Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Is this the right price for a 94 corolla?

• 20-07-2010 12:26pm
    Registered Users Posts: 1,213 ✭✭✭

Im looking at a 94 corolla 1.3xli seller looking for €400, not sure what miles are on it yet, it has nct for another 13 months, it seems cheap to me, though im not sure, what do you guys think? its in good shape clean looking car.

cheers

• Registered Users Posts: 19 eoinl4529

very cheap for a rolla. is she 3 door or 5 door or saloon??

• Registered Users Posts: 528 ✭✭✭dirtydiesel

Very cheap for a corolla of that year, most go for at least double that. Could be someone stuck for money and needing a quick sale.
    Worth a look in imo.
    Have you a link to the add.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,106 ✭✭✭SpannerMonkey

is cheap but not suspiciously so after all its a 16 year old car as said most go for the 700-800 mark but i have seen them go for 300 if someone has got a new car and just wants rid

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,805 ✭✭✭✭Gary ITR

At that price/year judge the car on it's own merits

• Registered Users Posts: 6,991 ✭✭✭Barr

Bargain Any half decent car with greater that 12 months NCT has to worth more than €400.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,033 ✭✭✭ForeverYoung90

Ive been looking at a lot of corollas lately on donedeal etc. and 400e for that car with the 13 month nct and it being clean like you say sounds like a bargain.Now could ye corolla people help me with this car http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/1428226
    It was 3200 now down to 2950 but to me still seems 500/600e overpriced for an 11 year old car!I guess hes getting the figure with the cost of the modifications he has done.Thoughts please!:)

• Registered Users Posts: 19 eoinl4529

well the wheels look poo on it anyway.

Ive been looking at a lot of corollas lately on donedeal etc. and 400e for that car with the 13 month nct and it being clean like you say sounds like a bargain.Now could ye corolla people help me with this car http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/1428226
    It was 3200 now down to 2950 but to me still seems 500/600e overpriced for an 11 year old car!I guess hes getting the figure with the cost of the modifications he has done.Thoughts please!:)

Stupid money that only an idiot would pay, I'd never pay extra for a car that's been modified

eoinl4529 wrote: »
    well the wheels look poo on it anyway.
    Is that good or bad??

Dr.Vag wrote: »
    Stupid money that only an idiot would pay, I'd never pay extra for a car that's been modified
    How much would you give him for it?Its a mint car imo.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,931 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

Wouldn't give even half that. Mint or not, it's a corolla... Walk away, find another one. He'll eventually cop on when nobody buys the thing...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,456 ✭✭✭✭Mr Benevolent

It's a Corolla, it's still shite. Do yourself a favour and get yourself something that at least handles well.

It's an 11 year old econobox, it's worth about half what it's advertised for

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,942 ✭✭✭Danbo!

There are hardly any 94 cars left on the road these days, and any that are left are corollas. I assume the OP isnt looking for something stunning, but at that price with an NCT id offer 350 and if he doesnt budge go for the full 400, Id say he will go lower though.

Parents bought one brand new in 94 and its been through the family, learnt to drive in it myself, and now the sister has it. Timing belt and water pump were the only major expense in the last few years, the only other thing I can think of was the CV joint went on it.

Its not going to win any races and its not a stunner to look at, but you could do a lot worse with 400 quid and a 16 year old car.

Wouldn't give even half that. Mint or not, it's a corolla... Walk away, find another one. He'll eventually cop on when nobody buys the thing...
    Confab wrote: »
    It's a Corolla, it's still shite. Do yourself a favour and get yourself something that at least handles well.
    Dr.Vag wrote: »
    It's an 11 year old econobox, it's worth about half what it's advertised for
    Jeez lads yer very harsh on the corolla.Ive been driving my fathers 05 corolla d4d saloon for the last year and thought it was a lovely car to drive.Im just 20 and looking at buying my first car and yer complaining about the quality of this 99 corolla which looks nice imo and will be easyish on my insurance.What are ye expecting me to do come up with 12k and buy a lexus/beamer or something?:confused:

• Registered Users Posts: 1,213 ✭✭✭shakin

The one i saw on done deal was sold today, then today another corolla suspiciously similiar to the one i looked at appeared for €580, so someone thought it was cheap....

