Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Kildare v Monaghan-Saturday 3pm Croke Park

• 20-07-2010 12:11am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,432 ✭✭✭

Thought id start a seperate thread for this.

Interesting game, my Kildare bias would say we can beat them. We demolished a poor derry side in the second half,were good against antrim in the replay and got the job done against Leitrim. We've improved in our defence and while we're kicking wides, we create a lot of chances and have put up some high scores. Im confident if we can play they way we have we're good enough to do it. We have to sort out our slow starts though.

I dont know a lot about Monaghan, and id imagine it could be hard to turn themselves around after their dismal display against Tyrone. They seem to be quietly confident going into this one too though!

On a side note Im expecting a massive kildare crowd at this, Ive already spoke to a lot of people going and a lot going that wouldnt go to many games. A lot are making the day of it and going out in Dublin saturday night.

Really really looking forward to Saturday. Hope Louth can do it too to make up for what happened, id love to see them meet meath again down the line!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,278 ✭✭✭NapoleonInRags

df1985 wrote: »
    Thought id start a seperate thread for this.

Interesting game, my Kildare bias would say we can beat them. We demolished a poor derry side in the second half,were good against antrim in the replay and got the job done against Leitrim. We've improved in our defence and while we're kicking wides, we create a lot of chances and have put up some high scores. Im confident if we can play they way we have we're good enough to do it. We have to sort out our slow starts though.

I dont know a lot about Monaghan, and id imagine it could be hard to turn themselves around after their dismal display against Tyrone. They seem to be quietly confident going into this one too though!

On a side note Im expecting a massive kildare crowd at this, Ive already spoke to a lot of people going and a lot going that wouldnt go to many games. A lot are making the day of it and going out in Dublin saturday night.

Really really looking forward to Saturday. Hope Louth can do it too to make up for what happened, id love to see them meet meath again down the line!

As a Kildare man I must admit that I'm a bit worried about how everyone is dismissing Monaghan so easily. This is essentially the same team that were a kick away from beating Kerry in an all ireland quarter final in 2007 . They also played Armagh off the park a few weeks ago. One off day against Tyrone doesn't turn them into a bad team.

I think Kildare will really be up against it Saturday and I don't think we can afford to have another slow start against the likes of Freeman, Clerkin and co. - we may find ourselves too far adrift against a very solid side.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,929 ✭✭✭raven136

we have had near sell outs for the antrim and leitrim games and i expect another massive kildare turnout again.
    We have sorted out the defence and kelly and mcloughlinn have been really impressive and O Callaghan is playing out of his skin.
    Smith will have had more game time under his belt but Roley Sweeney has been poor enough.
    Flynn and Earley have been excellent in midfield but this wont be easy.Grimley showed us how to play this style and knows our strengths and weaknesses and this Monaghan team are not as bad as last sunday indicated.

Expecting a very tight game and am going for a 2 point kildare win

• Closed Accounts Posts: 240 ✭✭Magi11

Hard to work out what Klldare are like. 3 weeks ago they were drawing with Antrim at home. Beating Derry away looks like a good result on paper but this Derry side have redefined the word "gutless" so it's hard to put too much faith in it. I would hope Monaghan would give it a lash. They were neither as good as the Armagh and Fermanagh games would suggest but Tyrone have great players and the greatest tactician in the history of the GAA in Mickey Harte and I firmly believe that Tyrone would have beaten any county in Ireland on Sunday and with the exception of Cork and Kerry, they would have won by at least the 10 points they beat us by. So we're not a bad team and if we can gather ourselves we will give Kildare (or any one else outside the big three) a stiff challenge.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 319 ✭✭jamsieboy86

This is essentially the same team that were a kick away from beating Kerry in an all ireland quarter final in 2007 . They also played Armagh off the park a few weeks ago. One off day against Tyrone doesn't turn them into a bad team.

We(Kildare) were one kick of the ball away from beating Tyrone in last years Quarter Final. The year before we only lost to Cork by a goal in the quarters. Two of the best teams in the country over the last 3 years, so they should be worried about our big game experience and not us worrying about what they achieved 3 years ago.

They beat an Armagh team that were quite poor against the worst Dublin team in years, so how much can you take from that victory really, you would have to question how good Armagh were year.

Monaghan are a good team and one defeat doesn't turn them into a bad team but we are a more experienced team and have racked up 3 convincing wins in a row, 2 of which were against Ulster teams. Monaghan are coming off a defeat in the Ulster Final which can only be a negative.

I have no fear for this game. Monaghan seemed to give up against Tyrone, something I did not see Kildare do against them last year.

