Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Worst job

• 01-08-2010 6:50pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,562 ✭✭✭scientific1982

Whats the worst job you've ever had? For me telesales/customer care was the worst. No one should have to talk to that many people in one day.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 87 ✭✭Strange Loop

Coffinmaker, when I was suffering from depression.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,815 ✭✭✭✭galwayrush

Self employment.....
    No Job security,
    No wages most weeks,
    No mercy from revenue,
    No pension fund.

Probably pulling weeds with my hands along a mile stretch.

Saying that though, i would do anything to do it again in this economical climate.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,362 ✭✭✭K4t

Working in a hotel..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,126 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

My current job has me working from home.. which was great to begin with but the boredom is a killer now, and I seem to put doing stuff off until the last minute which is stressful. It's far too easy to procrastinate when there's nothing to stop you from doing so

I've had tough jobs which I've loved.. working for a removals company in San Fransisco.. I'm not the strongest guy in the world and the lads I worked with used to make me take chests of draws etc down fleet upon fleet of stairs without any help.. was a good laugh but I'd say it took years off my life!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 382 ✭✭nobbo

Working in a supermarket..

I'm rather lucky, worst I've had was a waitress in a chinese restaurant when I was 16, worked there for 1 night only, never met more of a b*tch of a manager ever since. I got accused of stealing a tables bill even though I blatently saw one of the fellas that worked there walk over and pocket it...the winked at me :eek: Cheeky b*stard...ofcourse since I was new no amount of arguing was ever going to convince her it wasn't me. So for good measure I took me an enitre tupperware box of pre-made spring rolls :D Gotta love spring rolls like! Looking back that was a bit childish and wrong to do but meh they deserved it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,167 ✭✭✭✭Berty

Worst job was the last one. I hated everyone working there, especially the two fvckfaces who owned the company and the oddball sales manager they hired.

One example.

He wanted 3 phone calls a day updating him on what I was doing along with a daily report of what I had done on Excel, weekly report elaborated on the excel file and a weekly, monthly, quartely and bi annual projection report. One day I was driving from Limerick to Belfast which takes around 4 hours. I left at 8am. He called me around 11am to find out why I had not updated him. IM DRIVING, WAS DRIVING THIS MORNING AND STILL DRIVING NOW. NOTHING TO UPDATE!!!

Got written warning for breaking his rules.

Asshole owners let both of us go 3 months into the job. I still feel happy he lost his job.

FVCKIN ASSHOLE!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 458 ✭✭Boxoffrogs

I used to work in an office in a Residential Care Home. Sometimes I could hear the residents say thing like "oh dear God help me please" repeatedly. More than once on my way in or going home, I'd have to pass a resident being wheeled out on a stretcher all zipped up in a body bag, didn't make for a good start/end to my day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,122 ✭✭✭DerekDGoldfish

When I worked in the pub I did have to remove the odd pair of "discarded" boxers from the toilet as well as one occasion when it looked like someone had used a spraygun.

Still IMO the worst job ever(alough I havent done it) would be chugging, id work down a south afriacan diamond mine before id ever consider chugging

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 539 ✭✭✭DingosAteMyBaby

Selling scratchcards on the street. It's feckin' soulcrushing!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,562 ✭✭✭scientific1982

Selling scratchcards on the street. It's feckin' soulcrushing!!
    And I thought telesales was bad. I couldnt do that job. Id seriously turn to crime instead.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,562 ✭✭✭scientific1982

When I worked in the pub I did have to remove the odd pair of "discarded" boxers from the toilet as well as one occasion when it looked like someone had used a spraygun.

Still IMO the worst job ever(alough I havent done it) would be chugging, id work down a south afriacan diamond mine before id ever consider chugging
    Whats chugging?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,167 ✭✭✭✭Berty

Whats chugging?

Chugging = Mugging.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 262 ✭✭jordan..

Dunnes Stores!

The managers in that place are the prime example of powertripping!!

Horrible people

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,122 ✭✭✭DerekDGoldfish

Whats chugging?

Charity Mugging, the people are paid to get signups from people for various charites.

This guy's job:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,659 ✭✭✭CrazyRabbit

When I was self employed. My boss was a right bastard and had me working 60 hour weeks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,916 ✭✭✭RonMexico

Anything to do with retail...the public are cunts.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 483 ✭✭baltimore sun

d4 pubs for rugby games.

