Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Non National window cleaner

• 18-07-2010 4:42pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 300 ✭✭

Anybody notice the non national window clearner beside the bridge across from the goverment buildings in the city (Dublin).

I've passed him 5 times over the last week, he cleans car windows despite drivers winding down their window to tell him to get a way. When this happens the non national either spits in the window or raises his hand to assault the driver.

People like this should be deported asap, its that type of attitude that gives certain non national races a bad name. Now I'm not a racist but I believe people should have manners and at least try to work for a living. This guy is obviously used to putting pressure on people to give him money, if that does work he uses bullying tactics.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,148 ✭✭✭plein de force

ok

Here we go...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,440 ✭✭✭The Aussie

Speculator wrote: »
    Anybody notice A window clearner beside the bridge across from the goverment buildings in the city (Dublin).

I've passed him 5 times over the last week, he cleans car windows despite drivers winding down their window to tell him to get a way. When this happens the Window Cleaner either spits in the window or raises his hand to assault the driver.

Wave a big stick at him

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,652 ✭✭✭Trekker09

You say you're not a rascist, but you had to bring up the point that he was a non national. Would you have said that the person involved was Irish if that was the case? Why bring the persons race into it at all?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

Anybody notice the non national window clearner beside the bridge across from the goverment buildings in the city (Dublin).

I've passed him 5 times over the last week, he cleans car windows despite drivers winding down their window to tell him to get a way. When this happens the non national either spits in the window or raises his hand to assault the driver.

People like this should be deported asap, its that type of attitude that gives certain non national races a bad name. Now I'm not a racist but I believe people should have manners and at least try to work for a living. This guy is obviously used to putting pressure on people to give him money, if that does work he uses bullying tactics.

When you have to explain this, your argument goes out the window.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,778 ✭✭✭Pauleta

Ah sure why not :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,231 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

:pac::pac:

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,631 ✭✭✭✭antodeco

He a non national or a foreign national? If he is a non national, it means he has no nation to go back to...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

A "non national" - is that someone, like, from NO WHERE?.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,506 ✭✭✭lil'bug

just turn on your windscreen wipers and stfu

antodeco wrote: »
    He a non national or a foreign national? If he is a non national, it means he has no nation to go back to...

Wrong

Trekker09 wrote: »
    Wrong

Explain.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,817 ✭✭✭✭Dord

Just like Tom Hanks in the Terminal. :pac:

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 5,028 Mod ✭✭✭✭G_R

ejmaztec wrote: »
    :pac::pac:

damn, bet me too it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,100 ✭✭✭tommyhaas

Surely the OP mentioned that the window cleaner was foreign as his solution was for him to be deported. Obviously he couldnt be deported if he were Irish

Also wrt the 'Im not a racist but..' comment, every man & his dog in this country seems to have become overly PC. The slighest mention of ethnicity, even in a discriptive manner tends the draw all sorts of accusations from the PC brigade, hence the need to emphasise that the complaint is not racially motivated

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,079 ✭✭✭PCros

Not originally from the nation he/she is currently residing.

PCros wrote: »
    Not originally from the nation he/she is currently residing.

No no, thats a FOREIGN national. ie: someone from a foreign nation. A NON national is someone who does not have a nationality of any kind.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,284 ✭✭✭wyndham

Kick him in the face.

No no, thats a FOREIGN national. ie: someone from a foreign nation. A NON national is someone who does not have a nationality of any kind.

Born in space like?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,339 ✭✭✭✭tman

PCros wrote: »
    Born in space like?
    Nah, born on international waters obviously...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,862 ✭✭✭✭inforfun

Just start licking your windows on the inside. Confuses the **** out of them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,132 ✭✭✭Killer Pigeon

If you think non-nationals are bad here, see what they're like in other countries. It'll shock you.

tman wrote: »
    Nah, born on international waters obviously...

Linky to a definition....?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

It's a disgrace.

Especially when you consider all the wonderful Irish people you find in Dublin city centre The board walk in particular is a joyful throng of decent natives.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 977 ✭✭✭Abrasax

He's been there, on the quays, for 5 days spitting on peoples windows and assaulting them and the Guards haven't done anything yet?

Are non Nationals allowed into the National Ballroom?

Non national literally means no nationality. I know people use it, as its apparently more PC then 'foreign national, but people are idiots

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 12,333 ✭✭✭✭JONJO THE MISER

:( WILL SOMEONE PLEASE THINK OF THE SWANS.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

:( WILL SOMEONE PLEASE THINK OF THE SWANS.

