Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Who is your GAA Football Team of the year?

• 04-08-2010 9:31pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,349 ✭✭✭✭

Your team of the year! Mine in no particular order whether one or fifteen just picked one goalkeeper!

Paul Galvin
    Bernard Brogan
    Gooch Cooper
    K Donaghy
    Declan O Sullivan
    Owen Mulligan
    Pearse O Neill
    John Galvin
    James Ryan
    Michael Meehan
    Eamonn O Hara
    Micheal Quirke
    Barry John Keane
    James Kavanagh
    Tomas O Se
    Stephen Bray
    Shane Curran

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,816 ✭✭✭corny

Your team of the year! Mine in no particular order whether one or fifteen just picked one goalkeeper!

Paul Galvin
    Bernard Brogan
    Gooch Cooper
    K Donaghy
    Declan O Sullivan
    Owen Mulligan
    Pearse O Neill
    John Galvin
    James Ryan
    Michael Meehan
    Eamonn O Hara
    Micheal Quirke
    Barry John Keane
    James Kavanagh
    Tomas O Se
    Stephen Bray
    Shane Curran

7 Kerry players and how many Down players?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,461 ✭✭✭liammur

It's a bit silly to be including players like galvin and o se who only played a few games and in those games they didn't cover themselves in glory.

Gooch is certainly 1 kerry player i'd have in, but possibly the only 1.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,379 ✭✭✭✭namloc1980

Paul Galvin
    Bernard Brogan
    Gooch Cooper
    K Donaghy
    Declan O Sullivan
    Owen Mulligan
    Pearse O Neill
    John Galvin
    James Ryan
    Michael Meehan
    Eamonn O Hara
    Micheal Quirke
    Barry John Keane
    James Kavanagh
    Tomas O Se
    Stephen Bray
    Shane Curran

Any Down players?? Galvin & Ó Sé???? And Donaghy???? What did he do all year??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 287 ✭✭crebel81

Paul Galvin
    Bernard Brogan
    Gooch Cooper
    K Donaghy
    Declan O Sullivan
    Owen Mulligan
    Pearse O Neill
    John Galvin
    James Ryan
    Michael Meehan
    Eamonn O Hara
    Micheal Quirke
    Barry John Keane
    James Kavanagh
    Tomas O Se
    Stephen Bray
    Shane Curran

Ah ur not from Kerry are u? Would never have thought so...:)

Would have Gooch in there, class player.

And any of the following:

Pearse O'Neill
    Bernard Brogan
    Marty Clarke
    John Galvin
    Graham Canty
    Johnny Doyle
    Mr. Shine
    Nicholas Murphy

As for some of the players on your list, I don't think Donaghy should be in there...in my opinion!!

Didn't offer Kerry anything against Down...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,096 ✭✭✭An Citeog

Paul Galvin
    Bernard Brogan
    Gooch Cooper
    K Donaghy
    Declan O Sullivan
    Owen Mulligan
    Pearse O Neill
    John Galvin
    James Ryan
    Michael Meehan
    Eamonn O Hara
    Micheal Quirke
    Barry John Keane
    James Kavanagh
    Tomas O Se
    Stephen Bray
    Shane Curran

17 players with 13 forwards, a retired goalkeeper and Micheal Quirke!:eek:

The Roscommon goalkeeper this year was Geoffrey Claffey and definitely deserves to be in there imo. Charlie Harrison and David Kelly would be my picks from Sligo for a shortlist. Barry John Keane only made a handful of sub appearances and whilst he's no doubt got a lot of talent, he's done nowhere near enough to be touted for team of the year. Actually, I just give up!:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,349 ✭✭✭✭starlit

sorry will try again!....wasn't sure who the current goal keeper for roscommon was...just looked up a name! sorry! :o I know being biased about Kerry...will attempt another proper list! A before and After All Ireland list. Did I really make a faux pas with the forwards... didn't realise I did just thought they have been good players over the year and over the years thats all!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,816 ✭✭✭corny

crebel81 wrote: »
    As for some of the players on your list, I don't think Donaghy should be in there...in my opinion!!

Didn't offer Kerry anything against Down...

To be fair to Donaghy the keeper really did make 2 excellent saves and he was wasted by JOC. Spent a lot of the match in midfield where the game passed him by.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 785 ✭✭✭Shane10

corny wrote: »
    To be fair to Donaghy the keeper really did make 2 excellent saves and he was wasted by JOC. Spent a lot of the match in midfield where the game passed him by.

donaghy must the most over-rated player IMO. how many chances does he need to score?? ya he lays the ball off in patches but he dosent score nearly enough as a forward. "the star"...pffft ya right.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,498 ✭✭✭ironbluedun

bernard brogan for footballer of the year..........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,119 ✭✭✭✭event

paddy keenan, bernard brogan, john doyle, donie shine.

ill admit i havent watched much outside of leinster this year and i am only picking Shine on the basis of his performance in the connaught final. If he's been dirt the rest of the time, sure let me know.

O Gara has done well in the last two games Vs Louth and tyrone.

joe sheridan (:() has done well too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,498 ✭✭✭ironbluedun

event wrote: »
    . joe sheridan (:() has done well too

isn't he a rugby player..............:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,528 ✭✭✭dcr22B

Paul Galvin - you're kidding me right, he played how many games?
    Bernard Brogan - yep
    Gooch Cooper - yep
    K Donaghy - nope, has had a poor summer to be fair
    Declan O Sullivan - disappeared in a few games
    Owen Mulligan - only main threat from Tyrone against Dubs the last day
    Pearse O Neill - yep
    John Galvin - definitely
    James Ryan - through Ger Collins would be a better bet from the Limerick forwards
    Michael Meehan - 35 minutes of football all summer?
    Eamonn O Hara - David Kelly and Alan Costello were better Sligo players as was Charlie Harrison
    Micheal Quirke - now that just is funny, he's useless
    Barry John Keane - now that just is funny part 2, he played very little championship football
    James Kavanagh - yep
    Tomas O Se - once agin, you're kidding me. Only contributions he made were when he should not even have been on the pitch
    Stephen Bray - yep
    Shane Curran - eh?

Plenty of footballers this summer far outperformed a lot of that list above and you seem to have forgotten about any Down players (Marty Clarke and Benny Coulter plus Paul McCumiskey have been great for them so far this summer).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 231 ✭✭KevArno

I think Graham Reilly has also done enough to deserve a mention here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 448 ✭✭GymJim

My team would be:

Stephen Cluxton
    Charlie Harrison
    Michael Shields/Dan Gordon(for Kerry game alone)
    Ray Carey/Marc O'Se
    Damien Freeman
    Graham Canty
    Philip Jordan/Paudie Kissane
    Paddy Keenan
    Michael Dara McAuley/John Galvin
    Martin Clarke/Johnny Doyle/Bryan Cullen
    Pearse O'Neill
    James Kavanagh/Graham Reilly
    Gooch
    Donie Shine
    Bernard Brogan

Found it very hard to pick stand-out defenders actually which is strange. Not sure about my Freeman pick but can't think of any wing back who's been much better tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,001 ✭✭✭Royal Seahawk

I wouldn't have Stephen Bray in there. He played well against the Dubs but was mediocre in our other 5 championship games.
    If I was to put a Meath player in there it would be Graham Reilly. James Kavanagh from Kildare is really begining to shine, right when it counts as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,966 ✭✭✭Syferus

The only thing I'd have to add is that as a Roscommon fan, it's been clear all year Geoffery Claffey has matured into one of the best goalkeepers in the country and he is great at all the components of the position, be it fielding the ball confidently in traffic, shot stopping or kick-outs. His save against David Kelly in the Connacht final pretty much won the title for us and multiple times he made top drawer saves when Cork broke our lines in the second half of our quarter-final.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 119 ✭✭salthillman

1. Stephen Cluxton (Dublin)
    2. Justin MacMahon (Tyrone)
    3. Rory O' Carroll (Dublin)
    4. Ryan McMenanmin (Tyrone)
    5. Noel O' Leary (Cork)
    6. Graham Canty (Cork)
    7. Philip Jordan (Tyrone)
    8. John Galvin (Limerick)
    9. Michael Dara MacAuley (Dublin)
    10. James Kavanagh (Kildare)
    11. Alan Brogan (Dublin)
    12. Graham Reily (Meath)
    13. Marty Clarke (Down)
    14. Bernard Brogan (Dublin)
    15. Johnny Doyle (Kildare)
    With the Eamon O' Hara, Eoghan O' Gara, Colm Cooper, Shane O' Rourke, Benny Coulter, Eamon MacCauley, Ross McConnell, Mark Poland, Ambrose Rodgers, Steven McDonnel, Pearse O' Neill, Donnie Shine, Joe Sheridan and Colm Kavanagh narrowly missing out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 448 ✭✭GymJim

