Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Foxing at night

• 21-07-2010 5:47pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 406 ✭✭

I have a fox caller bought and I just want to use it so do you think its a good time of the year for this type of pest control? Ill be using a brno .22lr rifle with a 3x9x40 hawke scope with eley subs. Is it suitable for the job or should I use my fiochi high velocity bullets.:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,102 ✭✭✭Hibrion

Although some people will disagree I think you are a little under gunned for foxing. Even at very close distances I wouldn't use a 22 with subs.

I think the minimum you should be looking at is a 22 magnum. Realistically you are better off going with a centre fire for foxes. .223, .220 swift, .204 ruger are all great calibers for a foxing and long range rabbits. If you want a deer and fox gun try a .243 of 22-250 but these will require a deer license in order to be licensed in most districts.
    Personally, I think a .223 is the best option. It would be cheap to run, has plenty of power, and will give you a good range within which you can shoot.

You'll have more fun and you will be more successful at vermin control with a center fire caliber.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 406 ✭✭The Big Fella

Hibrion wrote: »
    Although some people will disagree I think you are a little under gunned for foxing. Even at very close distances I wouldn't use a 22 with subs.

I think the minimum you should be looking at is a 22 magnum. Realistically you are better off going with a centre fire for foxes. .223, .220 swift, .204 ruger are all great calibres for a foxing rifle and long range bunnies. If you want a deer and fox gun try a .243 of 22-250 but these will require a deer license in order to be licensed in most districts.
    Personally, I think a .223 is the best option. It would be cheap to run, has plenty of power, and will give you a good range within which you can shoot.

You'll have more fun and you will be more successful at vermin control with one of these calibres.
    Ive never shot a fox with the rifle as its my first rifle. I bought it with the intent of shooting rabbits which is still on the cards.;) The rabbits are begining to multiply where I live along with the pheasants. As you can understand I want to keep my quarry populating by culling back the foxes. I also have a shotgun alongside my brother. So is a .22lr no more effective at 50 yards than a shotgun:confused:

The problem with using your 22 for foxing is that you will have to be very close, and very accurate. 22lr just wasn't designed for foxing.
    I can't comment on the shotgun as I have never used one for foxing really. Is there anyone else that shoots on the same land that will take car of foxes?
    If not there are plenty of fellas on here that are geared up for the job and would take care of a few foxes for you.

If you are having a persistent problem with foxes and want to take care of it yourself my advice is to save up a few pound and invest in a bigger caliber rifle.

Something like this http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055954092 would be ideal for you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,271 ✭✭✭✭johngalway

I'd agree that you're under gunned since you're specifically going out looking for foxes. While the .22lr has killed many thousands of foxes it's far from ideal given the availability of centrefire calibres such as .17REM, .204RUGER, .22HORNET, .220SWIFT, .222, ,223.

At 50 yards I'd prefer a shotgun, because of the pellet spread and fast follow up shots.

The problem with using your 22 for foxing is that you will have to be very close, and very accurate. 22lr just wasn't designed for foxing.
    I can't comment on the shotgun as I have never used one for foxing really. Is there anyone else that shoots on the same land that will take car of foxes?
    If not there are plenty of fellas on here that are geared up for the job and would take care of a few foxes for you.

If you are having a persistent problem with foxes and want to take care of it yourself my advice is to save up a few pound and invest in a bigger caliber rifle.

Something like this http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055954092 would be ideal for you.
    Is that cz527 a versitile gun as can I shoot rabbits as well as foxes. Is it like this the .22lr is enough for rabbits and underpowered for foxes on the other hand the cz527 been over powered for rabbits. Is noise a problem:confused:

A hornet might be a god compromise. The 22lr is perfect for rabbits but fust isn't great for anything bigger.

I have shot plenty of rabbits with a .223 and it is perfectly fine when your taking head shots. There is however a big noise difference between the two.

Even with a mod fitted a center fire caliber will be louder than a 22lr. This is mostly because you can use subsonic ammunition with a 22lr and not with larger calibers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,181 ✭✭✭landkeeper

lads as far as i can see he has the rifle and is looking for advice with bullets

Big fella you can easily shoot foxes with .22lr there are those of us still around that did it for decades:rolleyes: just don't try to be too ambitious stick to 100yrds or under and a 22 hv at 100 yards in the chest from a frontal shot or just behind the elbow if its sideways on will have the desired effect belive me

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,612 ✭✭✭jwshooter

I have a fox caller bought and I just want to use it so do you think its a good time of the year for this type of pest control? Ill be using a brno .22lr rifle with a 3x9x40 hawke scope with eley subs. Is it suitable for the job or should I use my fiochi high velocity bullets.:confused:

NO , big lad , been there done all that .

i had a load of shlt written about calling them in close and head shooting them or pulling your shot in behind the shoulder but deleted it .

if you intend to shoot foxes regularly you may get a .22 mag at the very least .

jwshooter wrote: »
    NO , big lad , been there done all that .

i had a load of shlt written about calling them in close and head shooting them or pulling your shot in behind the shoulder but deleted it .

if you intend to shoot foxes regularly you may get a .22 mag at the very least .
    jwshooter, why do you think you cant call a fox in within 50 yards that you think a .22lr isn't capable of knocking a fox.

iv had them run in under the gate i was calling from . shooting under pressure at 50 yds on a moving target .

