Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

starting a gun club???

• 20-07-2010 6:39pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 152 ✭✭

can anyone tell me where to start in getting a club going again in my parish?
    there was a small club about 15 years ago and my father was i think the secretary, but there was little interest and it stopped.:(

now, there's lots of folk who would love to join a club, so i'm gona try set it up.
    i've never been a club member, so dont know where to start. :confused:
    all advice welcome.
    thanks.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 330 ✭✭A Country Voice

I'm not in a club myself, maybe I'll remedy that sometime soon. we'll see, anyway I digress, heres a link to an nargc club constitution. They have lots of useful stuff for clubs.

http://www.nargc.ie/site/about/club_constitution.aspx

A Country Voice

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,920 ✭✭✭Dusty87

There was a couple of threads here about this before. One of the lads here has done it so he should have all the info you need

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,612 ✭✭✭jwshooter

if your going the nargc route ,you will have to get maps of lands and three GPAs adjoining will have to sign off to say there happy .

no not just farmers or land owners written permission and put up signs .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,896 ✭✭✭jap gt

our club was gone with 10 years maybe abit more, we didnt need maps or anything, but if we didnt start a club in the next two years a neighbouring club can claim rights to the club ground

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,004 ✭✭✭tfox

jap gt wrote: »
    our club was gone with 10 years maybe abit more, we didnt need maps or anything, but if we didnt start a club in the next two years a neighbouring club can claim rights to the club ground

Surely it's upto the landowner or holder of the sporting rights who they give the shooting to ....? And a lot of landowners also let non club members shoot there lands too, gun club rights are not exclusive !!

tfox wrote: »
    Surely it's upto the landowner or holder of the sporting rights who they give the shooting to ....? And a lot of landowners also let non club members shoot there lands too, gun club rights are not exclusive !![/QUOTE

couldn't tell you more about it, first meeting of the club thats what we were told

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,027 ✭✭✭deeksofdoom

tfox wrote: »
    Surely it's upto the landowner or holder of the sporting rights who they give the shooting to ....? And a lot of landowners also let non club members shoot there lands too, gun club rights are not exclusive !!

True enough but I don't think that's going to be an issue. He can't be put off by that, he can only go and knock on a few doors.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,004 ✭✭✭tfox

True enough but I don't think that's going to be an issue. He can't be out off by that, he can only go and knock on a few doors.

No no I was in no means trying to put him off. It was that one gun club thought they were entitled to the rights because there was no gun club in that area for a certain length of time, when it is really the landowners discretion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,954 ✭✭✭homerhop

you dont have to affiliate your club with the nargc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,081 ✭✭✭terminator2

why not affiliate your club with the nargc ...........we did and havent looked back

You can go Countryside Alliance too though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,271 ✭✭✭✭johngalway

Don't take this as Gospel but, there used to be a gun club here and it lapsed for a fair while. A few tried (badly) to set up another, within the parish boundaries, and a club outside the parish objected on the grounds they claimed a lot of the land that the club here had used in the past. That was NARGC affiliation trouble, once the other club wouldn't sign off, NARGC didn't want to know.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,096 ✭✭✭bunny shooter

You can go Countryside Alliance too though.

or IFA Countryside

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,920 ✭✭✭Dusty87

or IFA Countryside

Do you need the same things like letters from neighbouring clubs no??
    Or is it a simple get together, get IFA or CAI insurance, permission from farmers and put your signs up?? All sounds very easy, whats the catch?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 804 ✭✭✭round tower huntsman

first you'll need about 12 members, 2 of which will do all the work!
    the other ten will go out every 1'st of nov and thats it, go to meetings and complain bout everything, they'll do everything they can to stop new young interested members from joining, piss and moan about amount vermin but wont get out of bed for vermin drives etc........
    when you have that,then you've a real gun club!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,096 ✭✭✭bunny shooter

I think IFA or CAI is that straight forward, insurance wise anyway

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,070 ✭✭✭cavan shooter

Once you decide on the club and have your permissions to shoot, (you start mentioning signing over shooting rights to farmers, you will be soon told where to hang your letters)go to the Regional Game Council. If I remember rightly your club will need to be proposed and seconded for membership into the RGC.

Friend of mine formed a club a view years ago and there was no hassel, even though they split from another NARGC club, even though the club they split from complained, they were voted in by others BTW no grudges after the initial groans.

Best of luck

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 414 ✭✭kieran1141

the other ten will go out every 1'st of nov and thats it, go to meetings and complain bout everything, they'll do everything they can to stop new young interested members from joining, piss and moan about amount vermin but wont get out of bed for vermin drives etc........
    GREAT, PERFECT, started a club last year 20 odd members, havent heard a word since onely where can we shoot, and would i rear there pheasants, COUNTRYSIDE ALLIANCE. got the dont let this one and that one in the club aswell, this year back to 4 of us, pain in the a......sssssss. O and wanted to know could they shoot all the land that i have got over the last 30 years,,,, I DONT THINK SO!!!!!! you hit the nail on the head...