Worlds worse fans, soccer fans are far more well behaved.
    Rugger-buggers for the most part are unbelievable obnoxious tossbags

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,420 ✭✭✭Lollipops23

My last job was awful; I was in ad sales. It was basically ringing companies trying to get them to spend money they genuinely didn't have on ads that didn't work.

The management were dreadful,power-tripping assholes left over from the celtic tiger. They set unachieveable targets and berated us when we didn't get them, humiliated individuals who had bad days and generally nearly killed us with the stress (where they insinuated we'd all be sacked at a moment's notice).

I left for a lower wage job,which is also pretty crappy to work for,but I'm still so much happier.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,778 ✭✭✭Pauleta

Telesales. I thought i interviewed for customer service but on the 1st day they said i was in sales. It felt horrible annoying people in their homes. I personally think it should be illegal. I lasted 1 week. I wasnt bothered about getting rejected it was the fact i knew myself how much i was annoying people. The bloke beside me sold broadband to an elderly women who probably didnt even have a computer. That was the final straw.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,085 ✭✭✭Xiney

Let's see....

I worked for a sadistic dutchman, seeding, planting, weeding, harvesting, packing, storing and loading lettuce. 60 hour weeks, (7am to 6pm 6 days per week, he was Dutch Reform so we got Sundays off!) blistering hot in July and August (this was in Southern Ontario), and rampant sexism ahoy hoy.

Thing is, I liked that job. Taught me the value of a dollar and to work hard.

My worst job was actually a desk job. Hated lying to people selling advertising. Only job I ever had to quit. The newspaper went bust a few weeks back though, happy days!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,382 ✭✭✭✭greendom

galwayrush wrote: »
    Self employment.....
    No Job security,
    No wages most weeks,
    No mercy from revenue,
    No pension fund.

Absolutely, not to mention no holiday or sick pay

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,394 ✭✭✭mojesius

Has to be the hellhole J1 waitressing job I got the 1st time I moved to NYC. No wages whatsoever (it all went on taxes apparently, never saw one wages slip), made about $40 tips per shift because the management overstaffed, had to work from 10am - 2am six days a week with a 20 minute break (even though the place was dead). At the end of the shift, you'd nearly have to beg them if you could leave for the night.

The owners hated smokers so you weren't even allowed to go for a cig on your designated break, plus they constantly watched on cameras from their house, in case you left the building. It was like being in prison, I lived on cheerios for the entire duration to pay my rent.

I still smile fondly when I recall the day I got a new job, and told the owners to stick their crappy job up their a*se. They said it was completely unprofessional of me to leave them in the lurch without any notice and warned me that my new job sounded like a scam. Worst part was that these owners were a young Irish couple from my area, completely taking advantage of people who had just moved there and who knew feck all about employment law, just to make more money.

I rarely call anyone this but they were total c*nts.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,448 ✭✭✭✭Cupcake_Crisis

Working in a certian well known accessories shop. They make you practically harrass the customers. Being friendly to rude people for 8 hours a day just wasnt working for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 236 ✭✭didntgotoplan

A takeaway.
    One of the chefs, who owned the place, decided to give this one woman the wrong thing as she was driving them mad with demands every week. She comes back in and the kitchen gives her something else, not what she wanted. She rings in screaming down the phone about how I made the mistake and she wants the right food sent to her. She doesn't stop insulting me until I get upset over it, which the chef thinks is hilarious. She comes in the next day and makes a complaint about me, in which the wife of the owner gives out and docks me pay for the food "wasted". This happened any time some order was left or not collected too!

I was working with a girl who was a friend of the owner's wife. She used to go off for a smoke during busy hours, go off for a chat with the wife leaving me doing everything alone. Then the till began being short €50 everytime she was on with me, which I was questioned about a few times. Turns out the girl was stealing it. She never got fired for doing it.

So I was sick of being messed around with and handed in my notice. The owners told me I couldn't handle any other job as I was a mess and a bad worker.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,487 ✭✭✭Mister men

Worked in citibank for a few months and was on savage money but it was horrible horrible work. In a lower paid job now but go home and can look myself in the mirror at least.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,900 ✭✭✭rannerap

mc donalds :( hell on earth

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,467 ✭✭✭Wazdakka

Sex vending machine....

