Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Landlord Horror Stories

• 01-08-2010 3:26pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,897 ✭✭✭

Just came from A&C and wow, there are some stories in there that would bring a tear to your eye. I cannot believe the cheek of some landlords that chance their arm with everything from cleaning deposits to upping the rent price on you. I'm sure we've all had 'cleaning money' taken from our deposits and chancers that never return your call when you try and tell them about repairs etc. What are your worse stories?

Mine was when a landlady too 100 euro off us when we forgot to clean out the inside of the microwave - yes we should have argued but we were young and foolish and thought what's 25 each! Thieving chancers the lot of them!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,555 ✭✭✭✭AckwelFoley

cleaning deposits?

If you rent a houlse and leave it like a tip clean it after you or lose the deposit (granted the 100 quid for the microwave is acting the bollix)

I rented a house, arsehole decides to leave holes the size of my thumb in the wall to hang a picture..

Wrecks the blinds that i paid for..

breaks the stove glass thying to logs in it

Tries to open the Sewer cover on the path, cant so he smashes it open with a hammer, the genius never thought of using a scre driver to lift it up.

Thinks its fine to let his kinds draw all over the walls

The new leather sofa, that ripped too..

Am i supposed to pay for that? Yes he pays rent, to live in it. Not to wreck the house.

If i rent a car, i have to leave back the car in the same condition i got it.

There are arsehole landlords, trust me there are alot of arsehole tennants

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,508 ✭✭✭ElaElaElano

Different kind of horror story, my ex went down to the corner shop to get bread one Sunday morning, so I'm doing breakfast naked as you do on Sundays, and five minutes later there's a knock on the door, I run across to let her in- except who was standing there only the landlord, and two property professionals to do measurements, the lot of them in suits.

so I'm doing breakfast naked as you do on Sundays, and five minutes later there's a knock on the door, I run across to let her in- except who was standing there only the landlord, and two property professionals to do measurements, the lot of them in suits.

Did you offer them a bit of your sausage at least?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,931 ✭✭✭az2wp0sye65487

Different kind of horror story, my ex went down to the corner shop to get bread one Sunday morning, so I'm doing breakfast naked as you do on Sundays, and five minutes later there's a knock on the door, I run across to let her in- except who was standing there only the landlord, and two property professionals to do measurements, the lot of them in suits.

Should've told them to fcuk right off... No right to show up without prior agreement from the tenant!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,612 ✭✭✭Dardania

Should've told them to fcuk right off... No right to show up without prior agreement from the tenant!

Absolutely right, although is there more to this story? Was your lease expiring?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,508 ✭✭✭ElaElaElano

Dardania wrote: »
    Absolutely right, although is there more to this story? Was your lease expiring?

Yeah, the lease was up about five weeks from when they showed up. Not complaining that they showed up, just that it was dead embarrassing!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,897 ✭✭✭Kimia

snyper wrote: »
    cleaning deposits?

If you rent a houlse and leave it like a tip clean it after you or lose the deposit (granted the 100 quid for the microwave is acting the bollix)

Incorrect. You cannot hold a deposit for cleaning.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,931 ✭✭✭az2wp0sye65487

Yeah, the lease was up about five weeks from when they showed up. Not complaining that they showed up, just that it was dead embarrassing!

Even so, all it takes is a quick phone call from the landlord: "As your lease is due to expire in 5 weeks, when would suit you for me to call round with some people to take measurements..?"

Kimia wrote: »

Do you think its ok to leave a house like a tip?

No, but what's that got to do with anything?

Horror land lord stories, tend to come about because people who rent property eventually get shafted by arseholes that wreck their property

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,252 ✭✭✭deisedevil

Do you think it's ok for landlords to chance their arm and take money out of your deposit to supposedly have a cleaner come in? You do realise there are good tenants as well as bad tenants and both landlords and tenants get screwed over.

I had a landlord try this one on. The house was spotless, exactly as we got it. My other half called her for the deposit and she told her she would be taking half the money out for cleaning.

