Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Deer Outlet !!

• 28-07-2010 3:08pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 299 ✭✭

Has anybody on here any place that buys the deer off them?, Mine and The neighbours freezers are all full from last year, I have been asked to cull a lot of deer for the coming year and have no place to put them.

Any suggestions or ideas welcome ??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 315 ✭✭DR6.5

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 299 ✭✭ROSSKI

Cheers thanks for that;)

Have you any idea on the prices they pay and what condition they need the animal in?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,096 ✭✭✭bunny shooter

If there is any "Free to a Good Home" going I'd be interested ;)

ballymoney will take the animal freshly shot, they weigh the animal and deduct a percentage, they were paying 1.50 a kilo for head or neck shot animals and 1.20 for chest shot animals.

They pay you cash there and then.

Wild irish game require the animal to be cleaned out, with the lungs and heart left in.

they were paying 1.50 a kilo for animals over 20kg and 1 euro a kilo for animals under 20kg.

you get a cheque after the season for your animals. you get a print out of the weights of the animals and damage.

dr6.5

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,616 ✭✭✭FISMA

With all due respect, who is asking you to cull? Are you a hunter or doing this for profit?

After seeing the country get fished out in many areas I have to wonder how long it will be before we are shot out.

I hope there's a special license for making this a profit based activity and that the powers that be enforce the laws.

Respectfully, I am not condescending or trying to rain on your parade. However, where I shoot a couple of lads come from far away, shoot the hell out of the area, load up a trailer with dozens of whatever was in range, and take it back to a restaurant. That's not hunting, more like slaughter. If they need that volume of deer, perhaps, they should think about rearing them.

These lads are worse than lampers.

Sorry, if you have that much meat, enough for the friends and the family, perhaps, you should stop shooting.

It's this kind of overshooting that gives sportsman and hunters a bad name.

Again, sorry for the tone, however, it appears that you're looking to turn a profit. Rather, than be a sportsman.

With all due respect to yourself:rolleyes:

You dont know my situation

You dont know the area i hunt

You dont have a clue what you are talking about

I wont and dont have to justify myself to you:p

P.s I have never or will never make money from hunting

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,590 ✭✭✭Tackleberrywho

ROSSKI wrote: »
    With all due respect to yourself:rolleyes:

You dont know my situation

You dont know the area i hunt

You dont have a clue what you are talking about

I wont and dont have to justify myself to you:p

I think there is a middle ground.

I give all my overflow from the freezer to old folk who live locally and can't afford steak dinners.

That way everyone does well

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 935 ✭✭✭dicky82

I think there is a middle ground.

I give all my overflow from the freezer to old folk who live locally and can't afford steak dinners.

That way everyone does well

do you have an age limit on that tack, im nearly 28?;)

dicky82 wrote: »
    do you have an age limit on that tack, im nearly 28?;)

If you have all yer own teeth you can help me drag them out of the field!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,143 ✭✭✭locum-motion

Hey, Mister, you better climb down off of that horse. He's waaaaaaay too high for you!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,979 ✭✭✭Eddie B

how many deer does it take to fill a freezer?:rolleyes::D:D:D

I agree with Tackleberry, I myself had never had such copious amounts of deer that I felt the need to sell or profit from it.

Indeed, I do donate most of my cull to: the auld fellas in the village, family, friends, those that let me shoot their land, and anyone that will listen to the 800 yard shot I took and nod as if they believe me.:)

To the OP, I find the following to be mutually exclusive
    Have you any idea on the prices they pay and what condition they need the animal in?
    and

Again, seems hypocritical, however, I'll use a less pejorative term, such as mutually exclusive.

Anyhow, congratulations on the plethora of deer that you plan to sell for profit. I am sure that there is no-one around that could benefit from a bit of free meat.

I am sure that you have already asked around, gone to the local church, et al. I mean, it's not as if times are tough or there's any problem with the economy.

Enjoy!

Slan agus abhaille!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,612 ✭✭✭jwshooter

FISMA wrote: »
    With all due respect, who is asking you to cull? Are you a hunter or doing this for profit?

After seeing the country get fished out in many areas I have to wonder how long it will be before we are shot out.

I hope there's a special license for making this a profit based activity and that the powers that be enforce the laws.

Respectfully, I am not condescending or trying to rain on your parade. However, where I shoot a couple of lads come from far away, shoot the hell out of the area, load up a trailer with dozens of whatever was in range, and take it back to a restaurant. That's not hunting, more like slaughter. If they need that volume of deer, perhaps, they should think about rearing them.

These lads are worse than lampers.

Sorry, if you have that much meat, enough for the friends and the family, perhaps, you should stop shooting.

It's this kind of overshooting that gives sportsman and hunters a bad name.

