Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Making a complaint about security staff in pub

• 23-07-2010 3:36pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 11,255 ✭✭✭✭

Hey, I'll try keep this as short as I can.

Was at a bar. Was beaten up by a gang. Badly. It was an unprovoked attack. Ran out of the bar, alone, seeking help. The bouncers on the door refused to help me, they just stood there. While I was being beaten up, my mother had called me and my phone had answered, so she had heard everything. She had called the police and sent my older sister to me in a taxi, so my sister was there by the time I managed to get out of the bar (kind of hard when you're being thrown on a table and swung around by your hair and thankfully she doesn't live too far away).

I was outside the bar kicking up murder because I was in the midst of a panic attack, had chunks taken out of my hair, bruises all over my body and a banjaxed ankle. The manager came out and said I was lying. He then told my sister he was "cancelling" the police because nothing happened. She demanded that he NOT cancel them, as he had nothing to do with calling them in the first place. My mum did. He refused to co-operate and only when the gang came out to get me again did he do something - he told my sister to leave them alone and had a bouncer pull HER back because she screamed at them to f*ck off and leave me alone. Please note they did NOT get a chance to attack me again at this stage, as the police showed up. So the manager ushered the scumbags back into the bar and told the police there was nothing going on.

Anyway, got it sorted out and whatnot, but how would I go about finding out which security company the bar uses, as I wish to complain because I was ALONE, with not a single person near me when I sought help and the bouncers ignored me? It's not like they had to protect themselves, I was alone after being beaten to a pulp.

Also, how would I go about making a complaint about the manager? I have no idea who to get onto, how to find the contact details, anything.

Any help would be appreciated!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 89 ✭✭Miss Dymph

Lynda,

My gosh you poor thing, its shocking that such things can happen unhindered in our society! First things first, when the guards arrived and saw your physical appearance after the attack, what action did they take? And who do you wish to complain the manager to? The owner or the authorities? Im sure you are entitled to know which company the bouncers work for so ill have a nosy around the net for you. Also almost every bar and club now has CCTV on the till, the bathrooms, the doors etc so you should be well supported evidence wise and it looks extremely bad on them if they can't produce the tapes when asked.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,255 ✭✭✭✭Esoteric_

Thanks a million :)

Basically when the guards got there, they saw me and smelled me (I had had several pints thrown at me on top of the beating) :p So they asked me what had happened and I explained it. Their jaws literally dropped, because although the attack was unprovoked, it was instigated by a man who raped me 4 years ago. He saw me in the bar and got this gang of his friends to kick me around the place basically. They asked me what I wanted to do, and they were all for getting charges made, but I was crying and struggling to breathe because of the panic attack and begged them several times to let me go home. They gave me their card and asked me to call them to take it further.

Police aside (because they were absolutely brilliant with me), I basically want to complain to the owner of the bar, and I also want to lodge an objection at the bar's next license renewal. As for the security, I want to find out which company they work for and make a complaint to whoever deals with that sort of thing. I could understand if I was being attacked in front of them because I know that their own protection is first and foremost, but I was alone save for my friend, clearly distressed and seeking help. There was nobody there that could have jeopardized their safety, so I'm determined to make complaints with their seniors.

I just haven't a clue who to seek out or what to Google :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6 whiteprince

Name the bar please ?

For legal reasons i dont think you should mention the bar in case you decide to take action against them Lynda. You need to go to your solicitor and ask him to send a formal complaint to the owner of the bar, he/she'l have a better idea of who it is and ask them for legal advice on complaining against the licence renewal. You also need to talk to them about the bouncers, again they'l have a better idea. It may be that they can make a few calls and find out the company the bouncers work for. There's not a whole lot you can do without the aid of a solicitor to work on your behalf. You've had such awful things done to you, you need to take the proper steps and see it doesnt happen to anyone else or indeed god forbid yourself again

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,255 ✭✭✭✭Esoteric_

whiteprince, I can't name the bar because it could hinder anything legal that I may decide to do and also because Boards don't allow you to name and shame, as far as I know.

Miss Dymph, thanks a million for all your help :)

No problem Lynda:) I just really hope everything gets sorted for you, you sound like a really brave person and a determined girl so stick to your guns and totally roll around in the satisfaction that ul get the job done and they'l think twice before they breach their duty of care again! As a rule, bouncers have a duty of care to you as do bar staff when you are on their premises so you tell em x

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,123 ✭✭✭stepbar

Out of interest..... can anyone tell me what happens if the injured party decided to prosecute? What's the process? I assume one can get free legal aid?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,451 ✭✭✭Delancey

stepbar wrote: »
    Out of interest..... can anyone tell me what happens if the injured party decided to prosecute? What's the process? I assume one can get free legal aid?

By prosecute I take it you mean prosecute the attackers ? In that case the IP needs to make a statement of complaint to the Gardai who then investigate. Legal Aid does not enter into it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,897 ✭✭✭MagicSean

First thing is to go to a doctor and get treated as well as document your injuries. Then make a statement to the garda who gave you the card and bring your sister to make one. Make sure to mention the actions of the security staff in your statements. Also tell the Garda that you will be writing to the Superintendent and informing him what happened and to request he object to the licence renewal. Then write to the Superintendent. Once you have your statement made to the Gardaí go to a solicitor and initiate civil proceedings against the bar, security company and individuals involved. Its easy to find out who the security company was.They should all have badges and be registered. Just go back and have a look at the doormen outside. If they don't, add this in your letter to the superintendent. I also think you should contact the rape crisis center. They will be able to help you over the emotional trauma which you most likely have suffered from this incident and advise you too. You say the situation was instigated by a man who raped you. If you haven't yet made a statement to the Gardaí about the rape you still can. If you did make a statement you should inform the garda who was investigating the rape of the recent situations. Feel free to PM me if you have any questions.

PS You should make the statement about the assault in the bar as soon as possible so you can ensure there is cctv still there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,123 ✭✭✭stepbar

delancey42 wrote: »
    By prosecute I take it you mean prosecute the attackers ? In that case the IP needs to make a statement of complaint to the Gardai who then investigate. Legal Aid does not enter into it.

Yep that's what I mean. But what happens after that?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,451 ✭✭✭Delancey

stepbar wrote: »
    Yep that's what I mean. But what happens after that?

After an initial statement of complaint is taken the matter is investigated - this may take a number of strands such as interviewing witnesses , reviewing CCTV and of course questioning the alleged attackers ( under caution ). Depending on the outcome of this investigation a decision may be taken to prosecute those responsible ( Gardai may seek a direction from the DPP as to the appropriate charges ). If a prosecution is commenced the suspects are charged and in due course appear in court where they may plead guilty/not guilty , if pleading not guilty then a trial gets underway.

The above is a very ' potted ' example of how things may go - the first thing though is to make an initial statement of complaint to the Gardai - without that nothing will happen.

Complaints against door staff / civil action against Bar Owner are matters to be considered separately.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,253 ✭✭✭cushtac

Once you've identified the bouncers get onto the Private Security Authority & report their actions. If the bouncers are licensed the PSA can revoke them. If they weren't the PSA can prosecute their employers.