Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Miriam O'Callaghan- 17-07-2010

• 17-07-2010 10:59pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,912 ✭✭✭

Feel compelled to start a thread about this. It was by far the most cringeworthy of all her shows. She was falling on top of Pádraic Ó Céidigh, couldn't even remember the simple expression "tá fáilte romhat" when he said "go raibh míle maith agaibh" after the audience had given him a great welcome. And then she proceeded with a horrible uncomfortable interview with Brian Kennedy.

I am no Ryan Tubridy fan, but thank God she didn't get the Late Late gig.

I want to hear what people like Pádraig Ó Céidigh have to say, so I have to tune in just to hear him and interesting people speak, but honestly she makes me cringe, there is no flow in her interviews, just lots of awkward pauses and over the top compliments and fawning on people.

She is not new to television, so there's no excuse for it. It's not like this is her first time doing the chat show either.

I despair of RTE :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 975 ✭✭✭uvox

I didn't think it was any better/worse than usual. The format and production is wrong. Too many guests in too short a time.

The really, really terrifying part of the show was the revealation that Brian Kennedy lived with Kathleen Lynch, along with the Will and Grace allusion. So now we have been set up for an "At Home with Brian and Kathleen" type reality TV effort or worse.

As the RTE TV licence ad says: "We'd heard all the excuses." Except so have we.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,929 ✭✭✭Raiser

She's just a massively career-driven Super Uterus with a Platoon of Nannies on hand to raise her 47 Babies all funded by us via the TV License fee we all pay as we sit and watch re-showing of Movies that were crap in the 80's and are still crap now......

- Her Face is typically like a Cartoon Characters Palette Tray - A splash of obnoxious Colours.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,718 ✭✭✭✭JonathanAnon

Yeah was awful show tonight.. I missed the Brennans, she said they were on before Byram, am I right ? The gay Brennan lad is usually very entertaining..

Amanda Byram - is the fakest person I have ever seen. When she described LA as being vacuous, my irono-meter went crazy... Cant stand the woman.. her looks are starting to fade.. her career made fade linearly.

Pádraic Ó Céidigh - odd, awkward interview.. His "stories" about Michael O'Leary were just ...... odd... Miriam was very girly during the interview, not sure why. Maybe she fancies the guy... fawned all over him Tubrid-esquely.

Brian Kennedy - for the 100th time... I like the guy, he's a great singer.. but he really needs someone to write songs for him.. His own stuff is awful. He should get someone like Charlie McGettigan to write a decent song for him.

Miriam must never look back at the shows ... She needs to objectively look back and critique her own performance..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Miriam must never look back at the shows ... She needs to objectively look back and critique her own performance..

I doubt a single live show on RTE has ever been subject to routine review by the producers. The standards are too low to suggest they ever learn anything.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,588 ✭✭✭femur61

I like her and the show, thought the Michael O'Leary story was inappropiate.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 23,089 ✭✭✭✭rovert

The shortness of this thread is encouraging.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

Muck of the highest order.
    Reminiscent of strained chats in the lobbys of wedding venues.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,305 ✭✭✭Green Hornet

She handled the whole Bian Kennedy sexuality very badly. It was cringeworthy. Both her and Kennedy were very uncomfortable and it was her fault entirely.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 418 ✭✭The Paws

I agree...how many shows left to go?!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,231 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

RTE seems to take these people on, thinking that they're so versatile that they can front any kind of programme, and the viewers seem to be the only ones realising that it doesn't work.

She should stick to serious news and forget about embarrassing herself in anything else.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,912 ✭✭✭pog it

I think she has the battle won in general. She is respected for her Primetime work, so people are slower to come round to her incompetence on her chatshow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,092 ✭✭✭celticbest

She is by far the worst interviewer on RTE which in itself says a lot. If I never see her on TV or hear her voice on radio again it would still be to soon.

The executives at RTE need to get there heads out of there arses and bring in some new talent not just move one crappy presenter from one show to another.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,092 ✭✭✭celticbest

pog it wrote: »
    I think she has the battle won in general. She is respected for her Primetime work, so people are slower to come round to her incompetence on her chatshow.

I don't know one single person who respects her work on Primetime, all her interviews are one sided.

Once she has an opinion on a subject, she will interrupt an interviewee if she does not like what is being said, however she never interrupts to ask a question against the side of the topic she is for.

She is just full of her own self inportance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,912 ✭✭✭pog it

celticbest wrote: »
    I don't know one single person who respects her work on Primetime, all her interviews are one sided.

Once she has an opinion on a subject, she will interrupt an interviewee if she does not like what is being said, however she never interrupts to ask a question against the side of the topic she is for.

She is just full of her own self inportance.

Yeah you're right. She's a full-blown FF hack, and shouldn't be allowed keep that position on Primetime if she isn't equally fair to all interviewees and if she can't be objective.

BUT she has a positive image thanks to sunday independent interviews, having 8 children, etc. and that is why she is safe in RTE I think.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 334 ✭✭Ollchailin

God I thought for ages I was the only one who finds her completely cringeworthy as an interviewer- I just can't bear watching her/listening to her.

