Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

A few foxes over the last week. Graphic images.

• 31-07-2010 3:02pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,072 ✭✭✭

A very good week for the lamping, son and I shot 13 foxes over the last week and out for only 4 nights. Missed 4 more but we'll be back :D

First 2, last Friday 23rd, were easy enough I called the cub in and was shot @40y and second vixen would not move so we walked up to about 25y before letting her have it. This vixen did not mind us as we got closer and closer.
    12-07-2010.jpg

Then on Saturday they were all out for the night. These 2 were some of the 6 we shot on this night. Here's 2 Large cubs both called in to about 50y.
    23072010130.jpg

This dog fox just stayed looking at us @120y for to long.
    Castlewarren23-07-2010.jpg

Not much left of that fox after 5 days laying in the field is there.
    Castlewarrenfox5dayslater29-07-2010.jpg

Tuesday saw another 2 go to dogie heven. This time when i put the lamp across the field it was like Blackpool lights. There were at least 6 if not 7 foxes in the field. As one turned away and I lost the eye reflection another would turn to the lamp. Eye's all over the place. I'd say both adults were in the field along with their cubs. Anyway 2 got the Hornaday 55VMax, 1 @150y the other @210y.
    Only got the one photo which shows both sides
    of a cub. VMax went in but no exit wound.
    200yfoxshotatcornerofcastlewarrenandlarkinspub29-07-2010.jpg200yfoxshotatcornerofcastlewarrenandlarkinspub29-07-20102.jpg

Last night was quite to start with and This fox fell at midnight. But around 2am we managed to get 2 more on the way back to the house.

Also we met AndyH85 and driver on the road doing what's best in the dark. Get any/many??;)
    190yshotupfromstoresXroads31-07-2010.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,271 ✭✭✭✭johngalway

So that's what a fox looks like :cool:

Ye've been busy!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,954 ✭✭✭homerhop

nice going there, corn is just being cut around me with still a lot of wheat standing. Looking forward to seeing it all cut so i can get out

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,898 ✭✭✭poulo6.5

johngalway wrote: »

Ye've been busy!

That's the same fox put in different poses.

Only messing good work clivej:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,096 ✭✭✭bunny shooter

Next week and I'll be out for Charles :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166 ✭✭Spannerman7

Good Work, well done to the two of ye

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,072 ✭✭✭clivej

Next week and I'll be out for Charles :cool:

We'll have em all gone before then ;)
    We'll working our way towards your area of the country.:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,590 ✭✭✭Tackleberrywho

I was out today, shot a bunny for the fox-trap.

I saw the hazel tree had a few nuts on it, and as I was feeling peckish I sampled a few.

I got a feeling and for some reason looked over my shoulder, here was a young fox 10~ yards from me.

He was eyeballing me.
    I slowly moved my hands away from the branches, but quick as a flash he disappeared into the undergrowth.

They are sneaky feckers, he had heard the gunshot and that had brought him out. 4;30pm Broad daylight!

Charlie I'll get ya yet !!

Good going Clive
    I must get back into the lamping :D

johngalway wrote: »

Ye've been busy!

John any word on your gun yet, did you get it back from Fergal all nice and shooting good?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,688 ✭✭✭kerash

Just wondering why did you shoot those?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 451 ✭✭andyone

fair play to ya clive...... there does seem to be an abundace of them this year...... i will have to get my self out with ya.... and you can show me how its supposed to be done...

kerash wrote: »
    Just wondering why did you shoot those?

For sport, end of story :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 348 ✭✭virminhunter

clivej wrote: »

well said, leave some for the rest of us though, will ya...:)

Between John Galway and the KK duo (son & I) we'll have the country cleaned out in no time :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,688 ✭✭✭kerash

clivej wrote: »

Yeah, I thought you might have a better reason.

I actually clicked through without realising it was a post in the hunting forum. I asked the question as i'm interested in why it's done not to start a row.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,096 ✭✭✭bunny shooter

Why would he/I need a "better" reason ?

I actually clicked through without realising it was a post in the hunting forum. I asked the question as i'm interested in why it's done not to start a row.

Well as I say i do it for the sport of the hunt. This for me involves treking through the fields at night staying alert and trying outwit the foxes. Now there is many a night the fox will win, in fact if the true be known they win more that I do.

And I would think that there's many more people that shoot do so for the sport of it than the taking of game for the table. Just wot I think that's all.

cliveJ from KK

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,777 ✭✭✭meathstevie

I shoot foxes for two reasons :

- because I enjoy a couple of hours lamping and shooting foxes
    - to give hares, ground nesting birds and the local poultry a bit of a chance

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 451 ✭✭andyone

I shoot foxes for two reasons :

- because I enjoy a couple of hours lamping and shooting foxes
    - to give hares, ground nesting birds and the local poultry a bit of a chance
    and i shoot em because the local farmer and the many chicken house's on his land are plagued by them...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,195 ✭✭✭patsat

The thing that sticks in my head from the time I ever went deer stalking with my father is

" This ain't all about shooting a deer, thats easy. Its the spotting and tracking of them that makes this so interesting"

My point is when someone says they do it for the sport there is alot more involved other than pulling the trigger and watching an animal fall over.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,271 ✭✭✭✭johngalway

MOD

Three four things.