Again, sorry for the tone, however, it appears that you're looking to turn a profit. Rather, than be a sportsman.

deer may be culled , if we as stalkers only shot for the pot ,where would we be.

iv no problem with sustainable management of your deer ,.

poaching etc is a major problem ,the best way to describe it is a free for all .

i know of guys selling lots of deer every year with the bare minimum of ground .what is the problem ,no one cares ,its as simple as that .

jwshooter wrote: »
    deer may be culled , if we as stalkers only shot for the pot ,where would we be.

poaching etc is a major problem ,the best way to describe it is a free for all .

i know of guys selling lots of deer every year with the bare minimum of ground .what is the problem ,no one cares ,its as simple as that .
    I may be deluded here, but if one puts down accurate returns on their permits the Npws would care .."would they not. Heard of Rangers approaching stalkers about such"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 124 ✭✭diveshark

What a defeatist attitude jws! if you know so many people selling deer they shouldn't be, tell someone about it who does care and can do something about it.

Diveshark, the Nat. Park get the returns that people are selling from the gamedealers, there are loads of lads that only have a small amount of permission yet are selling way more animals than the ground they have would yield.

Unless lads are caught poaching very little will be done about it.

dr6.5

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 124 ✭✭diveshark

DR6.5 wrote: »
    Diveshark, the Nat. Park get the returns that people are selling from the gamedealers, there are loads of lads that only have a small amount of permission yet are selling way more animals than the ground they have would yield.

Unless lads are caught poaching very little will be done about it.

dr6.5

I see Dr6,
    so basically all the information is available to the authorities and they do f-all about it!? thats sh*t.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,004 ✭✭✭tfox

diveshark wrote: »
    I see Dr6,
    so basically all the information is available to the authorities and they do f-all about it!? thats sh*t.

I had a severe problem with poaching on a coilte let in the Slieveblooms last season. The poaching going on was rife, nearly every time I was there I could see frsh tire tracks and grallochs at the sides of the roads, numerous times I came across lads still driving round the wood !!

Called the NPWS said there was nothing they could do without the guards, the Guards said was a matter for the NPWS. Gave out S*** to Coilte as the barriers were never locked but they didnt seem to care, the more deer being shot the better in their view !!

Really galls me that us legitimate stalkers fork out a lot of money just to have tom dick and larry walk in and do what they want with no recourse !!

Needless to say I told Coilte to stuff that lease this year !!

Anything that creates work for any government body that does not directly benefit them they are not interested !!

diveshark wrote: »
    I see Dr6,

its a sad state of affaires whats going on . the ranger on the ground ,there hands are tied for the most part .

its at the top end the problem is ,lack of interest .the wrong people getting into the job .
    gormally would have the power to sort this out ( it will be to late when some one gets shot some nite ) .

its the stalkers fault .crying about poaching ,instead of getting out and proactive in stopping it .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,898 ✭✭✭poulo6.5

its a sad state of affaires whats going on . the ranger on the ground ,there hands are tied for the most part .

its at the top end the problem is ,lack of interest .the wrong people getting into the job .
    gormally would have the power to sort this out ( it will be to late when some one gets shot some nite ) .

its the stalkers fault .crying about poaching ,instead of getting out and proactive in stopping it .

i'll go with you if you bring the armored car:D

poulo6.5 wrote: »
    i'll go with you if you bring the armored car:D

I'll second that :D But then what happens if there's a set to and the guards are involved and you lose your licence ...?

tfox wrote: »
    I'll second that :D But then what happens if there's a set to and the guards are involved and you lose your licence ...?

do you have the local ranger ,Gard's no on your phone in the area where you stalk .

excuses excuses excuses .forums are full of them,meetings are full of them .i was a member of WDI ,IDS ,LDS and gave up on them as there all talk no action .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,898 ✭✭✭poulo6.5

do you have the local ranger ,Gard's no on your phone in the area where you stalk .

excuses excuses excuses .forums are full of them,meetings are full of them .i was a member of WDI ,IDS ,LDS and gave up on them as there all talk no action .

i'm not making any excuses i often drive around my permissions either walking the dogs or bunny bashing, i'v never seen anyone poaching but then again its hard to be everywhere at once. all i can say is that a small presence or a bit of activity might be enough for a potential poacher to say "i wont go there cos there is usually someone coming and going from there"
    this just means they will go somewhere else:(

Yes I do and rang both and they both said was the other's responsibility !! I too was a member of those societies and gave them up as did not gain anything by being a member and all they seem to do was fight amongst themselves !!

This is going way off topic now. The point I was making was about authorities seeming unwilling to do anything even when it's handed to them on a plate !!

you obviously seem like a man of great action jw so maybe I'll call you next time and you'd sort the whole thing out !!

Jws,

For the record, I agree with your assessment of culling and responsible management so please don't think I am attacking you. I am not.

Do you do any fishing? Have you noticed any population problems over the past decade?

