
    A friend has his panda about 4 years now and it has been trouble free.
    Just one look through motors will enlighten you to the brands with the problems.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 558 ✭✭✭rcdk1

kmb wrote: »
    No i dont work for them but always buy them and it amazes me how people overlook them and go for renaults and skodas though!!
    A friend has his panda about 4 years now and it has been trouble free.
    Just one look through motors will enlighten you to the brands with the problems.
    ;) Just having the craic. To be fair, only that the OP is looking for a 5 door, i would have suggested looking at a Fiat 500. After all, Moms deserve a bit of style too.

OP, have no idea about price on a Yaris but you can't go wrong on a Toyota for reliability and residual value.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,374 ✭✭✭Saab Ed

rcdk1 wrote: »

OP, have no idea about price on a Yaris but you can't go wrong on a Toyota for reliability and residual value.

Eh!!!! where have you been for the last 10 years.

A) Toyotas are far from bomb proof these days

B) Toyotas used to be worth more second hand becuase they used to cost more new. Its all relative ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,479 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

Saab Ed wrote: »
    OP dont forget that all advertsied prices will exclude delivery and metallic paint. Nothing can actually be bought for the price in the ad.;)

Clio is the best value out there at the moment at €8990 plus delivery and met paint. You'll buy one for 10 grand all in.

PM me if you want to know more :)

The Clio is good value in 3dr form but the OP is looking for a 5 door which brings the Clio 5dr up to €11280 plus delivery and metalic paint.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9 VerySlowRunner

I was looking into this myself in January... At the time, I considered the Fiat 500, Yaris, Hyundai i20, Polo, Kia Rio and Mazda 2. In the end I decided on the Mazda 2 as at the time it had one of the best scrappage deals (close to €4,000) and I liked the drive of the car best too. Since I bought the car, I saw in May that there was an even better offer with the Mazda 2 Sensu - although I am not sure if the Mazda 2 Sensu is the same as the Mazda 2 I had bought. I am happy with my decision and I haven't looked back since...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 350 ✭✭TriStar6

Interested in this as well.
    Thinking of scrapping our 99 Fiesta :(
    Would like another Fiesta but they seem to be mad money.

The panda price looks great but can't see us buying one.
    The Skoda Fabia is a good price and good finance as well 5% apr or something like that, again, this wouldn't normally be my first choice car.

Hadn't actually thought about the Clio, what are they like these days? also, would prefer the 5 door but there seems to be some crazy price increases for the these extra 2 doors.

I suppose resale value would have to come into it as well.....

Anyone got some suggestions?