Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

• 31-07-2010 12:16am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 6,228 ✭✭✭

Has anyone played 25?
    The card game...

I learned to play it not too long ago on a ferry and played it pretty much every day after for a month. Was looking for work and odd jobs at the time with a crowd of lads and we were betting jobs on it, who made the next cup of tea on it, who's gonna make the dinner etc

I haven't played it in a while but loved the game, you can be very cute with it and get a great kick out of knocking someone down who was being too cocky :D

Said this to a few 'cool' mates who slagged it for being a bogger game:rolleyes:
    I hate arguments like that eg 25 for boggers, rugby for posh pr1cks, soccer for knackers and gaa for gombeens.
    A good game is a good game

Anyone else enjoy it or dislike the fact that some people try to confine a game to certain demographics?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,454 ✭✭✭mink_man

thought it was a sequel to 24. :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,688 ✭✭✭Kasabian

Love it , like 45 but for people who can't keep score in their head

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

I'm a man, therefore I play poker.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,554 ✭✭✭✭alwaysadub

Being a Dub, no i've never even heard of it;):pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,838 ✭✭✭✭3hn2givr7mx1sc

Yep I love it, got me Ma and Da to teach me for trips on the ferry over to soccer matches in England.:D

Played it every night for like 2 months straight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,473 ✭✭✭✭Super-Rush

Is 25 the same as whist?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,464 ✭✭✭Celly Smunt

do ya have to have a bag of tayto and tk red lemonade to play?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,228 ✭✭✭epgc3fyqirnbsx

super-rush wrote: »
    Is 25 the same as whist?

Haven't a clue, reds are high and black are low and 5 of truoms is the best.
    You get 5 for every trick and get 25 and you win

Never understood why it wasn't just called 5 and you get 1 for every trick.:confused:

Kick in the bollix is a great games if you're willing to lose the shirt off your back also

pmcmahon wrote: »
    do ya have to have a bag of tayto and tk red lemonade to play?

That or a heifer and two weinling lambs

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,992 ✭✭✭✭gurramok

Gin Rummy is the best card game. 25 is quite good but not the best :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,183 ✭✭✭storm2811

That or a heifer and two weinling lambs

Or dirt encrusted wellies and a discinct smell about you that you can't quite place but it's somewhere in between tobacco,cows and dust.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,985 ✭✭✭skelliser

25 is good. Used to play switch alot back in school.
    Anyone remember switch?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,997 ✭✭✭Degag

We play 31. The best trump (card turned up in the middle) is worth 11.

5 of trumps is best, followed by:

J of Trumps
    Joker
    Ace Of Hearts
    Ace of Trumps.
    King
    Queen

After this, blacks play low and reds play high.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,631 ✭✭✭✭Hank Scorpio

game of luck, if u want a real card game try texas hold'em

nuxxx wrote: »

It really isn't, theres a alot of skill involved, the same amount of luck in poker as getting the right cards

Are you sure you're not getting a bit mixed up?;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,005 ✭✭✭Ann22

We play Jack changes - everyone gets 7 cards, picks up one each round and throws out one and the first to get rid of all their cards wins. Say, if one person throws out a 10 of spades, the next person can throw a ten of any suit or any spade. The first one to get rid of all their cards wins. If you throw out an 8 the next person to you skips a go. If you throw out a two, the next person has to pick up two extra cards unless they have a two also, which they can throw out, then the next person to them has to pick up 4 cards unless they have a two and so on. If you throw out a Jack, you can change the suit (a chance to pick a suit of which you have the most cards). Ps if you accidentally throw down a card of the wrong suit, you have to pick up three cards plus the one you threw out by mistake.

Bonkers is another good game. Each player has 7 cards again, like the other game, the first person to get rid of all their cards wins. You can throw down little groups of cards in bundles of three...but they have to be three of a kind or a run of three in the same suit. Once you can throw down one of them groups you can add to other peoples' groups. Hope I explained that right. I don't know how to play 25.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

Snap. Now there's a real card game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,985 ✭✭✭skelliser

Ann22 wrote: »
    We play Jack changes - everyone gets 7 cards, picks up one each round and throws out one and the first to get rid of all their cards wins. Say, if one person throws out a 10 of spades, the next person can throw a ten of any suit or any spade. The first one to get rid of all their cards wins. If you throw out an 8 the next person to you skips a go. If you throw out a two, the next person has to pick up two extra cards unless they have a two also, which they can throw out, then the next person to them has to pick up 4 cards unless they have a two and so on. If you throw out a Jack, you can change the suit (a chance to pick a suit of which you have the most cards). Ps if you accidentally throw down a card of the wrong suit, you have to pick up three cards plus the one you threw out by mistake.

Ya, this is another name for switch!!
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Switch_%28card_game%29

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,971 ✭✭✭we'llallhavetea_old

snap can be lethal, i'd take the fcukin hand and all off ya, while screaming in your face.

i can get quite excitable :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,563 ✭✭✭karlog

Go fish...................

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,127 ✭✭✭kjl

Hold'em is completely about luck nowadays, you want real skill Omaha high low is the game to play.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,547 ✭✭✭✭Poor Uncle Tom

Ann22 wrote: »

Bonkers is another good game. Each player has 7 cards again, like the other game, the first person to get rid of all their cards wins. You can throw down little groups of cards in bundles of three...but they have to be three of a kind or a run of three in the same suit. Once you can throw down one of them groups you can add to other peoples' groups. Hope I explained that right. I don't know how to play 25.
    Yeah I think we called that Switch as well.

Toss a penny...:D now there's a game...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,547 ✭✭✭✭Poor Uncle Tom

Can only be played properly by screaming like lastcomicstanding_hyche.jpg
    and making a stabbing motion to claim a win.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,048 ✭✭✭✭Snowie

Sh!t Head is the best game :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 954 ✭✭✭PaddyBomb

Switch when you're bored.