I wish you could have worked with me by the ferries. What has gone on over the years is nothing less than criminal. The number of campers I witnessed going back to France PACKED to the t*t$ with fish, more fish than you could eat in a year, was simply criminal. No-one cared and now a lot of the country is just fished out.

Places I fished and managed for decades, now gone. Five years of trying to restart the population have failed. Both foreigners and locals that have no clue as to sportsmanship taking anything that wiggled out of the waters. Feckers leaving dead fish on the ground. That's just brilliant.

The problem I have is with people who shoot the $hit out of anything that moves and try to make a profit of it. Then they offer up a nebulous, hard to prove/disprove statement such as - but they're causing damage - that's why I shot 20 today. Yes, I have seen 20 or 30 in the back of a trailer, waiting to go to someone's restaurant in Kilkenny. Sorry lads, you are legalized poachers. You obey the letter of the law, but trample on the spirit of the law.

You may own the land, but you do not own the deer.

I seriously doubt if the OP is a sportsman whose true cull is reported.

For the record, IMHO, that license we get should be shoot for the pot.

If you want more, or want to be profitable, then pay more €, get a professional license, pay a tax, and harvest away.

Why should someone who is making money off of the cull have to play by the same rules as those who take one or two for the pot?

If deer go the way of fish, I hope ye all like the taste of munties.

That's my last rant, I leave the last word(s) to ye.

yes i have fished man and boy , trout/sea trout .i know excatlly where you are coming from .

your hard on the op , when i read it i cringed , the bit about the condition of the animals did it .

possibly it was just worded slightly wrong . legalized poaching is a problem ,guys getting leases of coillte with a cull of 20 putting 20 guns on it and shooting the living sh+t out of it .

coillte dont care , we lost woods to a bunch from waterford they raped it and handed it back after a year or two on a 5 year contract .then were give more woods .

the IDS,WDI,WDC,IDS ,who ever may call a meeting with coillte ,npws ,tax man ,garda and sort this out .

that will never happen .

Jws,

You are entitled to your opinion but you are wrong.
    The most deer i have ever shot in a season is 6 - Which were divided among landowners or neighbours. I am the only person in my area that has the deer licence and there is without exaggeration been a population explosion due to cutting of neighbouring woods and nobody else hunting them. There are hundreds of deer in my area. On one of the areas i shoot the landowner has asked me to cull some deer for him as they are causing him problems (Which i am not getting into).

If i dont cull some for him it will be very hard to go back next year and look for permission off him.

If i do decide to cull some for him i will offer them here for free if nobody around me wants them.

yes i have fished man and boy , trout/sea trout .i know excatlly where you are coming from .

your hard on the op , when i read it i cringed , the bit about the condition of the animals did it .

possibly it was just worded slightly wrong . legalized poaching is a problem ,guys getting leases of coillte with a cull of 20 putting 20 guns on it and shooting the living sh+t out of it .

Apologies it was worded very wrong:o

Jws,

You are entitled to your opinion but you are wrong.
    The most deer i have ever shot in a season is 6 - Which were divided among landowners or neighbours. I am the only person in my area that has the deer licence and there is without exaggeration been a population explosion due to cutting of neighbouring woods and nobody else hunting them. There are hundreds of deer in my area. On one of the areas i shoot the landowner has asked me to cull some deer for him as they are causing him problems (Which i am not getting into).

If i dont cull some for him it will be very hard to go back next year and look for permission off him.

If i do decide to cull some for him i will offer them here for free if nobody around me wants them.

Apologies it was worded very wrong:o

Get a mincer mate, Burgerize Stags and old does, and then it is easier freeze, bone only takes up space!

There are several on here who would take some off you, make sure they Give you a hand if they are getting it for free; supply the freezer bags etc, maybe even help you butcher & bag!!;)

tfox wrote: »
    Yes I do and rang both and they both said was the other's responsibility !! I too was a member of those societies and gave them up as did not gain anything by being a member and all they seem to do was fight amongst themselves !!

This is going way off topic now. The point I was making was about authorities seeming unwilling to do anything even when it's handed to them on a plate !!

you obviously seem like a man of great action jw so maybe I'll call you next time and you'd sort the whole thing out !!

insult me all you like .we have a great working relationship with the local rangers and gardai .its a two way track .

i seriously dont think both the npws and gardai said its none of there buissness .
    if you report armed tresspass to the gardai there going to hang up on you ,a dont think so .
    same as the npws on poaching .

JW

And you heard the conversations on the phone I had with them how ....?

I'm not in the habiit of making up stories ! I told it how it happend. If you in your infinite wisdom and telepathy know what really went on that I was not aware of please enlighten me, if not so please keep your personal opinion to yourself, as to my integrity and truth telling ability you would do well not to question it. You do not know me nor of my eperiences !

Matter closed