Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Which Athletics Club?

• 04-08-2010 8:45pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 8,199 ✭✭✭

I started another thread on here about being interested in athletics and trying to get fit and do some sort of competition and it was suggested to me that I should join an athletic club.

I'm based in South County Dublin, in the Stillorgan/Sandyford/Leopardstown areas. Can anyone recommend a good athletics club nearby? I believe there's one in Dundrum which isn't too far.

I suppose I'm wondering about the benefits of joining. Is it just so you can show up and have a run around their track or what? Not that it would be a bad thing to be able to do something like that. I guess it would be nice to run on a proper flat track and use it as a base to determine times etc.

Sorry for the newbie questions. I've never been part of a club like that and I don't really know what they do but there seems to be a lot of knowledgeable people on here who are part of various clubs so I figured it would be a good place to get information and advice.

Thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,087 ✭✭✭BeepBeep67

If you're looking for some folks to run with Bray Runners train in Shanganagh (Shankill) every Thursday @ 6:15 and Sunday @9:30 - no pressure to join, pop along and see how it goes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 444 ✭✭PVincent

Hi
    Knocklyon Runners (part of Bros Pearse AC) is a fast developing running group which train every Tues/Thurs in Cherryfield Pk ( opposite Ballyboden St Endas GAA club ) at 7.00pm... All standards looked after and trained for whatever goal you have , be it 5ks, half marathons, or marathons . We can even teach you to High Jump. We have a 300metre grass track but training sessions are varied and we use the local areas for speed sessions , hills , etc In winter we move to Knocklyon Community School where we have a 4 lane sprint track. Again winter training would be on safe well lit roads and cycle paths with all sorts of sessions . We have a good mix of male/female runners and a very good friendly atmosphere .

if you need more info mail me at suevincent5@hotmail.com

look forward to seeing you some day soon .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,199 ✭✭✭G-Money

Actually, regarding winter training, how do people do that? I'm assuming if everywhere is covered in snow and ice that you can't really go out and run in that? I know I can barely walk in snow and ice as I'm slipping everywhere so I was wondering what I'd do in the winter. I'm not currently a member of a gym and I don't really fancy signing up for another 1 year contract somewhere.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,817 ✭✭✭myflipflops

Rathfarnham probably the one for you.

I'm open to correction (not a member myself) but I think they have a very wide range of distance groups from beginners through to national level ability.

DSD is the club from Dundrum but I don't recommend them for your situation.

Cheers.

Any particular reason you wouldn't recommend DSD?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,915 ✭✭✭✭menoscemo

Actually, regarding winter training, how do people do that? I'm assuming if everywhere is covered in snow and ice that you can't really go out and run in that? I know I can barely walk in snow and ice as I'm slipping everywhere so I was wondering what I'd do in the winter. I'm not currently a member of a gym and I don't really fancy signing up for another 1 year contract somewhere.

Loads of us were out running on the ice last winter, I actually had one of my highest mileage months last january.
    You can make your own ice shoes and run on the slippery footpaths or just run around grass pitches.
    Here is a thread about it from 'the big freeze' last winter:
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055775994&highlight=winter

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,545 ✭✭✭tunguska

I'd go with DSD. Theyre a top outfit and you'll be well looked after. I know its a bit scary joining a new club especially if youre unfit, but dont let that put you off. My mate Misty Floyd was a bit aprehensive before he joined his club but he was brave, took the plunge and threw himself into the unknown. Long story short, he's absolutley flying, loves training with the club. Dont let fear hold you back.
    By the way you're more than welcome to join the club I run for(Tallaght Ac). Maybe a bit out of your way in terms of location, but Id make sure youre put in with a comparable group and that youre well looked after. Brand spnkin' new track aswell! Something that a lot of other clubs cant claim to have.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,545 ✭✭✭tunguska

menoscemo wrote: »
    Loads of us were out running on the ice last winter, I actually had one of my highest mileage months last january.
    You can make your own ice shoes and run on the slippery footpaths or just run around grass pitches.
    Here is a thread about it from 'the big freeze' last winter:
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055775994&highlight=winter

Jaysus menoscemo, a shudder went down my right knee reading your post. Out running in january and bam! Did my knee, took the best part of 4 months to heal properly.
    I think the best bet when its icy and snowy out is to hit the treadmill and play it safe.

tunguska wrote: »
    Jaysus menoscemo, a shudder went down my right knee reading your post. Out running in january and bam! Did my knee, took the best part of 4 months to heal properly.
    I think the best bet when its icy and snowy out is to hit the treadmill and play it safe.

