Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

South America travel tips....

• 20-07-2010 8:11pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,678 ✭✭✭

In 2 weeks I'm Heading to Rio - Buenos Aires - Santiago for 2 weeks en route to Oz.

I've never been to South America before so just wondering if anybody who has been might have some useful tips / places to see / **** to do and all that lark. My time there is limited I know but I wanna make the most of it!

I'm making my own way from Rio to Santiago (via Buenos Aires) so I have a bit of freedom in that respect - for may stay longer in Rio than planned if I feel like it but that may mean getting a bus to Buenos Aires, losing me valuable time there but certainly an interesting way to travel....

Thanks in advance for any tips!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 237 ✭✭Awesome-O

I probably won't be much help as I'm planning on doing the same trip myself in a month but we're staying a bit longer. I'm only in the middle of doing research myself, a tip I did pick up is to book ahead this time of year especially if you're thinking on doing the Ince trail because there are only a certain number of visitor permits each day and they sell out in advance, this might be of some use explaining it to you

http://www.andeantravelweb.com/peru/treks/inca_trail_trek_permit_availability.html

There are alternative trails you can do that still let you see Maccu Pichu if you look them up, also the bus to Santiago is a something like 36 hours and generally they run late so it can be over 40 hours, if you're stuck for time it may be wise to look into booking a flight (can be pricey is the only problem).

If anyone else has any tips or suggestions I'd be delighted to hear them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,494 ✭✭✭finbarrk

Don't walk on Cococobana beach at night. You are likely to get mugged. Happened to me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,851 ✭✭✭Glowing

Learn some basic Spanish!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,699 ✭✭✭bamboozle

spent 6 months travelling around south america, we kept returning to Argentina and Buenos Aires - its by far the best country in SA, safest and cheap for the quality of accommodation & food you'll get.

never really warmed to brazil, found portugese very hard to pick up and locals had little spanish or english, Sao Paulo is not safe, Rio is very unsafe, go a block off the tourist areas and you'll be at risk for muggings.
    I found uruguary & chile to be nicer than Brazil.
    Be sure to hit the iguazu falls!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,530 ✭✭✭Naked Lepper

finbarrk wrote: »
    Don't walk on Cococobana beach at night. You are likely to get mugged. Happened to me.

didnt you read any advice on brazil before you went there? thats the first thing i heard about copacobana!!

i ended up chilling out there one night though with a load of backpackers and some street kid, granted we werent actually on the dark bit of the beach but just across the road under the palm treets

be streetwise and youll be grand over there, check out some of the lonley planet books as a guide (south america on a shoe string is the backpackers bible over there)

make sure to go to the top of the sugar loaf mt too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,469 ✭✭✭Pythia

My brother got pickpocketed recently in Argentinia (I think). They distracted him by throwing something liquid like into his face 'by accident' and while they were helping to clean it off, they got his wallet. Just one to watch out for.

thanks for all the tips guys, always good to hear about other peoples experiences

Just another question as I'm looking more into our trip, what footwear do people recommend for the Inca trail, would a pair of walking runners be enough or should I invest in a pair of hiking shoes/boots? Am doing a round the world trip and don't want to have to be carrying them with me if they are not needed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,591 ✭✭✭RATM

Giles my tip would be to try to spend more than 2 weeks in South America, thats if you don't need to get to Oz quick smart for work and some dough.
    Otherwise don't miss Iguazu.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,239 ✭✭✭Lurching

Make sure you have a severe iron deficiency before you go, because the irons going to be coming out your ears by the time you get home after all the red meat. Lucky fecker! :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 125 ✭✭Ruby83

Does anyone have any recommended routes for South America? We have about three months and will be heading in october.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 308 ✭✭clint_eastman

Ruby83 wrote: »
    Does anyone have any recommended routes for South America? We have about three months and will be heading in october.

Our 3 month trip through SA went like this back in 2006 during June/July/August.....

Ecuador - Quito, Cuenca
    Peru - Tumbes, Huaraz, Lima, Cusco, Puno
    Bolivia - La Paz, Uyuni
    Chile - Atacama (Desert), Santiago
    Argentina - Buenes Aires, Iguazo,
    Uraguay - Brief day trip to Montivieo from BA
    Brazil - Rio

Lots more smaller places along the way..... highlights were:

Inca Trail (booked months in advance)
    Iguazu Falls at Brazil Argentine border
    Buenos Aires....favorite city in the world
    Salt Plains in Bolivia
    Nazca lines in Peru
    Skiing in Santiago

Learn some spanish, it will be invaluable.

I'm getting married next year and want to go bak to SA for the honeymoon, loved it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 65 ✭✭Rud Annamh

Lurching wrote: »
    Make sure you have a severe iron deficiency before you go, because the irons going to be coming out your ears by the time you get home after all the red meat. Lucky fecker! :p

Totally second that. Mmmm..... asado..... :D

We went to Argentina, Uruguay and Chile for our honeymoon two years ago.

I highly recommend the overnight bus from BA to Mendoza - approx $10 for first class bed-type seats, dinner, wine, etc. Fabulous!

It was cool going by bus from Mendoza to Santiago also, but quite a delay at the border crossing, so may not suit you.

You could fly to El Calafate + walk the Perito Moreno glacier, which is a unique privilege.