I called her up and let her know straight away that I was going to have an indpendent witness call out to the house with her there and see where exactly needed cleaning. She then started stammering and getting flustered and said there's no need to do that and that all that needed to be done was to give the hallway floor a run of a mop (400 quid of my deposit to give a floor a run of a mop!). It turned out after that she hadn't even been out to see the house at all, she didn't even have a key to get into it as she had given us the only key she had when we moved in. She got very embarrassed when I said it to her.

There's bad tenants and bad landlords.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,080 ✭✭✭✭Micky Dolenz

Psycho is a good Landlord Horror story.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,339 ✭✭✭✭tman

The last place I moved into wasn't professionally cleaned before we moved in - fairly grubby carpet, windows etc - but sadly the lease was handed over to a different letting agency a few weeks before we moved out, and the old ones had neglected to mention this...
    Ended up getting money taken off our deposit by the scum despite leaving it MUCH cleaner than it originally was:mad:
    Spent weeks contesting it, but eventually just gave in due to being flat broke after paying the deposit for a new place..

Moving house again now and the letting agency are now asking for a reference from my new employer, even though I haven't even ****ing started with them yet or met anybody apart from the 2 interviews!:rolleyes:

Wish I could have gone with a private landlord this time...

Horror land lord stories, tend to come about because people who rent property eventually get shafted by arseholes that wreck their property

I'm sure thats sometimes the case, but why don't you go and start your own thread on Horror Tenants? This is about horror landlord stories.

I don't really care about the tragic stories which give us insight into why some landlords are d*cks. Stop hijacking the thread!

I'm sure thats sometimes the case, but why don't you go and start your own thread on Horror Tenants? This is about horror landlord stories.

I don't really care about the tragic stories which give us insight into why some landlords are d*cks. Stop hijacking the thread!

No bother, you can have your typical whinge / moan / rant AH thread.

Avoid rational debate and context at all cost.

Have fun

No bother, you can have your typical whinge / moan / rant AH thread.

Avoid rational debate and context at all cost.

Have fun

Why thank you for your generosity! :rolleyes:

tman wrote: »
    The last place I moved into wasn't professionally cleaned before we moved in - fairly grubby carpet, windows etc - but sadly the lease was handed over to a different letting agency a few weeks before we moved out, and the old ones had neglected to mention this...
    Ended up getting money taken off our deposit by the scum despite leaving it MUCH cleaner than it originally was:mad:
    Spent weeks contesting it, but eventually just gave in due to being flat broke after paying the deposit for a new place..

Moving house again now and the letting agency are now asking for a reference from my new employer, even though I haven't even ****ing started with them yet or met anybody apart from the 2 interviews!:rolleyes:

Wish I could have gone with a private landlord this time...

Ya see that's how they get you - they are the ones in control of the deposit so bar going to the PRTB and spending months trying to get it back most people would just say f*ck it and take the remainder. That's why some landlords still try this crap with tenants.

I swear to god if I ever get the 'I'm taking a portion for a professional cleaner' I will tell them to go right ahead but I will report them to the PRTB, and I will never let it go until I get the money back. It's the f*cking principle of the thing.

You wouldn't believe some of the stories that are out there, landlords refusing to take calls when there is dangerous mould growing all over the place (all over clothes, bedlinen, walls etc), landlords showing up unannounced and demanding to be let in, god it makes my blood boil. How dare they !:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,006 ✭✭✭MistyCheese

Landlord horror stories, eh? I may have a little thing or two to contribute.

As for leaving the place "like a tip", my last landlord tried this. I couldn't believe the :mad:ing cheek of him to say that the flat wasn't clean, I went back to that flat the day after moving out to vacuum the floors, move all the furniture back to their original locations, clean the windows etc, and he had the nerve to say the flat wasn't clean. I did such a thorough job that I found a piece of jewellery behind a chest of drawers that I thought I'd never see again. So I'm still glad that I did the right thing. Even though he left me without an oven for 4 months.

My current landlord, he came up to the flat 10 months after I signed the lease with ESB and Bord Gais bills. I asked him why he hadn't passed them on to me before then and he claims he forgot. For 10 months. They totalled over €500 combined by that stage.

