Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Do I need a new bumper??

• 22-07-2010 7:30pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,998 ✭✭✭

Unfortunately when I came out to my car this evening there had been some damage done to my front bumper, looking at it I suppose someone may have reversed into it and driven away - I'm not sure to be honest.

I'm wondering if anyone has any idea on whether I'd be able to get the damage fixed without being forced into buying a new bumper. I've attached a few pictures...

I haven't priced a new bumper yet but I'd imagine it'll set me back €600 anyway. As I'm madly saving for a new car at the moment I'm not entirely keen on shelling out for a new bumper and then sell it in a few months time.

Any help is greatly appreciated here....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,683 ✭✭✭✭Owen

No need for a bumper, that's a pretty straight forward repair. Were are you based? I'm sure the motors regulars from your area can recommend someone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,696 ✭✭✭✭drunkmonkey

Borrow the jag in the background if you need to impress, if your thinking of changing the car anyway the garage would probably not give you any more of a trade in with the dents as opposed to a bumper that's been painted, it may actually devalue your car as they may think it was in a frontal crash.

see can you rub down the scratches a bit and drive it on..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,998 ✭✭✭Shane732

Another two pictures....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 827 ✭✭✭VinnyTGM

Try a rubbing compound first, no need to replace it.
    It might need to be sprayed but if your trading it in soon enough, why bother.

No need for a bumper, that's a pretty straight forward repair. Were are you based? I'm sure the motors regulars from your area can recommend someone.

I'm based in the Meath/Dublin area - do you have any suggestions?

Borrow the jag in the background if you need to impress, if your thinking of changing the car anyway the garage would probably not give you any more of a trade in with the dents as opposed to a bumper that's been painted, it may actually devalue your car as they may think it was in a frontal crash.

see can you rub down the scratches a bit and drive it on..

Good spot on the Jag! I had to look back at the pictures to see where is was in the pics!

The dents aren't really that bad at all, there tiny.

I haven't washed it or tried compound yet but will do at the weekend. Hopefully that will help it a bit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,565 ✭✭✭jaffa20

I'd have a go at it yourself before paying anything towards it. Doesn't look too bad.

Nice tie btw:p

Could could try Auto Smart Systems - I haven't used them, but a fair few boardsies recommended them before. They'll come to you, and it won't cost the earth.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,604 ✭✭✭kyote00

Thats a write off....:D

I have used carcraft (carcraft.ie) with very good results.

They recently repaired a deeper skuff in a bumper for me for €175

kyote00 wrote: »
    Thats a write off....:D

I have used carcraft (carcraft.ie) with very good results.

They recently repaired a deeper skuff in a bumper for me for €175

Thanks for the replies...

Any preference between carcraft and ass??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,093 ✭✭✭✭Esel
    Not Your Ornery Onager

For me: ass.

I didn't bring a coat.

Not your ornery onager

Just a quick update on this:

I was due to have my car serviced today anyway, so I decided to take advantage of the cheap oil service that southern BMW dealers are offering at the moment. When I dropped the car in I asked them to have a look at the damage.

They quoted me €650 plus VAT to repair it and that's not for a new bumper!!! I can get a new bumper for £350 in a main BMW dealer in the north. What an absolute joke.

Not only that but apparently I have a puncture (on a tyre that was bought 2 months ago and is in perfect shape!!!!). They wanted €350 for the tyre!!!!!

What an absolute joke - Southern BMW dealers should be ashamed of themselves. I've always gone up the north with my Mini and BMW, after an incident I had with another BMW dealer regarding my Mini.

If Southern dealers are offering a deal then they shouldn't be trying to screw their customers.

Southern BMW dealers should look at their northern counter parts.

/Rant

Shane732 wrote: »

Not only that but apparently I have a puncture (on a tyre that was bought 2 months ago and is in perfect shape!!!!). They wanted €350 for the tyre!!!!!

I presume it's a runflat ? By perfect you mean there is no nail or similar stuck in it and it loses no air. If their is nothing stuck in it and it loses no air they are a right shower.

I've got a MINI too, well, 2 of them if you include herselfs. While MINIs are very cheap to service under the TLC Package (5 years for 250 Euro), once they get out of that honeymoon period servicing at a main dealer gets expensive - mostly due to labour, parts aren't so bad. If you want, I can recommend an independent MINI specialist in Cork. It's only 2 hours down the road now, so you could pop down, get your bits done, go shopping and drive back up in the same day. Full dealer level GT1 diagnostics too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,473 ✭✭✭robtri

I haven't priced a new bumper yet but I'd imagine it'll set me back €600 anyway. As I'm madly saving for a new car at the moment I'm not entirely keen on shelling out for a new bumper and then sell it in a few months time.