I was always running out of change :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 692 ✭✭✭i-digress

I worked in a call centre for around a year doing market research. Calling people in there free time and asking them ridiculous questions ('Last time you went to a service station and bought a filled roll, did you find the hot counter display very appealing, quite appealing, neither appealing or unappealing, quite unappealing, or very unappealing?')

People hate market research calls, and I couldn't blame them. They're intrusive and boring. I got shouted at quite a lot by angry callers-who were being rung at ten in the morning on a bank holiday Monday.

I hated it. Never again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 363 ✭✭dan de man

planting trees in the forestry.wintertime.frozen ground,pissing rain.up a steep mountainside,next to impossible to make 30 quid a day,ill never forget it:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,101 ✭✭✭MitchKoobski

My semi-recent job as customer service for eh...ChatChat.....
    Every second call is someone screaming at me because of something the backend sales team did.
    1. Indian sales team call customer even though I've already tried removing their number from the call list.
    2. Sales team promise customer months of free service and free connection and 'we will pay your BT cancellation fee'.
    3. Sales team call customer, customer says "Yeah sounds good, just send me some more details and I'll sign up online." Sales team then place full order.
    Customer then calls me, looking for their free credit or refund or free laptop and I have the pleasure of explaining to them that none of it exists while they scream down the phone because "YOU CALLED ME AND ASKED ME TO BE A CUSTOMER. THIS IS YOUR FAULT." You have to have incredible patience and eventually it got to the stage where everytime a customer gets pissy with me I just turn everything back at them and stop trying being nice.

Example:
    "I have been offline for a week. I want a refund of my 14.99."
    "Well I can see here sir that you dont actually pay for your broadband, if you look at the bill there you can see 0.00 next to broadband."
    "Well its still part of my service."
    "Understandable, but at the same time you pay 14.99 per month, not per week. So the maximum I would offer you is £4.00 credit, but I cant do that because you havent let us try and fix the problem."
    "The problem is your ****ing service now GIVE ME MY MONEY BACK."
    "Please don't swear at me sir I am trying to explain the situation so we can get it fixed."
    "I'll say what the **** I want to you."
    "You're entitled to say what you want but if you do swear me again I'll hang up the phone."
    "YOU CALL THIS CUSTOMER SERVICE!? GIVE ME MY CREDIT NOW"
    "Well no Im not going to do that because you're barking orders at me, and I happen to think that we provide great customer service but thats probably a bit biased coming from me because I work in customer service is it not?"
    "AAARRGGGGGGGHHH"

I've since been moved from customer service to the back office where I call customers and tell them why they won't be getting the credit that Sales promised them....oh joy....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,969 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

Worked as a kitchen porter.

Hours over a sinking with hot water scrubbing pots and steam in your face.
    Scrubbing floors as management too cheap to buy a power washer.
    Emptying bins, cleaning drains.

And the worst part are bullying chefs!
    I know it's a high pressure job but they take it out on everyone :(
    Gordon Ramsey is a pussy compared to the chefs who started on me

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,362 ✭✭✭K4t

And the worst part are bullying chefs!
    I know it's a high pressure job but they take it out on everyone :(
    +1 Serious power trippers some of them:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,659 ✭✭✭CrazyRabbit

Well he scares me!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,810 ✭✭✭ergonomics

I've had jobs that I hated but looking back I think a lot of it was due to my lack of confidence. Most of my crap jobs were due to power-tripping managers or managers who just had no idea how to do their jobs. I think the worst is when you're in a big shop with three or four managers who all have different ways of doing things. Manager A says do something in such a way. Manager B comes along and gives out to you for not doing it their way. Then Manager C comes along and gives out for not doing it their way. Finally Manager A comes back and roars at you because you ignored their instructions.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

Self employment.....
    No Job security,
    No wages most weeks,
    No mercy from revenue,
    No pension fund.
    +1. Even though what I was doing was really interesting and enjoyable, all of the above took the good out of it - and the way plans were just impossible. It made the idea of a mundane job most appealing.
    My current job has me working from home.. which was great to begin with but the boredom is a killer now
    I worked from home a lot when I was self employed - the lack of structure was not good, and the loneliness was the worst.
    i-digress wrote: »
    I worked in a call centre for around a year doing market research. Calling people in there free time and asking them ridiculous questions ('Last time you went to a service station and bought a filled roll, did you find the hot counter display very appealing, quite appealing, neither appealing or unappealing, quite unappealing, or very unappealing?')