The flat I am in right now has no backdoor, no oven, the toilet is broken, the freezer part of the fridge-freezer has no door and therefore does not function as a freezer (luckily I have my own freezer) and no heating. At all. Never has had. Remember winter just gone? Yeah, I spent that winter in a flat with no heating. Well, I bought my own heater but the landlord didn't know that. As far as he knows I became a Misty Cheese-sical for a few months there.

*Have you told the landlord about these things?* Yes, at the various stages when they started falling apart. When they were small problems and easily fixed. The heating was mentioned to him when I moved in. His responses were pretty much: "Oh right, I'll see to that." "No, I haven't forgotton, I'll get to it." "Okay, I'll be up Tuesday." "Oh yeah, I did say Tuesday didn't I? Leave it with me." "Um, what was wrong with it again?"

As for leaving the place "like a tip", my last landlord tried this. I couldn't believe the :mad:ing cheek of him to say that the flat wasn't clean, I went back to that flat the day after moving out to vacuum the floors, move all the furniture back to their original locations, clean the windows etc, and he had the nerve to say the flat wasn't clean. I did such a thorough job that I found a piece of jewellery behind a chest of drawers that I thought I'd never see again. So I'm still glad that I did the right thing. Even though he left me without an oven for 4 months.
    "

He sounds like a prick

My current landlord, he came up to the flat 10 months after I signed the lease with ESB and Bord Gais bills. I asked him why he hadn't passed them on to me before then and he claims he forgot. For 10 months. They totalled over €500 combined by that stage.

Why didnt you ask him before hand for the bills? Yes he should have given you the bill but did you think the heating and electricity was free?

The flat I am in right now has no backdoor, no oven, the toilet is broken, the freezer part of the fridge-freezer has no door and therefore does not function as a freezer (luckily I have my own freezer) and no heating. At all. Never has had. Remember winter just gone? Yeah, I spent that winter in a flat with no heating. Well, I bought my own heater but the landlord didn't know that. As far as he knows I became a Misty Cheese-sical for a few months there.

*Have you told the landlord about these things?* Yes, at the various stages when they started falling apart. When they were small problems and easily fixed. The heating was mentioned to him when I moved in. His responses were pretty much: "Oh right, I'll see to that." "No, I haven't forgotton, I'll get to it." "Okay, I'll be up Tuesday." "Oh yeah, I did say Tuesday didn't I? Leave it with me." "Um, what was wrong with it again?"

Sounds like a dump, you should move out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,111 ✭✭✭peanuthead

So did they take the measurements? :p

Why didnt you ask him before hand for the bills?

I should have expected this. :rolleyes: In what world would anyone think "Well, you should have asked for the bills." Of course I asked him for the bills, several times. Very telling that you assume it's my fault and that I didn't ask for the bills. However I also asked for repairs to be carried out. I might as well have asked him to bring me some water and turn it into wine.
    Sounds like a dump, you should move out.

I am.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,810 ✭✭✭ergonomics

When my boyfriend and his friends left their last place the landlord kept the FULL deposits because the mattresses were used. Well, what were they supposed to do with the mattresses?

the classic response to landlords not wanting to give deposit back is to just not pay the last months rent, and forefeit any hope of a decent reference. Thankfully, of my last two landlords, none have been dodgy about the deposit

MistyCheese, tell me you've reported that wideboy or widegirl to the PRTB? Vultures of that calibre should be hounded out of the market...

I should have expected this. :rolleyes: In what world would anyone think "Well, you should have asked for the bills." Of course I asked him for the bills, several times. Very telling that you assume it's my fault and that I didn't ask for the bills. However I also asked for repairs to be carried out. I might as well have asked him to bring me some water and turn it into wine.

You didnt say you asked for it, so i cant presume you did. I didnt at any point assume it your fault. I would advise however where possible that you get the bills in your own name and addresed to your apartment.

Alot of places that are up for rent are pretty ****ty, if the rent is reflecting he condition of the apartment fair enough, you pay for what you get, but if you are paying top rate for an apartment that is not what you expected it to be on viewing, take it as a bad expierence and move on.

People that have property and expect to rent them and then dont keep the property in a liveavle condition shouldnt expect to have tennants for too long.

