Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Should all religious/God threads to kept to the religion forums?

• 30-07-2010 5:16pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 168 ✭✭

Anyone else getting seriously sick of all the religion threads that keep coming up in after hours.? seems like everytime i log on and check AH theirs a new bloody thread about religion. I for one think its just becoming tiresome, let everyone believe whatever they want, just stop the constant threads popping up in AH every day!!!!!!!!!:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,130 ✭✭✭✭Karl Hungus

No.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

No.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,228 ✭✭✭bluto63

No.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,127 ✭✭✭kjl

No

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,072 ✭✭✭PeterIanStaker

No. It needs to be discussed and debated in as many fora and by as many people as possible.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,097 ✭✭✭✭zuroph

yes.

jk,
    no

• Closed Accounts Posts: 432 ✭✭Kinky Slinky

Yes ... Sure it's only ole imagery friend stuff. Better to keep all the sheep in one pen

• Closed Accounts Posts: 355 ✭✭I_AmThe_Walrus

Complaining about them only duplicates them! :eek::eek::eek::eek::eek::eek:

So, shhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 232 ✭✭clarke1991

yes... thats why theres a fourm for them:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,404 ✭✭✭Pittens

yes. in the religion or atheist forums.

Again "NO"
    ..And here is one continuing religion based story why!
    Exclusive: Martin Fletcher
    Updated 38 minutes ago

Mother sentenced to death by stoning pleads for help

The Iranian mother sentenced to death by stoning for alleged adultery has sent a message from her prison cell in which she speaks of her terror and begs the world to “help me stay alive”.

As Sakineh Mohammadi Ashtiani’s desperate appeal was read out at a London press conference today, it emerged that her lawyer has broken his silence for the first time since he disappeared six days ago to escape arrest for broadcasting her plight to the world.

Mohammed Mostafaie wrote to the Tehran prosecutor from wherever he is hiding. According to Shadi Sadr, another prominent human rights lawyer, who now lives in exile, Mr Mostafaie told the prosecutor that he would give himself up only after his wife and her brother were freed.

The pair were arrested after Mr Mostafaie vanished last Saturday, and have effectively been held hostage in Tehran’s infamous Evin prison ever since.

Ms Ashtiani, 43, sent her message from Tabriz prison, where she has been incarcerated for the past five years and has already been subjected to 99 lashes for her alleged crime.

The message, clearly composed with the help of others, began: “I am Sakineh Mohammadi Ashtiani. From Tabriz Prison I thank all those who are thinking of me.”

She talked of her lack of education, and how she has pinned her hopes on her children Sajad, 22, and Farideh, 17, who have taken huge risks by telling the West of their mother’s predicament.

She recalled the day when she was flogged in front of Sajad in 2005 and said: “I was crushed and my dignity and heart were broken.” When she was subsequently sentenced to death by stoning she said “it was as if I fell into the bottom of a deep hole and I lost consciousness”.

She continued: “Many nights, before sleeping, I think to myself how can anybody be prepared to throw stones at me — to aim at my face and hands? Why?”

She said she was now “quiet and sad because part of my heart is frozen” and ended by thanking all those around the world who have campaigned for her release. She implored them: “Tell everyone that I am afraid of dying. Help me stay alive and hug my children.”

The message was read out by Mina Ahadi, co-ordinator of the International Committee Against Stonings and Executions, which has campaigned for her release. To protect sources inside Iran, Ms Ahadi refused to say how she received the message. She said that Ms Ashtiani’s son faced constant threats from the Information Ministry to try to silence him, and that she had herself received death threats since taking up Ms Ashtiani’s case.

The authorities have suspended — but not revoked — Ms Ashtiani’s stoning sentence in the face of international outrage, and she could well be hanged instead.

The press conference was shown a clip from Iranian state television news that sought to justify her death sentence by claiming that she had murdered her husband. But Ms Ahadi produced court documents that stated unequivocally that her offence was adultery. She said the two men convicted of killing her husband escaped with only 40 lashes each.

Speaking at the same event, Maryam Namazie, of the pressure group Iran Solidarity, said that Ms Ashtiani was alive today only because of the international pressure on Iran during the past month. She said the worldwide campaign had given hope to other death row prisoners in Iran, and that there were “joyous” scenes among the inmates in Tabriz prison on Thursday when Ms Ashtiani’s children were allowed a rare meeting with their mother. They hugged her and gave her flowers.

A.C. Grayling, the philosopher and author, called a regime that stones its citizens to death a “stain on humanity” and said it was everyone’s duty to “campaign against this type of barbarism”.

Peter Tatchell, the human rights campaigner, said that even if Ms Ashtiani were guilty of adultery “it’s incomprehensible that anyone in the 21st century can be sentenced to death for consenting relations between adults”.

Source: wwwthetimescoukttonewsw.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

No.
    Biggins wrote: »
    No.
    bluto63 wrote: »
    No.
    kjl wrote: »
    No
    No. It needs to be discussed and debated in as many fora and by as many people as possible.
    zuroph wrote: »
    yes.

jk,
    no

Have any of you seen Tron?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,620 ✭✭✭sligopark

No

yes

jk,
    no

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,482 ✭✭✭✭Ush1

Isn't After Hours supposed to be the type of thing you'd discuss with your mates in the pub?

