Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Garda SDU/ERU entrance

• 23-07-2010 1:06am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 101 ✭✭

I've always had an interest in the Special Detectives Unit and the Emergency Response Unit which is a subsidiary of it. While I know details of its functioning and work can't really be posted in a public forum, I was wondering how do Gardaí get into it?

Like I know you've to do a four year term as a uniform before you can apply for Specialist posts (eg: Traffic Corps, etc.) but is the SDU any different such as in a minimum rank requirement?

Also, are there Detective Gardaí lower than Sergeant rank? Or is do the Detective ranks begin horizontal to Sergeant, and then a Detective Inspector is horizontal to Inspector? Or am I just getting the picture wrong.

Thanks for your help, and keep up the good work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,213 ✭✭✭shakin

Scan Man wrote: »
    I've always had an interest in the Special Detectives Unit and the Emergency Response Unit which is a subsidiary of it. While I know details of its functioning and work can't really be posted in a public forum, I was wondering how do Gardaí get into it?

Like I know you've to do a four year term as a uniform before you can apply for Specialist posts (eg: Traffic Corps, etc.) but is the SDU any different such as in a minimum rank requirement?

Also, are there Detective Gardaí lower than Sergeant rank? Or is do the Detective ranks begin horizontal to Sergeant, and then a Detective Inspector is horizontal to Inspector? Or am I just getting the picture wrong.

Thanks for your help, and keep up the good work.

in 2004 there were around 50 or so members of ERU. So out of 14,000 odd members its tough to get in, you have to do 3 years operational experience.
    There is a 2-week pre-selection course, known as hell week. afaik there is a high failure rate i.e. 80% maybe more.

there is some info online but not a lot of specifics for obviious reasons, i suggest you google, eru evening herald, eru barr report and eru garda review. some interesting articles here. from the herald article an eru members state its a very commited and tough job.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 101 ✭✭Scan Man

shakin wrote: »
    in 2004 there were around 50 or so members of ERU. So out of 14,000 odd members its tough to get in, you have to do 3 years operational experience.
    There is a 2-week pre-selection course, known as hell week. afaik there is a high failure rate i.e. 80% maybe more.

there is some info online but not a lot of specifics for obviious reasons, i suggest you google, eru evening herald, eru barr report and eru garda review. some interesting articles here. from the herald article an eru members state its a very commited and tough job.
    That's what I thought, I'm both surprised and worried that there's only around 50 officers involved in it. But I suppose they've got plenty of support and good information.

I'd imagine it's a fairly demanding role alright. I currently haven't applied to join the force at all yet, so obviously its a long way to go but its good to have some knowledge of it.

Could you or anyone else provide any info on the second question? Namely the rank structure for ordinary Detectives (in local districts, NBCI, etc.) as to where they start off? So after four years you apply for a Detective position when it becomes available, where to from there (like Det Sgt, Det Inspector, Det Superintendent)?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 169 ✭✭ste88m

Ranks as a detective are exactly the same as uniformed Gardaí, just with the detective prefix in front.

So yes, there are plenty of Detective Guards lower than sergeant rank.

ste88m wrote: »
    Ranks as a detective are exactly the same as uniformed Gardaí, just with the detective prefix in front.

So yes, there are plenty of Detective Guards lower than sergeant rank.
    I'd always wondered as I'd figured there must be more than just Sergeants, as you'd wonder how there's always so many around?

Detective Garda. Now that's a title that has a ring to it! :)

Hopefully my final question lads: Is there a minimum rank requirement to join the SDU (obviously I'm sure Detective rank(non-SDU) would be preferable for applicants)?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 169 ✭✭ste88m

Hopefully my final question lads: Is there a minimum rank requirement to join the SDU (obviously I'm sure Detective rank(non-SDU) would be preferable for applicants)?

There is no such thing as 'Detective Rank' - A Detective is just a Garda that has been appointed to serve as a Detective. They are on the exact same basic pay package as a normal garda, the only thing that differs is allowances.

Not sure can I comment on internal matters like that, but let's just say once you're in there, you can be on a variety of units after 3 years.

ste88m wrote: »
    There is no such thing as 'Detective Rank' - A Detective is just a Garda that has been appointed to serve as a Detective. They are on the exact same basic pay package as a normal garda, the only thing that differs is allowances.

Not sure can I comment on internal matters like that, but let's just say once you're in there, you can be on a variety of units after 3 years.
    Ah I see now. Basic things but I just found it hard to picture how it worked.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 319 ✭✭Locust

+1 detective garda and garda are the same rank, its just a side step thats all, not a step up. garda sergeant inspector super are ranks they can all have 'd' before them. As said with 14000 people the majority of people in the job are garda rank. You'd probably have to put in years in uniform and also years as a detective/investigative work, have a load of positive references/commendations and courses built up before going for NBCI or SDU. To be realistic you wouldn't get into those jobs 3-4 years into the job. I've big respect for ERU but on a side note I think SDU could be renamed into a few more apt titles... :)

Locust wrote: »
    +1 detective garda and garda are the same rank, its just a side step thats all, not a step up. garda sergeant inspector super are ranks they can all have 'd' before them. As said with 14000 people the majority of people in the job are garda rank. You'd probably have to put in years in uniform and also years as a detective/investigative work, have a load of positive references/commendations and courses built up before going for NBCI or SDU. To be realistic you wouldn't get into those jobs 3-4 years into the job. I've big respect for ERU but on a side note I think SDU could be renamed into a few more apt titles... :)

To clarify, I wouldn't be expecting to get into any specialist unit after four years but in theory that's the way I heard it supposedly works. I'd be quiet happy doing uniform work, as from talking to members, it's different almost every day which sort of balances meeting people at their worst.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,355 ✭✭✭punchdrunk

well just for reference my cousin is a detective in the national surveillance unit and he's roughly about 27/28 and has been a detective about two years now so it seems to me you can move beyond being a regular Gardaí quickly if you put your mind to it
    on the other hand another very good friend is a Guard in Blanch and she's about 30 now,and I'd have equal admiration for the work they both do
    I wouldn't say he's any smarter or more focused than she is,even if he does seem to have the better position

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

(in local districts, NBCI, etc.)

Sorry, what is NBCI?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 805 ✭✭✭Irish_polizei

Sorry, what is NBCI?

National Bureau of Criminal Investigation

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,938 ✭✭✭deadwood

Use the back door.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,127 ✭✭✭✭kerry4sam

deadwood wrote: »
    Use the back door.

yeah, just follow the instructions given by deadwood and all will be well!

Funny%20Photos%20Humor%20Images05.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 615 ✭✭✭Boaty

Sdu has changed, back in the 80's you could join Sdu soon after becoming a garda.My friend was the youngest member of SDU back in the 80's.He missed out on alot family wise. He couldn't leave a raid just becasue his shift was up, he done well for himself, there was alot of overtime and stress but he enjoyed it and was in SDU for 21 years