Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

I'VE SEEN IT ALL NOW

• 27-07-2010 5:46pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 428 ✭✭

Travelling Southbound on the M50 at around 11am yesterday i suddenly come accross alot of cars braking hard.
    In lane one(not the hard shoulder) a car is reversing back to the Exit for Tallaght because she missed her exit.
    I diden't know whether to laugh or cry.Thankfully she seemed to get away with it.Plenty of drivers blasting her out of it.
    Even my eight year old daughter commented on "that womans driving"
    Anyone else see this?

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 7,944 Mod ✭✭✭✭Yakult

I wonder did anyone get her reg and report her because thats just plain stupidity.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,577 ✭✭✭jaffa20

Nope, but i've seen people reversing up slip lanes before when they realised they took the wrong exit. Deserve to have license taken off them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,795 ✭✭✭✭mickdw

How can anybody be that stupid. Im surprised she didnt just turn around & drive back to the exit cause if she is stupid enough to do that (in a driving lane too) she really doesnt have much clue as to what is going on around her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 428 ✭✭bigbadbear

mickdw wrote: »
    How can anybody be that stupid. Im surprised she didnt just turn around & drive back to the exit cause if she is stupid enough to do that (in a driving lane too) she really doesnt have much clue as to what is going on around her.

Going onto the M50 at Dundrum (Jct 13) at rush hour and a Honda civic decides to go around to the right in the left lane. The car in the right lane nearly crashed into him but luckily didnt. Both cars ended up going up the slip road but the civic decides hes not going up to the next junction to turn so does a u turn and drives back down the on ramp!!!:eek::eek::eek::eek::eek::eek::eek::eek::eek::eek::eek: Absolute lunatic!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 72,192 ✭✭✭✭L1011

Saw a 4x4 doing this at the M4/M5 diverge yesterday...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,237 ✭✭✭✭djimi

I saw a woman stop on the overtaking lane of the M7 before because she decided she wanted to take the Carlow turnoff. Damn near caused a 40 car pile up.

Stopping your car dead on a busy flowing motorway deserves jail time, nothing less.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,227 ✭✭✭✭Sparky

New N3 overpass thats just been built. Lady stopped dead in the road to shout over to the road worker for directions. Some loons out there

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 773 ✭✭✭D_murph

djimi wrote: »
    I saw a woman stop on the overtaking lane of the M7 before because she decided she wanted to take the Carlow turnoff. Damn near caused a 40 car pile up.

Stopping your car dead on a busy flowing motorway deserves jail time, nothing less.

The worst thing is that if a young male driver crashed into the back of her, he would be the one done for reckless driving and we would have to listen to Gaybo on the radio telling us to slow down even more :rolleyes:.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 624 ✭✭✭SC024

D_murph wrote: »
    The worst thing is that if a young male driver crashed into the back of her, he would be the one done for reckless driving and we would have to listen to Gaybo on the radio telling us to slow down even more :rolleyes:.

Sad thing is thats more than likely true

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,029 ✭✭✭Wicklowrider

I saw an old dear stop dead on M50 because her dog was getting out the passenge window........

Wow, really stupid tbf.

Reversing up the side of a motorway were you have people flying down past here.

Recipe for disaster.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,825 ✭✭✭Neilw

They are out there alright.

Twice I have meet people driving towards me as I'm taking the slip off the M50 :eek:
    I stopped the first woman just as the guards spotted her, she was looking for the NCT centre at Ballymun.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,904 ✭✭✭cian1500ww

D_murph wrote: »
    Exactly and I bet shes only paying 1/10th of the premium that the rest of us "dangerous, young, male drivers" are paying :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,577 ✭✭✭jaffa20

I saw an old dear stop dead on M50 because her dog was getting out the passenge window........

As i would do if i was her passenger.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,484 ✭✭✭username123

When the M50 first opened the section past Firhouse I was driving home from work and a bloke stopped dead on the motorway and began unfolding a huge map and consulting it (totally blocking his windscreen), completely oblivious to the cars behind him going round him like the parting of the red sea.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,942 ✭✭✭Danbo!

M6 as it gets busy coming into dublin, both lanes pretty full but moving all the same, some young one in a punto cruising along without a care in the world in the hard shoulder at ~100kmh

M8 yesterday, woman in golf moving between driving and overtaking lane randomly, no other cars around except me behind her. Overtook carefully, made sure she saw me first. Maneuver complete, a quick look in the rear view mirror and there she is planted between both lanes, and stayed there til I lost sight of her about 5 minutes later.

M50 southbound, red cow, woman stopped in overtaking lane, out leaning against the boot on the phone to I would hope the gardai, but probably not. Called 999 on that one, silver car in dull conditions isnt easy to spot.

The mind boggles

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,520 ✭✭✭Killinator

Heading on to what was the N7(Limerick Bypass) towards Cork at the Ballysimon junction when I was stopped in a queue of traffic as a car did a 5 point turn on the slip road and then tried to drive back up it against the now 6-7 long queue of cars,
    Thankfully nobody got out of their way and they had to turn around and go back onto the motorway,
    Even still they didn't even use the next exit to turn back, they went in the Cork direction anyway, meaning they put several peoples lives at risk for absolutely no reason,
    This was at 5:30 in the evening, so traffic was nice and busy too,
    I could'nt believe someone could do something so recklessly stupid!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,321 ✭✭✭✭astrofool

While going down the leopardstown racecourse slip from roundabout (junction 16), the woman in front of me decided to drive down the M50 off ramp. I beeped her as I passed, and she seemed to notice (car was blocking the off ramp exit at this stage).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,777 ✭✭✭meathstevie

The government should really consider introducing legislation to impound cars for offences like that mentioned by the OP on top of a 1 year disqualification with no default return of driving licence unless a new driving test is passed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,237 ✭✭✭✭djimi

The government should really consider introducing legislation to impound cars for offences like that mentioned by the OP on top of a 1 year disqualification with no default return of driving licence unless a new driving test is passed.

I completely agree. Nobody this stupid should be behind the wheel of a car; if someone doesnt have the cop on to know why they shouldnt stop on a motorway, drive backwards down a slip road etc then they are a potential fatal car crash waiting to happen.