Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Would you give an alibi for murder?

• 31-07-2010 8:40pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,879 ✭✭✭Coriolanus

Just thinking, after reading this, about whether or not the FBIs idea of family members sheltering the alleged killers is true.

So, would you protect your nearest and dearest?

Well? 54 votes

Yes, with no reservations/conditions
    0% 0 votes
    Yes, with some reservations/conditions
    5% 3 votes
    No
    38% 21 votes
    Atari Stabastrangerinthethroatuar
    55% 30 votes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,653 ✭✭✭✭amdublin

Nope.

I was thinking about that today reading an article on Joe O'Reilly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,815 ✭✭✭✭galwayrush

Yes, if it was for a slow painful death for a scumbag like Ian Huntley.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 87 ✭✭Strange Loop

Yes, if they asked me and I could do it and it didn't invlove kids or anything sick.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,419 ✭✭✭tommy21

I'd turn them in, but only after a substantial reward had been announced.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

If it was Dexter...... no problem, as the lads kinda cool.

yes but it would depend who they were killing and how of course some people deserve to die

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,748 ✭✭✭tony1kenobi

I've stood by and done nothing for months knowing full well Lucas Johnson was a multiple murderer.I hang my head.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,238 ✭✭✭✭Diabhal Beag

Don't know. It's impossible to know your reaction unless it actually happens. Might try tomorrow.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,228 ✭✭✭epgc3fyqirnbsx

I can't imagine that I would, we were always taught to do the right thing anit's certainly the right thing to take responsability for your actions.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,202 ✭✭✭Jeboa Safari

Depends on the situation, and if it was family, and who was killed, if it was a complete scumbag probably would

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

I don't think that I would, but if I was gonna withhold info from the Gardai I defo wouldn't be doing it while I still had contact with the person.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,941 ✭✭✭caseyann

No, no matter how much i love my family no way.I would much rather have them locked up and visit them and know they arent out killing someone.At least you can stand by them and keep people safe at same time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,221 ✭✭✭BluesBerry

No I would not, it would only prolong the investigation causing extra pain and heartache on the victims family

If a member of my family committed a murder and I knew about it I would go to the gaurds because I could be an accessory

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,783 ✭✭✭Hank_Jones

Jaysus no. I doubt that anyone would even ask me to give an alibi anyway.
    I'm the type of person who likes to keep their crime to speeding on motorways and the extremely occasional smoking of a bit of weed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,234 ✭✭✭thetonynator

I say now that i wouldn't, but in the right circumstances, if it came to it, i think i probably would.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

All depends, would I cover for someone who killed someone because they raped their sister/mother/daughter 4 times and tried to kill them in the Wicklow mountains. Serving only 10 years of a ridiculous 14 year sentence?

Maybe.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,783 ✭✭✭Hank_Jones

All depends, would I cover for someone who killed someone because they raped their sister/mother/daughter 4 times and tried to kill them in the Wicklow mountains. Serving only 10 years of a ridiculous 14 year sentence?

Maybe.

When/what was that?
    More info?

Also, are you trying to tell us something?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

Hank_Jones wrote: »
    When/what was that?
    More info?

Also, are you trying to tell us something?
    http://www.sundayworld.com/columnists/?aid=3802

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 827 ✭✭✭VinnyTGM

Depends on who and why the murderer killed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 692 ✭✭✭i-digress

Definitely not. What if they kill someone else? I love my family, but harbouring a murderer would be a step too far for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

If someone harmed a member of my family and a member of the family took revenge and killed someone,i would have no problem giving an alibi

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,879 ✭✭✭Coriolanus

Forgot to add my own opinion. I pretty much fall into the "depends" group. If it was a family member, good friend, and they'd done the deed for what I might see as justifiable reasons, then I think I probably would.
    Polls interesting. I was expecting it be a lot more nos.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,971 ✭✭✭we'llallhavetea_old

depends but most likely yes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,215 ✭✭✭Mrmoe

I would be in the maybe category as well. It would have to depend on your own moral compass and your sense of justice being served.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 294 ✭✭PARARORY

Like most people are saying - it depends on the case.
    As sick/twisted as it sounds , unfortunately , there are tonnes of people today in the world that deserve to die and If someone in my family ended up killing one of them for whatever reason I wouldnt hesitate to give a fake alibi. Sure If I knew I could get away with it scott free I'd probably kill them myself ... Fred Phelps is number one on my hitlist :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,920 ✭✭✭Einhard

I'd bloody frame most of my family members for murder, never mind hand them in for it!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 294 ✭✭PARARORY

I'd bloody frame most of my family members for murder, let alone hand them in for it!!

Snap!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,941 ✭✭✭caseyann

Einhard wrote: »
    I'd bloody frame most of my family members for murder, never mind hand them in for it!!
    PARARORY wrote: »
    Snap!

I thought i would bump these two posts for future reference.:pac: