Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Pete versus Life

• 06-08-2010 9:08pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,398 ✭✭✭✭

Anybody else watching this?
    Its alright, no great shakes, some kinda funny moments.
    Channel 4 now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,431 ✭✭✭✭Basq

The ad did enough to convince me it just didn't look good at all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 723 ✭✭✭Ian_K

It wasnt too bad, funny enough at times. Not very fond of "Pete" himself tbh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,020 ✭✭✭BlaasForRafa

Ian_K wrote: »
    It wasnt too bad, funny enough at times. Not very fond of "Pete" himself tbh

Agreed, Pete was a bit too much of a useless eejit to have any sympathy for or empathy with.

The best bits were the two lads giving the commentary, it reminded me of late night dog poker on dave

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,397 ✭✭✭✭FreudianSlippers

Watched it for a few mins actually. utter ****e imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,189 ✭✭✭Gekko

I agree that Pete himself was a bit of a retard.

It's a programme I'd probably watch while waiting for something else to begin but if I missed it I wouldn't care in the slightest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,405 ✭✭✭shinny

I quite like this. I didn't think the commentators bit would work, but it does. In fact, it's probably one of the funniest elements of the show. I also love the summary boards that appear every now and again.

It's original and quirky. Have watched a few episodes so far and I'll keep watching. Having read comments on other forums, I think it's starting to grow on people.

I do agree that Pete is not a likeable character but I think this is so you don't feel bad for him when things go wrong (as they always do) for him!

I've had some laugh out moments watching this too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,189 ✭✭✭Gekko

watched it on friday and it was ok if there's nothing else on.

the commentators do seem funnier than Pete.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,852 ✭✭✭ncmc

I'm enjoying it, it's an original idea and I think the commentators work very well. Pete himself is quite unlikeable and you do begin to wonder why he has so many friends that are still talking to him! There's feck all on at the moment that isn't a repeat, so i'll carry on watching!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,761 ✭✭✭✭ArmaniJeanss

I'm really enjoying it so far, though the commentators are definitely the stars.
    But all in all its a fine addition to the C4 Friday 10PM comedy slot.

By the way the Pete actor Rafe Spall is the son of Timothy Spall, who some of the older posters might chiefly remember from Auf Wiedersen Pet where he played the rather selfish and brash Barry, a memorable character but by no means the lead.
    I think Rafe would have been better cast in this sort of supporting 'comic foil role' in an ensemble piece, rather than as the central character.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 807 ✭✭✭groovie

This is back on tonight at 10pm. I'd forgotten all about this (hardly a good sign but still at my age...). I quite enjoyed the commentators and the other fiddly bits, makes a change.
    It's on Channel 4.

groovie wrote: »
    This is back on tonight at 10pm. I'd forgotten all about this (hardly a good sign but still at my age...). I quite enjoyed the commentators and the other fiddly bits, makes a change.
    It's on Channel 4.

Not only had I forgotten all about this, I forget if I even watched the whole series and if I did, I have no memory of what happened in the last episode! I'm only 32 ffs! Think I need to eat more oily fish :o

ncmc wrote: »
    Not only had I forgotten all about this, I forget if I even watched the whole series and if I did, I have no memory of what happened in the last episode! I'm only 32 ffs! Think I need to eat more oily fish :o

It's funny that you should mention the fish thing, I was talking to a 64 year old recently, a long time advocate of omega 3 and that, and he said that it made bugger all difference to his memory, he still forgets tons of stuff. YMMV.

I just wiki'd it. I did watch the whole series, it had only 5 episodes. According to Wiki, it only had about 1.5 million viewers, sounds very low for a prime time show! Surprised it got a second series.

Enjoyable first episode of the new season, same old Pete. More of the parents and less of the best friend and his fiancee, but still good stuff.
    Gracha was pure filth, in fairness.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,348 ✭✭✭✭ricero

brilliant show. i think the father is just brilliant. really under rated comedy