We should win it by at least 4/5 points, if we don't I will be very surprised. Depending on the draw of course, I think we have a real chance of making the semi's.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 91 ✭✭iffy_2007

Cannot wait for this match, esp when the other half is from Kildare...
    Loving the fact that ye seem to be going into this quietly confident but ye haven't performed out of your skins this year either, loss to Louth, eventually beating Antrim & overcoming a team that is currently in turmoil!! Think Monaghan will run out winners I'm afraid, nothing like a good kick up the arse to get things going!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,709 ✭✭✭shrewdness

Expecting a Monaghan backlash here and a 2-3 point victory for the Farney men. Surprised at how most are backing Kildare to win so easily, alright Monaghan were poor against Tyrone but are a much better team than that showed. They won't play as bad again and their forwards weren't in the game at all, if they get quality ball in they capable of ruining most defences.

The only thing that would make me doubt Monaghan is their injuries. JP Mone and Vinny Corey will be out which are massive losses, full-back and centre-back and two of the team's leaders. As a result they won't be as tight at the back as they usually are but I think they can score enough up front to win.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 344 ✭✭buckwheat

It very much depends on how Monaghan can react to Sunday but they are a much much better team than they showed against Tyrone. Think it will be hard to lift themselves but they owe their supporters a huge effort.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,925 ✭✭✭aidan24326

Magi11 wrote: »
    Beating Derry away looks like a good result on paper but this Derry side have redefined the word "gutless" so it's hard to put too much faith in it.

That's what I'd be thinking. It looks a good result in theory but you'd have to put it in the context of how bad Derry were. I don't think I've ever seen a Derry team capitulate so easily. They looked like a team that couldn't wait to get out of there. So as much as Kildare played well, they didn't beat a whole lot on the day. That looked a very disjointed Derry team.

buckwheat wrote: »
    It very much depends on how Monaghan can react to Sunday but they are a much much better team than they showed against Tyrone. Think it will be hard to lift themselves but they owe their supporters a huge effort.

That's the big problem for Monaghan. Sunday to Saturday means they've only a few days to get themselves right for this game. Beaten provincial finalists have a very poor record when asked to line out again so quickly. It's a slightly unfair system really. Louth and Limerick have had a couple of weeks to prepare for this yet Sligo and Monaghan are being asked to go straight out again with almost no time to prepare or to recover from any knocks and sprains that lads might have picked up. This one is 50-50 for me, two fairly evenly matched teams and it just depends whether Monaghan can pick themselves up for another big game so soon after Sunday's hammering.

I think it's time for Monaghan to go route one. Benny McKenna to FF. People say he isn't mobile enough but you don't want him mobile, you want his size 12's on the edge of the small square breaking down bombs from Paul and Darren to Tommy and Conor. Kildare will have seen enough to deal with our current system.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,350 ✭✭✭Het-Field

We(Kildare) were one kick of the ball away from beating Tyrone in last years Quarter Final. The year before we only lost to Cork by a goal in the quarters. Two of the best teams in the country over the last 3 years, so they should be worried about our big game experience and not us worrying about what they achieved 3 years ago.

They beat an Armagh team that were quite poor against the worst Dublin team in years, so how much can you take from that victory really, you would have to question how good Armagh were year.

Monaghan are a good team and one defeat doesn't turn them into a bad team but we are a more experienced team and have racked up 3 convincing wins in a row, 2 of which were against Ulster teams. Monaghan are coming off a defeat in the Ulster Final which can only be a negative.

I have no fear for this game. Monaghan seemed to give up against Tyrone, something I did not see Kildare do against them last year.

We should win it by at least 4/5 points, if we don't I will be very surprised. Depending on the draw of course, I think we have a real chance of making the semi's.

In fairness, this Kildare team has also drawn with a poor Antrim team, lost to a 14 man Dublin Team (who subsequently flopped in the QF with 15 men), lost to a good, but developing, Louth team, and a flash in the pan Wicklow team in the past three years.

Furthermore, Kildare lost to Cork and Tyrone. I think the attitude that Kildare were were only two points behind Tyrone (who incidently never made it beyond the Semis), and were three behind Cork (who also didnt make it to the final in 2008) hinders rather then helps. It is about as useful as using Monaghan's gallent defeats to Kerry (2007/2008) as a yardstick.

Equally, Kildare will also have to be careful of how much weight they put behind the Derry victory. As you have rightly pointed out, Armagh were quite poor, and were beaten by a poor Dublin team. However, Armagh did put Derry out in the early rounds of the Ulster Championships. I would venture that this is one of the poorest Derry teams in a long time, and the magnitude of Kildare's victory, while impressive, is not to be read into too much.

The statement "beware the wounded animal" must be taken into account. Monaghan were badly beaten by a team which peaked (regionally) at the right time. Kildare have managed some impressive victories, however, they were against weak teams, and have already been beaten by a team which will have another stern test against Dublin this weekend. With due respect, I think you 4-5+ prediction is laughable. But we shall wait and see, and I will withdraw everythign I have said if it happens.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,477 ✭✭✭grenache

From previous experience, beaten provincial finalists do not fare well at all. I know with my own county, Limerick, when asked to line out the week after losing the Munster Final in 03 and 04, we were emotionally and physically drained. For that reason, added to Kildare's momentum its hard to see anything but a Lillywhites victory. The only worry i would have for them is the over-reliance on Johnny Doyle again, the likes of Alan Smyth need to step up the task.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,335 ✭✭✭✭UrbanSea

Too lazy to type much. Long story short I'm gonna say Monaghan by 4/5

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 299 ✭✭itsalltrue

Hoping Kildare will win but its a good Monaghan team that played badly in their last game. However they beat poor teams in Armagh and Fermanagh.