A day trip from Santiago to Vina del Mar / Valparaiso is worth it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,450 ✭✭✭actuallylike

Do NOT stay in Mellow Yellow hostel in Rio. Most famous place but feckin rubbish. Full to the brim of drunken arseholes and the standard of help is appaling! They won't give you any information about Rio unless they can get a bit of money out of you. Tried asking for the bus routes to the Jaysus statue and they wouldn't tell me, kept changing the subject to their special package deals. They couldn't get it through their head that someone might want to use public transport for the experience of another country! Also, one of their staff knocked out one of the lads staying in the hostel in the middle of the bar in front of everyone but sure nothing was done about it, left the next day to a hostel I think was called somethin like 'Stone on the Beach' (could be wrong) and much nicer. Smaller crowd, helpful staff, easier to meet the right type of people.

Same goes for BA, steer clear of Millhouse Hostel. Stayed there for a few nights and there's a constant session on 24/7, really jammed of people coming and going and pretty unhelpful staff (granted, the amount of people they had to deal with was overwhelming). Best to stay in a place like Tango Hostel, just down the road. Again, small but late bar where you can pretty much do what you want with a much more personal crowd, and the good thing is that anyone can walk into Millhouse to sesh it up, you just have the added advantage of not having to stay there!

Also the bus from BA to Iguazo is the best, a feckin waiter taking my drinks orders!!! Best sleep I had was on that bus :(.

ps eat as much steak as you can!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 65 ✭✭Rud Annamh

Awesome-O wrote: »
    Just another question as I'm looking more into our trip, what footwear do people recommend for the Inca trail, would a pair of walking runners be enough or should I invest in a pair of hiking shoes/boots? Am doing a round the world trip and don't want to have to be carrying them with me if they are not needed.

I would recommend hiking boots or shoes with a grip on the sole, as the surface can be rough and slippy, and there's a lot of uphill / downhill.

I am told that boots are also good for supporting ankles, esp on uneven surfaces, but I'm far from expert in this area.

Having said that, the porters wear flip flops and run up and down carrying 40 kg packs on their backs...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 793 ✭✭✭damoz

BA, Rio and Santiago in 2 weeks. Are you sure you cant extend that. If you only have 2 weeks forget about Inca Trail (unless you fly up there).

BA is a super city. Spent a week there and loved it. Go see Boca Juniors play - great atmosphere. Go see Eva Person grave. Other than that walk around and browse the cafes and bars - cant go wrong.

Rio is equally super - nice beaches (during the day!) at Ipanema and Copacobana. Go see the San Cristobal statue (via the funicular)- great views. Cable car to the sugar loaf is great too for views and a beer on top.

Rio to BA - get the bus to Iguazu (sleeper - with dinner and whiskey! ). Spent one night there . Boat trip under the falls etc. Then bus onto BA.

Santiago - ski if the weather permits. About and hour from the city but great too. Chill and enjoy the cafes etc.

Thats about all you can do in 2 weeks honestly - its a big continent and getting between all 3 will take time - unless you fly. I would recommend 2 months min and take in Boliva and Peru, but may not be an option for you.

Oh, and the cupla focal in spanish will help alot. Couldnt master portugese though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,530 ✭✭✭Naked Lepper

Do NOT stay in Mellow Yellow hostel in Rio. Most famous place but feckin rubbish. Full to the brim of drunken arseholes and the standard of help is appaling! They won't give you any information about Rio unless they can get a bit of money out of you. Tried asking for the bus routes to the Jaysus statue and they wouldn't tell me, kept changing the subject to their special package deals. They couldn't get it through their head that someone might want to use public transport for the experience of another country! Also, one of their staff knocked out one of the lads staying in the hostel in the middle of the bar in front of everyone but sure nothing was done about it, left the next day to a hostel I think was called somethin like 'Stone on the Beach' (could be wrong) and much nicer. Smaller crowd, helpful staff, easier to meet the right type of people.

I stayed there for around 6 days and yes i agree its a **** hole, stay elsewhere

Terra brasilis hostel in santa theresa is AMAZING

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 smileylady

:eek: be very careful with the booze if you are heading to cusco before the inca trail. The altitude makes it go straight to your head and you get plastered RAPIDLY!!! Also, ensure that the company you do the trail with carry oxygen cylinders just in case you get sick. It is not something to be underestimated! I got really sick and only for the oxygen i wouldn't be writing this!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 125 ✭✭Ruby83

Any recommendations on what company to book the inca trail with? I heard SAS are good. We're booking now for December so its very hard to know the story this far in advance. What are the prices like?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 749 ✭✭✭Bill2673

Awesome-O wrote: »

IMHO

You definitely need good hiking shoes for this trail. It is a tough hike, over a number of days. Can be wet. The last thing you need is to be going over your ankle at 8'000ft in the Andes. make sure they are broken in first also.

To be honest, no harm in having a pair of hiking boots. I travelled with hiking boots and sandals. Brasher boots aren't that big and bulky.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 793 ✭✭✭damoz

Any recommendations on what company to book the inca trail with? I heard SAS are good. We're booking now for December so its very hard to know the story this far in advance. What are the prices like?

I used company called Q'ente. They were excellent. More expensive, but only because they pay their porters a proper wage unlike alot of tour operators there.

http://www.qente.com/ingles/inca_trail/trad_cain_3d_2n.html

Although the Inca Trail is spectacular it wasnt the highlight of south america. Bolivia was - i would recommend going there over any trail with 100s of tourists on it. You will need to strecth that 2 weeks to months though. If your on a round the world trip i would do it at a minimum - more to see and explore than Aus and NZ put together.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 308 ✭✭clint_eastman

We used Peru Treks and found them to be excellent, as mentioned do plenty fo research into the company that you decide to use.