Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Wexford Youths FC Discussion/News/Gossip

• 19-07-2010 1:36pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 4,754 ✭✭✭

Hi

I'm just throwing my cap in here to see if there is enough interest in getting a rolling thread on Wexford Youths FC.

Hopefully it will be useful for match information, queries about the club, directions to the ground, Mick's hair, facilities at Ferrycarrig Park and that sort of thing. I'm a member on a lot of LOI forums and often get asked for the above.

Forza Youths

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,434 ✭✭✭Lamper.sffc

Best of luck with it.

Have yous moved the games from Sunday and if so have the crowds levels responded much?

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 15,721 Mod ✭✭✭✭dfx-

So....how is Mick's hair? :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,974 ✭✭✭✭Gavin "shels"

Have yous moved the games from Sunday and if so have the crowds levels responded much?

Good question, nearly sure your website has changed matches to Fridays except our match in August. Is our match still on a Sunday (just to get work off mate).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,754 ✭✭✭oldyouth

Sunday games were an experiment to try and increase crowd numbers. However, it backfired big time and all games are now 8pm on Fridays. We will never beat the GAA for patrons in Wexford, if fixtures clash, and we have to work around it. Crowds are on the way back, so fingers crossed they improve

However, individual matches are subject to change. Gav, the Shels game has been left on the Sunday 22nd August at 2pm because Ferrycarrig Park has been chosen as the venue for the Womens World Cup Qualifer V Russia on Saturday 21st August. I'm Looking forward to that one

dfx- wrote: »
    So....how is Mick's hair? :)
    It's like his bank balance. There's less of it now than there used to be

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,974 ✭✭✭✭Gavin "shels"

oldyouth wrote: »

However, individual matches are subject to change. Gav, the Shels game has been left on the Sunday 22nd August at 2pm because Ferrycarrig Park has been chosen as the venue for the Womens World Cup Qualifer V Russia on Saturday 21st August. I'm Looking forward to that one

Cheers, Sunday afternoon fixture is great (well was the last time down there).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

No problem at all with a WY thread although it's probably not our choice. I've a lot of time for Mick Wallace (who seems like a gent) and the Youth. I see him around town (Dublin) a bit as I work near his restaurants and I can verify the hair is there although I really hope that wasn't purple trackie bottoms I saw on him last time. :pac:

stovelid wrote: »
    No problem at all with a WY thread although it's probably not our choice. I've a lot of time for Mick Wallace (who seems like a gent) and the Youth. I see him around town (Dublin) a bit as I work near his restaurants and I can verify the hair is there although I really hope that wasn't purple trackie bottoms I saw on him last time. :pac:
    Just to be sure that you saw the right person Stovelid. Did he have long grey strangly hair, yellow t-shirt, pink beanie hat, purple trousers and tan shoes?????
    It could have been anyone :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,955 ✭✭✭Paleface

Just to be sure that you saw the right person Stovelid. Did he have long grey strangly hair, yellow t-shirt, pink beanie hat, purple trousers and tan shoes?????
    It could have been anyone :D

He's a fan of the pink t-shirts aswell!

Rumour has it that our Irish Schoolboy International, Jimmy Keohane, is to sign for Bristol City. He is an exceptional talent and should make the grade over in the UK. He's going to be some loss to us, but we were never going to keep him for much longer anyway

Best of luck Jimmy, if it is true

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 906 ✭✭✭LiamMc

Do all the Wexford Youths sides play at Ferrycarrig Park, or are non-Airtricity League games moved to other venues?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,641 ✭✭✭andyman

Rumour has it that our Irish Schoolboy International, Jimmy Keohane, is to sign for Bristol City. He is an exceptional talent and should make the grade over in the UK. He's going to be some loss to us, but we were never going to keep him for much longer anyway

It was only a matter of time really. From the trial at Wolves last year and he had trials at Blackburn when he was 16 I believe. Unbelievable talent and I'm surprised we managed to keep him so long.

Good luck, Jimmy.

EDIT: Think he might have had a trial at Reading as well but turned them down. Would add up considering the Coppell link between the two sides.

LiamMc wrote: »
    Do all the Wexford Youths sides play at Ferrycarrig Park, or are non-Airtricity League games moved to other venues?
    All Wexford Youths matches are played at Ferrycarrig Park. We have a 2nd pitch there which mirrors the main one exactly and most U20 and junior games are played on it.

