Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Road Ramping Micra!?

• 22-07-2010 1:39pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 986 ✭✭✭Bill-e

Anyone have a URL for the video? Would like to see it!

http://www.irishexaminer.com/ireland/kfcwojidojey/rss2/
    The 17-second clip shows a Nissan Micra being driven at speed down a steep field, believed to be in the Clonakilty area of West Cork and leaping over a road before landing in another field.

The Road Safety Authority (RSA) has also condemned another clip posted on YouTube which showed young drivers in Nenagh hanging out of their cars while driving at speed along country roads.

The latest clip was shot in the general Clonakilty area and was posted on YouTube about a month ago.

A red Nissan Micra is seen driving at speed down a steep hill in a field, then leaping through a raised gap in a ditch, over the public road, and passing through a gap in trees across the road before landing in another field and driving off.

A person standing close to the ditch appears to be keeping watch and jumps out of the way as the car approaches its take-off position.

Onlookers can be heard laughing and calling for the stunt to be repeated.

There are fears the car jumped over a section of the N71 — one of the busiest tourist routes in the region.

Several people have posted comments describing those involved as "legends".

One comment states: "That’s just the funniest thing I’ve seen in a long time! Class!"

The clip has been viewed more than 8,600 times.

RSA spokesman Brian Farrell described the stunt as "dangerous and highly irresponsible".

"Those involved put their own lives, and the lives of other road users at risk," he said. "This type of behaviour cannot be condoned. Anyone who comes across this kind of behaviour should report it to gardaí immediately."

Clonakilty-based Garda Superintendent Pat Maher said this particular incident is not the subject of a current Garda investigation, but he said he would be very concerned about such activity. "I would appeal to the public who may be of assistance to us to give us any information they have, in confidence, in order to stamp out this kind of behaviour to prevent possible death. This can only end in tragedy."

He urged people to contact Clonakilty Garda Station on 023-882 1570 or the Garda Confidential Line on 1800-666 111.

Meanwhile, following a Garda investigation into the Nenagh footage, three men have been questioned and two cars have been seized.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,836 ✭✭✭TanG411

Search 'Clonakilty Day 3' on Youtube.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,691 ✭✭✭JimmyCrackCorn

This thread is useless without the video in question.

all high horse and tut tutting can be done after.:D

Could be a river!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

EDIT- Damn you Phasers!!

Don't you mean JimmyCrackCorn?

Edit-

wait whoa... what just happened there?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,294 ✭✭✭rainbowdrop

If it was a race to get the video up.......

JimmyCrackCorn - Gold
    Phasers - Silver
    Rainbowdrop - Bronze

EDIT - Confused.com

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,598 ✭✭✭✭prinz

EDIT - Confused.com

Where all good road ramping Micras get their insurance quotes!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

I was first, yer man above me edited his post. Just sayin.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

"Video taping this crime spree was our best idea ever!"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

phasers wrote: »
    I was first, yer man above me edited his post. Just sayin.

Larkin91 is the real winner of the thread though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,635 ✭✭✭token56

And these guy have other vids posted with some of them visible in it, I'm presuming it wont be long before they are able to find who it was.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,691 ✭✭✭JimmyCrackCorn

Hopefully its a private road and they can tell them to fook off. :D

If its not its a crap way to loose your licence.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

They jumped over a public road... so I recon it should still be an offence.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 804 ✭✭✭yerayeah

Feckin clowns.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,991 ✭✭✭mathepac

They jumped over a public road... so I recon it should still be an offence.
    No pilot's licence.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,100 ✭✭✭tommyhaas

In fairness, if your going to loose your liscence, I cant think of any better way to do it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,598 ✭✭✭✭prinz

I kept watching to see if Sheriff Rosco or Boss Hogg would make an appearance :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,498 ✭✭✭✭cson

Jaysus that's proper Dukes of Hazard style stuff there.

And in a Micra.

I'm impressed :cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 804 ✭✭✭yerayeah

Anyone have the video of the landing the boyos got on the other side of the ditch?!:p

Say the old Micra's suspension wouldn't be up to much!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,100 ✭✭✭tommyhaas

If both the ramp and the landing area are on private ground, I dont see how he can be done for it, given he didnt auctually touch the public road

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 986 ✭✭✭Bill-e

Thanks guys!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,423 ✭✭✭tinkerbell

Have ye seen this one? Same Micra!
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JG2I-qnoH6g&NR=1

That poor Micra has taken some beating! All smoke n everything coming from it so I wonder was the "jumping" micra across the road taken before it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

I don't believe this story....
    The 17-second clip shows a Nissan Micra being driven at speed down a steep field, believed to be in the Clonakilty area of West Cork and leaping over a road before landing in another field.

Everyone knows that a Nissan Micra can't go over 30km/ph.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,178 ✭✭✭Bob the Seducer

I don't believe this story....

You missed this part! It's a bit like if you were on a bike or skateboard - the speed's all down to gravity, not the 1.0L engine. :D

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 7,943 Mod ✭✭✭✭Yakult

What an awesome jump!

:mad:

bluewolf wrote: »
    :mad:

Spot the "granny car" driver!

I love my micra!!

(my granny drives a Merc actually :( )

bluewolf wrote: »
    I love my micra!!

(my granny drives a Merc actually :( )

Welcome to the upside-down world. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 627 ✭✭✭fatgav

video taken down... Shame

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,704 ✭✭✭squod

I heard a cow jumped over the moon once.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,009 ✭✭✭✭Run_to_da_hills

I can see media fueled Utube car stunts becoming the latest fad for scumbags.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,163 ✭✭✭✭Liam Byrne

If not then I damn well hope they do! Idiots! :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,163 ✭✭✭✭Liam Byrne

fatgav wrote: »
    video taken down... Shame

Well, if they were idiotic enough to (a) do it and (b) post it on the net so that they get caught, then that's the only sensible move they made.

Hopefully the Gardaí spotted it before it was taken down.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,572 ✭✭✭msg11

The car is a Starlet GT turbo, just too add. Well in that picture, and it's not red ??

Anyone got a clip of this non sense?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,699 ✭✭✭ronaneire

Sitec wrote: »
    No its a red Micra jumping over a road.

Never knew cars could jump :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 856 ✭✭✭Carl Sagan

ronaneire wrote: »
    Never knew cars could jump :p

Anyone save the video?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,631 ✭✭✭✭Hank Scorpio

who ever upped the vid is after removing it :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,423 ✭✭✭tinkerbell

The guy who uploaded it as after removing all his videos (he had 5 on there yesterday).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,467 ✭✭✭Wazdakka

Damnit.. I didn't get to see the video before it got removed.
    Now all these jokes are just going to go completly over my hedge head..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,465 ✭✭✭Irish Halo

msg11 wrote: »
    The car is a Starlet GT turbo, just too add. Well in that picture, and it's not red ??

Anyone got a clip of this non sense?
    Larkin91 wrote: »
    Search 'Clonakilty Day 3' on Youtube.

http://www.youtube.com/results?search_query=Clonakilty+Day+3&aq=f

Should be the first video on that page.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,699 ✭✭✭ronaneire

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,885 ✭✭✭✭MetzgerMeister

Hmmmm I wonder is this another one for the boards siochana to bring to the attention of the gardai???

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,119 ✭✭✭Wagon

N71 me bollix.