Trolling won't be tolerated in this forum, user infracted.

Replying to trolls isn't helping the mods workload.

Back seat moderating is not on either.

Also, be civil and act like an adult in tone and conversation.

Some posts deleted to clean up the thread.

/MOD

patsat wrote: »
    The thing that sticks in my head from the time I ever went deer stalking with my father is

" This ain't all about shooting a deer, thats easy. Its the spotting and tracking of them that makes this so interesting"

My point is when someone says they do it for the sport there is alot more involved other than pulling the trigger and watching an animal fall over.

“Not the quarry, but the chase, Not the trophy, but the race”
    Abe Lincoln
    (and one of my da's quotes)

The 100 times you get soaked, stung with nettles, cut with brambles & barbed wire, covered in muck......
    Is all made worth while with that one time you go out and get your most illusive quarry;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 61 ✭✭andyh85

well clive, didnt get any more after we seen you out, we did see a few but didnt get any shots in due to lack of a backstop and one more bein foo far out. you done well for yourself over the week!!we ended up finishin up about a hour after runnin into yee.
    Id say we may look further away for foxes, you will ave them all wiped out if you keep it up!!!Were all those foxes got in the same area we met yee???

andyh85 wrote: »
    well clive, didnt get any more after we seen you out, we did see a few but didnt get any shots in due to lack of a backstop and one more bein foo far out. you done well for yourself over the week!!we ended up finishin up about a hour after runnin into yee.
    Id say we may look further away for foxes, you will ave them all wiped out if you keep it up!!!Were all those foxes got in the same area we met yee???

Andy we got 2 more on the way back. It was the best week for us ever.

That is the usual area we shoot the foxes in, near to home and easy on the feet. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 61 ✭✭andyh85

ah their are a good few foxes round but the amount of rabbits around has seriously thinned out, prob due to the foxes or else th big freeze in january prob killed alot of them off. has anyone else noticed this in their area???

Rabbit numbers are deffo down

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,896 ✭✭✭jap gt

local farmer made bales last thursday, i stood at the gate that evening and counted 3 rabbits in the field, first rabbits in the area in a long time, so i decided id lamp that area incase charlie was after them, got 4 foxes in two fields, next day no sign of rabbits :mad: roll on 223/204 for some serious foxing, lamping is seriously addictive

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,920 ✭✭✭Dusty87

fodda wrote: »
    I dont understand, both are natural wildlife (actually rabbits arent) both have their place in the countryside and also in farming circles both are considered pests, and in the type of farming going on in this area it would be the rabbits who are pest as the foxes as far as i know dont eat grass, barley, oats, or wheat.

So why do you imply the foxes are the villans when the foxes in this type of farming are actually doing the farmer good?

They dont just stay in one field fodda. There could be sheep in the next field, they may rear there own birds. Foxes travel great distances att night

I dont understand, both are natural wildlife (actually rabbits arent) both have their place in the countryside and also in farming circles both are considered pests, and in the type of farming going on in this area it would be the rabbits who are pest as the foxes as far as i know dont eat grass, barley, oats, or wheat.

So why do you imply the foxes are the villans when the foxes in this type of farming are actually doing the farmer good?

foxes have killed loads of my poultry and the farmers a number of times, rabbits dont, rabbits are so rare a sight here that i would love to see their numbers returning, so would the farmer as he loves eating rabbit, do you understand?

I would perfectly understand if there was no other option and people concerned had taken care of their livestock with correct enclosures elctric fencing etc (for poultry) but i dont understand any farmer who would want rabbits in a crop field (if thats what we are talking about)

the poultry are very well fenced (mine more so than the farmers) , but you cant watch them at all times, wasnt a crop field, its ground with about 2 acres of trees in the middle, he feeds it most of the year and usually takes one cut of bales off of it.. i like to see the rabbits hopefully someday there will be enough for the pot, but the farmer was good enough to give me permission the least i can do is shoot the vermin he asks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,393 ✭✭✭✭Vegeta

Were you using the torch on these fellas Clive, how has it been working in the field for you

Vegeta wrote: »
    Were you using the torch on these fellas Clive, how has it been working in the field for you

Working very well. It doesnt move and the is beam is bang on the target when you put the scope ur to your eye. But as i said we use the LF 170 to scan with plugged into the car.
    Using the wam caller to call them in with. Got another 2 last night photos on the way

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,393 ✭✭✭✭Vegeta

Good man Clive

Yeah I have a lightforce for scanning too (well I did until my battery melted itself)

One of the frustrations was always communication between lamp man and shooter. Cost us a noticeable amount last year.

Lamp man going "Shoot, shoot" and me going "Shoot what, I cant see anything". Often it was because the lamp guy was standing up and his view was a little bit better than my prone view. Or because the lamp guy could see the eyes but because the shooter was prone and not always in the same line between lamp and fox, then eyes can be hard to pick up as they don't reflect in every direction.

Might give one of the torches a go

I though there were far more this year. This is the third year we are shooting and the first 2 we hardly saw any rabbits at night. Now the fields are alive with them.

You were asking about the torches well the son is selling his LED "night searcher" with battery and charger for €60. It will be in the sales section later