Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Day playing Old head with foregolf

• 22-07-2010 4:35pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 128 ✭✭

Just received email from foregolf saying i have won one of 50 places to play the old head with them on the 14th Aug:). Anybody else win a place. Any body play the course as i cant wait to see this place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 619 ✭✭✭sweetswing

Just saw your post:D
    flew onto my email , and ye ha im in aswell.
    its a long ol haul from dublin but it should be well worth it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,216 ✭✭✭aster99

is this for people who have been customers of foregolf in the past?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,225 ✭✭✭JCDUB

Nice work lads, it looks like a cracker of a course.

Drove out to it last year on a breezy rainy day, it looked like it's capable of eating up the best of them!

New motorways all the way to Cork, you'll be there in no time. Enjoy!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 619 ✭✭✭sweetswing

JCDUB wrote: »
    Nice work lads, it looks like a cracker of a course.

Drove out to it last year on a breezy rainy day, it looked like it's capable of eating up the best of them!

New motorways all the way to Cork, you'll be there in no time. Enjoy!
    yeah it looks fantastic , any idea how long it would take to drive down?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,225 ✭✭✭JCDUB

sweetswing wrote: »
    yeah it looks fantastic , any idea how long it would take to drive down?

About 2 and a half hrs to the Jack Lynch tunnel and roughly another 40 minutes from there out to Kinsale, and about another 10 mins past Kinsale out to Old Head.

These are rough times, check out sat nav or AA roadwatch for more figures:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,984 ✭✭✭Trampas

Couldn't apply cause of in law wedding :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 275 ✭✭jonas7

brians947 wrote: »
    Just received email from foregolf saying i have won one of 50 places to play the old head with them on the 14th Aug:). Anybody else win a place. Any body play the course as i cant wait to see this place.

How did you win that? Jammy git:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 128 ✭✭brians947

Went for a fitting and they re-shafted me irons and new driver. As a past customer sent out an email for a round of golf in the old head. Entered ad applied for a buddy invite as well. Well i was one of the 50 but no buddy passes but have promised something later in the year to compensate. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 537 ✭✭✭ozymandias10

The scenery at the old head is fabulous...the course is not very difficult but it is a special place and has some interesting tee shots.....on 18 tee off from the back sticks up at the lighthouse it is breathtaking....enjoy

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,385 ✭✭✭ThunderCat

The scenery at the old head is fabulous...the course is not very difficult but it is a special place and has some interesting tee shots.....on 18 tee off from the back sticks up at the lighthouse it is breathtaking....enjoy

You What? :eek:

Anyone I know thats played there, myself included, got beaten up badly. You must have had it on a pet day ozymandias or else are very very good indeed. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,426 ✭✭✭Miley Byrne

The landing areas off the tee are generous though so on a calm day it's not too bad. Played it twice in the last 12 months and both days were dead calm (thank god). Just got lucky. But I'd say calm days there are few and far between. I'd imagine it'd be very tough in the wind.

Enjoy the 12th. It's some par 5. Great hole

10766654.jpg.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 511 ✭✭✭D Hayes

A mate of mine caddies there and he said that they've cut back the rough a lot this year to speed up the 5+ hour rounds down there. So it is playing easier than in previous years.

The tee off from the 12th (over a cliff) and from the back tee on the 18th (even longer carry over a cliff) are spectacular.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 537 ✭✭✭ozymandias10

ThunderCat wrote: »
    You What? :eek:

Anyone I know thats played there, myself included, got beaten up badly. You must have had it on a pet day ozymandias or else are very very good indeed. :D
    just saying it as I see it...It is no where as difficult as waterville, lahinch rosses point etc......it is not terribly long....generous landing areas ...with a gale blowing it is savage...otherwise I stick to my opinion and I have played there four or five times over the last few years...love it and have always played well there

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,385 ✭✭✭ThunderCat

just saying it as I see it...It is no where as difficult as waterville, lahinch rosses point etc......it is not terribly long....generous landing areas ...with a gale blowing it is savage...otherwise I stick to my opinion and I have played there four or five times over the last few years...love it and have always played well there

I think what makes it so difficult in my experience is that the wind blows so much harder there than anywhere else due to the fact that you are beside the sea but also so high up.
    Fair play to you for playing well there. Its a very enjoyable round of golf regardless of how you are playing but if you are playing well then id imagine its all the sweeter.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,770 ✭✭✭danthefan

Would really love to play there. Too expensive for my blood though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,844 ✭✭✭Jimdagym

danthefan wrote: »
    Your home course isn't exactly pocket change Dan.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,770 ✭✭✭danthefan

Jimdagym wrote: »
    Your home course isn't exactly pocket change Dan.

I think I paid about 150 old pounds to join initally as a junior, then as a junior moving to a full membership I didn't have to pay anything even remotely like the €20k they want as a joining fee now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,844 ✭✭✭Jimdagym

I think I paid about 150 old pounds to join initally as a junior, then as a junior moving to a full membership I didn't have to pay anything even remotely like the €20k they want as a joining fee now.

Nice. Thats the way to do it (if you can).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,426 ✭✭✭Miley Byrne

I think that Volvo masters thingy is on there next month for €75.They also do an offer for €60 each if you get a group of 16. Not sure what months this offer is available though. It's well worth that kinda money for a treat now and again!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 496 ✭✭Jasonw

yeah. the volvo masters is the day before. Hope we have a good weekend.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 115 ✭✭kildareman09

played here last weekend this place is just stunning the views are unreal its a tough course and it took me 3 and half hours to get ther from celbridge in kildare with not very much traffic