Lightly braised would get my vote.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

The media use the term non national.
    So do government departments and our own ministers say non-national,

The Gardai, specifically the Garda National Immigration Bureau use the term and a quick google search shows and so does Trinity College, they have many students from abroad
    The GNIB is located 5 minutes walk from Trinity College at Burgh Quay (see address details below). All non-nationals who are not citizens of an EU state, the European Economic Area or Switzerland, must register with the GNIB to receive a registration certificate.

The OP makes a point and everyone jumps at them as you know better??
    You can see where the OP and public get this term from, if it's bothering you and it obviously bothered you enough to post here, then contact the offical agencies who use it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

You say you're not a rascist, but you had to bring up the point that he was a non national. Would you have said that the person involved was Irish if that was the case? Why bring the persons race into it at all?

Cos they took our jobs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,115 ✭✭✭✭Nervous Wreck

A 'non-national' is a person who is not a citizen of the country in which they're residing. Jesus lads, I can't believe the amount of people who don't understand the term.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,565 ✭✭✭southsiderosie

tommyhaas wrote: »
    Surely the OP mentioned that the window cleaner was foreign as his solution was for him to be deported. Obviously he couldnt be deported if he were Irish

Also wrt the 'Im not a racist but..' comment, every man & his dog in this country seems to have become overly PC. The slighest mention of ethnicity, even in a discriptive manner tends the draw all sorts of accusations from the PC brigade, hence the need to emphasise that the complaint is not racially motivated

Why couldn't they just be a scumbag, like in the 8 million other threads on boards about scumbags?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

Are non Nationals allowed into the National Ballroom?

Is there any window's?.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,775 ✭✭✭Fittle

'When this happens the non national either spits in the window or raises his hand to assault the driver.'

In the five times you've passed him by this week OP, have you actually seen him do this? What happens when he spits in the window? What happens when he raises his hand to assault the driver? Because I know what I would do if anyone spat at me while I was in my car...or raised their hand to assault me. 999.

This sounds like an urban myth to me. A bit like the one about 'all the nigerians getting 5grand a head from Social Welfare, to buy themselves a car, because they are getting racially abused on public transport':rolleyes:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

Maybe its Tom Hanks stuck in airport limbo again! :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

I know what ya mean OP: I don't like the window cleaning solutions Lidl and Aldi have to offer - smudgy finish. I stick with St Bernard.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,688 ✭✭✭Kasabian

OP , you have to admire his intiative but obviously he needs to work on the customer care aspect of his enterprise.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,517 ✭✭✭axer

Ya, because every racist starts their rants with, "I'm a racist and..".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,645 ✭✭✭Daemos

Wait for him to start cleaning your window and then spray him. And then drive over his foot. He'll get the message eventually.

every man & his dog in this country seems to have become overly PC.
    You can be sure that's not true.

Why couldn't they just be a scumbag, like in the 8 million other threads on boards about scumbags?

Im assuming he/she was just being descriptive. The OP was asking if anyone eles had experienced this person, and was hence giving a discription of the person. No different IMO, to the OP describing the window cleaner as 'long haired'
    axer wrote: »
    Ya, because every racist starts their rants with, "I'm a racist and..".

No they dont, your right, hence the need for the OP to clarify that their complaint was not racially motivated

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,645 ✭✭✭Daemos

Dudess wrote: »
    Have you not seen the Windows 7 ads?

Dudess wrote: »

My point is that I reckon quiet a lot of people have become overly PC, and far too quick to accuse others of racism etc

I agree sometimes there can be overly zealous jumping on the much maligned "I'm not racist but" intro when sometimes the user actually may NOT be racist, but the "PC brigade" catcall and its derivatives - it's just painful... Can something new be used?
    DaPoolRulz wrote: »
    Have you not seen the Windows 7 ads?
    I find window-cleaner good for buffing my PC screen too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,517 ✭✭✭axer

No they dont, your right, hence the need for the OP to clarify that their complaint was not racially motivated
    Funny because by saying it it makes the OP sound like a racist considering the rest of the sentence had nothing to do with race.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

The OP never once mentioned race, they said they were a non-national.
    And realy, most of Europe and the Western World is the same race as the majority of Irish people.

So if the OP had a problem with their nationality that would be xenophobia, not racism.

I believe the American term is a pan handler and if this person is hassling motorists in Dublin then just call the gardai. In that location right across from government buildings there is a garda presence

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,765 ✭✭✭Diddler1977

How did you know he was a non-national? Maybe he is Irish?