People hate market research calls, and I couldn't blame them. They're intrusive and boring. I got shouted at quite a lot by angry callers-who were being rung at ten in the morning on a bank holiday Monday.

I hated it. Never again.
    Fair play to you for lasting a year - I lasted four days! Definitely the worst job I ever had, even if the managers/co-workers were nice.
    I'm on inbound now and it's fine - customer care is not for everyone but I quite like it.

Certain things I would rather be on the dole than do though: chugging, cold-calling, door-to-door sales.

• Cleaning hotel bathrooms all day, every day. I've done call centre work and promotions and all sorts of things, but nothing comes close to how truly god awful that was. I don't know what possessed me to stay.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,533 ✭✭✭Donkey Oaty

Dudess wrote: »
    Certain things I would rather be on the dole than do though: chugging, cold-calling, door-to-door sales.

Totally agree. It's soul-destroying stuff. I'd rather shovel ****.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 539 ✭✭✭DingosAteMyBaby

Dudess wrote: »

I've had all three of those jobs in the last year. I've decided that I'd rather be unemployed, broke and in debt than do that sh*t.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,533 ✭✭✭Donkey Oaty

I've had all three of those jobs in the last year. I've decided that I'd rather be unemployed, broke and in debt than do that sh*t.

Good call. You still have your dignity, and I mean it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 159 ✭✭Gaudizeit

I would have to say picking tomatoes. Worked one day for about 12 hours and made about AUS$4. Back breaking, and demoralising.

Also worked in a market research company where one person said they would cut my balls off if I ever rang again. I enjoyed those calls though. Never pick tomatoes though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,009 ✭✭✭✭Run_to_da_hills

I worked for a Garbage truck repair yard in Boston in the late 80's although the money was good I hated it, hated the boss. Had a big row over hydraulic rods which he accused me of damaging, gave in my notice, was refused my week in hand so swiped the equivilant value in tools from the store before I left. :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 412 ✭✭Hackysack

Ah mine isn't as bad as a lot of people's would be. Anyway, I worked in a cleverly named hallmarky/birthday card kind of shop.

On the outside, to customers it was a really happy, wonderful place with balloons, cards, toys and wonder.

Behind the staff door it was awful. Dank, huge boxes, a mess everywhere and the kind of place you wouldn't want to be in when there's a fire.

I was the only lad on the staff, so guess who was put in the store-room to tidy all of the stuff and get the entire stock room organised etc. It was just generally unpleasant

I lasted three days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 437 ✭✭leedsfan88

Steel Fixer in London, was up at 4.30 in the morning, trains from 5 until I arrived at work at 7 and started my 7 to 5 day, 6 days a week and I did it for 4 weeks before fvcking back off home, but it paid about £750 a week.

I missed home so much, missed having any time to myself and my friends also I was only 16 at the time, but even if i was unemployed and offered it again I'd never again do it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 208 ✭✭dunleakelleher

Self employment.....
    No Job security,
    No wages most weeks,
    No mercy from revenue,
    No pension fund.
    no dole

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,951 ✭✭✭dixiefly

mojesius wrote: »
    Has to be the hellhole J1 waitressing job I got the 1st time I moved to NYC. No wages whatsoever (it all went on taxes apparently, never saw one wages slip), made about $40 tips per shift because the management overstaffed, had to work from 10am - 2am six days a week with a 20 minute break (even though the place was dead). At the end of the shift, you'd nearly have to beg them if you could leave for the night.

The owners hated smokers so you weren't even allowed to go for a cig on your designated break, plus they constantly watched on cameras from their house, in case you left the building. It was like being in prison, I lived on cheerios for the entire duration to pay my rent.

I still smile fondly when I recall the day I got a new job, and told the owners to stick their crappy job up their a*se. They said it was completely unprofessional of me to leave them in the lurch without any notice and warned me that my new job sounded like a scam. Worst part was that these owners were a young Irish couple from my area, completely taking advantage of people who had just moved there and who knew feck all about employment law, just to make more money.

I rarely call anyone this but they were total c*nts.

are they still in business over there? If so would you care to name and shame? I would not like to give them the benefit of my custom when over there.