Never a truer word said, but its half the fun of it :D:D:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 152 ✭✭jimbrowning

this all sounds great craic. cant wait:(

i now have about 10 lads mad to join the club. and thats before i,v asked around! som of them where members when it was running 15 year ago. how many land owners letters will we need? we have about 60 acers so far that belongs to me and lads that want to join. then do i contact the nargc? or what do i need to do next?
    all advice welcom.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,069 ✭✭✭ronn

get in touch with the nargc now, they ll give you some pointers, the do's and donts, that doesnt mean you have to join them, but they are very helpfull,

ronn wrote: »
    get in touch with the nargc now, they ll give you some pointers, the do's and donts, that doesnt mean you have to join them, but they are very helpfull,
    why would a club not join nargc? whats the pros and cons of joining them?
    thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,069 ✭✭✭ronn

why would a club not join nargc? whats the pros and cons of joining them?
    thanks.

My club is with the nargc,
    pro's
    safety courses
    bird rearing courses
    good insurance for you and your mutt
    there only a telephone call/e mail away
    there hunters themselves so there easy to chat with
    they have funding for game crops and ducks
    yeah get a free wallet to put your licence in

Con's
    bit slow getting back with e mails

this is just my opinion, im sure others dont like them,

as i said give them a buzz they'll help you no end in what to do about setting up a club, check out there web site,:D

a free wallet:eek: i,ll ring them monday.:D
    thanks.

i now have about 10 lads mad to join the club. and thats before i,v asked around! som of them where members when it was running 15 year ago. how many land owners letters will we need? we have about 60 acers so far that belongs to me and lads that want to join. then do i contact the nargc? or what do i need to do next?
    all advice welcom.
    big numbers dont make a club imo. plenty of clubs out there,of all kinds of sports,that have a small dedicated following and membership. ten dedicated members is better then 40 wasters. there's hunt clubs going around the country,trencher packs, that have been going for generations with a tiny membership. you will need more then 60 acres though.
    just canvass for more land,get insured, only members that do the vermin drives and help rear birds etc...should be allowed to stay members.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,271 ✭✭✭✭johngalway

only members that do the vermin drives and help rear birds etc...should be allowed to stay members.

I think that's a very good point. When they tried to restart the GC here there was a "vermin drive" :rolleyes: 14 (I think) lads out for the day - result? 3 magpies and a greycrow.

I was on girlfriend duty that day, think my mate was there but not sure. Between himself and myself last summer we got 300+ greycrows, don't know how many maggies, a lot, and however many foxes and mink.

The curse of the pot hunter ;)

if a club has a real good vermin policy and has an effective vermin programme in place they wont need to do much breeding etc.. a small club could have a good return of birds if they do the work on mags crows foxes etc...
    if you need a man to do terrier work or fox drives for ya dont hesitate;)

ronn wrote: »
    My club is with the nargc,
    pro's
    safety courses
    bird rearing courses
    good insurance for you and your mutt
    there only a telephone call/e mail away
    there hunters themselves so there easy to chat with
    they have funding for game crops and ducks
    yeah get a free wallet to put your licence in

Con's
    bit slow getting back with e mails

this is just my opinion, im sure others dont like them,

as i said give them a buzz they'll help you no end in what to do about setting up a club, check out there web site,:D

kinda of topic, but i joined the nargc this year never got any wallet:confused: it would be handy for the piece of ****ty paper they call a licence

Before you can put in place any sort of vermin policy or bird release programme, you will need to elect a committee with a strong chairman at its head who will be able to lead meetings with proper agendas in place, with proposals being made and voted on, actions being agreed and then acted upon.

You'll need a club constitution and a set of club rules.

If you don't get this right from the start your club will end up the same as the last one.

jap gt wrote: »
    kinda of topic, but i joined the nargc this year never got any wallet:confused: it would be handy for the piece of ****ty paper they call a licence
    no wallet?...the bastards:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 163 ✭✭shaft666

Are we in the same club then? ;)

Before you can put in place any sort of vermin policy or bird release programme, you will need to elect a committee with a strong chairman at its head who will be able to lead meetings with proper agendas in place, with proposals being made and voted on, actions being agreed and then acted upon.

You'll need a club constitution and a set of club rules.