I've heard her being interviewed on the Ray D'arcy show a few times and in fairness she does come across as a nice person. I just cannot understand for the life of me how she has been so successful. She's extremely awkward in interviews on her show, and personally her accent drives me insane (although that's probably unfair, I'm sure my flat accent could annoy others too!)

I often wonder if she wasn't blonde & big-boobed would she be as successful. I'm sure she's an extremely intelligent and hard-working woman, but there are many women out there who would probably make far better tv presenters, but won't because they don't have the "look". And as stated before, the whole "Sunday Independent" thing grates on me when it comes to certain people. But then so long as there are people who read it...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 165 ✭✭mayfire

Ollchailin wrote: »

................... I just cannot understand for the life of me how she has been so successful.....................

I can think of two reasons she s so popular in RTE????

mayfire wrote: »
    I can think of two reasons she s so popular in RTE????

See my last paragraph there for the reasons I think you're getting at!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 165 ✭✭magicface1

Tony and Ruby are having some banter between them...

Show is like a production line.. Already on to the third guest .... and that's with a singer in between...

Have to say though, RTE get an interview with AP McCoy, and give it to Miriam :confused::confused: Might as well have given it to Tubridy for all she knew about him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,941 ✭✭✭krustydoyle

This man has some bottle going on tele to talk about his brother

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,633 ✭✭✭✭murpho999

This man has some bottle going on tele to talk about his brother

Just switched on...who is he?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,937 ✭✭✭implausible

That poor man, having to go on tv to publicly turn his back on his brother to get some peace for his family. Hope it doesn't backfire on him.

murpho999 wrote: »
    Just switched on...who is he?

Brother of Larry Murphy, coming out of prison soon for raping and attempting to kill a woman ten years ago.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,941 ✭✭✭krustydoyle

That took some balls.. fair play to him..

Now i hope he can live in peace..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Tabloid telly but without the verve of a tabloid newspaper.

All my vital signs tend to flatline when I flick this programme on. She is such a lame interviewer.

Jaysus one of the most compelling pieces of TV of the year and they give it to Miriam for 20 minutes... This is sort of thing that used to make the LLS so compelling...

Larry Murphy getting out is one of the biggest disgraces of our supposed "justice" system.. Sex offenders DONT change... he has had no help and has not requested any help... you think they would have learned some lessons from releasing Gerard Barry, but no... we have to wait for some other innocent woman being killed until he's banged up again...

We can blame all those left wing civil rights fukwits for this.... He should have lost all his rights to freedom permanently when he raped and attempted to murder than woman in the Wicklow Mountains

Jaysus one of the most compelling pieces of TV of the year and they give it to Miriam for 20 minutes... This is sort of thing that used to make the LLS so compelling...

That's what I thought! Couldn't believe she was getting something so heavyweight.

deemark wrote: »
    That's what I thought! Couldn't believe she was getting something so heavyweight.

Though there is nobody now to do a proper TV interview.. Tubridy would have got all nervous and asked the brother if he'd raped anybody.. Pat Kenny would have done a good job on this

With AP McCoy and the Larry Murphy segment, hosted with a serious interviewer, and giving each of the guests the right amount of time, this had the makings of good TV.

Tubridy would have got all nervous and asked the brother if he'd raped anybody.. Pat Kenny would have done a good job on this

LOL!

Seems when you put Miriam in the oul' evening clothes, she loses all credibility. I never thought I'd miss The Plank. At least it wasn't Brendan O'Connor....:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 349 ✭✭Cris Jones

Have to say though, RTE get an interview with AP McCoy, and give it to Miriam :confused::confused: Might as well have given it to Tubridy for all she knew about him.

Yeah, she said to the two jockeys, "which of you has the two and a half year old daughter"...:( I mean, she had the info about the anecdote surrounding the child given to her by her researchers but wasn't bothered to find out if it was Rubys or APs child, is that it! Just wrong.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41 fitch34

Love this show, Miriam definitely makes the best of a bad line up, she gets the best out of every interview! A really genuinely good show!

I personally think overall she is doing a great job except the Brian kennedy interview.

fitch34 wrote: »
    Love this show, Miriam definitely makes the best of a bad line up, she gets the best out of every interview! A really genuinely good show!
    femur61 wrote: »
    I personally think overall she is doing a great job except the Brian kennedy interview.

They were some 'different' choices for Kids names Miriam?

- Fitch and Femur O'Callaghan????

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 23,089 ✭✭✭✭rovert

Raiser wrote: »
    They were some 'different' choices for Kids names Miriam?

- Fitch and Femur O'Callaghan????

Yeah this postitivity nonsense needs to be stamped out.

Watching next week Raiser?

rovert wrote: »

By then I'll have a coat of Dulux "Pale Sunrise" applied in the Kitchen and will more than likely sit and watch that dry instead......

sorry excuse my ignorance but what does "Fitch and Femur O'Callahan"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

Difference between watching and enjoying.
    I chew nutritious food, but I also chew chewing gum..................... one nourishes me, the other ends up stuck to someones shoe.

Actually, thinking about it, it actually makes me angry that she has such a high profile. Even people who would gaze upon her boobies for hours on end have to see how crap she is as an interviewer. As a woman, I'm actually kind of insulted that she has the job she has. Surely there are other women out there who would do a better job???