Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

BUMP festival, any of the brethren attending/performing?

• 19-07-2010 11:37AM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,245 ✭✭✭

http://www.bumpfestival.com

So far I know we have Executive Steve and myself (miXile) attending/performing but who else will be showing off the latest dance moves or banging out the tunes next weekend in Clare?

As far as I know, I'll be doing an ambient performance of Aussie material around 18:00 on the Sat so do swing by if you're around, alternatively I'll also be performing on Fri night at Knockanstockan if you're over there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,787 ✭✭✭g5fd6ow0hseima

I dont have €70, otherwise id be seriously tempted.

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 12,616 Mod ✭✭✭✭Zascar

Looks good, I met the Bump dj's, they played after us at NPLD. Sound bunch of lads - I actually left my macbook charger in the DJ booth, and they came and found my mates to give it back the following morning! Legend!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,791 ✭✭✭electrogrimey

I'll be playing at Knockanstockan (and Castlepalooza) with the band, head over if you wanna hear a 16 piece band with a brass section play this:

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 12,616 Mod ✭✭✭✭Zascar

Haha class I'd love to see that! Post a vid if you can!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,245 ✭✭✭old gregg

I'll be playing at Knockanstockan (and Castlepalooza) with the band, head over if you wanna hear a 16 piece band with a brass section play this:

cool. what's the band name and when are you playing? I'm only there for Fri night and then have to scarper over to Clare for Bump

old gregg wrote: »
    cool. what's the band name and when are you playing? I'm only there for Fri night and then have to scarper over to Clare for Bump

We're called Attention Bébé, no idea when we're playing...think it's in an email somewhere but I'm not sure.

@Colly, not many good quality recordings or videos, but this was a bit of fun:

Oh dude.... What is the story with the dancing in that video??? DJ Jean - The Launch hahahahah that brings back memories - I remember it was being played everywhere in the summer of 99

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,672 ✭✭✭seannash

http://www.bumpfestival.com

So far I know we have Executive Steve and myself (miXile) attending/performing but who else will be showing off the latest dance moves or banging out the tunes next weekend in Clare?

As far as I know, I'll be doing an ambient performance of Aussie material around 18:00 on the Sat so do swing by if you're around, alternatively I'll also be performing on Fri night at Knockanstockan if you're over there.
    hey gregg ive a question for you.

i really admire you production techniques(using field recordings as the basis for your tracks aswell as updating how your album evolves from how it orginally began)

im wondering how do your shows go down.
    im not a fan of ambient music but i know some people like it.
    what happens at your gigs to the crowd.

do they dance?

i cant imagine they do(not meaning that in a belittling way i mean its not music for dancing)
    if not do they stand?
    is it really hard to hold a crowd and win over people who are new to it.

i always found it a bit soul destroying to play music and not have people dance so im wondering is it the trill of hearing your own music that makes you perform?

again this isnt an attack,i genuinely want to know how an ambient gig goes(albeit without having to exerience it:))

like i said i resect your work and im just asking out of curiousity

hiya Sean,
    yea it's all good and many thanks for your comments.

hard to say with audiences ... if it's a gallery/cathedral gig then it's all 'chin stroking' folks sitting down and paying attention ... if it's a festival event then I'll likely be playing on a chill stage where folks are lazing around and having a beer or 'jazz cigarettes', some folks are tripping along with the music and some are allowing as background sounds to their buzz ...

funny thing is that after doing ambient electronic music for 20+ years I recently played my first ever pub gig, now that was pretty unnerving cos I'm not used to the clinking of glasses and folks who are not there for the music chatting so I had to put on headphones just to help me concentrate. It all worked out nicely and a recording of the event is up on http://soundcloud.com/mixile/mixile-noosa-sunrise-live-at-the-vineyard-250610 for listening or downloading.

I've never seen anyone dance at a performance of mine but who knows about the future, I do have hints of techno creeping into some of the music and somewhere in the back of my mind I'd love to incorporate my other fave genre .... death metal (I jest not).
    How does that sound?

Mick

hiya Sean,
    yea it's all good and many thanks for your comments.

hard to say with audiences ... if it's a gallery/cathedral gig then it's all 'chin stroking' folks sitting down and paying attention ... if it's a festival event then I'll likely be playing on a chill stage where folks are lazing around and having a beer or 'jazz cigarettes', some folks are tripping along with the music and some are allowing as background sounds to their buzz ...

funny thing is that after doing ambient electronic music for 20+ years I recently played my first ever pub gig, now that was pretty unnerving cos I'm not used to the clinking of glasses and folks who are not there for the music chatting so I had to put on headphones just to help me concentrate. It all worked out nicely and a recording of the event is up on http://soundcloud.com/mixile/mixile-noosa-sunrise-live-at-the-vineyard-250610 for listening or downloading.