If you don't get this right from the start your club will end up the same as the last one.
    can you give me an example of a clubs set of rules?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,954 ✭✭✭homerhop

From the NARGC web site

1. Title:
    The Club shall be titled: "Gun Club or Game Preservation Association" hereinafter called "the Club".

2. Aims and Objectives:

1. To preserve club lands for the purpose of prohibiting the taking or killing of game, or the pursuit of game thereon by persons other than those authorised by the Club.
    2. To develop and improve the game stocks on club lands.
    3. To promote the conservation of wildlife and its habitat on club lands.
    4. To carry out such programmes of vermin control as the Club may from time to time determine.
    5. To co-operate with landowners and An Garda Siochána by ensuring the observance of all State laws.

3. Qualification for Membership:

1. Membership shall be confined to persons either currently residing or previously resident in the area covered by the Club, or drawing their livelihood mainly from within that area.
    2. It shall be obligatory for Club Members to join the N.A.R.G.C.. Compensation Fund and to remain a member of the N.A.R.G.C. Compensation Fund throughout the period of Club membership.
    3. All applications for membership must be made in writing to the Club Secretary giving the names of the applicant's Proposer and Seconder.
    4. Applicants must agree to abide by the rules of the Club and must satisfy the Club as to their suitability for membership.
    5. An application for membership shall be deemed to be accepted if approved by a simple majority of the Club Members present and voting at a Club meeting. Should the Club refuse acceptance of membership the Committee shall not be obliged to give any reasons for such refusal.

4. Officers of the Club:
    The Officers of the Club shall consist of the following: Chairman. Vice-Chairman, Hon. Secretary, Hon. Treasurer, Safety Officer and Compensation Fund Officer. Officers shall be elected at the Annual General Meeting of the Club and shall hold office for a period of one year. All Officers shall be eligible for re-election. The Club may appoint other Officers from time to time and under such terms as it considers appropriate. Such other Officers as may be appointed shall retire at the next Annual General Meeting following their appointment and shall be eligible for re-appointment.

5. Committees:
    The Club may at its Annual General Meeting elect working Committees which shall operate under such terms as the Club may from time to time determine. The number of members of any Committee and it's composition shall be determined by the Club but shall include all elected Officers of the Club. The Club may also appoint Sub-Committees as it may deem necessary. The Club shall also, at it's Annual General Meeting, elect a Disciplinary Board which shall be comprised of three persons and which shall deal with any disciplinary matters which arise in accordance with the terms of Rule 2.

6. Affiliation and Membership:
    The Club shall affiliate as a member of or such Regional Game Council as shall be a member of the National Association of Regional Game Councils representing Co.

7. Compensation Fund:

The Club shall arrange for the protection of its members in accordance with the terms of the NARGC Compensation Fund by ensuring that all of its Members at all times are members of the said Fund.

RULES OF THE CLUB

Rule 1 - Membership:

* Each Member shall be required to pay an Annual Membership Fee. The Membership Fee shall be reviewed annually at the Annual General Meeting.
    * Members shall be required, when shooting, to have their Membership Cards in their possession and are required to produce same for inspection by other Members or landowners.
    * Members shall be required to show respect for the property of Landowners and acts of disrespect, including damage to fences, crops and/or leaving gates open will be treated as a breach of the terms of a Member's membership of the Club.
    * Members shall be required to observe the boundaries of other Clubs.
    * Members shall be required to actively participate in all Club activities including fund raising, predator and pest control and re-stocking.
    * Members shall be required to show respect for the Officers and other Members of the Club and for the Officers and Members of other Gun Clubs and parent bodies including the Clubs and the National Association of Regional Game Councils.
    * Any Member found to be in breach of these rules or held to have behaved in a manner damaging to the interests of the Club shall be admonished, suspended, fined, expelled or be the subject of such other penalty as the Club considers fit.
    * Members shall be required to abide and be bound by the Constitution and Rules of the National Association of Regional Game Councils.

Rule 2 - Disciplinary Procedure:

The Disciplinary Board shall have the power to hear and determine any complaints whether made by a Member of the Club or the Regional Game Council to which the Club is affiliated or the National Association of Regional Game Councils that a Member has acted in a manner damaging to the interests of the Club and in the event of the Disciplinary Board determining that a Member has acted in such a manner, it shall be entitled to impose whatever penalty it considers appropriate, provided however, that the Member against whom the complaint has been made shall be entitled to appeal the decision of the Disciplinary Board within 2 weeks (14 days) of being notified in writing by the Disciplinary Board of its decision in which case the Club shall re-hear and determine the complaint and shall be entitled to uphold, vary or reject the determination of the Disciplinary Board and the penalty imposed by it.

