Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

what is it with the irish and our < insert problem>

• 03-08-2010 1:59pm
    Registered Users Posts: 2,291 ✭✭✭

what is it with irish people and their <insert random mundane problem that of course is only found in ireland and not in any other country because no where is as bad as ireland>

here i made you a template so now ye can go and make as many self-deprecating threads as ye want

have fun!
    Tagged:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

Its the gripes with a chip on their shoulder.
    You can either ignore them or join in.

...In the end it will get you nowhere though!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,553 ✭✭✭Banned Account

f0ggy92 wrote: »
    what is it with irish people and their <stoopid threads?

here i made you a template so now ye can go and make as many self-deprecating threads as ye want

have fun!

Do I win a teddy?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,508 ✭✭✭ElaElaElano

<exasperated sigh at supposedly witty thread>

• Registered Users Posts: 2,291 ✭✭✭Junco Partner

^^^
    <giggles at obvious thanks whoring>

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,016 ✭✭✭CreepingDeath

f0ggy92 wrote: »
    what is it with irish people and their <simple Tipperary cousins>

Yes, more funding is required for the slower rural folk.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,783 ✭✭✭Hank_Jones

Biggins wrote: »
    Its the gripes with a chip on their shoulder.
    You can either ignore them or join in.

...In the end it will get you nowhere though!

Dunno, I sometimes feel better after a good oul gripe over something.

I think we need to give out more tbh, if we lived in other countries that had our sort of wealth we would most likely be much better taken care of by the government.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,916 ✭✭✭RonMexico

We are not unique, we are not special, except for our ability to pretend that everything is ok while all around us falls to ****.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 7,941 Mod ✭✭✭✭Yakult

(>'')> ......<(''<)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,542 ✭✭✭Captain Darling

Yes, more funding is required for the slower rural folk.

8===> ~ ~ (-)(-)

Hank_Jones wrote: »
    Dunno, I sometimes feel better after a good oul gripe over something.

I think we need to give out more tbh, if we lived in other countries that had our sort of wealth we would most likely be much better taken care of by the government.

...Except that as well as giving out, those also griping (besides me sometimes) also need to get up off their ass and take to the streets and protest.
    Ye all know what we do, the majority of us, gripe and snipe - then do feck all else.

...To take a line from a film:
    "The government should be afraid of us, not us afraid of the government"
    Not much chance of that happening as long as we sit at our desks, our bar stools and sofas.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,809 ✭✭✭✭smash

what is it with the irish and our begrudgery of anyone who does well for themselves...

steve06 wrote: »
    what is it with the irish and our begrudgery of anyone who does well for themselves...
    Thats called petty jealousy masked as a chip on the shoulder.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,542 ✭✭✭Captain Darling

Biggins wrote: »
    ...To take a line from a film:
    "The government should be afraid of us, not us afraid of the government"
    Not much chance of that happening as long as we sit at our desks, our bar stools and sofas.
    Or behind our laptops....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

SVA wrote:
    "What is it with the irish and our women?" asked the Swedish Volleyball Association yesterday in a press release which was designed to battle the growing stereotype of the outrageously gorgeous, tall, blonde and buxom Swede amongst internet users in Ireland.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

steve06 wrote: »

in addition we also seem to be rather bitter towards people who dont do well for themselves

orourkeda wrote: »
    in addition we also seem to be rather bitter towards people who dont do well for themselves
    Yep. Your damned if you do and damned if you don't!
    You can't win with some folk.

• Registered Users Posts: 24,008 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

It's all down to opti-pessimism, and happy people being cnuts.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,553 ✭✭✭Banned Account

What is it with Irish people and ... our strange propensity to erectile dysfunction amongst ageing sportsmen.

I mean, first it was Paudie O'Se then Ronnie Whelan - next it'll be Sonia O'Sullivan!

Thank fcuk I'm a lazy fecker.