Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Take Bertie's phone away

• 19-07-2010 11:42am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭

Just another way Bertie continues to sponge off the country he brought down.

JET-setting former Taoiseach Bertie Ahern cost the taxpayer €14,000 in VIP airport charges and mobile phone bills since standing down.
    Between his resignation in 2008 and May of this year, Mr Ahern ran up a €5,682 bill for VIP airport facilities and a mobile phone bill of €8,331.

All former Taoisigh are entitled to have their mobile phone and airport costs paid for by the State.

However, the amount claimed by Mr Ahern is the largest of any former Taoiseach, according to figures obtained by the Irish Independent.
    Last night, Labour TD Roisin Shortall insisted it was time to review the arrangement for former Taoisigh.
    "There is no justification for the taxpayer footing the bill when he is a sitting TD and has an income on the side."

The Government has no plans to change the arrangement of paying for VIP airport charges and mobile phones for former Taoisigh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,104 ✭✭✭easyeason3

Sure he had to ring all the lads to get a dig out.

That doesn't come cheap.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,664 ✭✭✭Doyler92

Who would wanna talk to him on the phone in the first place? :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

Unbelievable! But at the same time I'm not shocked or surprised when it comes to Bertie!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,784 ✭✭✭Superbus

I don't get why the state foots the bill for the luxuries of ex-Taosigh. Presumably they've been successful enough in their lives, at least to the extent they can pay their mobile phone bill?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,202 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

easyeason3 wrote: »
    Sure he had to ring all the lads to get a dig out.

That doesn't come cheap.

That wouldn't cost that much. I'll bet he's playing Ruinscape online on his mobile.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,228 ✭✭✭epgc3fyqirnbsx

Take his face off too

• Closed Accounts Posts: 489 ✭✭Trashbat

someone should tell him that if he texts a number to 50001 then it will send a free "call me" message, if he's with meteor. That should solve things.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,738 ✭✭✭Naos

If we're paying we should also get to see an itemised phone bill.

Also when did these laws come in?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

Sure don't he need the phone to keep up all those bets on the gee-gee's... :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,001 ✭✭✭recylingbin

Those text messages add up.
    On Plane sitin w shampain n hnd. c u n 2nite. tk bk xx

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

are you sure the exte-te-te-tende-de-de-ded calls aren't d-d-due to his st-st-stu-stute-rin-g?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 183 ✭✭pvt6zh395dqbrj

Bertie reminds me of my own political hero, Michael Scofield. He once tricked his friend Fernando into thinking there was a phone in the prison cell in order to test Sucré and make him a better person. It turns out the phone was made of soap and then Sucré wasn't able to see his lady again. That's ok though because Bellick locked her in a hole and Michael could still see his love, Sara.

I think there are worse things in the world than phones, and Michael showed us that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,881 ✭✭✭Kurtosis

Doyler92 wrote: »

No one, he just uses it for prank calls.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,966 ✭✭✭✭syklops

Superbus wrote: »
    I don't get why the state foots the bill for the luxuries of ex-Taosigh. Presumably they've been successful enough in their lives, at least to the extent they can pay their mobile phone bill?

It wouldn't surprise me if that particular benefit was added while he was in power. Before he came into power most people didnt have mobile phones, particularly not Taoisigh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,230 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

are you sure the exte-te-te-tende-de-de-ded calls aren't d-d-due to his st-st-stu-stute-rin-g?

...and all those ffffffffffffffffffffffffffeckin tttttttttttttttttttttttexts can't help either.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

biko wrote: »

Between his resignation in 2008 and May of this year, Mr Ahern ran up a mobile phone bill of €8,331.

Would have been better off renting a studio, hiring some young wans, and shot his own version of Babestation.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

Maybe he just needs to talk to his book ghost-writer a lot - so that the second part of his autobiography trilogy can be completed!

...Gawd help us! :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,202 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

Bertie: Hiya Briano [Lenihan], hows tings???? Here cowans latest spoutings???? Hes some gob***** isnt he?????? See ya later, Bertie.

Cowen: This IS Cowan [sic], you thick Jackeen gob*****.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,100 ✭✭✭tommyhaas

Its only about 75 a month...hardly excessive..its common for companies to pay something similiar for their employees.

You worked out €14,000, over 2 years to be €75 per month?

Can I borrow 14k off you? I'l pay you back €75 a month,over two years

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,354 ✭✭✭smellslikeshoes

Seems a bit ****ing pointless to me comparing the spending of Ahern vs previous Taoiseachs.

None of them should be getting these concessions.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,163 ✭✭✭✭Liam Byrne

tommyhaas wrote: »
    You worked out €14,000, over 2 years to be €75 per month?
    Mr Ahern ran up a €5,682 bill for VIP airport facilities

€5,682 / 24 = €236
    a mobile phone bill of €8,331

€8,331 / 24 = €347

Seems like A Primal Nut took the same math class as Brian Lenihan & NAMA!

Almost €600 EXTRA a month! On TOP OF his free car & driver & pension & excessive wages (considering he hardly turns up to work).

Is it any wonder that the public service aren't prepared to take wage cuts when con-men like this are milking it.

"VIP" my arse!

"Vested Interest Player", maybe ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,472 ✭✭✭✭Ghost Train

He probably just needs to be on a data plan

Liam Byrne wrote: »

Seems like A Primal Nut took the same math class as Brian Lenihan & NAMA!

Reminds me of this old joke.
    At the class reunion, the child least expected to do well arrives in a Rolls Royce.

The teachers and former pupils are shocked and asked how the hell did he become so rich!

"well I bought all these fields for €1 a square metre and sold them for €4, it's amazing how that 3% adds up! ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 831 ✭✭✭DubArk

Pissssssst stop ringing me every hour and laughing down the phone, ya bast**d!!

ahern_161388t.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 33,733 ✭✭✭✭Myrddin

Doyler92 wrote: »

The majority who voted/re-elected him in the middle of his corruption tribunal?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,924 ✭✭✭✭RolandIRL

i bet he's calling all the XXX hotlines. he just can't get a jolly now that he's out of power :pac: