Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Electric Window Stuck Down!

• 02-08-2010 12:37pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 478 ✭✭

So here I am.....again!:o Last night I finished up work, hopped into the car and hit for home....but once I got back I realised my window was stuck down and wouldnt go up!!:eek:
    The car as ye probably know is an Audi A4, 2002 model!
    So the symptoms...
    The electric mirrors have packed up!
    The driver door electric window is stuck and the switch does nothing!
    The second switch on the driver's door for the passenger window works!
    The speakers in the drivers door have also given up on me!
    Lastly, the light on the locking switch is not working...but pressing the switch will lock the car.

12 hours later and its raining, on a bank holiday Monday!:mad:

ANY help is appreciated lads!;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Did you check/replace fuses?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 478 ✭✭thenashlegend

Yup....no damage at all! Im beginning to think its the wire's in the flex area where the door opens and closes on them!..Just going to be awkward to repair!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,786 ✭✭✭slimjimmc

Check the wires where they go through the door into the pillar. They may have frayed or broke or some scumbag may have tried cut them with a hacksaw blade or similar in an attempt to get the doors unlock.

Thanks...Checked them a while ago and they were grand! Although they were split at some stage someone thankfully went to the trouble of soldering them and putting a heat-shrink over them, still solid as a rock!:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,280 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

is the door open light coming on, some cars wont let you adjust the window with the door open , also try holding in the door switch and trying the window close button with the door in different positions , it may be a stress break in one of the wires and may temporarily reconnect with the door the right way

The door opens in 3 different stages..if you get me?! For the last few weeks the red door light on the edge would light for the first and second stage but not for the third! It probably is a stress break but where to look been as I only have 2 inches of wire visible!:( and not at all accessible.. easily!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,280 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

The door opens in 3 different stages..if you get me?! For the last few weeks the red door light on the edge would light for the first and second stage but not for the third! It probably is a stress break but where to look been as I only have 2 inches of wire visible!:( and not at all accessible.. easily!
    id definitley say stress break , if all those wires were soldered they were probably changed or an alarm installed at some point , id take off the door card and look for streched or soldered wires on that side to see if theres any stress points, also if you have a multi meter take out the window switch and see do you get 12 volt on any of the pins

when you have the headlights on and everything lights up in the car, does the window switch light up ? or any other switch in the door ? if so see if those lights turn off at any stage of opening the door

Nope...nothing lights up..window switches, lock switch or the mirror adjuster!

And yes I can borrow a multimeter but I'm just a bit lost as to what setting it should be on for volts?! and where should I be placing the leads??
    Sorry, Im just a total idiot when it comes to electrics!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,025 ✭✭✭✭-Corkie-

Best thing is get it on vag com. Where you based.

Strange thing is on startup the car says everything is "OK"!:rolleyes: Usually even if its only a bulb it will point it out!
    I'm based in Mayo! And been as Im coming up on a service I wonder would I be better go to the Audi dealer and get the two birds with the one stone so to speak?!

Strange thing is on startup the car says everything is "OK"!:rolleyes: Usually even if its only a bulb it will point it out!
    I'm based in Mayo! And been as Im coming up on a service I wonder would I be better go to the Audi dealer and get the two birds with the one stone so to speak?!

I think you woud be better going to a good Audi mechanic in Mayo. I have a vagcom but im in Cork.

Thanks for the offer but its a bit far to travel with a half open window!!:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,686 ✭✭✭✭mickdw

I would take the door card off & wind up the window manually if at all possible.

I not convinced that VAGCOM would direct you to the fault without having experience of the system in the car. I have vagcom & am in mayo but apart from reading out the fault, Im no expert.
    Ive seem a very similar fault on octavia caused by faulure of the drivers door control unit. This unit is incorporated into the window motor on your car. On the Octavias with this fault, turning the key in the drivers door wont activate the central locking (it will just lock the drivers door) whereas turning the key in the passenger door will work central locking.

Thanks for that but I've found the problem!:rolleyes:
    Some tosser went and made a horrifically bad job of "strengthening" the wiring between the door and car itself!:mad:
    In his wisdom left the wires too long causing them to bend back and stay there....each opening and closing causing more damage.
    Luckily I found the wire's, held them with my hand and got the window closed! So for now there taped together until I can find a reputable auto electrician!..and if possible one that understands Audi's!??
    Any recommendations?

Passats do this also.

SARASON wrote: »
    Passats do this also.

I'd say a lot of cars do this!...Its just a shame they couldnt put stronger wiring in while there doing the job!