I've never seen anyone dance at a performance of mine but who knows about the future, I do have hints of techno creeping into some of the music and somewhere in the back of my mind I'd love to incorporate my other fave genre .... death metal (I jest not).
    How does that sound?

Mick
    cheers man.
    i totally understand the vibe you set up now.kind of background music i guess(if its not too rude to say so)

personally speaking whenever i dj'd i did it because i got a real buzz out of making people dance.
    what makes you push on knowing that most people wont dance because of the sort of music it is

it must be a totally different thrill to the normal one of making people dance.

checking the link now

Zascar wrote: »
    Oh dude.... What is the story with the dancing in that video??? DJ Jean - The Launch hahahahah that brings back memories - I remember it was being played everywhere in the summer of 99

Ha, it's was a gig on Paddy's Day, as the Launch works great for that kind of ****, so we thought we'd get some of the band into the crowd to start it off. It's normally just pillheads wandering in from the techno room in the Pod and giving it loads to Rhythm is a Dancer though.

grimey i must say the sort of thing you guys do seems like alot of fun.

have you every heard of Kraak & Smaak.there live show is retty similar to you guys albeit without as many members.

do you normally keep it cheesy or is there some covers of not that commercially known tracks you do

Wow Greg I had no idea you did any of this???

Zascar wrote: »
    Wow Greg I had no idea you did any of this???
    yea been doing this sort of caper for a long time. I'm pretty useless at self promotion so tend to scout around the edges when it comes to pushing stuff.

... but now that I have a minor opportunity ... yea, a bunch of albums behind me, play a few festivals each year, the highlight was Transylvania Calling last year where I did a 2 hour performance all about travels in the outback of Australia. For the last few years I've been doing a series of albums based around Australian field recordings and am about to take a short break from that to concentrate on other projects .....

That's me playing in the Science Gallery in Trinity a few months back:
    25873_1268319996051_1471359038_30609312_4839277_n.jpg

and this was at Transylvania Calling 09:
    8922_1136880910156_1471359038_30345190_3438070_n.jpg
    (yea, I actually played for 2 hours wearing a sarong):p

8922_1136880550147_1471359038_30345181_3937043_n.jpg

http://www.mixile.com for loads of background info and stuff.

... that was hard so end of self promo:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,401 ✭✭✭jtsuited

haha Gregg, that's exactly the way I pictured you look. ya feckin legend!!!

interesting career too man, keep it up.

thanks man. Yea some would say I'm a bit of a spacer along the way :D

seannash wrote: »
    grimey i must say the sort of thing you guys do seems like alot of fun.

have you every heard of Kraak & Smaak.there live show is retty similar to you guys albeit without as many members.

do you normally keep it cheesy or is there some covers of not that commercially known tracks you do

It's generally pretty cheesy, but we try to take the cheese out of it by actually making them musically good, although that doesn't always work. The point is basically to make people have fun, and they normally do.

Don't know Kraak and Smaak no, I must look it up. Any videos?

btw, that festival looks great

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,662 ✭✭✭RMD

Looks like a quality festival, really want to go but convincing a bunch of your mates who have no clue about the acts playing and don't want to go to it unless they do is next to fúcking impossible.

To all of you playing at it good luck, to all you going enjoy it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,373 ✭✭✭Executive Steve

Doing a two hour showcase set on the DnB stage on Saturday night!

On the lineup under the name Ancient Ways for the first time ever, feels right. Really looking forward to it! Plan is to do what we did at NPLD only more so.

It's generally pretty cheesy, but we try to take the cheese out of it by actually making them musically good, although that doesn't always work. The point is basically to make people have fun, and they normally do.

Don't know Kraak and Smaak no, I must look it up. Any videos?
    not too many about but i did see them live and they were incredible,seriously one of the best concerts ive been too

probably a good video to show how there set up live

On the lineup under the name Ancient Ways for the first time ever, feels right. Really looking forward to it! Plan is to do what we did at NPLD only more so.
    well, when a guy comes up to you and starts asking for Living On A Prayer then that will be me :D
    Looking forward to hearing your set mate.

well, when a guy comes up to you and starts asking for Living On A Prayer then that will be me :D
    Looking forward to hearing your set mate.

Nice one brother! Will do my best to pack some anthemic soft rock for you!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 583 ✭✭✭cranky bollix

how did you come up with this name, its sounds kinda familiar :D

There's some techno people who call themselves "ancient methods" too apparently.