5. Noel O' Leary (Cork)
    6. Graham Canty (Cork)
    11. Alan Brogan (Dublin)
    12. Graham Reily (Meath)
    13. Marty Clarke (Down)
    With the Eamon O' Hara, Eoghan O' Gara, Colm Cooper, Shane O' Rourke, Benny Coulter, Eamon MacCauley, Ross McConnell, Mark Poland, Ambrose Rodgers, Steven McDonnel, Pearse O' Neill, Donnie Shine, Joe Sheridan and Colm Kavanagh narrowly missing out.

Really can't see the justification for the above:

Justin McMahon - not a corner back and not a great marker (maybe near enough the team at full back though).

Rory O'Carroll - decent first year at intercounty but can't overlook the run-arounds he got in both the Meath and Tipp (where was he for Grogan's goal?) games.

Ryan McMenamin - had about his poorest year I've seen him have yet. Can't get around the pitch so well any more which used hide his loose marking.

Noel O'Leary - just ask any other Corkman who the best half back for Cork has been this year and Noel will undoubtedly come in third (maybe even fourth as Shields played out there against Kerry)...and our half back line hasn't been all that good.

Alan Brogan - not a hope he's been the best centre forward this year.

O'Gara - scored a few goals in his last 2 but very raw and very poor in the other games.

McDonnell/O'Hara - this year showed they're both probably finished at intercounty level. Don't know how they could be near a best team.

Ross McConnell - seriously?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,528 ✭✭✭dcr22B

GymJim wrote: »
    Rory O'Carroll - decent first year at intercounty but can't overlook the run-arounds he got in both the Meath and Tipp (where was he for Grogan's goal?) games.
    He slipped just as the free was being taken otherwise I'd be fairly certain that he would have stopped Grogan.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,350 ✭✭✭Het-Field

Really can't see the justification for the above:

Justin McMahon - not a corner back and not a great marker (maybe near enough the team at full back though).

Ryan McMenamin - had about his poorest year I've seen him have yet. Can't get around the pitch so well any more which used hide his loose marking.

Noel O'Leary - just ask any other Corkman who the best half back for Cork has been this year and Noel will undoubtedly come in third (maybe even fourth as Shields played out there against Kerry)...and our half back line hasn't been all that good.

Alan Brogan - not a hope he's been the best centre forward this year.

O'Gara - scored a few goals in his last 2 but very raw and very poor in the other games.

McDonnell/O'Hara - this year showed they're both probably finished at intercounty level. Don't know how they could be near a best team.

Ross McConnell - seriously?!

McConnell really dirtied his bib in his first years as an Intercounty Footballer. In 2007 he was ok as a Full-back, but he capitualted in that position against Westmeath and Tyrone in 2008. His center mid partnership with Darren McGee in 2009 was lopsided and unsuitable. MDM has been a useful foil, who mops up the ball which McConnell can reach for him. The Dublin midfield has outclassed both Tyrone's and Louth's in the past few games, and McConnell has played a large in this development.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,119 ✭✭✭✭event

5. Noel O' Leary (Cork)
    6. Graham Canty (Cork)
    11. Alan Brogan (Dublin)
    12. Graham Reily (Meath)
    13. Marty Clarke (Down)

you dont mention Keenan at all?
    he's been one of the best in Leinster this year, if not the whole championship

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,487 ✭✭✭aDeener

some of the inclusions by posters here are crazy. michael meehan, kieran donaghy :confused: great footballers but not a great year at all. anyway for me, so far:

2. Sean McDermott (Roscommon)
    5. Paudie Kissane (Cork)
    6. Graham Canty (Cork)
    7. Ray Finnegan (Louth)
    9. Ambrose Rogers (Down)
    11. Pearse O'Neill (Cork)
    12. Graham Reilly (Meath)
    13. Benny Coulter(Down)