Ferrycarrig Park, home of Wexford Youths FC will be the proud hosts of a Ladies World Cup qualifier on August 21st when Ireland take on Russia.

The club have asked if any Youths suppporters are available this Sunday at 5pm, to give the grounds a bit of a tidy up. If you can help out, just come along with your usual gardening equipment (strimmers, shears, yard brushes, hedge cutters etc)

A barbeque will take place afterwards to thank any volunteers

• Closed Accounts Posts: 443 ✭✭Pure_Cork

It's official!

http://www.bcfc.co.uk/page/NewsDetail/0,,10327~2120382,00.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,438 ✭✭✭frantic190

http://vimeo.com/14362476

Highlights of the Wexford vs. Shels game.

Rumour has it that Patsy Malone is back from France and is looking to rejoin the squad.

It's not been the same without him, far too many well timed tackles than we used to have :p

Not football related, but I had a nice latte and pastry in one of Mick's cafes the other day. Class to be sitting in a trendy little Italian cafe in the middle of Dublin and then you look up and there's a gigantic pink Wexford Youths banner (and loads of Forza Youths pics) taking up most of a wall. :D

Wexford Youths take on the Beat FM Crossbar Challange.

http://www.facebook.com/video/video.php?v=465394750933&ref=mf

The supporters of Wexford Youths wish to express their disappoinment that former captain and supporters player of the year, David Breen, accidentally picked up a 4th yellow card playing for Athlone Town and is therefore suspended for the match at Ferrycarrig Park.

Given that he left in such a rush and forgot to say goodbye, we wre hoping to do so tomorrow

David, a fine player, had to admit it was time to retire from LOI football during the summer, as he had lost the passion for the game. However, after what seemed like an eternal amount of minutes, he signed for Athlone Town and is truly enjoying the game as much as if he was a young kid again.

Fair play to you David, keep the fire burning (until next season at least)

Fenn-tastic :pac:

The songs have been written, he doesn't have to be there for them to be sung anyway :p

Comments from Mick Wallace following Garry Sheahan's decision to return home. Kinda sums up where LOI football is at the moment. Best of luck Garry

Following two seasons with the Wexford Youths, Garry Sheehan has decided to return to his native Limerick. Garry will certainly be missed by the Youths as he has developed into one of those few players who can really frighten opposition defences with his strong running, skill, work rate and electric pace. Gary Sheehan missed a few months of his first season with the Youths as he arrived injured from Limerick but it is a credit to Noel O Connors training programme that Garry played all of every game this season apart from a suspension, a phenomenal achievement for a player with Garry’s speed. The player has added a new dimension to his game this year and must be considered to have a good chance of progressing to the professional scene across the water. I’d like to thank Garry for his unwavering commitment to the Youths for two years and I fully understand and respect his decision. The Youths will always be a healthy positive environment for young players but reality dictates that we will always have a high turnover of players, given our amateur status. Players have to live too and will naturally look to better themselves financially with a view to making ends meet, but it should be stressed that Garry Sheehan was no mercenary. The Wexford Youths were good for Garry Sheehan and Garry was good for the Wexford Youths, I wish him well.
    Mick Wallace

I'm sure all supporters of Wexford Youths FC will join me in wishing Garry Sheahan a speedy recovery from the broken leg he sustained last night playing for Limerick

Forza Garry, Youths legend

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,017 ✭✭✭invinciblePRSTV

What's the story with Youths now that Mick Wallace is seemingly on his way to bankruptcy?

If anyone is interested in a bit of post Christmas footy, Wexford Youths FC take on the Wexford Senior GAA Football team tomorrow (Wednesday) at 2pm at Ferrycarrig Park.

It will be interesting to see some of the ex-Youths players lining out for the GAA team.

New Youths manager, Shane Keegan takes charge for the 1st time. Should be a bit of craic.

Congratulations to Wexford Youths FC on winning the FAI Youth Cup yesterday, beating Mount Merrion 2-1 after extra time. This is the 2nd time the club have won the cup in it's short history.

It's a remarkable achievement for the squad, given that the same players represented the club in the LOI U19 competition this season, meaning that they regularily played 2 games each weekend. Well done to the lads and their manager, Mick Wallace