Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Classic for a 22 year old

• 02-08-2010 10:17am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,536 ✭✭✭

Any thoughts on a diesel classic for a 22 year old guys? No old mercs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,815 ✭✭✭✭Anan1

At 22 i'd check out insurance first, see what your options are.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 65 ✭✭bobdole968

there are no options you have to wait till your 25
    some companys now say you have to be 30 before you can drive a classic car
    you might get lucky with some of the smaller cars under 2 ltr but not the muscle cars

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,501 ✭✭✭Alfasudcrazy

I have done the diesel classic search already and other than the Mk I Golf there were very few small diesel cars available 30 years ago.

You are very unlikely to find a roadworthy Mk I Golf diesel so the only alternative is usually a diesel Mercedes or a petrol classic that has had a diesel engine fitted into it.

In any case you usually can't get insurance on a classic if its going to also be your full time car - you need a normal modern car also.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,536 ✭✭✭hamsterboy

Cheers for all the pointers guys. This won't be his main car. Just something to tinker about with. He's pretty handy with engines etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,037 ✭✭✭shagman

If that's tinkering but not driving on public roads then insurance isn't an issue.Better off with petrol though AFAIK most classic (30yr + ) diesel engines are dogs. It is only in the last two decades that they got them properly sorted before then they were smoky and not so poky!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,461 ✭✭✭Max_Damage

bobdole968 wrote: »

Wrong. Carol Nash's minimum age for classic insurance is 23. I should know, I'm with them for my Escort Mk3, and I'm only 23.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,410 ✭✭✭bbam

Full?id=3499112
    http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/vintagecars/1429271

Something like this would be perfect..
    Simple engineering, not real fast but good to hold the road...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,414 ✭✭✭kdouglas

What about a Series Land Rover? Plenty of diesel ones about, not too expensive and fairly handy to work on too.

kdouglas wrote: »
    What about a Series Land Rover? Plenty of diesel ones about, not too expensive and fairly handy to work on too.

My cousin has one, indeed an easy engine to work on. Many Land Rover's out there with Transit converted engines.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 353 ✭✭DaveCol

Peugeot 205 diesel?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 375 ✭✭KingIsabella

I'm 19 and looking for a classic as a daily runner. I'm thinking a mini is the only viable option for me, which suits me grand because i've loved them for years!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,191 ✭✭✭_Conrad_

bobdole968 wrote: »
    some companys now say you have to be 30 before you can drive a classic car
    you might get lucky with some of the smaller cars under 2 ltr but not the muscle cars

that's a silly thing to say, classic insurane at 22 no, but that does not mean you can't drive and insure some classics at that age. I've had a wide and varied selection of cars on the road since i was 17 and while some stuff is out of the question at a young age, there are cool old motors that you CAN drive and insure.

hamsterboy wrote: »
    Cheers for all the pointers guys. This won't be his main car. Just something to tinker about with. He's pretty handy with engines etc.

How old does he want it? (30 plus or would something 80s do?) and is there anything he likes in particular he likes?

I'm 19 and looking for a classic as a daily runner. I'm thinking a mini is the only viable option for me, which suits me grand because i've loved them for years!

you'll be able to get one and drive it, i know a couple of people in their late teens to early 20s driving minis. You'd probably be best off getting a 90s one (still the old shape though, looks just the same over all) for ease of insuring it for every day use, but if you really want a 60s or 70s one you should still be able to do it

Max_Damage wrote: »
    My cousin has one, indeed an easy engine to work on. Many Land Rover's out there with Transit converted engines.

and isuzu, daihatsu, VM and Nissan engines to. As well as real havey duty stuff like perkins agri engines and US cummins and detroit diesels but those are far rare than the japanese conversions.

By the way hello, (AR from efi here, who else would be ranting on about manky old diesels and 80s cars)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,536 ✭✭✭hamsterboy

_Conrad_ wrote: »
    How old does he want it? (30 plus or would something 80s do?) and is there anything he likes in particular he likes?
    Something 80's would be perfect. Related the posts to him and now he says feck the diesel thing, as long as it's "interesting" :)

HB

hamsterboy wrote: »
    Something 80's would be perfect. Related the posts to him and now he says feck the diesel thing, as long as it's "interesting" :)

HB

I say let him have a diesel if he wants, that nonsense about diesels from the 80s and back being "dogs" is just that, they were slow yes, and noisy, but as engines they still did their job and were more efficient fuel-wise than the petrols of the day. Of course it's true that they were far from being as close in quietness and "performance" (taking that to mean speed when most people talk about it) but there are different kinds of performance, if it's happily clattering away using feck all fuel and maybe having good torque too then an old diesel is doing it's job.

The world's his oyster when it comes to petrol 80s stuff once it's a max of 2 litres, beyond that insuring it would likely be real hassle, with the exception of some jeeps and vans.

Petrol stuff from the 80s, some of the best (thinkin of semi insurable stuff):

-E30 bmw 316i, fun, easy to modify and to fix, can look really nice with minimal fuss, rwd and nicely balanced. The 1.6's can still be had for ok money if you're getting one to fix up

- Volvo 340 available 1.4 up to 2.0, unusual, rwd, solid, some nice wide wheels and lowering transform them. still cheap if you can find them here, plenty left in uk though

- mini 80s minis stil pretty cheap, very simple, widely loved and fun cars. loads of spares availability, and many many clubs etc dedicated to them

-mk3 Ford capri 1.6, the late spec laser is the pick of the bunch with alloys, rev counter, small spoiler, sunroof and decals. Really easy to work on and a great fun car, they always get lots of attention due to looking like a baby muscle car, plus the 2 litre engine can go straight in later

-mk1/ mk2 fiesta, the mk2's are particularly cheap and can be made to handle like go carts.