Kings when you want to get hammered.

Never heard of 25.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 225 ✭✭OhThePenguin

Sh!t Head is the best game :cool:

I didn't think anyone else knew about shit head? I hope we're talkin about the same game, 3 cards face down, 3 cards face up and 3 in your hand at the start?

Edit: Haven't played 45 in a long time but it is a great game and there is quite a bit of skill involved as everyone usually knows what they're doin unlike Texas Hold'em

• Closed Accounts Posts: 751 ✭✭✭Daisy Steiner

I love 45 but hate playing it with serious players. At christmas last year, we all went over to a neighbour's house for a few rubbers.

There was the srs bzns table and then there was my table.

The drunker everyone got the more noise we started making, screaming when someone threw down a trump/robbed a trick etc.

The serious table no doubt wanted to throw us all out :P.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

'i dont like cricket'

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,783 ✭✭✭Hank_Jones

I thought this was going to be a thread with somebody moaning about turning 25.

I'm 25 and I moan about it all the time. :p
    Nearly 26... :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,048 ✭✭✭✭Snowie

I didn't think anyone else knew about shit head? I hope we're talkin about the same game, 3 cards face down, 3 cards face up and 3 in your hand at the start?

yep its a wildly love game amoungst spliff smokers and students :D

kjl wrote: »
    Hold'em is completely about luck nowadays, you want real skill Omaha high low is the game to play.

Nowadays? The rules haven't changed recently as far as i remember....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 762 ✭✭✭PGL

Has anyone played 25?
    The card game...

I learned to play it not too long ago on a ferry and played it pretty much every day after for a month. Was looking for work and odd jobs at the time with a crowd of lads and we were betting jobs on it, who made the next cup of tea on it, who's gonna make the dinner etc

I haven't played it in a while but loved the game, you can be very cute with it and get a great kick out of knocking someone down who was being too cocky :D

Said this to a few 'cool' mates who slagged it for being a bogger game:rolleyes:
    I hate arguments like that eg 25 for boggers, rugby for posh pr1cks, soccer for knackers and gaa for gombeens.
    A good game is a good game

Anyone else enjoy it or dislike the fact that some people try to confine a game to certain demographics?

25 is a very good card game which I have played every Christmas for the past 5 odd years - hence I would not be a good player due to the lack of practice.

I know the rules, but does anyone have good tips / rules of thumb on when to play good cards, depending on whether you are leading or following? i.e. if you hold one or all of the top 3 cards which you can renage playing, or other high trumps, should you play them early, midway through or late on?

thanks a million!

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 10,906 Mod ✭✭✭✭F1ngers

Can't beat a good game of Don.
    Four players who have a good understanding of the game = quality card game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,919 ✭✭✭Schism

PGL wrote: »
    25 is a very good card game which I have played every Christmas for the past 5 odd years - hence I would not be a good player due to the lack of practice.

I know the rules, but does anyone have good tips / rules of thumb on when to play good cards, depending on whether you are leading or following? i.e. if you hold one or all of the top 3 cards which you can renage playing, or other high trumps, should you play them early, midway through or late on?

thanks a million!

There's a few simple things that I always try and do. If you've got the 5 of trumps always lead it, that way anyone who has a trump has to put it out and you're guaranteed to win that trick either way. You'd be surprised the amount of times someone has to play the Jack and is absolutely sickened!

If you've got a bad trump with none played yet and you're last to go, you might as well play it. It's your best chance of winning with it.

If someone is 20 and winning, everyone else should really gang up on them but remember that only one of you has to beat them to stop them winning that round, don't try and beat each other if the person that is on 20 has been beaten in the round already.

Hope that helps, I love 25 but rarely get to play it so my advice may be dodgy!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,025 ✭✭✭smallerthanyou

Ah 25 great family fun at Christmas til someone with skill gets beaten by someone with no skill but lots of luck and it all kicks off. Or god forbid someone accidently reneges. I'm a proper culchie so learned at about ten. Not great but can hold my own.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,811 ✭✭✭ollaetta

F1ngers wrote: »
    Can't beat a good game of Don.
    Four players who have a good understanding of the game = quality card game.

I was waiting to see if anyone would mention Don. Great game.
    25, 31, 41, 45 and 110 are all variations of the same game.
    Anyone know Solo? Don't play it but something similar again as far as I know.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 543 ✭✭✭Neewbie_noob

thanks a million!

How do you play ?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,798 ✭✭✭karma_

Forty-fives is generally accepted to be the greatest card game ever invented. I play regularly, usually in pubs or clubs during the autumn and winter months. Shame it's not more popular.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,798 ✭✭✭karma_

thanks a million!

Only advice I'd give to a beginner is to not worry about winning yourself, rather just worry about keeping the board even and policing the height, sit on him/her like a bad rash if yo have to. The rest you will pick up as you go.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,290 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

How do you play ?

Plenty of information on the internet.

http://www.pagat.com/spoil5/25.html#25

Which suit is trump is decided by turning up the next card in the deck after each deal is complete. As shown there the 5 (known as the fingers, where I came from) is the most powerful card in the trump suit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 762 ✭✭✭PGL

karma_ wrote: »
    keeping the board even and policing the height, sit on him/her like a bad rash if yo have to.

As I said I'm a complete novice at this game, so don't know the popular terms used. Can you explain the terms above?

cheers!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,785 ✭✭✭9959

irish-stew wrote: »
    'i dont like cricket'

'I love it'.

'Contract Bridge' is my card game of choice.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,455 ✭✭✭Where To

Spoil 15 is a great way to pass an evening