I'd say Kildare will win by a few, if they can build up a lead with 15 minutes to go i think Monaghan heads will drop, if Monagahan are up i think they will go on and win it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 290 ✭✭Rushden

Think Kildare seem a bit over confident going into this but i hope not. Should be a close game with a point or two in it either way hopefully for a Kildare win

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,432 ✭✭✭df1985

Dunno if its over confidence, but there is a belief in Kildare that they can win it, no one is expecting an easy game though. Everyone ive spoke to is expecting a tight tough game that Kildare might sneak by one/two. There is a real "get behind the lads" attitude in Kildare towards the game, hence my expectation of a big Kildare support at it. My heart says Kildare, but my head says to be worried.

Really looking forward to Saturday now. I'll be staying on for the Louth-Dublin game, im intrigued to see how louth bounce back from the controversy. I hope they bring half the county with them like they did for the last day for the atmosphere. Could be a rough game if theyre fired up.

Cant wait for 3 o clock now, suspense and anticipation is building up. Cant call this one at all,too many ifs and buts about it, with a bit of luck we can do it.

CILL DARA ABU!

Eating my breakfast just about to leave for Croker, hope the boys do us proud today, c'mon the lilly whites!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,001 ✭✭✭Royal Seahawk

God this is horrible to watch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 284 ✭✭Joyce Country

Does anyone have a stat for how many times Kildare handpassed the ball in that first half? Brutal brutal stuff.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,718 ✭✭✭✭JonathanAnon

I think there would be far less complaints about Kildare's performance if Johnny hat hit even half the chances he got...

Dont know why they are making such a big deal about Monaghan playing last weekend, Kildare played last weekend too.

0-12 v 0-6. This is going to be a slow death.

Should be over now.. Kildare never make it easy though.. Anyone know why Roly was having a go at the keeper... He looks a bit like yer man out of Take That with the longer hair and facial hair.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,238 ✭✭✭✭Diabhal Beag

GAME OVER MR. WOODS!!!!

Monaghan were hyped up to death this year as one of the main contenders.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,492 ✭✭✭MementoMori

Very very poor fare.

Scoreline massively flattering to Monaghan in the end.

Kildare should have won this by 15 points if they had their shooting boots on.

Het-Field wrote: »
    With due respect, I think you 4-5+ prediction is laughable. But we shall wait and see, and I will withdraw everythign I have said if it happens.

With due respect, I was spot on.

jesus christ the hangover isnt good! Leixlip got very messy last night!

Anyways, cant complain with that yesterday, the scoreline flattered Monaghan, Kildare took the foot off the gas in the last 15 minutes but that wouldnt worry me, understandable considering thats 5 weeks on the trot. People can finally shut up about us over relying on johnny doyle, had his worst game in a long time but the likes of Kavanagh, Smith etc stepped up. Another slow start again though....

Fair play to the Monaghan supporters beside us, very gracious in defeat, shook our hands and wished us luck.Grimley was out congratulating all the Kildare lads at the end too apparently.

People can finally shut up about us over relying on johnny doyle, had his worst game in a long time but the likes of Kavanagh, Smith etc stepped up. Another slow start again though....

Very worrying that Johnny had another VERY bad kicking game. I think even on the worst day, most counties would expect their kicker to get a much higher percentage of kicks.. He's a great lad, but it might be time to give Kavanagh a bit more responsibility with the kicks. Was also a bit worrying how the team performed when Dermot came off.. hopefully he can make it through the rest of the season.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,272 ✭✭✭✭DARK-KNIGHT

With due respect, I was spot on.
    +1 with this comment! well said het field lol

CILL DARA ABU!

believe in the lilies!!

so proud of the lads very well played

just watched the game again there on rte player, how do 2 umpires and a referee not spot that the Monaghan goal was clearly a square ball?? It didnt mean anything to the result but mistakes like that shouldnt be overlooked.

Firstly, I'd have a long look at myself for watching that tripe again, no matter what side you are on!!!!

Second, in case you haven't noticed, umpires don't really give a ****, although Peter Canavan spotted Cavan Ref, Joe McQuillan as one of Slasher's umpires in the Dublin v Louth at the (ahem) neutral venue of Croke Park!!

Lastly, even if they had of given a ****, I think there's a culture of giving the team that is obviously going to lose a break. I think the hand trip in the second game would have been a penalty if it had been in at the Dublin end. Also I don't think the ref would have been Cork a penalty for a push in the back when they were 4 points up last night in Limerick.

Also, that was probably Hugh McElroy's last game for Monaghan and now he can tell his grandkids how he cracked one in from 35 inches!!!