Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

rules for L drivers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,157 ✭✭✭✭Alanstrainor

Post moved to a new thread.

A learner driver must be accompanied by a fully licensed driver who has held their license for at least 2 years.
    Driving unaccompanied does not mean you are driving uninsured; unless there is a specific exclusion from doing so in your policy document.

As for reporting learner drivers driving unaccompanied. I'd just mind my own business tbh. Not too sure who you'd report it to, i'm not too sure why you would either?

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 27,343 CMod ✭✭✭✭spurious

A person on a Learner Permit should be accompanied while driving by a person who holds a full licence and has held it for at least two years.

Whether they are insured or not while doing so, is a matter for the insurance companies, but I agree, as a fool who sticks to the regulations, it's galling to see other learners drive all over the place unaccompanied while I wait in (or pay for unnecessary 'lessons' with my ADI) because I cannot get an accompanying driver.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,178 ✭✭✭cosmic

Reporting them wouldn't really work, it would be extremely difficult to prove. Learner drivers who have L plates on their car often let friends/OHs/family members drive their car. What's to say it's actually a learner driving?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,991 ✭✭✭✭Mimikyu

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,034 ✭✭✭thebullkf

learner can drive unaccompanied on their 2nd. Provisional.

who're you reporting?

why?

none of your business really.

we're also the only country that lets you drive home afteryou fail your driving test....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 91 ✭✭bingus666

because just after coming into my cul de sac I had to swerve to avoid her as she was speeding out whilst yapping on her phone... so I'm to mind my own business? this young girl is a clear danger to herself & everyone around her if she cant even follow a few small rules as an Learner driver... this behaviour makes it my business & in the long run I'd be doing her a favour before she ruins someones life if not her own. thats why I would report it. simples.

thebullkf wrote: »

actually, after reading it up on rsa.ie no matter how many Provisional Permits you have you are NOT allowed to drive unaccompanied as a Learner driver...

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators Posts: 7,396 Mod ✭✭✭✭**Timbuk2**

bingus666 wrote: »
    because just after coming into my cul de sac I had to swerve to avoid her as she was speeding out whilst yapping on her phone... so I'm to mind my own business? this young girl is a clear danger to herself & everyone around her if she cant even follow a few small rules as an Learner driver... this behaviour makes it my business & in the long run I'd be doing her a favour before she ruins someones life if not her own. thats why I would report it. simples.

How do you know that she is a learner? I have a full licence, but my twin brother is learning to drive in my car, and is on a learner permit. I leave the L-Plates on when I drive (they are a pain to take off and put back on) so it would appear that I am an L-Driver, even though I'm not.

do you report every1 you see on a mobile phone??

theres a lot more to this story than meets the eye...

have you approached her?

you sound like a nasty person.

swings and roundabouts.

question answered.

thread should be locked.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,386 ✭✭✭monkeypants

That changed a couple of years ago. Now you cannot drive on your own unless you have a full licence.

thebullkf, you have no idea who I am, so quit your finger pointing & no I dont fooking report everyone on a moblie ffs whats your beef? if youve nothing good to say then say nothing at all... maybe read up on the rules yourself? ya seem to be lagging behind there a bit...

believe me I know its her car & she is the learner... So my point being I'm to mind my own business even though she's an illegal driver & dangerous at that? There are kids around here, if I have to avoid her side swipping me cause she's on her phone then god help any of the kids around here...

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 27,862 Mod ✭✭✭✭Posy

But she would have to actually be caught in the act of driving to prove it; otherwise it'd just be your word against hers so there is no point in reporting her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,739 ✭✭✭johnmcdnl

[/SIZE]

not since june 30 2008 google tells me... unless you have a full license you have to be accompanied by a fully licensed driver who's had there license for at least 2 years - that's the law anyways but i'm unsure about the insurance end of it...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,991 ✭✭✭mathepac

because just after coming into my cul de sac I had to swerve to avoid her as she was speeding out whilst yapping on her phone...
    Report her for dangerous driving.

"The Garda Traffic Watch hotline allows you report incidents of dangerous driving to the Gardai so that the drivers can be intercepted, cautioned and brought through the courts process. The Garda Traffic Watch hotline is contactable by telephone at 1890 205 805."

From http://www.citizensinformation.ie/categories/justice/law_enforcement/reporting-a-crime

my bad.

i didn't know theychanged it.

point is Op's looking to punish in a sly non confrontational way ie the fact is she's on a phone whilst dtriving.L plates have nowt to do with it.(methinks)

OP:if there were no L plates on display would you still report....

EDIT: forghettaboutit.:rolleyes:

yeah thouht of that alright, wasnt sure though whether this hotline was for this particular reason or not. Cheers all (except thebullkf, seems like a know it all twit!)

my bad.

point is Op's looking to punish in a sly non confrontational way ie the fact is she's on a phone whilst dtriving.L plates have nowt to do with it.(methinks)

QUOTE]

you think wrong! am looking to report dangerous driving any way that is possible. now I know thanks to readers giving a proper answer to a proper question...

my bad.

QUOTE]

you think wrong! am looking to report dangerous driving any way that is possible. now I know thanks to readers giving a proper answer to a proper question...

really????

why not ring the Gardaí when you had to swerve??

no..you tried to figure out if you could report her for driving on L plates,a different matter altogether.
    ie slyly.
    why not confront the offender?.isn't she a neighbour living in your cul de sac?

(or at least there fairly regularly,otherwise you wouldn't be able to report her)

your OP was answered already.

gerroff the soapbox:rolleyes:

yeah thouht of that alright, wasnt sure though whether this hotline was for this particular reason or not. Cheers all (except thebullkf, seems like a know it all twit!)

your real beef seems to be that she was on the phone.
    i don't agree with her/condone her behaviour ffs.
    i don't condone yours either btw.

don't bring kids into it when challengedabout your real motive's.

post reported for personal abuse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,157 ✭✭✭✭Alanstrainor

Deep breaths lads. Warning given for personal abuse for the below post.

If you are going to report her for anything it's dangerous driving. Simple as.
    The Garda Traffic Watch hotline allows you report incidents of dangerous driving to the Gardai so that the drivers can be intercepted, cautioned and brought through the courts process. The Garda Traffic Watch hotline is contactable by telephone at 1890 205 805.