Very honourable mentions to Eamonn Callaghan, Donie Shine and David Kelly

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,219 ✭✭✭Pete_Cavan

1. Geoff Claffey
    2. Charlie Harrison
    3. Michael Shields
    4. Marc O'Se
    5. Paudie Kissane
    6. Graham Canty/Mick McCarthy
    7. Philip Jordan
    8. Paddy Keenan
    9. Ambrose Rodgers/John Galvin
    10. Martin Clarke
    11. Pearse O'Neill/Joe Sheridan
    12. James Kavanagh/Graham Reilly
    13. Gooch
    14. Bernard Brogan
    15. Johnny Doyle

I know people will question Mick Mc but he was immense at the start of the year, especially for a man of his age. Did lose his form (along with the Kerry team in general) but I think Canty has just been solid throughout without being spectacular. It could be any two from those three for midfield, very difficult to pick two.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,966 ✭✭✭Syferus

Pete_Cavan wrote: »
    1. Geoff Claffey
    2. Charlie Harrison
    3. Michael Shields
    4. Marc O'Se
    5. Paudie Kissane
    6. Graham Canty/Mick McCarthy
    7. Philip Jordan
    8. Paddy Keenan
    9. Ambrose Rodgers/John Galvin
    10. Martin Clarke
    11. Pearse O'Neill/Joe Sheridan
    12. James Kavanagh/Graham Reilly
    13. Gooch
    14. Bernard Brogan
    15. Johnny Doyle

I know people will question Mick Mc but he was immense at the start of the year, especially for a man of his age. Did lose his form (along with the Kerry team in general) but I think Canty has just been solid throughout without being spectacular. It could be any two from those three for midfield, very difficult to pick two.

The saddest part of Kerry being knocked out is we won't get to see more of Gooch this summer, who just seems to get better and better. It's a real joy to watch him play the game and I know I'm not venturing too far to say he's probably the most skillful player I've seen play in my lifetime.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 119 ✭✭salthillman

Justin MacMahon is monster of a player, so consistent. Admittedly I was trying to accomodate him but you'd be able to play him at FF and he'd still play well. Rory O' Carroll has very good this year barr the opening few games where Gilroy was still tinkering around. I kow Ricey hasnt been as good this year but he's still a class apart. Best corner back in the country by a long shot. And I'd say the same for Noel O' Leary, tremendous athlete. I'm actually surprised that any one would question Brogan's inclusion. On his last outing he tore Tyrone open and himself and his brother have been Dublin's most consistent players. Stevie McD had 1 poor game (against Dublin) and he probably got the score of the game in that 1. As with Brogan O' Hara (Sligo's standout player along with Kelly) has been phenomenol, and O' Gara. He maybe raw but he's 1 of Dublin's key players. And Ross McConnell?? Whats he done wrong?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,397 ✭✭✭yahoo_moe

I've seen some bad 'pick your XI / 15' threads on Boards in my time, but this has to be the worst.

Some shocking suggestions - so many actually that I don't know where to start. I'd agree that it's harder to pick defenders this year than anywhere else - one more Dublin win and O'Carroll will probably have played himself in at full-back, likewise McAuley who probably just misses out as it stands to Galvin and Keenan (possibly Rogers either - didn't see enough of Down early on to know).

Nailed on forwards are Bernard Brogan, Gooch, James Kavanagh, David Kelly and maybe Donie Shine and/or Ger Collins.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,285 ✭✭✭Frankie Lee

1. Geoff Claffey

2. Peter Kelly
    3. Hugh McGrillen
    4. Damo Rafferty
    5. Ray Finnegan
    6. Graham Canty
    7. Barry Cahill

8. Darryl Flynn
    9. John Galvin

10. Johnny Doyle
    11. Martin Clarke
    12. Graham Reilly
    13. James Kavanagh
    14. Donal Shine
    15. Bernard Brogan

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10 greengrocer

aDeener wrote: »
    some of the inclusions by posters here are crazy. michael meehan, kieran donaghy :confused: great footballers but not a great year at all. anyway for me, so far:

2. Sean McDermott (Roscommon)
    5. Paudie Kissane (Cork)
    6. Graham Canty (Cork)
    7. Ray Finnegan (Louth)
    9. Ambrose Rogers (Down)
    11. Pearse O'Neill (Cork)
    12. Graham Reilly (Meath)
    13. Benny Coulter(Down)

Very honourable mentions to Eamonn Callaghan, Donie Shine and David Kelly

Dublin shipped five goals against Meath - should that alone not rule Cluxton out? Aside from Sheridan's thunderbolt, the goals weren't unstoppable.

