Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Marlin .22magnum advice

• 24-07-2010 1:46am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 18

Lads, was at the local firearms dealers today, Was looking for a handy rifle for mags, greys, rabbits etc.. He showed me a marlin 925m .22win mag, i dont know much about these guns so would be happy if anyone has any advice or info on this gun eg. Power, range, accuracey, etc..

every bit of advice is appriceated,,

Thanks in advance lads..:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,027 ✭✭✭deeksofdoom

I have a magnum 25mn which is the forerunner to the 925mn, the only difference being that the 925mn has a T900 trigger which is a big improvement on the heavy trigger on my rifle. When its set up right its a tack driver of yoke and you'll easily take rabbits out to 100 yds or more.

I feed mine winchester super x's and they do the trick.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,615 ✭✭✭kildare.17hmr

if your stickin to mags greys and rabbits why not consider a marlin 917 in .17hmr? much longer range for small lads and the hmr is very accurate. not as cheep to run as a 22 but not bad

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18 Foxer101

I'll also be shooting foxes,
    does anyone know if it would have a good range/power for oxes?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 299 ✭✭ROSSKI

I had the magnum and a hornet and a remington .17 .

The .17 hmr would be way ahead of the magnum for accuracy and distance ,also more suitable for Mr.Fox as well- if you could stretch to it i would definitely go for the hmr.;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 152 ✭✭jimbrowning

Foxer101 wrote: »
    had a .22 wmr for about 10 years, and shoot a lot of foxes with it. no problem killing them out at 100. rec cci hollow point. about 10e per 50 box.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,615 ✭✭✭kildare.17hmr

Fine for foxes out to about 100yds, alot more if ya go by the yanks on youtube:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,204 ✭✭✭elius

Lads, was at the local firearms dealers today, Was looking for a handy rifle for mags, greys, rabbits etc.. He showed me a marlin 925m .22win mag, i dont know much about these guns so would be happy if anyone has any advice or info on this gun eg. Power, range, accuracey, etc..

every bit of advice is appriceated,,

Thanks in advance lads..:)

Honestly Save your self the hassle and buy a 223 now. You will only end up changing anyways:P

Other than that i shoot a wmr and find it good fox's 120yrd or so rabbits how goods your shot?.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18 Foxer101

Think im gonna go with it.. 22wmr sounds perfect for what i would be doing:D Thanks for the info and advice:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,612 ✭✭✭jwshooter

i had one ,shot a lot of foxes with , the trigger was crap on it .but i did get it done .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 122 ✭✭wicklow newbie

I have a 22mag by Savage. No problem dropping foxes at 120yds.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,399 ✭✭✭dwighet

elius wrote: »
    Honestly Save your self the hassle and buy a 223 now. You will only end up changing anyways:P

Other than that i shoot a wmr and find it good fox's 120yrd or so rabbits how goods your shot?.

Bang on Elius...
    For a few extra cabbages you can get a nice 204 or 223.....
    But if your new at the game stick to a 17 hmr for a while....
    you will learn a hell of a lot more shootn a 17hmr than shootn a 22wmr...
    And the experiance you get out of the little 17hmr will put you in good stead for a light cal centrefire..

My 2 p worth

jwshooter wrote: »
    i had one ,shot a lot of foxes with , the trigger was crap on it .but i did get it done .

17hmr wasnt available back then, was it?;)

dwighet wrote: »
    you will learn a hell of a lot more shootn a 17hmr than shootn a 22wmr...

What are you going to learn about shooting with something with a flat trajectory???:rolleyes: and besides I don't think the OP is a novice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,575 ✭✭✭Glencarraig

I have a lovely Brno .22 with a scope which I need to get rid of, not interested in getting a cabinet for it. Not looking for lots of dosh for it!!

What are you going to learn about shooting with something with a flat trajectory???:rolleyes: and besides I don't think the OP is a novice.

No worries deek.....Your the man;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,590 ✭✭✭Tackleberrywho

dwighet wrote: »
    No worries deek.....Your the man;)

I agree D, Flater trajectory rules.

I'd get a mod'ed .223/.204 over a .22mag any day.

Back in the day we could only get .22 magnums/hornets, but now we have choices so why limit to a .22mag

Is a .223 or a .204 a little bit excessive to be using on
    mags, greys, rabbits etc..
    as well as the expensive of it all. To buy a .204 or a .223 is about 5 times more expensive than a .22mag and then the cost of ammunition then after that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,271 ✭✭✭✭johngalway

as well as the expensive of it all. To buy a .204 or a .223 is about 5 times more expensive than a .22mag and then the cost of ammunition then after that.

No such thing as over kill, I'd rather be over gunned than under gunned. All shots should be safe shots, after that all that matters is you're not causing a disturbance and your pockets are deep enough to run the rig ;)

Each to their own in my book, ya happy with a .22mag, fair play, ya happy with a 308, fair play ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,920 ✭✭✭Dusty87

I agree with JohnG but does he want the rabbits for eating?? I use a .223 and for mags and greys its great. And rabbits too but i have hit 2 rabbits on the shoulder. Not much meat left, but with headshots its great.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,271 ✭✭✭✭johngalway

I've head shot a fair few bunnies, best way if if they're looking away from you. Head goes missing, leaving ears and shoulders. Next best is side on. I figure if you head shoot him looking at you there'll be fragments in the body. Never tested it but that's my opinion.

If it's a lot of bunnies then the pocketbook will hurt indeed and it's an
    individual decision based on funds.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,920 ✭✭✭Dusty87

I was out with Doyle61 one day. I hit a bunny facing away from me on the head. One side of his head was completely gone. Neither of us had a camera phone on us. My first kill with the new rifle. Thank god for overkill as he would have had some head ache.

johngalway wrote: »
    No such thing as over kill, I'd rather be over gunned than under gunned. All shots should be safe shots, after that all that matters is you're not causing a disturbance and your pockets are deep enough to run the rig ;)

Each to their own in my book, ya happy with a .22mag, fair play, ya happy with a 308, fair play ;)

Fair enough, but the OP was looking for information on a Marlin 925m .22win mag. I didn't mean any disrespect to any of the other calibres and at the end of the day each to his own, I merrily gave my opinion from my experience with my own rifle.

As far as I can tell from being on this forum and others, if someone is thinking of getting into rifle shooting the usual advice given is to start off with a small calibre like a .22 or .17 and then go for something big after that.

But in no way did I give any misleading information or go off topic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,004 ✭✭✭tfox

I agree with this. I have my .17hmr for rabbits, mags, crows, squirrel and all short range foxes !! less than 30 cent a round !!

Only use the .223 when need the extra range on a fox, wouldnt dream of wasting a round like that on a rabbit etc when something cheaper will do !!

But then again I was born in Scotland wnd Scots are renowned for being tight c***s :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,096 ✭✭✭bunny shooter

tfox wrote: »
    .......But then again I was born in Scotland wnd Scots are renowned for being tight c***s :D

There's a rumour that 2 Scots lads invented copper wire....................they were fighting over a penny :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,004 ✭✭✭tfox

There's a rumour that 2 Scots lads invented copper wire....................they were fighting over a penny :p

funny I heard the same thing, except 2 cavan men :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16 HukleberryFinn

I have one of these bought.. just waiting on the licence:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,070 ✭✭✭cavan shooter

I had a 22 mag and was well capable of foxes.......however I never tried it on any bovine species:rolleyes::D