Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cycling Magazines

• 03-08-2010 7:46pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 15

So who here among us buys a mag? I'm just wondering which ones ye think are the best.

Cycling active is ok
    cycling plus i think is better

But, most cycling magazines are UK based and hence climbs, routes, products etc are irrelevant for us (bar you go on a holiday)

Just wondering, what ye feel is the best mag and/or is there any Irish based magazine even online that deals with everything and anything which is cycling in ireland

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 93 ✭✭backtobass

So who here among us buys a mag? I'm just wondering which ones ye think are the best.

Cycling active is ok
    cycling plus i think is better

But, most cycling magazines are UK based and hence climbs, routes, products etc are irrelevant for us (bar you go on a holiday)

Just wondering, what ye feel is the best mag and/or is there any Irish based magazine even online that deals with everything and anything which is cycling in ireland

I think cycling weekly is the best of them, lots of news,reviews etc, covers some of the bigger irish races. They used to be an irish cycling review mag few years back in kelly and roche's hey day but that stopped some time back.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,700 ✭✭✭brayblue24

backtobass wrote: »
    I think cycling weekly is the best of them,

+1. Less technical-more for the layman with general interest IMO

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 4,085 Mod ✭✭✭✭Planet X

brayblue24 wrote: »
    +1. Less technical-more for the layman with general interest IMO

They call it "The Comic" over the water.
    Pro Cycling is decent.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 11,669 Mod ✭✭✭✭RobFowl

The Irish market doesn't seem large enough to support an Irish specific magazine. Irish Cycling review died out in the early 90's and Irish cycling news was tried around 2005 and lasted 2 years (I wrote a column in it :rolleyes:). But the overheads and distribution costs were prohibitive. AFAIK the wholesalers took about 50% of the cover price to distribute it .

We're very well served with www.irishcyclingnews.com

and I get Cycling weekly although find cycling plus offers a nice non racing viewpoint.
    Not keen on cycling active and procycling and cycle sport are nuch the same IMO.
    MBUK and MTB are worth a read every now and again.

I always though if someone approached Cycling Weekly to provide even a page about the Irish scebe they'd be interested but thats only my opinion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,604 ✭✭✭petethedrummer

I buy whatevers available when I'm looking. Its usually just them for a train or bus journey. Cycling plus I think is the one I mostly get. Bought a MTBing one today to peruse while having tea in Blanchardstown shopping centre.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81 ✭✭RoubX

I subscribed to Cycling Plus and they have good offers all the time on http://www.myfavouritemagazines.co.uk/ (these seem to be the distributors). The price isn't a fraction of what we get charged in the shops.

The mag has good features and reviews, with a lot of new bike tests. Just check out their online presence at www.bikeradar.com

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,141 ✭✭✭Doctor Bob

backtobass wrote: »

So are you lads getting a band together or what? :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,668 ✭✭✭✭ednwireland

i buy cycling weakly occasionally and cycling plus prob every month
    (you cant read the internet whilst sitting on the loo, maybe i should get a netbook ?)
    anyway will prob pick up a few in gatwick as i'm flying in tonight and back tomorrow

My weather

https://www.ecowitt.net/home/share?authorize=96CT1F

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,056 ✭✭✭✭BostonB

I've tried cycling magazines, but keep falling off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,035 ✭✭✭Funkyzeit

BostonB wrote: »

He's here all week ! ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,200 ✭✭✭manwithaplan

I suggest you don't take an interest in equestrian periodicals;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,246 ✭✭✭Hungrycol

I find C+ can get a bit repetitive and full of ads. I much prefer Pro Cycling.

I get CW in London City airport cost it only take about an hours plane journey home to read cover to cover including the classifieds.

I suggest you don't take an interest in equestrian periodicals;)

I tried but Riding daily was too much for me.

Unless you into following races and results the other choice is the general mags. They seem to repeat themselves a lot, so if you've read one, theres not a lot of point buying another for ages. Some of the sportives they report on look interesting.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 11,669 Mod ✭✭✭✭RobFowl

I tried but Riding daily was too much for me.