22 years of experience says get a bigger gun

You can kill a deer with a 22 magnum as well but it doesn't mean you should.

I think you should upgrade if you want to start culling foxes, or get a bit of help from someone with a good foxing rig.

well said matey we have all had foxes that won't stop.!!!!calibre size dosn't really matter then does it!!! 150 yards is aloooooong way in a lamp
    there have been loads of times i wished i'd the shotgun in my hands rather than the rifle and visa versa in fact an odd time a hurl would have been much more usefell
    half the country has gone bonkers lamping foxes with centrefire rifles at stupid ranges , irresponsible and overkill alot of the time
    if you do your shooting at moderate distances you wound less kill more and leave less lampshy feckers to deal with

or get a dog to work with you .

Thanks lads for all your advice.;) Im not long enough shooting to know what a .22lr is capable of yet but I'll soon know. But if I do change my mind over the .22lr for foxing a hornet will be top of the list.

jwshooter wrote: »
    or get a dog to work with you .

Still not the ideal situation... unless the dog is armed with something bigger than 22lr ;)

or a wire hair german . sweep foxes .

you would think its a snack box the way my bitch ,gets stuck in .

I've no real experience with dogs. I'm not set up to look after them at the moment; havn't got the space or time. In the future I'd like to get one though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,898 ✭✭✭poulo6.5

Thanks lads for all your advice.;) Im not long enough shooting to know what a .22lr is capable of yet but I'll soon know. But if I do change my mind over the .22lr for foxing a hornet will be top of the list.

hi big fella, a hornet while capable for foxing you will pay allot for bullets, my advise is if you are getting a center fire for fox a .223 would be ideal as the bullets are priced from €10 a box and up.
    .22lr is best for bunny bashing ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,074 ✭✭✭clivej

I don't advocat shooting foxes with a 22lr but it is done by lots of people because that's all they have.

If your going to then call them in as close as possible max is 50y and shoot them in the head not in the chest as the 22lr sub just has not the penetration required for chest shots. And the 22lr HV rounds don't have the accuracy to place them where you need to put them.

If your looking to get a small center fire then get the 223 as the price you will pay for a Hornet will be the same.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,186 ✭✭✭vixdname

A hornet might be a god compromise. The 22lr is perfect for rabbits but fust isn't great for anything bigger.

I have shot plenty of rabbits with a .223 and it is perfectly fine when your taking head shots. There is however a big noise difference between the two.

Even with a mod fitted a center fire caliber will be louder than a 22lr. This is mostly because you can use subsonic ammunition with a 22lr and not with larger calibers.

Hi Hibrion - that statement isnt fully accurate, you CAN use subsonic ammunition with larger calibres albeit rare. Check out this website: http://www.impactguns.com/store/subsonic_ammo.html

there is some very nasty stuff on that website :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,590 ✭✭✭Tackleberrywho

vixdname wrote: »
    Hi Hibrion - that statement isnt fully accurate, you CAN use subsonic ammunition with larger calibres albeit rare. Check out this website: http://www.impactguns.com/store/subsonic_ammo.html

Subsonic ammo for centrefire is restricted AFAIK

Sparks to confirm!

vixdname wrote: »

You are correct sir. But if you did use it in this country without expressed written permission you would be breaking the law. ;)

I do know of one person who was successful in receiving this permission. It was for .308 ammo in conjunction with a section 42 license. There were also certain issues with the land that allowed for the argument that it was needed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,186 ✭✭✭vixdname

You are correct sir. But if you did use it in this country without expressed written permission you would be breaking the law. ;)

I do know of one person who was successful in receiving this permission. It was for .308 ammo in conjunction with a section 42 license. There were also certain issues with the land that allowed for the argument that it was needed.

Jaysus..ANOTHER feckin law for us shooters to contend with, its so nice that our government cares about our wellbeing so much :mad:

Can you imagine how quick you could cull a herd with .308 subsonics and some good cover :eek:

I'll be happy enough when I get my own .308 to be honest. Three months max my a**.:rolleyes: Mind you, as soon as I do get it I want to change it for a savage 16 FLHSS. I'm finding it hard to get someone to order me one and give me a price though.