For diesels why not run the likes these past him:
    (there's not a lot of "cool" or "pretty" ones but there's some good cars to be had but i'll try put up a few 80s- ish diesels that can be got easily here)

-jetta/ MK2 Golf 1.6d (ot TD if you can find it or a passat td to swap the engine from) huge cult following for these cars so it's dead easy to get most bits

- Sierra 1.8 TD (pretty much the cheapest sierra to insure) although slow and noisy (as many people will happily rant on) you can get some reasonable go out of them by fitting an intercooler and turning up the fuel and boost pressure, plus if he wanted he could put all the RS stuff on

-ford escort/ orion mk4 or mk4, not very exciting but economical little things and not common anymore so would certainly be different

- corolla/ carina diesel, boring as they come but they served many a farmer and country person well and still have a few people who love them

-Peugeot 205/ 309 diesel, not ver common anymore in 80s form but were economical and had tough engines, one of the few things the french made right

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 985 ✭✭✭Miklos

Why no old Mercs?

is he not allowed to just not like old mercs? i do, but i can see why people wouldnt

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32 benny_cakes

There are some unusual alternatives available........

If you looking for something diesel & interesting why not get you hands on a lancia delta or lancia prisma & stick the 1.9td 1929cc fiat diesel engine under the bonnet......supposed to be an easy conversion to do as i think these were originally available with this engine in left hand drive. And those fiat engines are super reliable with the only week points being vacuum pumps & being a bit heavy on diesel. There is also a 1.7 non turbo version available but its slow!

And not to mention the alfa romeo 33 1.8td sportwagon withs its 3 cylinder diesel engine.....i think they were only available in left hand drive thu.

There is also the citroen zx volcane 1.9td.....the worlds 1st hot hatch diesel. A really fantastic car but probably a bit new as they weren't available until 1992.

The lancia delta is particularly interesting as its the worlds most successful rally car as it won 6 world rally championships in a row between 1987 & 1992 & the alfa......well its an alfa!!

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators Posts: 2,957 Mod ✭✭✭✭macplaxton

Volvo 340 available 1.4 up to 2.0, unusual, rwd, solid, some nice wide wheels and lowering transform them. still cheap if you can find them here, plenty left in uk though

What about the seriously slow 1.6 diesel model? Wasn't available in the UK, but I believe they sold them here in RHD.

If I was going for a 1980s diesel, anything with an PSA XUD would do me, but would prefer the magic carpet ride of a Citroen BX.

Volvo 340 available 1.4 up to 2.0, unusual, rwd, solid, some nice wide wheels and lowering transform them. still cheap if you can find them here, plenty left in uk though

Full?id=3749242

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/vintagecars/1493358

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,202 ✭✭✭Bitten & Hisses

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,475 ✭✭✭2cv

volvo really loved their driving off something and crashing into the ground videos didnt they?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=56peHpyZvyM&feature=related
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aN4o8TERuoY&feature=related

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3 ClassicFreak

For someone younger I think a VW beetle is a great choice. Cool looking cars which will be an important factor for a 22 year old, easy to work on and no shortage of parts, most things are available.

Not diesel though...but would it be possible to fit a type 2 diesel engine in there though :rolleyes:

ah... now the stuffy "that's not an original vw bolt made by hitler himself" brigade would really love that ha ha ha. I'd do it, and do it well, and would rather enjoy people freaking out. Wouldnt use a particularly rare or mint one though, but a project one with a knackered engine, why not? maybe a golf gtd engine, dunno quite how well it'd fit but weirder things have been done

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,475 ✭✭✭2cv

the stuffy "that's not an original vw bolt made by hitler himself" brigade

:D:D:D:D:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 121 ✭✭RossDonegan

Don't you have to be 25 for insurance if the carw older than 20years old ?

Not for normal insurance.

As for classic insurance, it's 23 with Carol Nash.

ah... i don't know who told you that, but they're wrong.

No is the answer. Some companys may not quote you (they have to in the end but over the phone or on the internet they might not), axa for one will though.

Right ill be 17 in Jan, im doing a resto on a Kadett C would it be possible to get insured on it ?

You'll pay for it! Quinn don't usually insure cars older than 15 (or maybe it's 20?) years old.

Aviva (Hibernian) do however, but you may need to take that Ignition course first in order to get some sort of quote. Don't expect it to be cheap.

Get your full licence first.

i would say if it's a small engine in it, axa will probably insure you, if you've got the money. My local office anyway seem to be the most straight forward to deal with that i've found so far. None of this hibernian BS where they wanted to charge me 4200 to insure my legacy for example... had been insured with them on 2 diffrent policies since i started driving, yet their premium was 4 times what axa quoted for me to insure a near standard uk spec legacy estate. Since then i've found axa quite handy, letting me drive all sorts of strange stuff. '85 nissan engined opel rekord as a daily driver for example, cortina pickup, etc etc, and they've been ok abiut transferring my insurance onto strange/old/fast stuff too

Shes only a standard 1.2, 64BHP as standard.