Any help is greatly appreciated here....

no need for a new bumper, bring it to a local body repair shop and they should be able to do it for half that cost and it will be perfect..

PS surely €600 even isnt too bad for someone who is considering dropping €90k on a new car....:D

RoverJames wrote: »
    I presume it's a runflat ? By perfect you mean there is no nail or similar stuck in it and it loses no air. If their is nothing stuck in it and it loses no air they are a right shower.

I had the car checked over last night by a friend of mine who's a mechanic. He said that all she needed was an oil service. He had a quick look at the tyres etc... and said they were fine. He didn't check the pressures but I assume there ok.

It'll be interesting to see if it comes out with a puncture!

Only reason I didn't get my mate to do the service was because I wanted to keep the full service history.

robtri wrote: »
    no need for a new bumper, bring it to a local body repair shop and they should be able to do it for half that cost and it will be perfect..

PS surely €600 even isnt too bad for someone who is considering dropping €90k on a new car....:D

While I'm in a position that I can spend a fair amount of money on a car it doesn't mean that I'm happy with some fu*ker of a dealer taking me for a ride. When I buy a car I make sure I get the best possible deal - it's the same regarless of whether you're spending €1,000 on a car or €250,000.

I got a quote from a BMW dealer up the northen this morning and it came in at £350 for a new bumper. I got them to price and tyre and even if I needed a new tyre I'd still be under the €600 I was quoted just for fixing the bumper down here.

While I'm in a position that I can spend a fair amount of money on a car it doesn't mean that I'm happy with some fu*ker of a dealer taking me for a ride.

The only time you're not taken for a ride when buying a car is when you can sell it for more than what you paid for it or break even. Anything different and the difference is the amount you've been shafted for.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,473 ✭✭✭robtri

While I'm in a position that I can spend a fair amount of money on a car it doesn't mean that I'm happy with some fu*ker of a dealer taking me for a ride. When I buy a car I make sure I get the best possible deal - it's the same regarless of whether you're spending €1,000 on a car or €250,000.

I got a quote from a BMW dealer up the northen this morning and it came in at £350 for a new bumper. I got them to price and tyre and even if I needed a new tyre I'd still be under the €600 I was quoted just for fixing the bumper down here.

£350 = €430 euro.. plus travelling expenses, hire car and insurance for day for duration? and if you take into account time off to work travel up and have it done you would be over €600.00 euro... so not really getting ****ed by the dealer are you...

as i said a proper indpendant bodyshop in the south would be much better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,712 ✭✭✭✭R.O.R

Was that just a quote for a bumper, or a quote to have a replacement bumper painted and fitted?

Just a quick update on this:

I had the bumper repaired today by Auto Smart Systems for €120. I've attached some pictures of the repairs job. I must say it looks perfect - the rest of the car just needs a good waxing!

I'd highly recommend Noel from Auto Smart Systems - he's excellent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 245 ✭✭Fiesta

Are you happy with that?

From the 1st picture especially, it looks quite poor, a bit of a DIY jobbie. Maybe it's just a bad picture.

The repaired section looks much flatter / orange peely than the lovely polished section with the headlamp washers. Even a little bit of paint run, top left by the looks of it.

Maybe it's just the light....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,213 ✭✭✭PrettyBoy

Concerned parents in the first pic? :p

Have to say the first pic after repairs doesn't look the best, looks a bit flat, not smooth like the rest of the paint. Maybe it is the light though, you seem happy with the results so I'm sure it's grand.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,822 ✭✭✭✭EPM

I dunno which is worse - the t-shirt or the repair:D;):p

If you're happy then thats enough

Just another quick update:

Unfortunately my car was hit for a second time. Same story, it looks like someone backed into it and drove off.

I got on to Noel in Auto Smart again and he popped in to me on his way home last night.

I really can't recommend him enough. You guys may have said that the first repair job didn't look great but I put that down to my awful photography skills. The repair job was prefect, polished up perfectly and matched the paintwork 100%.

The service he provides is top notch. I've dealt with enough fecking eejits from different places in the last few years and believe me it's a joy to be able to deal with Noel instead of those idiots.

Cheers again Noel.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 245 ✭✭Fiesta

Pics please!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,093 ✭✭✭✭Esel
    Not Your Ornery Onager

Fiesta wrote: »
    Better pics please!
    FYP :D

Not your ornery onager