2 days ago-http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/1444203

today-http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/1449307

• Registered Users Posts: 1,308 ✭✭✭Ricardo G

Jeez lads yer very harsh on the corolla.Ive been driving my fathers 05 corolla d4d saloon for the last year and thought it was a lovely car to drive.Im just 20 and looking at buying my first car and yer complaining about the quality of this 99 corolla which looks nice imo and will be easyish on my insurance.What are ye expecting me to do come up with 12k and buy a lexus/beamer or something?:confused:

BUY IT THEN lol

• Registered Users Posts: 16,931 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

Mate of mine got a 99 lexus is200 for cheaper than that is selling for -
    Another one picked up a R33 skyline for under 2k
    Beamers are going very, very cheap these days, you could easily get one for under 1500. Seriously, have a look at donedeal....

So no, you don't have to come up with 12k to buy something decent, just be smart about it. Don't waste a hell of a lot of money on a car that really isn't worth it. For that price, it'd want to have a fecking supercharger.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,704 ✭✭✭squod

Im just 20 and looking at buying my first car

People are only giving you advice. They're not great, you'd do a whole lot better IMO.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,279 ✭✭✭PaulKK

You could easily pick up a decent 318i for that kind of money. Tbh your never going to recieve much enthusiasm from motoring enthusiasts about a corrola, and especially a badly modified one. My opinion would be similar, why go for something so dull when your budget can get you something a lot more interesting?
    3k will get you a variety of decent cars, try to think beyond a corrola. Imo a lot of irish people keep buying them because they never drive anything else.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,456 ✭✭✭✭Mr Benevolent

What are ye expecting me to do come up with 12k and buy a lexus/beamer or something?

Why would you need 12k for a BMW? Plenty around for 3k. And don't be tempted to buy an IS200, they're shite too

• Registered Users Posts: 2,115 ✭✭✭Pdfile

Confab wrote: »
    Why would you need 12k for a BMW? Plenty around for 3k. And don't be tempted to buy an IS200, they're shite too

only because we got the sh1tty 2 liter not the 2jze

PaulKK wrote: »
    You could easily pick up a decent 318i for that kind of money. Tbh your never going to recieve much enthusiasm from motoring enthusiasts about a corrola, and especially a badly modified one. My opinion would be similar, why go for something so dull when your budget can get you something a lot more interesting?
    3k will get you a variety of decent cars, try to think beyond a corrola. Imo a lot of irish people keep buying them because they never drive anything else.
    But wouldnt my insurance be crazy for a 1.8 bmw since im 20,male,first car!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,279 ✭✭✭PaulKK

But wouldnt my insurance be crazy for a 1.8 bmw since im 20,male,first car!

Why don't you ring them and ask?

It doesn't cost anything to inquire.

Look I'm not saying you should get a BMW either, all I'm saying is you should set your sights higher than an old corolla for your 3K. BTW a 318i is a 1.9L or a 2L ;)

Look what you can get for your budget:

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/1454908

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/1455423

http://www.carzone.ie/search/Audi/A4/1.8-SE/201025198545126/advert?channel=CARS

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/1453662

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,704 ✭✭✭squod

Why don't you ring them and ask?

It doesn't cost anything to inquire.

Look I'm not saying you should get a BMW either, all I'm saying is you should set your sights higher than an old corolla for your 3K. BTW a 318i is a 1.9L or a 2L ;)

Look what you can get for your budget:

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/1454908

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/1455423

http://www.carzone.ie/search/Audi/A4/1.8-SE/201025198545126/advert?channel=CARS

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/1453662

Two poxy A4s and a poxier toyota......... noice.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 583 ✭✭✭xp90

a nice sierra is better value for some diff round the corner bap bap bap brum brum action sir!!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,030 ✭✭✭nogoodnamesleft

That Audi A4 looks a bit suspicious.......54k on a 00 (10 year old car)

One of the Pics in the ad shows the mileage as 54k with the date being the 30.02.2003

Even if the battery was replaced it would probably default back to its year of manufacture or 1980.