Its bad business.

You didnt say you asked for it, so i cant presume you did.

Well, Snyps, I didn't think anyone would come to the conclusion "She didn't ask for the bills." So we both assumed a little and we were both wrong.
    MistyCheese, tell me you've reported that wideboy or widegirl to the PRTB? Vultures of that calibre should be hounded out of the market...

I have and am awaiting their advice. I don't even know what advice to expect tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,111 ✭✭✭peanuthead

moving out soon on my own. A little afraid to be honest. Hope I don't find myself in one of these awful situations that others seem to have had!!

peanuthead wrote: »
    moving out soon on my own. A little afraid to be honest. Hope I don't find myself in one of these awful situations that others seem to have had!!

go for a few viewings, bring a friend that's rented for a while for expereince. And trust your gut instinct! It's a renters market at the moment so don't be worried about turning away

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,087 ✭✭✭paddydriver

Check the contract... nothing you cannot do if someone sign's up to it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,018 ✭✭✭Mike 1972

ergonomics wrote: »
    When my boyfriend and his friends left their last place the landlord kept the FULL deposits because the mattresses were used. Well, what were they supposed to do with the mattresses?

http://www.prtb.ie/

http://www.consumerconnect.ie/eng/Get_Your_Rights/Going_To_Court_Guide/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,257 ✭✭✭SoupyNorman

Mike 1972 wrote: »

A true joke of an outfit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,748 ✭✭✭tony1kenobi

The first place I rented the landlord kept back 100 quid because of a mark on the carpet where someone had laft an iron on it.Thing is the mark was under a bed that had never been moved.No point arguing at the time but it was obviously a crafty one on his part.

The next 2 times I rented I just didn't pay the last months rent.The first one was an agency.They called about the missed payment and I said "keep the deposit for my last months rent"....they replied "that's not how we do it"....so I said "that's how I do it"......they rang a couple more times asking could I drop in some money but I just said no you're grand.

The last place I did the same thing and the landlord just said fair enough.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,992 ✭✭✭✭gurramok

Check the contract... nothing you cannot do if someone sign's up to it.

Witholding deposit because of cleaning is illegal. Witholding because of damage is legal, some landlords forget this.

The first place I rented the landlord kept back 100 quid because of a mark on the carpet where someone had laft an iron on it.Thing is the mark was under a bed that had never been moved.No point arguing at the time but it was obviously a crafty one on his part.

I'd insist on having the old carpet, or at least the section with the burn ;-)

Here's one for ye lads, I lived in the UK for 6 months at the end of 08 to Jan 09, working with my company. The house was originally meant to be a 5 bed but the landlord decided to convert both sitting rooms into bedrooms too, so obviously we had 7 of us in the house then. So to top it off, he decides to slap a shítty flat packed B&Q conservatory on the side of the house which was now meant to be our new sitting room. It was roughly 6ft by 8ft in size, leaking, no heating and the light was the old outside halogen 500Watt spotlight over the back door of the house (which we eventually got changed). The room was completely visible to the passers by on the road so everyone could see what we were doing. Bear in mind I was living in the house at the end of 08 so it was the height of winter so trying to watch TV while it was pelting rain on to the cheap ass plastic corrugated roof was a nightmare. The original outside tap was still on the wall too. So, the moral of my scéal is never let your employer pick out your accomodation if the send you abroad! :mad:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 164 ✭✭yogy

Whatever about people telling stories of past horror stories I have fcuk all sympathy for anyone who is currently living in a **** hole with a cnut of a landlord...

If your oven doesn't work or there's **** on the walls and the landlord isn't willing to fix it then just tell him to go fcuk himself. Let him keep the deposit as last month's rent and find a new place..

It's a renter's markets out there and landlords who try to abuse their tenants will quickly find themselves paying their mortgage all on their own!

Having said that, for every prick of a landlord there's a nightmare of a tenant!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,456 ✭✭✭Jev/N

A true joke of an outfit.

Got a judgment from them in our favour (tenants), waiting for an enforcement letter and I will take it to the Circuit Court if nothing happens.

It took awhile but I was happy enough with the process