Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Another day...another shooting

• 26-07-2010 11:44am
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 8,632 ✭✭✭

http://www.rte.ie/news/2010/0726/fairview.html

This has being going on for years and years - why can't the Gardaí get on top of this? Seems to me it's only a matter of time before either a Garda is shot or another unfortunate innocent member of the public is. Is that what it will take for the authorities to get their thumbs out of their ass?

I cannot see this level of violence being tolerated in most other EU countries esspecially considering how small this country is. The Gardaí just are not up to it - seems to me anyway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,941 ✭✭✭caseyann

Both of those scenarios have happened already you mentioned.

It is an absolute joke that these guys can and have guns,suspected should have warrants and all guns found and removed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,831 ✭✭✭genericguy

darkman2 wrote: »
    http://www.rte.ie/news/2010/0726/fairview.html

This has being going on for years and years - why can't the Gardaí get on top of this? Seems to me it's only a matter of time before either a Garda is shot or another unfortunate innocent member of the public is. Is that what it will take for the authorities to get their thumbs out of their ass?

I cannot see this level of violence being tolerated in most other EU countries esspecially considering how small this country is. The Gardaí just are not up to it - seems to me anyway.

i've said it before and i'll say it again - if there's any modicum of evidence that someone is involved in organised crime a sitting of the special criminal court should be assembled, followed by internment. re-open spike island and enforce the ban on mobile phones, with no visitors allowed for the duration of the sentence.

They all have guns, so surely the only possible thing to do is have a Battle Royale-style scenario and send them off to the Aran Islands. Whoever survives, will be set free.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 8,632 ✭✭✭darkman2

genericguy wrote: »
    i've said it before and i'll say it again - if there's any modicum of evidence that someone is involved in organised crime a sitting of the special criminal court should be assembled, followed by internment. re-open spike island and enforce the ban on mobile phones, with no visitors allowed for the duration of the sentence.

I agree - however the Human Rights activists won't:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,831 ✭✭✭genericguy

and that's the answer to your question - in this country it's not the gardaí who are allowing this shyte to continue, it's the courts. unfortunately the judges and those involved in legislation don't appear to be in any way in touch with reality and must not have been affected by serious crime. this is why a scumbag in this country can be roaming the streets when they have 60 previous convictions. i'd contend that the people responsible for the spate of hits in previous weeks all fall into this category.

by all accounts i've read there were two innocent people shot last night, and I hope to fcuk if this is the case that legal system gets a complete overhaul with regard to the way this shít is handled.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,547 ✭✭✭Foxhound38

Send them all to Rockall with limited food and as many guns as they wish - come back in 6 months and bring back the last man standing, to serve as an example to others considering going down that path.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

The government don't want to fix this problem, it's in their best interests to have violent killers on the streets distracting us from the ministers criminal behaviour.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 758 ✭✭✭davrho

Right good pub that. Been in a few times for the football.

Sad for the folk who own it who were trying to run things well.

Would i be correct in saying there was shootings in this pub before it was renovated and bought over? There was definitely a pub shooting around this area a few years back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,230 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

If I were a Guard, I'd prefer checking tax and insurance to dodging a bullet. They should recruit a bunch of Dirty Harrys who treat the gun-toting psychos like vermin.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

If they Guards did something about it, the thugs day in court would come and they would get a wrap on the knuckles and set free again. They probably have no confidence left.

Judge: "Now don't be a bold boy anymore"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

I do believe somebody was threatened with being shot in there only a couple of months ago.

I can see a plasma tv sale in Fairview soon enough, think Anthony Stokes might have to sell up!

ScumLord wrote: »
    The government don't want to fix this problem, it's in their best interests to have violent killers on the streets distracting us from the ministers criminal behaviour.

Damn straight.!! Plus a fearful populace are much easier to manipulate

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 574 ✭✭✭ro_chez

davrho wrote: »

Would i be correct in saying there was shootings in this pub before it was renovated and bought over? There was definitely a pub shooting around this area a few years back.

Yeah, looks someone was shot before in the same pub!

http://boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=67121096&postcount=64

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,230 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

Ruu wrote: »
    If they Guards did something about it, the thugs day in court would come and they would get a wrap on the knuckles and set free again. They probably have no confidence left.

That problem wouldn't occur if they acidentally got shot to death by a couple of Guards, or accidentally died from carbon monoxide poisoning in the back of the van on the way to court.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,380 ✭✭✭✭nacho libre

Dooley is right if this continues we'll soon just accept it as normalcy. given these killings are at an all-time high and few are being foiled, i suspect some of these gangs have guards or detectives in their pay who are tipping them off about operations and surveillance against them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,776 ✭✭✭Noopti

davrho wrote: »

It used to be a great pub, in the 80's/early 90's when my grandad used to go to it for a pint. I know at one point before the current owners some associate of the monk bought it and turned it from a decent local into a ****ehole for all his "mates". I thought it had been turned around again though, feel sorry for the latest owners if it had been.

I was just watching it on news.It is disgusting.How can they walk up,people innocent sitting outside and nothing to do with it aswell.And start shooting. :(
    How many pubs is that now they have left their mark on :mad:

How is it so out of control :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,920 ✭✭✭Einhard

i've said it before and i'll say it again - if there's any modicum of evidence that someone is involved in organised crime a sitting of the special criminal court should be assembled, followed by internment.

