Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Attack by crows/pigeons on cereal crops started???

• 22-07-2010 5:21pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,390 ✭✭✭

Just wondering if the attack has started in any areas yet...still all quite here at the moment.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,920 ✭✭✭Dusty87

Seen one pigeon landing in the barley across the road about a week ago JR. Havnt seen one since. I hear a crow banger across the fields but maybe thats just in the hope of stopping them before they start. Must drive around to the permissions and have a watch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,204 ✭✭✭elius

Was out for a yonder on monday and there starting our this way. ill be heading out soon enough.. Meath;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 90 ✭✭murphy125

Ye definately started on standing wheat in Meath:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,096 ✭✭✭bunny shooter

Going on here in Sth Tipp for a few weeks now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 935 ✭✭✭dicky82

was out in donnabate on tue and saw bout 70-80 woodies landing and fluttering onto standing wheat.

Hasn't started in Leixlip yet.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,612 ✭✭✭jwshooter

lots of pigeon around me now .

jwshooter wrote: »
    lots of pigeon around me now .

Should they not be roosting at this hour?:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,956 ✭✭✭homerhop

Starting to hit it hard in South Kildare

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,590 ✭✭✭Tackleberrywho

I have 80 acres of barley 90 of wheat on my road, I have seen "A" pigeon

This year seems weird, like everything is ~ 2 months late

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,081 ✭✭✭terminator2

pigeons starting on standing wheat out my way ; time to buy a few boxes of 7s

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,869 ✭✭✭Birdnuts

Starting to warm up here now!!

was talking to one of the local land owners today ,he told me one of the lads from our local gun club had been up during the week and had shot 100 pigeons hitting his wheat.........farmer was delighted

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20 browningsporter

Looking for some pigeon shooting. Im near Athlone.

Farmers around Athlone might help

was talking to one of the local land owners today ,he told me one of the lads from our local gun club had been up during the week and had shot 100 pigeons hitting his wheat.........farmer was delighted

Il call up during the week Term;):D

feel free ....well show ye how to shoot ;):D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 245 ✭✭johnner1

they are milling wheat out of it on one of my permissions for the last 2 weeks or so.
    i had a few shots at them today;)

feel free ....well show ye how to shoot ;):D

The least yis could do after all the times we showed yee to play GAA:D:D

Up this morning at 6.45, barley field across the road. Crows and pigeons sitting on the telephone wires. Feeding to close to the road, may get a rotary

Dusty87 wrote: »
    The least yis could do after all the times we showed yee to play GAA:D:D

Up this morning at 6.45, barley field across the road. Crows and pigeons sitting on the telephone wires. Feeding to close to the road, may get a rotary

Are ya doing anything wed?

I have boxes of cartridges just screaming to be used;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,869 ✭✭✭Birdnuts

I wonder is their a markets for these tasty cereal fattened pigeons??. I reckon some of those East Europeans in many of our towns and cities would be keen on these.:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,271 ✭✭✭✭johngalway

Birdnuts wrote: »
    I wonder is their a markets for these tasty cereal fattened pigeons??. I reckon some of those East Europeans in many of our towns and cities would be keen on these.:)

I'm not sure, but I'd figure a person may need some type of license to sell to the general public. Can't pee sideways in Ireland without a license or permit of some type now.

johngalway wrote: »
    I'm not sure, but I'd figure a person may need some type of license to sell to the general public. Can't pee sideways in Ireland without a license or permit of some type now.

And shoot them with steel shot or copper coated shot.

Are ya doing anything wed?

I have boxes of cartridges just screaming to be used;)

Its the field straight across the field from my house. Have only seen farmer once and dont have a clue where he lives but il keep an eye for him
    Birdnuts wrote: »

Some Eastern Europeans love them, and can be bought over there in most butchers
    johngalway wrote: »

Would you need a game dealers licence to sell to the public??
    And shoot them with steel shot or copper coated shot.

I doubt it. Lead would be fine. Here anyway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,271 ✭✭✭✭johngalway

Dusty87 wrote: »
    Would you need a game dealers licence to sell to the public??

I'm not sure, but if I were looking to be selling something I was shooting to the public in general or to a business I'd look into that aspect first, better to be covered than not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,390 ✭✭✭J.R.

There's a crowd in Rathdrum, Wicklow who buy all types of game.....advertises in ISD. Can get details from the magazine if anyone needs it.

If selling to someone like this you're covered......as long as one party has a Wildlife Dealer's Licence.

J.R. wrote: »
    There's a crowd in Rathdrum, Wicklow who buy all types of game.....advertises in ISD. Can get details from the magazine if anyone needs it.

If selling to someone like this you're covered......as long as one party has a Wildlife Dealer's Licence.

If you go to golden pages.ie and type gamedealers in you will get two dealers too. Could be the same wicklow fella you know JR.
    I usually just keep mine anyway, im no Archie Coates:p