Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Not quite the wrong name but maybe worse!!

• 03-08-2010 1:16pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,012 ✭✭✭✭

Ok I'll try to be short but would appreciate any advice.
    Ive been with my OH since last November...It has been fantastic, hardly a cross word said and we are madly in love..
    We like to go out together and have at times over done it a bit on the booze. Its not a bad thing we like to have fun just sometimes we might over do it.
    So here is the thing, we got very drunk about a month ago at a birthday party for a friend of mine.
    Anyway, we got back to my place and had a night cap and crawled to bed, just then when we were having a kiss and a cuddle she pushed me back, I asked was she ok and she just said yeah sorry I was just making sure it was you! (as i said we were pretty hammered by now) I thought nothing of it, assumed she was just a bit disorientated and on we went, then a frw minutes later, she stops pushes me away and says "we can't we work together" I was taken aback (clearly we do not work together). I asked what she said and she said the same thing again.
    I stormed out, (i was hammered too) and she followed me apologising, saying she didn't know where it came from, she loves me etc.
    I cooled down and thats it really, she was very apologetic the next day but i just said forget it...
    Thing is its on my mind, Ive been burnt before, while i don't believe for a second that she has done anything behind my back, I just wonder should I be worried?
    It freaked me out at the time, i mean once ok she may have been disorientatd but 3 times in such a short period, it seems a little strange to me.
    Any thoughts?
    Thanks for reading!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 236 ✭✭PopUp

Sounds like she was completely out of it, really tired, and had a dream you were somebody else! I really, really wouldn't worry about it. Weird dreams are very common when you drink that much.

I never get them when I drink but years ago when my husband and I first moved in together I used to have a recurring nightmare he was somebody else! In the middle of the night I would hop out of bed and either start yelling, switch on the light, or start legging it down the stairs! I am just about over it now but very rarely, if we are sleeping somewhere new or strange (like a hotel) it comes back!

My best friend's boyfriend has woken up in the night on top of her shouting, convinced she's a burglar when he's had a few too many. One time they came home, she went to put her pyjamas on and got into bed while he had a smoke, and ten minutes later he still hadn't come up to bed.
    She got up to find he's sleepwalked into the bath and is washing himself without any water! Now if he goes out on a mad one he automatically sleeps in the spare room.

Don't read too much into it. She was very drunk and very tired. It's really common and it doesn't mean anything. Most of the men I dreamed I was sleeping next to were very DEFINITELY not men I secretly fancied! Often quite the opposite!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,012 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

I did something similar a years back.

Got really drunk one night with the lads from work, went home, and was so drunk that my wife had to undress me, as she was doing it I jumped up and shouted, "What are ye doin", quickly followed by "sorry thought you where someone else". I slept in the other room that night but was all forgiven the next day after a chat. I've never been with anyone else while with my missis, and to this day still don't know why I said it, or even who I thought she was.

I wouldn't dwell on it to much, best thing to do is to chat it out with her to put your mind at ease.