Religion often comes up.

Ush1 wrote: »
    Isn't After Hours supposed to be the type of thing you'd discuss with your mates in the pub?

Religion often comes up.

in fact, that paragraph in the charter is mine *smug*

Yes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,783 ✭✭✭Hank_Jones

I've seen bits of Tron, turned it off after the first 15 minutes.

Awful, awful film.

If we were to shove everything with religion in it, just to one section, we might never discuss sport either even beyond the religions section!

For second example:
    Its Official: Manchester United are evil!

Muslim scholars in Malaysia have identified the latest menace to their faith: football shirts.

Senior clerics have declared that the official kit of some of the world’s most celebrated teams, including Barcelona and the national teams of Brazil and Portugal, have the power to erode religious faith and must not be worn by Muslims.

Most objectionable of all is the Manchester United strip, with its trident-wielding Red Devil of the club’s crest. “This is very dangerous,” Nooh Gadot, the mufti of the state of Johor, said.

“As a Muslim, we should not worship the symbols of other religions or the devils. It will erode our belief in Islam.”

According to Mr Nooh, while a Red Devil jersey gift must be refused, “it is even more sinful when people realise this is wrong and still buy these jerseys to wear.

“These Muslims should repent, repent immediately”.

South-East Asia makes little impact in international football competitions but Malaysians, Thais and Indonesians are passionate fans, with a particular fondness for the English Premier League.

Manchester United is the most popular team and has official supporters’ clubs in several countries, including Malaysia, and an official merchandise shop in Kuala Lumpur. Last summer thousands of fans mobbed the players on their arrival in the capital. Several other strips, including the national kits of Brazil, Portugal, Serbia, Barcelona and Norway, have also been declared un-Islamic because they bear the image of the Cross.

“Devils are our enemies. Why would you put their picture on you and wear it? You are only promoting the devil,” said Harussani Zakaria, the mufti of the state of Perak.

Since its independence from Britain in 1963 Malaysia has avoided the religious conflicts that have caused bloodshed in countries such as Indonesia and Thailand. But in the past few years there has been growing tension between secular and conservative Muslims, and between Malays (who, by law, are all Muslim) and the Chinese and Indian minorities.

Earlier this year there were arson attacks on churches after a row over Christians’ rights to use the Malay word “Allah” to refer to their God. Last year a 32-year-old mother was sentenced to caning for drinking a can of beer, and Muslim demonstrators outraged Hindus by marching with the head of a dead cow, an animal sacred to Hinduism, to oppose the construction of a temple.

Source: http://img841.imageshack.us/img841/3968/wwwthetimescoukttofaith.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,230 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

Anyone else getting seriously sick of all the religion threads that keep coming up in after hours.? seems like everytime i log on and check AH theirs a new bloody thread about religion. I for one think its just becoming tiresome, let everyone believe whatever they want, just stop the constant threads popping up in AH every day!!!!!!!!!:rolleyes:

This should be in the We're All Going To Hell Forum.

or is it Connacht?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,456 ✭✭✭✭Mr Benevolent

No. It's much easier to mock idiots.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,018 ✭✭✭Mike 1972

Sure we could move the religion threads to a separate forum

but then you could make a similar argument for
    1) Arent (insert ethnic/social group*) frightfully dreadful threads
    2) If drugs were legalised wouldnt it be the answer to all the worlds problems/lead to the downfall of society and all we hold dear threads
    3) Hang em and Flog em and Lock em up and throw away the key and then Hang em again threads
    4) TV licence evaders are freedom fighting heros/worse than paedophiles threads
    5) Time "we" nuked (insert country) threads
    6) Northern Ireland and Im not bigoted like those bloody Unionists threads
    7) Anecdotes from Coppers (werever the fup that is)
    8) Complaints about the Government from people who voted for them/didnt vote at all
    9) Threads bemoaning the fact that Irish people are always moaning
    10) Culchies V's Dubs (yawn) threads
    11) Northsiders V's Southsiders (bigger yawn) threads
    12) Public Service V's Private Sector (<Loses will to live>) threads
    * (Most popularly Muslims -particularly the Burqua clad variety)

But what would be left ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

Biggins wrote: »
    If we were to shove everything with religion in it, just to one section, we might never discuss sport either even beyond the religions section!

For second example:

Source: http://img841.imageshack.us/img841/3968/wwwthetimescoukttofaith.jpg

Why have tottenham and liverpool not made the offensive devils islam basher list of satan worshippers

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,388 ✭✭✭gbee

Anyone else getting seriously sick of all the religion threads that keep coming up in after hours.? !!!:rolleyes:

YOU blaspheme! Off with your head.

No, for this reason, in the religion forum, and in a Christianity thread, I MUST respect the other posters beliefs, it the forum charter.

In AH I can disagree and even tell him he is wrong, that would earn me a ban otherwise.