Either you believe people should be arbitrarily imprisoned without recourse to trial or you don't know what internment means.

Yeah, 'cos only pinko liberals believe in the right to a fair trial.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 8,632 ✭✭✭darkman2

Einhard wrote: »

Yeah, 'cos only pinko liberals believe in the right to a fair trial.

When one of these scumbags goes up to a doorman and shoots him in the head - is that a fair trial? Is that person showing respect for the bouncer's human rights?

Two quick points:

First of all, someone who does such a thing is, as you point out, a scumbag and a murderer. So you propose we conduct ourselves according to their standards?

Secondly, we need a fair trial to determine who exactly committed said crime. How else do you propose we as a society determine the guilt or otherwise of people? Draw lots?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

So the state and people in general should be more like the bad guys?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,359 ✭✭✭ldxo15wus6fpgm

Seems to me the attitude of the Gardai is to let them all kill each other off.

caseyann wrote: »

How is it so out of control :confused:

I don't think it is to be honest. Ireland actually has quite a low homocide rate. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_countries_by_intentional_homicide_rate

It just seems higher because Ireland is such a small media market, and so any murder is headline, national news. Someone gets killed in Finglas and the whole country reads about the next day on the front page of the paper. Whereas in the UK, France and other larger countries, a murder has to be particauly brutal before it recieves anything like the same level of attention.

Einhard wrote: »
    I don't think it is to be honest. Ireland actually has quite a low homocide rate. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_countries_by_intentional_homicide_rate

It just seems higher because Ireland is such a small media market, and so any murder is headline, national news. Someone gets killed in Finglas and the whole country reads about the next day on the front page of the paper. Whereas in the UK, France and other larger countries, a murder has to be particauly brutal before it recieves anything like the same level of attention. Satistica

But it wasnt like that before.I would agree we have lowest homicide rate but for such a small country we should.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 553 ✭✭✭BASHIR

Ruu wrote: »

I cant agree with you more, I imagine its quite demoralising for the gardai in these cases where criminals get off with suspended sentence, its got to be dangerous work trying to apprehend these animals, not to mention the poor families. courts need to be stricter imo

BASHIR wrote: »
    I cant agree with you more, I imagine its quite demoralising for the gardai in these cases where criminals get off with suspended sentence, its got to be dangerous work trying to apprehend these animals, not to mention the poor families. courts need to be stricter imo

And you walk in with your fine and they make an example of you :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,630 ✭✭✭Einstein

What I don't understand is that fact that this is becoming so much more common, why the Gardai are still unarmed...even give them rubber bullets ffs.

Welcome to 2010....

...sigh...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,221 ✭✭✭BluesBerry

Seems to me the attitude of the Gardai is to let them all kill each other off.

You cant blame the Gaurds They are doing the best they can putting themselves in danger arresting these scum getting them to court only for them to get a light sentence and get all the luxuries of prison life where probably most of their friends are anyway

A complete overhaul of the law is needed and harsher punishments are required for anyone with a weapon Zero tolerance

Because this problem is getting worse every morning on the news you hear of another life taken this country has gone to the dogs

caseyann wrote: »
    But it wasnt like that before.I would agree we have lowest homicide rate but for such a small country we should.

Well it's per capita so the size or population of a country doesn't come into it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

Durka Dur

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,744 ✭✭✭Táck

these shootings are never going to stop. ever.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,487 ✭✭✭Mister men

ScumLord wrote: »
    This

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

Internment & Spike Island? Are you taking the piss?

Jesus Christ... you blatantly know, or care, little about human rights & the history of internment in Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,116 ✭✭✭starviewadams

You cant blame the Gardai,they're doing the best job they can with very limited resources and manpower.

Shootings/murders are just the reality of life in a major city,it happens everywhere else so why wouldn't it happen here.

You cant blame the Gardai,they're doing the best job they can with very limited resources and manpower.

Shootings/murders are just the reality of life in a major city,it happens everywhere else so why wouldn't it happen here.

Never did before;) and funny enough alot of house holds had guns then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,729 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

Gardaí say a lone gunman walked up to the pub at around 12.20am and fired several shots at a group of people outside.

The doorman was hit in the head, while two customers were hit in the chest and back. Gardaí believe the gunman was armed with two handguns.

The getaway car - a Volkswagen Golf - was found burnt-out shortly afterwards at Verschoyle Court near Mount Street.

It was fitted with false Dublin number plates (05-D-57078) and gardaí are appealing for anyone who saw that car to contact them.

The gunman is around 5'8". He was wearing dark clothes and his head was covered.
    I know this probably doesnt need highlighted but there you have a Professional Hit.

I don't blame the Gardai, I think they are doing what they can. But the government is failing to give them the correct resource and authority to deal with this. And even then - as has been said - The bastards would only be back out on the streets by Easter.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,554 ✭✭✭zonEEE

Can ye not see a link between shootings on the rise and the headshops closing??

headshops closed = the boys back in business

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,460 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

They all have guns, so surely the only possible thing to do is have a Battle Royale-style scenario and send them off to the Aran Islands. Whoever survives, will be set free.

No they should be fecked off in boat and taken as far out the sea as can.

Leave Aran Islands alone

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 205 ✭✭hitbit

Mandatory sentence for having an illegal firearm 25 years.

hitbit

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Leave Aran Islands alone
    It wouldn't be feasible to ship all scumbags across the country, how about just using Lambay Island?