Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

case jxu tractors

• 19-07-2010 6:00pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,258 ✭✭✭

Lads, what's the story with Case JXU tractors. I see 90 HP version advertised at €35k new by Buckley Agri. Seem like good option against say a Zetor or Kubota equivalent HP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,722 ✭✭✭maidhc

Essentially a NH TL series in red, which I understand is based on the old 90 series Fiats. Simple basic tractor.

I'd take one over a Zetor any day. I know nothing about Kubotas.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,258 ✭✭✭Tora Bora

maidhc wrote: »
    Essentially a NH TL series in red, which I understand is based on the old 90 series Fiats. Simple basic tractor.

I'd take one over a Zetor any day. I know nothing about Kubotas.

So I'd be better off getting the blue TL in that case!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,083 ✭✭✭bogman_bass

why would the TL be better?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 146 ✭✭denis086

why would the TL be better?
    because anything case have any part in turns into a right mess our mxu is a prime example. It would be better if you could get a secondhand nh ts or tl those a great little tractor. I saw one jxu in the case dealer workshop being split when they opened the gear box there were chunks of gears in the bottom but lucky for your man it was under warranty. :rolleyes: they made out your man had a load behind him going down a hill and didnt brake just used the splitter gear ;)

denis086 wrote: »
    because anything case have any part in turns into a right mess our mxu is a prime example. It would be better if you could get a secondhand nh ts or tl those a great little tractor. I saw one jxu in the case dealer workshop being split when they opened the gear box there were chunks of gears in the bottom but lucky for your man it was under warranty. :rolleyes: they made out your man had a load behind him going down a hill and didnt brake just used the splitter gear ;)

Ya, but of I were to treat the New Holland with the same stupidity , I guess I would end up with the same result.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 258 ✭✭charityboy

Tora Bora wrote: »
    Ya, but of I were to treat the New Holland with the same stupidity , I guess I would end up with the same result.
    doubt it ,new holland will usually take a fair bit of hardship if it is put up to them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 98 ✭✭Colmm23

charityboy wrote: »
    doubt it ,new holland will usually take a fair bit of hardship if it is put up to them

But do ya not realise its the very same stuff in both tractors, different paint.

Colmm23 wrote: »
    But do ya not realise its the very same stuff in both tractors, different paint.

Yes, this is what my own research tells me. So I'm thinking, buy a red new Holland at a big discount. No brainer.

Colmm23 wrote: »
    believe it or not its not they are built in the same factory but they manufacture the different makes nh/case/steyr on different days they say often times cases are built using not the rejected parts but the parts that just go through quality control. We have a mxu135 full spec and an uncle has a mxu115 both disasters. :mad: i could write a page on the repairs but it works out at €1800 every 500hrs its only done a little under 2000 and its a 06 machine she only pulls a slurry tank and the odd trailer shes washed regularly oils changed and greased on the recommended intervals sometimes sooner :(. its not like shes put under strain i doubt weve opened her up even and the hardwork is done mainly by the mf 3085 165 and 50hxs we just bought this to give the local lad a turn and itll be his last weve had zetors and ursus and nh and they served us well bar the last zetor but that was a design flaw and didnt cost half as much and did twice the work.
    theres one of those sayings buy cheap pay twice...... or something :rolleyes:

Well lads Ye have put me off the Case, with all them bad reviews. I have located an MF 390 with MF 881 power loader in Scotland. Supposedly 3800 genuine hours. Sold and serviced by MF dealer who is now selling it. New clutch last summer. Described as mint throughout. Would cost me €18k delivered including vat.
    I'm just surprised needed a clutch at circa 3.5k hours.
    Does this one represent fair value would ye think. It's 1994 , 12 12 manual shuttle.
    I'm seriously tempted I must say.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,722 ✭✭✭maidhc

I dont accept for one minute that somehow the case is any different to a New Holland.

Be wary of these "low hour" 390s, we barely use our 2000 NH from one end of the year to the next, but it has 4000 on the clock.

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 1,495 ✭✭✭pajero12

Well lads Ye have put me off the Case, with all them bad reviews. I have located an MF 390 with MF 881 power loader in Scotland. Supposedly 3800 genuine hours. Sold and serviced by MF dealer who is now selling it. New clutch last summer. Described as mint throughout. Would cost me €18k delivered including vat.
    I'm just surprised needed a clutch at circa 3.5k hours.
    Does this one represent fair value would ye think. It's 1994 , 12 12 manual shuttle.
    I'm seriously tempted I must say.
    Don't let them put you off..They're the exact same tractor..different paint!!!!Also compared to the jxu,the 390 will be horrible to drive!(Have worked with both so I know) TBH tha sounds pricey for a 16 y\o machine!That's just my opinion

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 446 ✭✭poor farmer

looked at a jxu yesterday with alexander mills ,seems grand tractor
    previously had a nh 7635 seems very similar , it was a good tidy gutsy tractor. weak points were dry clutch, poor shuttle , jxu seems to have fluid cluttch and eletric shuttle
    doors on jxu seem poor 1 big glass panel, also hitch looks light/weak

im an mf man but im not a fan of the 300 series a little over rated and on the pricey side even for wrecks. Id look for a good second hand newholland and it might be a better option or even a newer mf for 18k. I would be wary of the hours on the 390 but then again if its one of those old type clocks they fitted in them then it could be genuine our 165 has only 9000hrs after 40 years. :rolleyes: I wouldnt be surprised about the clutch if it had done alot of loader work maybe it was a driver who rested his foot on the clutch and wore it out prematurely but then again with those hours thats even doubtful and it could be that it has done more hours than they say

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,401 ✭✭✭reilig

our 165 has only 9000hrs after 40 years.

Our 1958 MF35 has only 4 hours on the clock which leads me to suspect that the clock cable broke or was broken some time in early 1958 :D:D:D

reilig wrote: »
    Our 1958 MF35 has only 4 hours on the clock which leads me to suspect that the clock cable broke or was broken some time in early 1958 :D:D:D
    put it in classic tractor and call it a "extremely rare barn find" and say the barn had no roof to explain the rust :D

Well I continued on with a bit more research into the JXU. Found 2 owners. Both happy with performance and reliabilit. One of them is over 6000 hours with a fair bit of slurry agitation and spreading done plus mower work. No major money gone into it, but serviced by the book and more. Other one is only 2.5k hours. General yard work. Plenty loader work. Again no big issues.
    I'm gonna get me a red New Holland.

Well I continued on with a bit more research into the JXU. Found 2 owners. Both happy with performance and reliabilit. One of them is over 6000 hours with a fair bit of slurry agitation and spreading done plus mower work. No major money gone into it, but serviced by the book and more. Other one is only 2.5k hours. General yard work. Plenty loader work. Again no big issues.
    I'm gonna get me a red New Holland.
    well i hope it gives you many hours of trouble free service and the best of luck with it ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 clocker

hi Tora Bora or anyone else, I was with a dealer that has a case JXU110 '05' and it looks to be in good nick. I am thinking of buying it. Did you buy the red new holland after and if you did, what was you experience of the tractor. I just dont want to buy it and then run into major trouble with it, as i would not be pushing the tractor very hard, it would have loader work and drawing in bale of silage into the slatted shed for the winter. I like to get a tractor over the winter to test out if its starts in cold weather, i got caught before with a ford 4000, it was not problem start in the summer but when it came to the cold morning i had problems.