Agreed. I wouldn't even attempt to run outside in the weather we had last winter. I'm not joking when I said I was struggling to even walk/shuffle along without slipping. I also remember that the footpaths around where I live were packed solid with thick ice. Lovely stuff :mad::eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,550 ✭✭✭✭Krusty_Clown

Agreed. I wouldn't even attempt to run outside in the weather we had last winter. I'm not joking when I said I was struggling to even walk/shuffle along without slipping. I also remember that the footpaths around where I live were packed solid with thick ice. Lovely stuff :mad::eek:
    Head for the hills (higher ground) and run in the snow. Great fun... Soggy cold wet feet though.. Anyway, we're still in the middle of summer (I'm trying to convince myself), so let's have no more talk of snow, ice and winter!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,704 ✭✭✭✭RayCun

There were only two (or three?) weeks of snow and ice this past winter, and even that was unusual.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,122 ✭✭✭Peterx

I started another thread on here about being interested in athletics and trying to get fit and do some sort of competition and it was suggested to me that I should join an athletic club.

I'm based in South County Dublin, in the Stillorgan/Sandyford/Leopardstown areas. Can anyone recommend a good athletics club nearby? I believe there's one in Dundrum which isn't too far.

I suppose I'm wondering about the benefits of joining. Is it just so you can show up and have a run around their track or what? Not that it would be a bad thing to be able to do something like that. I guess it would be nice to run on a proper flat track and use it as a base to determine times etc.

Sorry for the newbie questions. I've never been part of a club like that and I don't really know what they do but there seems to be a lot of knowledgeable people on here who are part of various clubs so I figured it would be a good place to get information and advice.

Thanks.

4 or 5 good suggestions there.
    I'd add sportsworld in bushy park to that list and say try them all out.

Assuming they have a group you can run with the one closest to home tends to be the best all the same.
    We're all lazy so having your club close to home is good, especially shuffling home after a tough session.
    If you work in Dublin City the likes of Danore Harriers and Crusaders may also be options en route home.

best of luck,
    Peter

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,346 ✭✭✭smmoore79

Just a quick question about Crusaders. They're close enough to me but i assumed they focus on short distances. Am i right or wrong? Id be more of a distance man myself (5km to marathon). Seen their track at the BHAA 5km Irishtown race and was very impressed by the set-up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,567 ✭✭✭RoyMcC

smmoore79 wrote: »
    Just a quick question about Crusaders. They're close enough to me but i assumed they focus on short distances. Am i right or wrong? Id be more of a distance man myself (5km to marathon). Seen their track at the BHAA 5km Irishtown race and was very impressed by the set-up.

Mike McGovern's your man MMcGovern@idb.ie or coach1mcgovern@gmail.com Cru do a lot of middle-distance work on the track but also stuff suited to longer distances.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,340 ✭✭✭TFBubendorfer

tunguska wrote: »

I, on the other hand, decided it was too dangerous to either drive or cycle to work and ran instead! I got plenty of mileage that way.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,817 ✭✭✭myflipflops

Cheers.

Any particular reason you wouldn't recommend DSD?

From your other thread, you are a 33 year old just enterring the sport, right?

DSD are an excellent club but they will struggle to cater for your situation with regard to coaching, training groups and that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,612 ✭✭✭gerard65

From your other thread, you are a 33 year old just enterring the sport, right?
    I often see sportsworld training in Bushy and they seem to cater for all levels. I'd say they'd be your best bet if your just getting into the sport.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 444 ✭✭PVincent

Grandmaster...Knocklyon runners had its starting point last year in getting 7 people just like yourself starting off but signed up for the Chicago marathon...none of them has run before ...all completed it ...this year we have spread the net and most of our runners are new to the sport . Its why our sessions are so varied so as we introduce people to all of the aspects of the sport ,and to ensure that they grow to love it. Too often people are put off too quickly ....so please come along and sample what we do and I guarantee that you will comfortable in our group, rather than in a major athletics club like DSD, or Sportsworld or Rathfarnham . Of course we have some good runners but no elite senior runners , but you will have individual attention and guidance as you ease into a sport that simply will give you a brill buzz provided you are patient and sensible ...

mail me at suevincent5@hotmail.com

Peter Vincent

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 201 ✭✭Raighne

RoyMcC wrote: »
    Mike McGovern's your man MMcGovern@idb.ie or coach1mcgovern@gmail.com Cru do a lot of middle-distance work on the track but also stuff suited to longer distances.

I'll second Roy on this. I've been a Crusader since 2008 and while historically they have most history on the track the club is committed to compete on all surfaces and all distances. Last year there was a specialised marathon group with a marathon coach. This year the club paid for me to educate myself in England as a Fell and Mountain Running Coach with UK Athletics and I have been running sessions, showing, to my mind, a commitment to all distances and disciplines of running.

I'd be a long-distance hill-runner at heart myself and have felt well catered for in the club. Socially it's great and we've had tremendous growth over the last 2 years in terms of members.