Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

3G Reception on meteor iphone

• 21-07-2010 12:51pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 144 ✭✭

My friend has an iphone and i wanted to get it setup with meteor. I already have it jailbroken and unlocked for meteor. Was looking around and couldnt find the settings for 3g and mms until i came across this:
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055605497&page=3

So i was just wondering what the preformance is like using the iphone on 3g on meteor? Has anyone done this and is using the iphone regularly on 3G have any coverage/quality issues? I was told by a friend that did it, that its not the best but he is full of crap so im not sure to trust him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 721 ✭✭✭mk6705

Depends on where you're living. EDGE is is nearly counties anyway, 3G is just in bigger towns mainly in Leinster and the East of Munster and Connaught, with a little overspill. Dublin is naturally the most well covered.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 91 ✭✭fairchild

i'm pretty happy with my 3g on metoer in cork- strong signal on the train to dublin as well.
    on daily basis i'll keep it on edge because of battery drainage.
    IOS4 seems a bit sluggish on Iphone 3G- have not made up my mind if should regret upgrading it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 142 ✭✭ViP3r

i just upgraded to ios4. Went thru hell to fix my apn settings after the option to edit them was removed. Its not supposed to be a common problem, but if you get it dont bother with meteor. They dont have a clue. I solved it using apples iphone configuration utility.

Other than that the service is decent. Strong in dublin and carlow, not so much drogheda and weak in bettystown.

• Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 9,072 Mod ✭✭✭✭Aquos76

3g excellent all over Waterford city, mainly edge in county Waterford, recently while down in Killarney I couldn't even get edge.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 721 ✭✭✭mk6705

Aquos76 wrote: »
    3g excellent all over Waterford city, mainly edge in county Waterford, recently while down in Killarney I couldn't even get edge.

The whole of Kerry is GPRS. My theory is the backbone of the network can't take it. I also found it good in Waterford city. Don't posses an iPhone of course, not that that really matters...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,184 ✭✭✭Kenno90

The majority of Meath is well covered. Even now in the back end of nowhere i have full 3G Coverage

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 144 ✭✭Ricochet69

oh so its down to meteors network so? so its nothing to do with the iphone its the same as having any phone on the 3g meteor network? i believe the ios4 is causing loads of problems and is ment to be very slow

Ricochet69 wrote: »
    oh so its down to meteors network so? so its nothing to do with the iphone its the same as having any phone on the 3g meteor network? i believe the ios4 is causing loads of problems and is ment to be very slow

IOS4 on iphone 3G is fine - loads of improvement (the folders justify a lot) it may just feel a tiny bit sluggish compared to 3.1.2
    it is really fine
    i'm on meteor payg and top up by 20 each month which gives me 250 mb plus the credit- better than ok value

fairchild wrote: »
    IOS4 on iphone 3G is fine - loads of improvement (the folders justify a lot) it may just feel a tiny bit sluggish compared to 3.1.2
    it is really fine
    i'm on meteor payg and top up by 20 each month which gives me 250 mb plus the credit- better than ok value

and how do you find the 250mb limit do you regurally go over it? would you be using push for your email?

i do push mail (attachment restricted) - google maps- some radio streaming- couple of calls to germany via skype and umts - half of my app updates - loads of facebook & twitter, basically online all day
    hardly go over 100 MB a month

oh really? thanks for the info mate

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 15,109 Mod ✭✭✭✭whiterebel

I use push email and a bit of data on 3, and apparently last month I used 70Mb?

oh really? thanks for the info mate

hmm, just checked and i'm at 140 mb for a very active july apparently- still you'd be hard pushed to reach 250 mb- i think the 3g battery alone prohibts that :-)

• Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 9,072 Mod ✭✭✭✭Aquos76

Jesus lads, fair play to ye if 250mb does ye for the month, I use Twitter, facebook, email and a bit of streaming and I'm up over the 250mb already and I'm 18 days into my billing period for this month.

Meteor's smart lite is an exceptional package, 200 anytime any network mins, 200 any network texts, free meteor calls and texts(for 12 months) and 1gb Data, all for €30pm and no contract.

Aquos76 wrote: »
    Jesus lads, fair play to ye if 250mb does ye for the month, I use Twitter, facebook, email and a bit of streaming and I'm up over the 250mb already and I'm 18 days into my billing period for this month.

Meteor's smart lite is an exceptional package, 200 anytime any network mins, 200 any network texts, free meteor calls and texts(for 12 months) and 1gb Data, all for €30pm and no contract.

true, seen it & i'm tempted, esspecially since skype announced that they continue calls via umts free of charge besides connecting cost- definetly need a gig i transfer all my calls to voip.
    meteor doesn't seem to block the ports unlike some german providers i know. so calls to europe landline ca .3c and mobile 12c