Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Anyone been following my crusade to get Frankie Gavin to fight for an Irish title?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,549 ✭✭✭✭cowzerp

Frankie was real keen to know about Dean and too fight him and it's a fight i would like to see, Would certainly be 2 lads not just picking easy fights anyway..

Rush Boxing club and Rush Martial Arts head coach.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,502 ✭✭✭MBC

Great for Sutcliffe Junior to be sparring these guys.......although if memory serves me correct Sutcliffe junior fought Gavin before and from what I heard it was a very even fight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,972 ✭✭✭joepenguin

Keepin an eye on it alright. Gavin vs Byrne be great but can see Frank puttin that on the mag7 card. It'd be great exposure for the Irish title though if it was contested on a ppv by 2 hungry evenly matched fighters.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 291 ✭✭BoxingIrel.com

Well I think they fancy getting a hold of Andy Murray. I cant see that one happening unless they wave a lot of money under his nose.

An auld trip across the pond wouldnt go astray either for that fight.

EDIT: Meaning Frankie could make the trip over B-)

Todays latest.

Frankie Gavin is Frankly Gabbin with Boxing-Ireland.com

http://boxing-ireland.com/20100721_frankly_gabbin_40.html

Was up with Frankie today and the lady delivered his gumsheild for the fight.

4931938469_13a468e868_z.jpg

Exclusive interview with a sauna suit wearing Frankie Gavin ahead of his Irish title clash with Michael Kelly. Find out how he is doing weight wise ( a topic on everyones mind following his inability to make weight for the olympic games) and his thoughts on the man who will be facing him on the night of the 18th, Dundalks two time world military champion Michael Kelly.

http://www.boxing-ireland.com/20100901_frankie_gavin_on_weight_38.html

bit surprised at the lack of interest in this wan

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 585 ✭✭✭Rob113

Is this fight part of the mag 7 bill? Haven't heard anything about it

Rob113 wrote: »
    Is this fight part of the mag 7 bill? Haven't heard anything about it

it is but its not definately televised but probably will be if there are knockouts

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,139 ✭✭✭Feargal as Luimneach

bit surprised at the lack of interest in this wan
    If he considered himself primarily irish rather than english then people would have more interest in him.

jesus christ, the guy in from Dundalk! sure its near the border and they have a horrible accent but he is as entitled to be as Irish as you or I! ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 585 ✭✭✭Rob113

Is he from Dundalk? I knew he had Irish parents but I didn't know he was born here. Not that it makes much difference.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,003 ✭✭✭Big Ears

Rob113 wrote: »
    Is he from Dundalk? I knew he had Irish parents but I didn't know he was born here. Not that it makes much difference.

Cowzerp was referring to Michael Kelly, joking at the way this whole fight has been concentrated on Gavin. Gavin was indeed born in England.

I think part of the lack of interest comes from Gavin being expected to blast Kelly away with relative ease. Even if he doesn't do that I can't imagine this fight being anything other than one sided. Gavin has already beaten a better Irish Lightweight/Light-Welterweight in Peter McDonagh and he didn't struggle to do that either.

62737_109579275770098_100001540776116_77361_6201636_n.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,316 ✭✭✭✭amacachi

How'd this fight go down?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 710 ✭✭✭makl

Was a pretty one sided affair alright but fair play to Kelly who gave a spirited performance, had one or two brief spells of success and will benefit from been in with someone of Gavins level. Frankie is just in a different class which is in no way disrespectful to Kelly as im sure we will see funtime fighting for euro and world titles down the line.
    A defence of the title in Ireland would be nice, pity he's already fought McDonagh.