Claffey didn't put a foot wrong against Sligo and Cork. The highlights from the London and Leitrim games painted him in a positive light also.

Brendan McVeigh was outstanding against Kerry. Haven't seen much of Down besides, so can't say if he's been as impressive in other games.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47 Super5onic

Mayo Team for next year - High paid jobs in Belmullet organised for ye lads :)

S Cluxton (Dub)
    R Donavan (Sligo) - Cant believe he hasnt got a mention..Immense talent!
    M Shields (Cork)
    R McMenamin (Tyrone)
    P Kissane (Cork)
    G Canty (Cork)
    P Jordan (Tyrone)
    MD McCauley (Dub)
    A Rodgers (Down)
    J Sheridan (Meath)
    J Doyle (Kildare)
    P O Neil (Cork)
    M Clarke (Down)
    Gooch (Kerry)
    B Brogan (Dublin)

J Galvin, Claffey, C Harrison and D Shine came close

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,256 ✭✭✭LeoB

My team would be:

Stephen Cluxton
    Charlie Harrison
    Michael Shields/Dan Gordon(for Kerry game alone)
    Ray Carey/Marc O'Se
    Damien Freeman
    Graham Canty
    Philip Jordan/Paudie Kissane
    Paddy Keenan
    Michael Dara McAuley/John Galvin
    Martin Clarke/Johnny Doyle/Bryan Cullen
    Pearse O'Neill
    James Kavanagh/Graham Reilly
    Gooch
    Donie Shine
    Bernard Brogan

Found it very hard to pick stand-out defenders actually which is strange. Not sure about my Freeman pick but can't think of any wing back who's been much better tbh.

Like that team but would give Gordon the nod ahead of Shields, Dont rate Freeman this year at all and onhis performances so far Ger Brennan might be worth a spot now he has calmed down a bit or Noel O'Leary. Philip Jordan ahead of Kissane, M.D McAuleyy and Keenan in Midfield. Kavenagh ahead of Reilly, not much between Johnny Doyle and Mary Clarke not Cullen tho, and Coulter ahead of Gooch because of his biger all round cotribution.

Any room for Shane Lennon ahead of Donie Shine? Lennon is I feel a better all round player and Louth have Clarke for the fres.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,092 ✭✭✭Le King

How anybody can overlook Johnny Doyle and James Kavanagh is amazing.

Doyle bar the Monaghan game has been amazing as usual.

Kavanagh has been top class.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 68 ✭✭lilywhites28

Some will think i am been biased because I am a Kildare fan but have to mention Johnny Doyle! The man is the top scorer of the champioship so far... mentioning him based on this fact and not because he is the only Kildare player I feel many(outside the county) can name;). Also feel that vodafone football player of the month Eamonn Callaghan deserves a bit of credit. He has been serious for us along with Kavanagh and the Mighty Dermot Earley!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,925 ✭✭✭aidan24326

Paul Galvin
    Bernard Brogan
    Gooch Cooper
    K Donaghy
    Declan O Sullivan
    Owen Mulligan
    Pearse O Neill
    John Galvin
    James Ryan
    Michael Meehan
    Eamonn O Hara
    Micheal Quirke
    Barry John Keane
    James Kavanagh
    Tomas O Se
    Stephen Bray
    Shane Curran

Michael Meehan has been injured for the most part, and Stephen Bray has played well below his best. I don't recall BJ Keane doing a whole lot either.

Le King wrote: »
    How anybody can overlook Johnny Doyle and James Kavanagh is amazing.

Doyle bar the Monaghan game has been amazing as usual.

Kavanagh has been top class.

Doyle has kicked too many wides for my liking. He kicked a few scores towards the end the last day, when the game was already won. What I would say to his enormous credit is that he never hid or went missing, even after some bad wides he kept on going which shows great character.

Kavanagh for me has been a star, absolutely superb. I never took that much notice of him before but he has really shined this year.