Get married, then you only get the Christmas special...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,231 ✭✭✭✭Lumen

RobFowl wrote: »

Mine got rescheduled to February 29th. Roll on 2012!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,700 ✭✭✭brayblue24

I was told that too but when the time came it was sold out-allegedly....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,295 ✭✭✭ckeego

Disgraceful comment!! It does come with a Happy Ending supplement, most years!!

I bought Cycle Sport for the first time today. They don't pull any punches compared to most other cycling media.

Do they relentlessly take the p!ss in every issue? I'll be buying again if they do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 487 ✭✭drogdub

I bought Cycle Sport for the first time today. They don't pull any punches compared to most other cycling media.

Do they relentlessly take the p!ss in every issue? I'll be buying again if they do.

Would you be referring to them calling Ricco, Di Luca and Valverde gits?

I used to by Procycling but have bought a couple of issues of Cyclesport and starting to think its a better read.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 339 ✭✭SurferDude41

I used to buy a few cycling mags per week....This addiction started with Winning magazine in 1983:D
    Was buying cycling weekly and cycling plus, until about eight months ago....
    Since then I have gone cold turkey...buying No cycling mags whatsoever..:eek:
    These days Im a browser...I go in the news agents....read the mags....I don't buy....I consider myself in cycling mag recovery:rolleyes: Maybe we could start a support group???

I saved myself a fortune, by kicking my cycling mag habit....

These days I trawl the internet...Bikeradar...Weightweenies.....Pez...Red Kite prayer....The Doug Report.....Velonews...

I was barred from Easons...and Waterstones:mad: For being a a Browser...Not a buyer....Arggghhhh:D

drogdub wrote: »
    Would you be referring to them calling Ricco, Di Luca and Valverde gits?

That and.......

Describing Lampre's Line up
    "There's also the unreliable, and mysteriously not-as-good-as-he-was-when-he-won-the-Giro-at-the-age-of-22 Damiano Cunego."

In an Interview with Nibali:
    Has Nibali ever doped?
    "What kind of question is that? Certainly not!"
    And what about using "prohibited methods", such as injection some of your own fresh blood before a big event?"
    "No."

Lance Armstrong
    Touchy Texan who promised it would be different this time, only it turned out to be exactly the same, except he wasn't as good at cycling.

Denis Menchov
    Seems to have ironed out his problem of crashing on straight roads, which is a shame, because that was the most excting thing about watching him.

On the web.... http://www.cyclesportmag.com/

ok I'll shut up now. I sound like I want to go out with the magazine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,132 ✭✭✭Paddigol

I had my eye one a Tour preview magazine a couple of weeks ago, but can't see it for sale anymore. I usually treat myself to one before the grand tours. It was one of those "two magazines for the price of one" jobs... One was the regular mag, the other a Tour preview. Can't remember for the life of me which publication it was though!

Don't suppose anyone got it/ knows which one I'm talking about!?

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,178 ✭✭✭wanderer 22

Could have been Cycling Plus - they have one of those special editions out. I've seen it occasionally at Easons on O'Connell street if that's any good to you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 660 ✭✭✭Scrappy600

Cycling plus and pro cycling are usually bundled together for about €11 that's what I usually get. Couldn't find it last month as a bundle though just cycling plus with a tdf supplement and pro cycling separate. Kids got both for me on Father's Day. Top notch stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 473 ✭✭dermabrasion

I had a subscription to Bicycling when I lived in North America. Still follow them on twitter, as they have a lot of free content. I began to get bored with the reviews which were 'best ride ever...stiffness...responsive....blah..' no matter what bike they tested. I switched to Velonews, and i still keep a monthly subscription from the US for this. The issues sit beside the throne, and serve to pass the time for the daily constitutional. While they like to talk about BMC and Garmin, it is refreshingly less Halfords-Evans-Wiggle focused than the UK mags. Its well written and the tech and training sections are pretty good.