Rule 3 - Meetings:

* The Annual General Meeting of the Club shall be held each year.
    * The Club shall be entitled to adopt such further rules as it may deem necessary to fulfil its aims and objectives provided however that such rules are not contrary to State Laws or contrary to the Constitution and Rules of Regional Game Council and the National Association of Regional Game Councils.
    * The Committee shall meet at such times as shall be decided from time to time by the Members thereof but no less than three meetings shall be held in any one year.
    * The Chairman shall be entitled to convene Special General Meetings of the Club to deal with any urgent business pertaining to the Club. A Special General Meeting may also be convened at the written request of at least one third of the Club's Members stating in writing the reason for the convening of such a meeting and such special meeting shall be held within twenty one (21) days of the written request being delivered to the Club Secretary. No special meeting of the Club shall be convened without Club Members receiving at least 48 hours notice.
    * The quorum for the Annual General Meeting or special meeting of the Club shall be one third of the total membership of the Club.
    * Each outgoing Officer, Committee and sub-Committee Member shall deliver a report to the Annual General Meeting which will also deal with the Election of Officers and the appointment of Committees and sub-Committees. The Annual General Meeting shall also include a general discussion on the business and affairs of the Club.

Rule 4 - Finance:

All monies and funds of the Club shall be deposited, as soon as possible after receipt, in such Bank as the Club may by resolution designate. All monies and funds shall be held in the name of the Treasurer, Chairman and Secretary for and on behalf of the Club. The name of the Club shall be designated for Bank account purposes. All cheques and withdrawals of funds, on behalf of the Club, shall be signed by the Treasurer and Chairperson or Secretary. Proper books or accounts shall be maintained up to date at all times.

Rule 5 - Voting:

Each Member shall be entitled to a single vote in Club elections. Elections may be by secret ballot. Voting in all other matters may be by secret ballot also at the discretion of the Chairman and each Member shall be entitled to one vote in relation to such matters. In the event of there being an equality of votes in any ballot, other than in elections, the Chairman shall have a casting or second vote. In the event of a tie in any election the position shall be filled by lottery.

Rule 6 - Officer Duties:

1. Chairman:
    The Chairman shall preside at all meetings of the Club and Committees and shall see to it that the decisions are put into effect.
    2. Vice-Chairman:
    The Vice-Chairman shall, in the absence of the Chairman, carry out the functions of the Chairman
    3. In the event of the Chairman and Vice-Chairman being unable to attend a scheduled meeting, the Members shall elect a Chairman who shall chair that particular meeting.
    4. Honorary Secretary:
    The Honorary Secretary shall convene all meetings of the Club, it's Committees or sub-Committees at times and venues as shall be determined by these bodies. The Honorary Secretary shall prepare an Agenda of all business to be submitted for discussion and to be dealt with at each meeting of the Club. The Honorary Secretary shall maintain proper and adequate minutes of all such meetings and shall submit such minutes for approval at the next succeeding meeting. The Honorary Secretary shall also maintain a proper record of the names of Members who attend Club meetings along with any other official records of the Club and the Honorary Secretary shall be responsible for the Clubs official correspondence.
    The Honorary Secretary shall notify the Hon. Secretary of ________________________ Regional Game Council of any changes in the Officers/Club's Delegates of the Club to _______________________ Regional Game Council within fourteen days of the Clubs Annual General Meeting and shall forward the statistics form or such other information as may be required by ___________________ Regional Game Council. The Honorary Secretary shall also present a Report on the Club's activities to the Annual General Meeting.
    5. Honorary Treasurer:
    The Hon. Treasurer shall utilise the funds of the Club in such a manner as the Committee may from time to time direct and no expenditure of the funds of the Club shall be made unless previously authorised by the Club. The Hon. Treasurer shall present a Statement of Accounts and Balance Sheet to each AGM of the Club.
    6. Safety 0fficer:
    The Safety 0fficer shall be responsible for creating an awareness amongst the Clubs' Members of the importance of Safety while shooting and shall undertake such further duties as may be assigned to him from time to time with regard to safety while shooting.
    7. Compensation Fund Officer:
    The Compensation Fund Officer shall ensure that all Compensation Fund Contract forms are returned to _____________ and shall be responsible for ensuring that all Club Members are Members of the NARGC Compensation Fund at all times.

Rule 7 - Interpretation of Constitution:
    The Club is the sole authority for the interpretation of this Constitution and of any rule.

Rule 8 - Amendment of Constitution:
    Only the Annual General Meeting of the Club or a Special General Meeting shall have power to alter or amend this Constitution and Rules. Any proposed alteration or amendment to this Constitution and Rules shall be submitted in writing to the Honorary Secretary not less than 28 days in advance of the Annual General Meeting or Special General Meeting of the Club. Any alteration or amendment to this Constitution and Rules will require to be carried by a two-thirds majority of all accredited members present.

i spoke with nargc on monday, and was given the no. of rgc cavan. he told me to get as many permissions as possable. but have to wait till there next agm in november. he was not able to tell me if a neighbouring club had moved in on our ground or not. any 1 kno how i can find out???

bump:rolleyes: